Skip to content

A Biomarker Study to Evaluate MN-166 in Subjects With Amyotrophic Literal Sclerosis (ALS)

A Multi-Center, Open-Label Biomarker Study to Evaluate MN-166 in Subjects With Amyotrophic Literal Sclerosis (ALS)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02714036
Enrollment
35
Registered
2016-03-21
Start date
2016-05-06
Completion date
2020-06-30
Last updated
2024-09-24

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis

Keywords

ALS

Brief summary

This is a multi-center, open-label study of MN-166 (ibudilast) in subjects with ALS. To be eligible subjects must meet the El Escorial criteria of possible, laboratory-supported probable, probable, or definite criteria for a diagnosis of ALS. Safety, tolerability, blood, neuro-imaging biomarkers, and clinical outcomes will be collected on all subjects. Subjects will receive study drug for 36 weeks. The study will consist of a Screening Phase (up to 6 weeks), an Open-Label Treatment Phase (36 weeks) and an Off-Treatment Follow-up Phase (4 Weeks). Number of Subjects (Planned): Approximately 45 subjects are planned to be screened with the goal of enrolling 35 subjects.

Detailed description

This is a multi-center, open-label study of MN-166 (ibudilast) in subjects with ALS. To be eligible subjects must meet the El Escorial criteria of possible, laboratory-supported probable, probable, or definite criteria for a diagnosis of ALS. Safety, tolerability, blood, neuro-imaging biomarkers, and clinical outcomes will be collected on all subjects. Subjects will receive study drug for 36 weeks. The study will consist of a Screening Phase (up to 6 weeks), an Open-Label Treatment Phase (36 weeks) and a Off-Treatment Follow-up Phase (4 Weeks). During the Screening Phase, eligible ALS subjects will sign an informed consent form and the following screening assessments will be performed: review of inclusion/exclusion criteria: El Escorial ALS Diagnostic criteria, medical history and demographics, ALS diagnosis history, physical and neurological examination, U. Penn upper motor Neuron Burden (UMNB), pulmonary function tests, vital signs including height and weight, blood for safety labs including TSPO affinity test, ECG and review and documentation of concomitant medications and therapies. Screening Phase (up to 6 weeks) The Treatment Phase will consist of a Baseline visit and 3 subsequent clinic visits at Weeks 4, 12, 24, and 36. Telephone follow-ups will occur at Weeks 1, 2, 8, 16, 20, 28, and 32. Open-Label Treatment Phase (36 weeks) At the Baseline visit, subjects will return to the clinic and the following assessments will be performed/administered: review of inclusion and exclusion criteria for continued eligibility, vital signs, blood for safety labs and biomarkers, ECG, ALSFRS-R questionnaire, slow vital capacity (SVC), baseline strength as measured by hand held dynamometry (HHD), and Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS). At this visit, study drug will be dispensed, and adverse events, concomitant medications and therapies will be assessed and documented. At subsequent visits during the Treatment Phase, similar assessments will be performed. In addition, a \[11C\]PBR28-PET scan will be performed once between the Screening and Baseline visit, and once between the Week 12 and Week 28 phone calls. The ALSFRS-R, SVC and U Penn Upper Motor Neuron Burden will be repeated on the same day as the PET scans. The follow-up visit will consist of a telephone call to document adverse events and concomitant therapies

Interventions

Ibudilast is a small molecule that crosses the blood-brain barrier after oral administration. Its potential as a neuroprotective agent is based on in vitro and in vivo evidence of its ability to reduce microglial activation, inhibit microglia-monocyte recruitment to the central nervous system (CNS), and trigger the release of neurotrophic factors.

Ibudilast is a small molecule that crosses the blood-brain barrier after oral administration. Its potential as a neuroprotective agent is based on in vitro and in vivo evidence of its ability to reduce microglial activation, inhibit microglia-monocyte recruitment to the central nervous system (CNS), and trigger the release of neurotrophic factors.

Sponsors

Massachusetts General Hospital
CollaboratorOTHER
South Shore Neurologic Associates
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
MediciNova
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Masking description

Participants were assigned to one of 2 groups at the discretion of the Principal Investigator.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Subjects must be diagnosed as having possible, probable, probable-laboratory supported, or definite ALS, either sporadic or familial according to modified El Escorial criteria. 2. Age 18 or above, able to provide informed consent, and safely comply with study procedures. 3. Vital capacity (VC) of at least 50% predicted value for gender, height and age at screening visit, or in the opinion of the study physician, able to safely tolerate study procedures. (Not applicable to flexible arm) 4. Subject must be able to swallow oral medication at the Baseline Visit and expected to be able to swallow the capsules throughout the course of the study. 5. Subject must not have taken riluzole for at least 30 days or be on a stable dose of riluzole for at least 30 days, prior to screening (riluzole-naïve participants are permitted in the study). (Not applicable to flexible arm) 6. Women must not be able to become pregnant (e.g. post-menopausal, surgically sterile, or using adequate birth control) for the duration of the study and 3 months after study completion. 7. Males should practice contraception for the duration of the study and 3 months after completion. 8. Ability to safely lie flat for 90 min for PET procedures in the opinion of the study physician. (Not applicable to flexible arm) 9. High or mixed affinity to bind TSPO protein (Ala/Ala or Ala/Thr) (not applicable to flexible arm). 10. Upper motor Neuron Burden (UMNB) Score ≥25 (out of 45) at screening visit. (Not applicable to flexible arm)

Exclusion criteria

1. Abnormal liver function defined as AST and/or ALT \> 3 times the upper limit of the normal. 2. Renal insufficiency as defined by a serum creatinine \> 1.5 times the upper limit of normal. 3. The presence of unstable psychiatric disease, cognitive impairment, or dementia that would impair ability of the participant to provide informed consent, according to PI judgment. 4. Clinically significant unstable medical condition (other than ALS) that would pose a risk to the participant if they were to participate in the study. 5. History of HIV, clinically significant chronic hepatitis, or other active infection. 6. Active inflammatory condition of autoimmune disorder (Not applicable to flexible arm) 7. Females must not be lactating or pregnant. 8. Active participation in another ALS clinical trial or exposure to an off-label ALS experimental treatment within 30 days of the Baseline Visit (Not applicable to flexible arm) 9. Exposure to immunomodulatory medications within 30 days of the Baseline Visit. (Not applicable to flexible arm) 10. Any contraindication to undergo MRI studies such as * History of a cardiac pacemaker or pacemaker wires * Metallic particles in the body * Vascular clips in the head * Prosthetic heart valves * Claustrophobia (Not applicable to flexible arm) 11. Radiation exposure that exceeds the site's current guidelines (Not applicable to flexible arm) 12. EKG finding of QTc prolongation \> 450 msec for males and \> 470 msec for females at screening or baseline. 13. Not on any prohibitive medication or known QT prolonging medication:

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Impact of MN-166 on [11C]-PBR28 Uptake in the Motor Cortices and Brain Stem Measured by Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Imaging at 12 - 24 Weeks12- 24 weeks (post treatment [11C]-PBR28-PET scan will be performed between the Week 12 and Week 24 visits.Glial activation will be estimated in eligible participants in the Regular arm by combined magnetic resonance positron emission tomography (MR-PET) using the \[11C\]-PBR28 radioligand. \[11C\]-PBR28 uptake is quantified as the ratio of the standardized uptake value (SUVR). An independent neuroimaging rater blinded to the clinical data will assess for quality control of the PBR28-PET images and SUVR. The primary analysis will be performed on the modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) population. The median (90% confidence interval \[CI\]) changes from baseline in SUVR from pre- to post-treatment visit will be presented.
Impact of MN-166 on Several Markers of Neuro-inflammation Measured by Blood Biomarkers at Week 3636 weeksMean change from baseline (pre-dose) to Week 36 in blood biomarkers for neuroinflammation, including macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF), tumor necrosis factor (TNF)-alpha, and neurofilament light (NfL). All blood biomarkers are measured in picograms/milliliter (pg/mL).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Safety and Tolerability of MN-166 Over 36 Weeks36 weeksClinical and laboratory treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) will be collected and stratified by severity, persistence over time, and relationship to study drug.
Evaluate the Effect of MN-166 on ALS Clinical Outcomes (ALS Functional Rating Scale-revised [ALSFRS-R]) Over 36 Weeks.36 weeksMean change from baseline to Week 36 on ALSFRS-R score. ALSFRS-R rating scale is a tool to assess patient's capability and independence in 12 functional activities. The ALSFRS-R total score is a composite of sub-scores measuring speech, salivation, swallowing, handwriting, cutting food and handling utensils, dressing and hygiene, turning in bed and adjusting bed clothes, walking, climbing stairs, dyspnea, orthopnea, and respiratory insufficiency. Each subscale ranges from 0 (no ability) to 4 (normal ability). The ALSFRS-R score is the sum total ranging from 0 (zero) to 48, with higher scores meaning better outcome.
Mean Change From Baseline in Slow Vital Capacity (Percent Predicted) Normal Volume at Week 3636 weeksSlow vital capacity (SVC) is the maximum volume of air that can be slowly exhaled after slow, maximal inhalation, measured in liters. The maximum volume expired is converted to percent of predicted (% pred.) normal volume. Higher SVC (% pred.) normal volume indicates better pulmonary function. The results below reflect the mean change in SVC (% pred.) from baseline to week 36.
Mean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.36 weeksHHD assesses isometric strength using a MicroFET2 hand-held dynamometer in kilograms (kg). To calculate megascores, the mean and standard deviation of each muscle group, without regard to laterality, is calculated from the baseline assessment. Nine upper and lower extremity muscles or muscle groups were examined: shoulder flexion, elbow flexion, wrist extension, first dorsal interosseous contraction, hip flexion, knee extension, and ankle dorsiflexion. Each group was measured at least twice bilaterally and the average of the 2 highest measurements were analyzed. To calculate megascores, the mean and standard deviation of each group were calculated from baseline.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Analysis Sets: Safety (n=35, n=30 Regular arm, n=5 Flexible arm) = All participants initiated at least the first MN-166 dose. Intent-to-Treat (ITT) (n=30) = All participants initiated at least the first MN-166 dose, excluding Flexible arm. Modified ITT (n=22) = Subset of ITT who completed pre- and post-treatment PET scans. Per Protocol (PP) (n=16) Subset of ITT who successfully titrated up to and maintained the full dose of 50 mg bid.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Regular
Participants will receive up to 100 mg /day MN-166 for 36 weeks. MN-166 dosing may vary based on individual tolerability.
30
Flexible
Participants will receive up to 100 mg /day MN-166 for 36 weeks. MN-166 dosing may vary based on individual tolerability. Participants will have all assessments except PET scans.
5
Total35

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event92
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject32

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicFlexibleTotalRegular
Age, Continuous54.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.3
56.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.7
57.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants35 Participants30 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Mean delay between symptom onset and ALS diagnosis0.74 Mean years1.06 Mean years1.12 Mean years
Mean years since ALS onset1.93 mean years since ALS onset2.04 mean years since ALS onset2.06 mean years since ALS onset
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
5 Participants34 Participants29 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
5 participants35 participants30 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants15 Participants14 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
4 Participants20 Participants16 Participants
Site of ALS onset
Bulbar onset
2 Participants12 Participants10 Participants
Site of ALS onset
Lower Limb
2 Participants11 Participants9 Participants
Site of ALS onset
Upper Limb
1 Participants12 Participants11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
2 / 300 / 5
other
Total, other adverse events
30 / 305 / 5
serious
Total, serious adverse events
6 / 300 / 5

Outcome results

Primary

Impact of MN-166 on [11C]-PBR28 Uptake in the Motor Cortices and Brain Stem Measured by Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Imaging at 12 - 24 Weeks

Glial activation will be estimated in eligible participants in the Regular arm by combined magnetic resonance positron emission tomography (MR-PET) using the \[11C\]-PBR28 radioligand. \[11C\]-PBR28 uptake is quantified as the ratio of the standardized uptake value (SUVR). An independent neuroimaging rater blinded to the clinical data will assess for quality control of the PBR28-PET images and SUVR. The primary analysis will be performed on the modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) population. The median (90% confidence interval \[CI\]) changes from baseline in SUVR from pre- to post-treatment visit will be presented.

Time frame: 12- 24 weeks (post treatment [11C]-PBR28-PET scan will be performed between the Week 12 and Week 24 visits.

Population: modified Intent-to-Treat population

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
RegularImpact of MN-166 on [11C]-PBR28 Uptake in the Motor Cortices and Brain Stem Measured by Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Imaging at 12 - 24 Weeks0.0015 SUV ratio
Primary

Impact of MN-166 on Several Markers of Neuro-inflammation Measured by Blood Biomarkers at Week 36

Mean change from baseline (pre-dose) to Week 36 in blood biomarkers for neuroinflammation, including macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF), tumor necrosis factor (TNF)-alpha, and neurofilament light (NfL). All blood biomarkers are measured in picograms/milliliter (pg/mL).

Time frame: 36 weeks

Population: Intent-to-Treat population

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
RegularImpact of MN-166 on Several Markers of Neuro-inflammation Measured by Blood Biomarkers at Week 36macrophage migration inhibitory factor-673387.22 picograms/millilitersStandard Deviation 943313.53
RegularImpact of MN-166 on Several Markers of Neuro-inflammation Measured by Blood Biomarkers at Week 36tumor necrosis factor-alpha-0.31 picograms/millilitersStandard Deviation 0.57
RegularImpact of MN-166 on Several Markers of Neuro-inflammation Measured by Blood Biomarkers at Week 36neurofilament light21.43 picograms/millilitersStandard Deviation 47.71
Secondary

Evaluate the Effect of MN-166 on ALS Clinical Outcomes (ALS Functional Rating Scale-revised [ALSFRS-R]) Over 36 Weeks.

Mean change from baseline to Week 36 on ALSFRS-R score. ALSFRS-R rating scale is a tool to assess patient's capability and independence in 12 functional activities. The ALSFRS-R total score is a composite of sub-scores measuring speech, salivation, swallowing, handwriting, cutting food and handling utensils, dressing and hygiene, turning in bed and adjusting bed clothes, walking, climbing stairs, dyspnea, orthopnea, and respiratory insufficiency. Each subscale ranges from 0 (no ability) to 4 (normal ability). The ALSFRS-R score is the sum total ranging from 0 (zero) to 48, with higher scores meaning better outcome.

Time frame: 36 weeks

Population: Intent-to-Treat population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
RegularEvaluate the Effect of MN-166 on ALS Clinical Outcomes (ALS Functional Rating Scale-revised [ALSFRS-R]) Over 36 Weeks.-4.5 Total ALSFRS-R scoreStandard Deviation 4.5
Secondary

Mean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.

HHD assesses isometric strength using a MicroFET2 hand-held dynamometer in kilograms (kg). To calculate megascores, the mean and standard deviation of each muscle group, without regard to laterality, is calculated from the baseline assessment. Nine upper and lower extremity muscles or muscle groups were examined: shoulder flexion, elbow flexion, wrist extension, first dorsal interosseous contraction, hip flexion, knee extension, and ankle dorsiflexion. Each group was measured at least twice bilaterally and the average of the 2 highest measurements were analyzed. To calculate megascores, the mean and standard deviation of each group were calculated from baseline.

Time frame: 36 weeks

Population: Intent-to-Treat population

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.upper limbs, proximal-0.5803 kilogramsStandard Deviation 0.8108
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.upper limbs, distal-0.5004 kilogramsStandard Deviation 0.4823
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.upper limbs, cumulated-0.5324 kilogramsStandard Deviation 0.5738
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.lower limbs, proximal-0.2778 kilogramsStandard Deviation 0.7749
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.lower limbs, distal-0.3525 kilogramsStandard Deviation 0.6492
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.lower limbs, cumulated-0.3151 kilogramsStandard Deviation 0.6824
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Isometric Strength as Measured by Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) at Week 36.cumulated-0.4358 kilogramsStandard Deviation 0.5863
Secondary

Mean Change From Baseline in Slow Vital Capacity (Percent Predicted) Normal Volume at Week 36

Slow vital capacity (SVC) is the maximum volume of air that can be slowly exhaled after slow, maximal inhalation, measured in liters. The maximum volume expired is converted to percent of predicted (% pred.) normal volume. Higher SVC (% pred.) normal volume indicates better pulmonary function. The results below reflect the mean change in SVC (% pred.) from baseline to week 36.

Time frame: 36 weeks

Population: Intent-to-Treat population

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
RegularMean Change From Baseline in Slow Vital Capacity (Percent Predicted) Normal Volume at Week 36-9.27 percent predicted normal volumeStandard Deviation 11.23
Secondary

Safety and Tolerability of MN-166 Over 36 Weeks

Clinical and laboratory treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) will be collected and stratified by severity, persistence over time, and relationship to study drug.

Time frame: 36 weeks

Population: Safety population

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
RegularSafety and Tolerability of MN-166 Over 36 Weeks30 Participants
FlexibleSafety and Tolerability of MN-166 Over 36 Weeks5 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026