Skip to content

Total Knee Arthroplasty Infiltration Study for Postoperative Analgesia

A Phase 2b, Randomized, Double-Blind, Saline Placebo- and Active-Controlled, Multicenter Study of HTX-011 Via Infiltration for Postoperative Analgesia in Subjects Undergoing Total Knee Arthroplasty

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03015532
Enrollment
285
Registered
2017-01-10
Start date
2017-01-13
Completion date
2018-05-16
Last updated
2026-03-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Postoperative Pain

Keywords

knee, knee replacement, arthroplasty, joint replacement, knee pain

Brief summary

This is a Phase 2b, randomized, double-blind, saline placebo- and active-controlled, multicenter study in subjects undergoing primary unilateral total knee arthroplasty (TKA) to evaluate the analgesic efficacy, safety, and pharmacokinetics (PK) of HTX-011 administered via infiltration to the surgical site.

Interventions

HTX-011 (bupivacaine/meloxicam), via instillation

DRUGSaline Placebo

Saline placebo via injection

Bupivacaine HCl without epinephrine

DRUGRopivacaine

Ropivacaine, via injection

Sponsors

Heron Therapeutics
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Is scheduled to undergo primary unilateral TKA under general anesthesia. * Has not previously undergone TKA in either knee. * Has an American Society of Anesthesiologists Physical Status of I, II, or III. * Is able to demonstrate motor function by performing a timed 20-meter walk unassisted, but with the optional use of a 4-legged walker for balance. * Female subjects are eligible only if not pregnant, not lactating, not planning to become pregnant during the study, sterile; or using acceptable contraceptives.

Exclusion criteria

* Has a planned concurrent surgical procedure (eg, bilateral TKA). * Has a pre-existing concurrent acute or chronic painful/restrictive physical condition that may require analgesic treatment in the postoperative period for pain. * Has a contraindication or a known or suspected history of hypersensitivity or idiosyncratic reaction to required study medications. * Has known or suspected daily use of opioids for 7 or more consecutive days within the previous 6 months. * Has taken NSAIDs within 10 days prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has taken opioids within 24 hours prior to the scheduled surgery (3 days for long-acting). * Has been administered bupivacaine within 5 days prior to the scheduled surgery. * Has initiated treatment with medications within 1 month prior to study drug administration that can impact pain control. * Has been administered systemic steroids within 5 half-lives or 10 days prior to administration of study drug. * Has a medical condition such that, in the opinion of the Investigator, participating in the study would pose a health risk to the subject or confound the postoperative assessments. * Has a known history of Hepatitis B, human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), or active Hepatitis C. * Has uncontrolled anxiety, psychiatric, or neurological disorder that might interfere with study assessments. * Has any chronic neuromuscular deficit of either femoral nerve function or thigh musculature. Has any chronic condition or disease that would compromise neurological or vascular assessments. * Had a malignancy in the last year, with the exception of non-metastatic basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin or localized carcinoma in situ of the cervix. * Has a known or suspected history of drug abuse, a positive drug screen on the day of surgery, or a recent history of alcohol abuse. * Received an investigational product or device in a clinical trial within 30 days or within 5 elimination half lives. * Has undergone 3 or more surgeries within 12 months. * Has a body mass index (BMI) \>38 kg/m2.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).48 hoursPain intensity is assessed at rest using an 11-point NRS (0-10) where 0 represents "no pain" and 10 represents "worst pain imaginable" (using windowed worst observation carried forward to adjust for opioid rescue medication use). The theoretical range of AUC0-48 is 0-480.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).72 hoursPain intensity is assessed at rest using an 11-point NRS (0-10) where 0 represents "no pain" and 10 represents "worst pain imaginable" (using windowed worst observation carried forward to adjust for opioid rescue medication use). The theoretical range of AUC0-72 is 0-720.
Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)72 hours

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cohort 1, Group 1: HTX-011
HTX-011 (bupivacaine/meloxicam), 200 mg/6 mg via instillation.
20
Cohort 1, Group 2: HTX-011
HTX-011 (bupivacaine/meloxicam), 200 mg/6 mg via injection and instillation (combination).
22
Cohort 1, Group 3: Saline Placebo
Saline placebo via injection.
11
Cohort 1, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCI
Bupivacaine HCl without epinephrine, 125 mg via injection.
10
Cohort 2, Group 1: HTX-011
HTX-011(bupivacaine/meloxicam), 400 mg/12 mg via instillation.
58
Cohort 2, Group 2: HTX-011 + Ropivacaine
HTX-011(bupivacaine/meloxicam), 400 mg/12 mg via instillation; Ropivacaine, 50 mg via injection.
56
Cohort 2, Group 3: Saline Placebo
Saline placebo via injection.
53
Cohort 2, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCI
Bupivacaine HCl without epinephrine, 125 mg via injection.
55
Total285

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCohort 1, Group 2: HTX-011Cohort 1, Group 3: Saline PlaceboCohort 1, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCICohort 2, Group 1: HTX-011Cohort 2, Group 2: HTX-011 + RopivacaineCohort 2, Group 3: Saline PlaceboCohort 1, Group 1: HTX-011Cohort 2, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCITotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
5 Participants6 Participants6 Participants27 Participants22 Participants17 Participants8 Participants17 Participants108 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
17 Participants5 Participants4 Participants31 Participants34 Participants36 Participants12 Participants38 Participants177 Participants
Age, Continuous58.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.44
64.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.64
65.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.62
62.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.63
63.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.36
61.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.31
62.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.52
61.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.37
62.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.71
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
10 Participants3 Participants1 Participants9 Participants16 Participants12 Participants7 Participants16 Participants74 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
12 Participants8 Participants9 Participants49 Participants40 Participants41 Participants13 Participants39 Participants211 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants2 Participants3 Participants6 Participants5 Participants8 Participants5 Participants7 Participants39 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
18 Participants9 Participants7 Participants51 Participants49 Participants45 Participants15 Participants47 Participants241 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
22 participants11 participants10 participants58 participants56 participants53 participants20 participants55 participants285 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
9 Participants7 Participants5 Participants26 Participants27 Participants25 Participants13 Participants35 Participants147 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
13 Participants4 Participants5 Participants32 Participants29 Participants28 Participants7 Participants20 Participants138 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
EG007
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 200 / 220 / 110 / 100 / 580 / 560 / 530 / 55
other
Total, other adverse events
19 / 2022 / 2211 / 1110 / 1055 / 5850 / 5650 / 5349 / 55
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 202 / 220 / 111 / 101 / 584 / 563 / 532 / 55

Outcome results

Primary

Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).

Pain intensity is assessed at rest using an 11-point NRS (0-10) where 0 represents no pain and 10 represents worst pain imaginable (using windowed worst observation carried forward to adjust for opioid rescue medication use). The theoretical range of AUC0-48 is 0-480.

Time frame: 48 hours

Population: ITT Population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Cohort 1, Group 1: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).386.12 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 82.93
Cohort 1, Group 2: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).391.56 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 84.45
Cohort 1, Group 3: Saline PlaceboMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).405.82 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 97.549
Cohort 1, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCIMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).347.56 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 103.422
Cohort 2, Group 1: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).322.08 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 99.669
Cohort 2, Group 2: HTX-011 + RopivacaineMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).307.25 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 127.674
Cohort 2, Group 3: Saline PlaceboMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).396.36 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 77.468
Cohort 2, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCIMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 48 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-48).352.74 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 100.887
Secondary

Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).

Pain intensity is assessed at rest using an 11-point NRS (0-10) where 0 represents no pain and 10 represents worst pain imaginable (using windowed worst observation carried forward to adjust for opioid rescue medication use). The theoretical range of AUC0-72 is 0-720.

Time frame: 72 hours

Population: ITT Population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Cohort 1, Group 1: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).543.14 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 142.566
Cohort 1, Group 2: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).560.85 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 136.099
Cohort 1, Group 3: Saline PlaceboMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).576.44 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 150.815
Cohort 1, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCIMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).468.58 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 179.687
Cohort 2, Group 1: HTX-011Mean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).471.19 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 149.443
Cohort 2, Group 2: HTX-011 + RopivacaineMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).452.54 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 194.095
Cohort 2, Group 3: Saline PlaceboMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).577.93 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 125.102
Cohort 2, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCIMean Area Under the Curve (AUC) of the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Intensity Scores at Rest (NRS-R) Through 72 Hours Postsurgery (AUC0-72).516.93 pain intensity score*hrStandard Deviation 152.512
Secondary

Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)

Time frame: 72 hours

Population: ITT Population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Cohort 1, Group 1: HTX-011Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)65.53 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 31.615
Cohort 1, Group 2: HTX-011Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)66.86 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 31.154
Cohort 1, Group 3: Saline PlaceboMean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)70.41 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 18.057
Cohort 1, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCIMean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)60.70 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 29.903
Cohort 2, Group 1: HTX-011Mean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)64.39 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 27.889
Cohort 2, Group 2: HTX-011 + RopivacaineMean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)60.32 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 34.949
Cohort 2, Group 3: Saline PlaceboMean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)73.55 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 34.448
Cohort 2, Group 4: Bupivacaine HCIMean Total Postoperative Opioid Consumption (in Morphine Equivalents)68.35 morphine milligram equivalent (MME)Standard Deviation 29.169

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 3, 2026