Skip to content

Abaloparatide Before Total Knee Arthroplasty

An Open-Label Phase 2 Study of Abaloparatide to Mitigate Distal Femoral Bone Loss Following Total Knee Arthroplasty

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04167163
Enrollment
58
Registered
2019-11-18
Start date
2020-01-10
Completion date
2025-04-03
Last updated
2026-06-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Arthroplasties, Knee Replacement, Osteoporosis

Brief summary

The investigator hypothesizes that treating osteoporotic patients with abaloparatide prior to and after total knee arthroplasty will significantly reduce the amount of bone loss.

Detailed description

In primary unilateral total knee arthroplasty patients, The investigator will examine the effect of daily abaloparatide therapy in clinical osteoporotic patients beginning 3 months pre-op and continued for a total of 15 months. This will be compared to osteopenic patients receiving no therapy as well as previously published values in untreated osteoporotic patients 12 months following Total Knee Arthroplasty (TKA).

Interventions

18 month ABL treatment

Sponsors

University of Wisconsin, Madison
Lead SponsorOTHER
Radius Health, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
55 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Post-menopausal women and men age ge ≥ 55 years and scheduled to undergo primary TKA at the University of Wisconsin Total Joint Program. 2. Osteoporosis, i.e., BMD T-score (using female reference data) ≤ -2.5 at the lumbar spine, femoral neck OR total hip or ≤ -1.1 with Vertebral Fracture Assessment confirmed vertebral fracture or history of low-trauma nonvertebral fracture in the past 5 years OR osteopenia, BMD T-score (using female reference data) -1.1 to -2.4 at the lumbar spine, femoral neck or total hip and no prior low-trauma fracture. 3. Serum calcium (albumin-corrected), serum creatinine and Parathyroid(PTH) values all within the normal range and 25(OH)D \> 10 ng/mL. 4. Willing to supplement with daily calcium and/or vitamin D3 at protocol specified doses. 5. Able to provide written informed consent.

Exclusion criteria

1. Unevaluable distal femur BMD due to hardware or other artifacts. 2. History of bone disorders (e.g., Paget's disease) other than osteoporosis. 3. History of prior external beam or implant radiation therapy involving the skeleton other than radioiodine. 4. History of chronic or recurrent renal, hepatic, pulmonary, allergic, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, endocrine, central nervous system, hematologic or metabolic diseases, or immunologic, emotional and/or psychiatric disturbances that, in opinion of the principal investigator, would compromise study data validity. 5. History of Cushing's disease, growth hormone deficiency or excess, hyperthyroidism, hypo- or hyperparathyroidism or malabsorptive syndromes within the past year. 6. History of significantly impaired renal function (serum creatinine \>2.0 mg/dL. If the serum creatinine is \> 1.5 and ≤ 2.0 mg/dL, the calculated creatinine clearance (Cockcroft-Gault) must be ≥ 37 mL/min. 7. History of nephrolithiasis or urolithiasis within the past five years. 8. History of cancer in prior 5 years (basal cell or squamous skin cancer is permissible). 9. History of osteosarcoma at any time. 10. Patients known to be positive for Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C, HIV-1 or HIV-2. 11. Known hypersensitivity to any of the test materials or related compounds. 12. Prior treatment with PTH- or PTHrP-derived drugs, (ABL, teriparatide or PTH (1-84)). 13. Prior treatment with intravenous bisphosphonates at any time or oral bisphosphonates within the past three years. Patients who had received a short course of oral bisphosphonate therapy (3 months or less) may be enrolled as long as the treatment occurred 6 or more months prior to enrollment. 14. Treatment with fluoride or strontium in the past five years or prior treatment with bone-acting investigational agents at any time. 15. Treatment with calcitonin the past 6 months or denosumab in the past 18 months. 16. Treatment with anticonvulsants affecting vitamin D metabolism (phenobarbital, phenytoin, carbamazepine or primidone) or chronic heparin within the prior 6 months. 17. Treatment with anabolic steroids or calcineurin inhibitors (cyclosporin, tacrolimus) 18. Daily treatment with oral, intranasal or inhaled glucocorticoids in the prior 12 months. 19. Exposure to any investigational drug within 12 months. 20. Consumption of \> 2 alcoholic drinks per day or use of illegal drugs within 12 months of screening. 21. Not suitable for study participation due to other reasons at the investigators discretion.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Distal Femoral Bone Mineral Density (BMD) at the 25% Regions of Interest (ROIs)Baseline and approximately 18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)Bone mineral density change at the 25% ROI of the surgical leg. Dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) measured BMD was obtained at a point (ROI) 25% the length of the total surgical femur. Percent change at 25% ROI was calculated from baseline to 18 months.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Distal Femoral BMD at the 15% and 60% ROIBaseline and approximately 18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)Bone mineral density percent change at the 15% and 60% ROI of the surgical leg
TBS Assessment by TRIP at the 15%, 25%, and 60% Femur ROIs18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)Trabecular bone score (TBS) assessment by Texture Research Investigation (Platform (TRIP) software change at the 15% and 25% femur ROIs (TBS \>1.350 is normal; TBS between 1.200 and 1.350 is indicative of partially degraded microarchitecture; and TBS \<1.200 equals degraded microarchitecture).
Knee Injury & Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS) JR18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)Patient reported knee function score. The KOOS, JR was developed from the original long version of the Knee injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS) survey using Rasch analysis. The KOOS, JR contains 7 items from the original KOOS survey. Items are coded from 0 to 4, none to extreme respectively. KOOS, JR is scored by summing the raw response (range 0-28) and then converting it to an interval score (0-100). The interval score ranges from 0 to 100 where 0 represents total knee disability and 100 represents perfect knee health.
Change in Veterans RAND 12 (VR-12) Question Health Survey Score: Physical Health ComponentBaseline and approximately 18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)12 Item Health Survey using patient's self assessment of their perspective of their health and ability to do daily functions. Scores are derived using an algorithm that is referenced to a metric centered at 50.0 where a zero score indicates the lowest level of health and 100 indicates the highest level of health.
Change in Veterans RAND 12 (VR-12) Question Health Survey Score: Mental Health ComponentBaseline and approximately 18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)12 Item Health Survey using patient's self assessment of their perspective of their health and ability to do daily functions. Scores are derived using an algorithm that is referenced to a metric centered at 50.0 where a zero score indicates the lowest level of health and 100 indicates the highest level of health.
Forgotten Joint Survey(FJS) Score18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)FJS-12 consists of 12 questions and is scored using a 5-point response format with the raw scores transformed onto a 0- to 100-point scale. High scores indicate good outcome, that is, a high degree of forgetting the joint in everyday life (forgotten joint phenomenon).
Change in Body Composition Using Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis of Lean MassBaseline and approximately 18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)Change in total body composition using bioelectrical impedance analysis of lean mass.
Change in Body Composition Using Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis of Fat Mass.Baseline and approximately 18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)Change in total body composition using bioelectrical impedance analysis of fat mass.
TKA Complications: Number of Participants Needed Revision Surgery18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)TKA complications: Number of participants needed revision surgery
TKA Complications: Number of Participants Had Fracture18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)TKA complications: Number of participants had fracture
Precision Error on Knee Bone Density Measurement18 months on study (15 months post-TKA)Precision assessment in the field of bone densitometry is the process whereby the ability of the instrument and the technologist to reproduce similar results, given no real biologic change, is tested. To achieve statistical power, the investigators will take duplicate knee bone density measurements on 30 participants at either their 6 month or 15 month visit. The standard deviation for each participant is calculated, then the root mean square standard deviation for the group is calculated. The mathematical result of precision assessment is displayed as percent coefficient of variation (CV).

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORNeil Binkley, MD

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were recruited from the UW Total Joint Program at the American Center and enrolled from January 2020 to August 2023.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous69.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
29 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
57 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
29 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
23 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 290 / 29
other
Total, other adverse events
8 / 291 / 29
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 291 / 29

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 6, 2026