Skip to content

SPI-1005 Treatment in Severe COVID-19 Patients

A Phase 2, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Dose Escalation Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of SPI-1005 in Severe COVID-19 Patients

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04483973
Enrollment
25
Registered
2020-07-23
Start date
2021-08-27
Completion date
2023-06-06
Last updated
2026-06-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Coronavirus, Coronavirus Infection, Corona Virus Infection, Covid19

Keywords

ebselen, SPI-1005, COVID-19, Covid, SARS-COV-2, Mpro, main protease, PLpro, papain-like protease

Brief summary

The study is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose escalation, multi-center clinical trial (RCT) of SPI-1005 in adult subjects with positive PCR test for novel SARS-CoV-2 (nCoV2) and severe symptoms of COVID-19 disease.

Interventions

Glutathione peroxidase mimetic

DRUGPlacebo

Matching placebo containing excipients

Sponsors

Sound Pharmaceuticals, Incorporated
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Adults ≥18 years of age * Positive nCoV2 PCR test by nasopharyngeal, oral, saliva, or respiratory sample * Clinical signs, symptoms, and respiratory status consistent with severe COVID-19 * Score of 5-7 on the WHO Ordinal Scale * Onset of severe COVID-19 symptoms ≤7 days of study enrollment * Subject is in-patient at time of randomization to study treatment * Subject or legally authorized representative is willing and able to provide informed consent, and agrees for subject to comply with planned study procedures including reproductive requirements

Exclusion criteria

* Female patients who are pregnant or breastfeeding. * Participation in another interventional investigational drug or device study concurrently or within 30 days prior to study consent. * Patients with impaired hepatic or renal function. * Subject has any other illness or condition that, in the opinion of the investigator, would prohibit the subject from participating.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events30 daysNumber of participants with adverse events, categorized by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) grading for severity.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
WHO Ordinal Scale30 daysClinical outcome assessed by WHO Ordinal Scale for Clinical Improvement. Scale is 0-8 where higher score is worse outcome.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORMiriam Treggiari, MD

Yale University

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous57.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.7
COVID-19 Vaccination
No
5 Participants
COVID-19 Vaccination
Yes
4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
23 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
13 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
25 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants
WHO Ordinal Scale5.44 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.65

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 94 / 16
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 98 / 16
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 95 / 16

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 30, 2026