Skip to content

Phase 2 Bunionectomy HTX-011 Administration Study

A Phase 2 Open-Label Study of HTX-011 Via Individualized Dosing Administration for Postoperative Analgesia Following Unilateral Simple Bunionectomy

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03718039
Enrollment
78
Registered
2018-10-24
Start date
2018-10-24
Completion date
2019-03-11
Last updated
2026-03-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Postoperative Pain

Keywords

bunion, bunionectomy, bunion surgery, postoperative pain

Brief summary

This is a Phase 2, open-label, multi-cohort study to evaluate the analgesic efficacy, safety, and pharmacokinetics (PK) of a single, individualized dose of HTX-011 administered into the surgical site as a monotherapy or with other medications to enhance analgesia in subjects undergoing unilateral simple bunionectomy.

Interventions

HTX-011 (bupivacaine/meloxicam), up to but not to exceed 60 mg/1.8 mg, via instillation.

Applicator for instillation.

Device for withdrawal of drug product.

DRUGaprepitant

Aprepitant, three single doses of aprepitant will be administered orally.

Sponsors

Heron Therapeutics
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
PREVENTION
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* Is scheduled to undergo a primary unilateral, distal, first metatarsal bunionectomy with osteotomy and internal fixation under regional anesthesia. * Has an American Society of Anesthesiologists Physical Status of I, II, or III. * Female subjects are eligible only if not pregnant, not lactating, not planning to become pregnant during the study, sterile; or using acceptable contraceptives. For cohort 2, acceptable contraceptives excludes hormonal contraceptives.

Exclusion criteria

* Has had a contralateral foot bunionectomy in the past 3 months prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has a planned concurrent surgical procedure (eg, bilateral bunionectomy or collateral procedures on the surgical foot). * Has a pre-existing concurrent acute or chronic painful physical/restrictive condition expected to require analgesic treatment in the postoperative period for pain. * Has a contraindication or a known or suspected history of hypersensitivity or clinically significant idiosyncratic reaction to required study medications. * Has known or suspected daily use of opioids for 7 or more consecutive days within the previous 6 months. * Has taken any NSAIDs within at least 10 days prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has taken long-acting opioids within 3 days prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has taken any opioids within 24 hours prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has been administered bupivacaine within 5 days prior to the scheduled surgery. * For Cohort 2 only, has been administered aprepitant or another NK1 receptor antagonist within 5 days prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has been administered any local anesthetic within 72 hours prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has initiated treatment with study medications within 1 month prior to study drug administration that can impact pain control. * Has been administered systemic steroids within 5 half-lives or 10 days prior to administration of study drug. * Has a medical condition such that, in the opinion of the Investigator, participating in the study would pose a health risk to the subject or confound the postoperative assessments. * As per subject history and/or medical records, has active infection or is currently undergoing treatment for Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C, or human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). * Has uncontrolled anxiety, psychiatric, or neurological disorder. * For Cohort 2 only, is receiving pimozide, a strong or moderate CYP3A4 inhibitor, or a strong CYP3A4 inducer. * Had a malignancy in the last year, with the exception of nonmetastatic basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin or localized carcinoma in situ of the cervix. * Has a known or suspected history of drug abuse, a positive drug screen on the day of surgery, or a recent history of alcohol abuse. Note: Subjects with a positive drug screen who are taking an allowed, prescribed medication that is known to result in a positive drug test (eg, amphetamine and dextroamphetamine for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, benzodiazepine for anxiety disorder) may be eligible for participation in the study at the discretion of the Sponsor. Subjects taking any marijuana (medical or recreational) are not allowed to participate in the study. * Previously participated in an HTX-011 study. * Received an investigational product or device in a clinical trial within 30 days or within 5 elimination half-lives. * Has undergone 3 or more surgeries within 12 months. * Has a body mass index (BMI) \>39 kg/m2.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-A (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores72 hoursPain intensity scores are assessed using an 11-point Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) (0-10) where 0 represents "no pain" and 10 represents "worst pain imaginable". NRS scores are recorded with activity (NRS-A), sitting with the plantar surface of the ball of the surgically attended foot touching the floor (no weight-bearing).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents) Through 72 Hours72 hours
Percentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid Rescue72 hours
Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-R (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores72 hoursPain intensity scores are assessed using an 11-point Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) (0-10) where 0 represents "no pain" and 10 represents "worst pain imaginable". NRS scores are measured at rest.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment Group 1: HTX-011
HTX-011 (bupivacaine/meloxicam), up to but not to exceed 60 mg/1.8 mg, via instillation.
30
Treatment Group 2: HTX-011 + Aprepitant
HTX-011 (bupivacaine/meloxicam), up to but not to exceed 60 mg/1.8 mg, via instillation; Aprepitant, three single doses of aprepitant will be administered orally.
17
Treatment Group 3: HTX-011 + Non-Opioid MMA Regimen
HTX-011 (bupivacaine/meloxicam), up to but not to exceed 60 mg/1.8 mg, via instillation and a scheduled multimodal analgesic (MMA) regimen.
31
Total78

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment Group 1: HTX-011Treatment Group 2: HTX-011 + AprepitantTreatment Group 3: HTX-011 + Non-Opioid MMA RegimenTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
30 Participants16 Participants29 Participants75 Participants
Age, Continuous47.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.58
43.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.73
49.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.66
47.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.74
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
15 Participants12 Participants15 Participants42 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
15 Participants5 Participants16 Participants36 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants1 Participants4 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
28 Participants16 Participants27 Participants71 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
30 participants17 participants31 participants78 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
28 Participants13 Participants29 Participants70 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
2 Participants4 Participants2 Participants8 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 300 / 170 / 31
other
Total, other adverse events
13 / 3013 / 1716 / 31
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 301 / 170 / 31

Outcome results

Primary

Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-A (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores

Pain intensity scores are assessed using an 11-point Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) (0-10) where 0 represents no pain and 10 represents worst pain imaginable. NRS scores are recorded with activity (NRS-A), sitting with the plantar surface of the ball of the surgically attended foot touching the floor (no weight-bearing).

Time frame: 72 hours

Population: Safety Population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Treatment Group 1: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-A (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores278.36 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 151.085
Treatment Group 2: HTX-011 + AprepitantMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-A (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores288.23 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 115.79
Treatment Group 3: HTX-011 + Non-Opioid MMA RegimenMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-A (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores126.93 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 129.819
Secondary

Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-R (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores

Pain intensity scores are assessed using an 11-point Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) (0-10) where 0 represents no pain and 10 represents worst pain imaginable. NRS scores are measured at rest.

Time frame: 72 hours

Population: Safety Population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Treatment Group 1: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-R (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores251.92 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 127.319
Treatment Group 2: HTX-011 + AprepitantMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-R (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores252.39 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 112.996
Treatment Group 3: HTX-011 + Non-Opioid MMA RegimenMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the NRS-R (Windowed Worst Observation Carried Forward) Pain Intensity Scores113.10 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 124.696
Secondary

Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents) Through 72 Hours

Time frame: 72 hours

Population: Safety Population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Treatment Group 1: HTX-011Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents) Through 72 Hours11.47 MME, morphine milligram equivalentsStandard Deviation 10.198
Treatment Group 2: HTX-011 + AprepitantMean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents) Through 72 Hours21.88 MME, morphine milligram equivalentsStandard Deviation 13.305
Treatment Group 3: HTX-011 + Non-Opioid MMA RegimenMean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents) Through 72 Hours1.61 MME, morphine milligram equivalentsStandard Deviation 3.449
Secondary

Percentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid Rescue

Time frame: 72 hours

Population: Safety Population

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment Group 1: HTX-011Percentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid Rescue6 Participants
Treatment Group 2: HTX-011 + AprepitantPercentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid Rescue0 Participants
Treatment Group 3: HTX-011 + Non-Opioid MMA RegimenPercentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid Rescue24 Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid Rescue

Only subjects in Cohort 3 received a scheduled, non-opioid MMA regimen following surgery.

Time frame: Day 7 and Day 28

Population: Safety Population, Cohort 3 only

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment Group 1: HTX-011Percentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid RescueDay 724 Participants
Treatment Group 1: HTX-011Percentage of Subjects Receiving no Opioid RescueDay 2824 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 3, 2026