Skip to content

A Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, and Tolerability of MYK-224 in Participants With Symptomatic Obstructive Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy

A Phase 2a, Open-label, Pilot Study to Evaluate Efficacy, Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, Safety, and Tolerability of MYK-224 in Participants With Symptomatic Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy and Left Ventricular Outflow Tract Obstruction (MERCUTIO)

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05556343
Acronym
MERCUTIO
Enrollment
18
Registered
2022-09-27
Start date
2023-01-18
Completion date
2025-02-27
Last updated
2026-06-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cardiomyopathy, Hypertrophic

Keywords

Obstructive Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy, MYK-224, BMS-986435, HCM

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to characterize the safety, tolerability, efficacy, pharmacokinetics (PK), and pharmacodynamics (PD) of MYK-224 in participants with obstructive Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (oHCM)

Interventions

Specified dose on specified days

Sponsors

Bristol-Myers Squibb
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 80 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Has adequate acoustic windows, to enable accurate TTEs as determined by the echocardiography core laboratory. * Men or women diagnosed with oHCM consistent with current American College of Cardiology Foundation/American Heart Association and European Society of Cardiology guidelines, satisfying both of the following criteria: * Has unexplained left ventricular (LV) hypertrophy with nondilated ventricular chambers in the absence of other cardiac (eg, hypertension, aortic stenosis) or systemic disease and with maximal LV wall thickness ≥ 15 millimeter (mm) (or ≥ 13 mm with positive family history of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy or with a known disease-causing mutation), as determined by core laboratory interpretation. AND \-- Has a LVOT peak gradient during screening as assessed by echocardiography of ≥ 50 millimeters of mercury (mm Hg) at rest, or ≥ 30 mm Hg at rest and ≥ 50 mm Hg with Valsalva maneuver (confirmed by echocardiography core laboratory interpretation). * Has resting LVEF ≥ 60% at the Screening visit as determined by echocardiography core laboratory. * New York Heart Association (NYHA) functional class II or III symptoms at screening. * Has a valid measurement of LVOT post-exercise peak gradient at screening as determined by echocardiography core laboratory.

Exclusion criteria

* Presence of any medical condition that precludes exercise stress testing. * History of syncope or sustained ventricular tachyarrhythmia within 6 months prior to screening. * Known infiltrative or storage disorder causing cardiac hypertrophy that mimics HCM, such as Fabry disease, amyloidosis, or Noonan syndrome with left ventricular hypertrophy. * Prior treatment with mavacamten or aficamten. An exception may be made in cases where myosin inhibitor use was not within 4 months of the Screening visit, and with the agreement of both the Investigator and the Medical Monitor. * Has been successfully treated with invasive septal reduction (surgical myectomy or percutaneous alcohol septal ablation \[ASA\]) within 6 months prior to Screening or plans to have either of these treatments during the study (Note: Individuals with an unsuccessful myectomy or percutaneous ASA procedure performed \> 6 months prior to Screening may be enrolled if study eligibility criteria for LVOT gradient criteria are met). * Implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD) placement or pulse generator change within 2 months prior to screening or planned new ICD placement during the study (pulse generator changes, if needed during the study are allowed). * Has a history of resuscitated sudden cardiac arrest (any time) or known history of appropriate implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD discharge for life-threatening ventricular arrhythmia within 6 months prior to screening. * Has paroxysmal, atrial fibrillation with atrial fibrillation present per the Investigator's evaluation of the participant's ECG at the time of Screening. * Has persistent or permanent atrial fibrillation not on anticoagulation for at least 4 weeks prior to Screening and/or not adequately rate controlled within 6 months prior to Screening (Note: Participants with persistent or permanent atrial fibrillation who are anticoagulated and adequately rate-controlled are allowed). * Has QT interval with Fridericia correction (QTcF) \> 500 msec when QRS interval \< 120 msec or QTcF \> 520 msec when QRS ≥ 120 msec if participant has left bundle branch block or any other 12-lead ECG abnormality considered by the investigator to pose a risk to participant safety (eg, second-degree atrioventricular block type II). * Has known moderate or severe (per investigator's judgment) aortic valve stenosis at screening. * History of LV systolic dysfunction (LVEF \< 45%) at any time during their clinical course. * Clinically significant pulmonary disease associated with exertional dyspnea. * Has known significant unrevascularized obstructive coronary artery disease (\>70% stenosis in one or more main epicardial coronary arteries) or history of myocardial infarction Note: participants with prior coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) or percutaneous coronary interventions (PCIs) are allowed if the procedure was performed at least 12 weeks prior to screening * Prior treatment with cardiotoxic agents such as anthracyclines (eg, doxorubicin) or similar Other protocol-defined criteria apply.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Part A: Number of Participants With Adverse Events and Serious Adverse EventsFrom first dose (Day 1) until study end date in Part A or 30 days after early termination date (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)An Adverse Event (AE) is defined as any new untoward medical occurrence or worsening of a pre-existing medical condition in a clinical investigation participant administered study treatment and that does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment. Serious Adverse Event (SAE) is defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or causes prolongation of existing hospitalization.
Part A: Number of Participants With at Least One Event of ArrhythmiasFrom first dose (Day 1) until study end date in Part A or 30 days after early termination date (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Arrhythmias included atrial fibrillation/flutter (new from screening and recurrent), ventricular tachyarrhythmias (ventricular tachycardia, ventricular fibrillation, and Torsades de Pointe).
Part A: Number of Participants With at Least One Event of Appropriate Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator Therapy and Resuscitated Cardiac ArrestFrom first dose (Day 1) until study end date in Part A or 30 days after early termination date (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)
Part A: Change From Baseline in Vital Signs - Heart RateBaseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224. Heart rate was measured in rested state.
Part A: Change From Baseline in Vital Signs - Mean Systolic Blood PressureBaseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224. Systolic blood pressure was measured in rested state.
Part A: Change From Baseline in Vital Signs - Mean Diastolic Blood PressureBaseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224. Diastolic blood pressure was measured in rested state.
Part A: Change From Baseline in Vital Signs - Respiratory RateBaseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224. Respiratory rate was measured in rested state.
Part A: Change From Baseline in Vital Signs - TemperatureBaseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224.
Part A: Change From Baseline in Vital Signs - WeightBaseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224.
Part A: Number of Participants With Abnormal Physical Examination ResultsBaseline and until study end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)The complete physical examination included weight and calculated BMI, a neurological examination (gross motor and deep tendon reflexes),and an assessment of the following: general appearance, skin, head and neck, mouth, lymph nodes, thyroid, abdomen, musculoskeletal, cardiovascular, neurological, and respiratory systems with other systems included, as directed by interval history.
Part A: Number of Participants With Abnormal Electrocardiogram (ECG) ResultsBaseline and until study end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Twelve-lead ECG evaluations will be performed in the supine position after 10 minutes of rest at Screening and at selected clinic visits prior to MYK-224 dosing and before any blood sample collection. QTc prolongation is defined by either the mean of QTcF \> 499 or mean of QTcB \> 499 according to the project requirement specification from Clario.
Part A: Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Clinical Laboratory Parameters (Hematology, Chemistry and Urinalysis)Baseline and untill end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Blood samples were collected to assess the clinical laboratory parameters.
Part A:Percentage of Participants With Incidence of Symptomatic Left Ventricular Ejection Fraction (LVEF) < 50%From first dose (Day 1) until study end date in Part A or 30 days after early termination date (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)LVEF was assessed using transthoracic echocardiogram (TTE) in resting state. 90% CIs are calculated based on Exact Binomial proportion test. LVEF value was calculated by Simpson Biplane method.
Part A: Percentage of Participants With Incidence of Symptomatic Left Ventricular Ejection Fraction (LVEF) <= 30%From first dose (Day 1) until study end date in Part A or 30 days after early termination date (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)LVEF was assessed using transthoracic echocardiogram (TTE) in resting state. 90% CIs are calculated based on Exact Binomial proportion test. LVEF value was calculated by Simpson Biplane method.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Part A: Aggregate Mean of Left Ventricular Ejection Fraction (LVEF)Treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)
Part A: Change From Baseline in Left Ventricular Ejection Fraction (LVEF)Baseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224. Participants with data available at the timepoint were included in the analysis.
Part A: Aggregate Mean of Left Ventricular Outflow Tract (LVOT) Peak Gradient (Post-Exercise, Resting, and Valsalva)Treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)
Part A: Change From Baseline in Left Ventricular Outflow Tract (LVOT) Peak Gradient (Post-Exercise, Resting, and Valsalva)Treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224. Participants with data available at the timepoint were included in the analysis.
Part A: Percentage of Participants With Resting Left Ventricular Outflow Tract (LVOT) Peak Gradient < 30 mmHg and Valsalva LVOT Peak Gradient < 50 mmHgBaseline and until treatment end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Baseline is defined as the last non-missing value in date/time recorded before the first dose of MYK-224. 90%CIs are calculated based on Normal approximation.
Part A: Plasma Concentration of MYK-224Pre-dose and 1 hour post-dose end date in Part A (Median 17.55 weeks and Maximum 54.9 weeks)Blood samples were collected to assess plasma concentration of MYK-224.

Countries

Italy, Poland, Spain, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORBristol-Myers Squibb

Bristol-Myers Squibb

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous59.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.08
BACKGROUND HCM THERAPY
BETA BLOCKER USE AT BASELINE
9 Participants
BACKGROUND HCM THERAPY
CALCIUM CHANNEL BLOCKER USE AT BASELINE
0 Participants
BACKGROUND HCM THERAPY
DISOPYRAMIDE USE AT BASELINE
0 Participants
BACKGROUND HCM THERAPY
NONE
9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
14 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator (ICD) Therapy Use
No ICD use
13 Participants
Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator (ICD) Therapy Use
Yes
5 Participants
Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (23-item version) Clinical Summary Score73.9583 Score on a Scale
LEFT VENTRICULAR EJECTION FRACTION65.4 percentage
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.23
LVOT PEAK GRADIENT FOR POST-EXERCISE93.626 mmHg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 38.6472
LVOT PEAK GRADIENT FOR RESTING74.516 mmHg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 35.5013
LVOT PEAK GRADIENT FOR VALSALVA94.968 mmHg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 35.6349
Medical History
Atrial Fibrillation
5 Participants
Medical History
Coronary Artery Disease
3 Participants
Medical History
Diabetes Mellitus
3 Participants
Medical History
Hypertension
8 Participants
NT-PROBNP660.0 Pg/ml
NYHA FUNCTIONAL CLASS
CLASS I
1 Participants
NYHA FUNCTIONAL CLASS
CLASS II
12 Participants
NYHA FUNCTIONAL CLASS
CLASS III
5 Participants
NYHA FUNCTIONAL CLASS
CLASS IV
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
17 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
5 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
13 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 180 / 16
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 186 / 16
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 183 / 16

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 3, 2026