Skip to content

Clinical Evaluation of Flortaucipir F 18

Clinical Evaluation of 18F-AV-1451

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02278367
Enrollment
179
Registered
2014-10-30
Start date
2014-12-31
Completion date
2019-06-26
Last updated
2020-09-10

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Alzheimer's Disease, Depression, Traumatic Brain Injury

Brief summary

This study is designed to expand the database of flortaucipir F 18 safety and tau binding as measured by PET imaging and to provide standardized conditions for flortaucipir PET use, data collection and analysis to facilitate companion studies including, but not limited to, longitudinal studies of aging, depression, and traumatic brain injury.

Interventions

DRUGFlortaucipir F18

IV injection, 370 MBq (10 mCi), up to two doses

positron emission tomography (PET) scan of the brain

Sponsors

Avid Radiopharmaceuticals
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
DIAGNOSTIC
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

Subjects should meet inclusion and

Exclusion criteria

for the companion protocol in addition to the criteria below. Inclusion Criteria: * Subjects who have a historical volumetric magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) as part of the companion study

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Flortaucipir Administrationwithin 48 hours of drug administrationFrequency of treatment-emergent adverse events considered related to flortaucipir administration by the study investigator. Related events with a frequency \> 1.5% are reported. (note: all treatment-emergent adverse events, regardless of relatedness designation, are reported in Adverse Events section below).
Flortaucipir PET Scan SUVrbaseline and follow-up scansStandard Uptake Value Ratio (SUVr) using a weighted cortical average. For SUVr, a value of 1 or lower signifies no flortaucipir activity above background, values greater than 1 signify increasing flortaucipir activity in the brain.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cognitively Impaired
Cognitively impaired subjects receiving a flortaucipir PET scan
69
Cognitively Normal
Cognitively normal subjects receiving a flortaucipir PET scan
110
Total179

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyPhysician Decision50
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject50

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCognitively ImpairedCognitively NormalTotal
Age, Continuous72.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.6
70.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.18
71.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.02
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants10 Participants10 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
69 Participants100 Participants169 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
MMSE21 score on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.35
29.3 score on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.06
26.1 score on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.92
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
5 Participants5 Participants10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
62 Participants105 Participants167 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
69 participants110 participants179 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
34 Participants68 Participants102 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
35 Participants42 Participants77 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 690 / 110
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 6916 / 110
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 690 / 110

Outcome results

Primary

Flortaucipir PET Scan SUVr

Standard Uptake Value Ratio (SUVr) using a weighted cortical average. For SUVr, a value of 1 or lower signifies no flortaucipir activity above background, values greater than 1 signify increasing flortaucipir activity in the brain.

Time frame: baseline and follow-up scans

Population: Includes only subjects for whom a quantitative image analysis was possible

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Cognitively ImpairedFlortaucipir PET Scan SUVrBaseline SUVr1.3983 standardized uptake value ratio (SUVr)Standard Deviation 0.3641
Cognitively ImpairedFlortaucipir PET Scan SUVrFollow-up Scan SUVr1.4404 standardized uptake value ratio (SUVr)Standard Deviation 0.37426
Cognitively NormalFlortaucipir PET Scan SUVrBaseline SUVr1.004 standardized uptake value ratio (SUVr)Standard Deviation 0.04871
Primary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Flortaucipir Administration

Frequency of treatment-emergent adverse events considered related to flortaucipir administration by the study investigator. Related events with a frequency \> 1.5% are reported. (note: all treatment-emergent adverse events, regardless of relatedness designation, are reported in Adverse Events section below).

Time frame: within 48 hours of drug administration

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cognitively ImpairedNumber of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Flortaucipir AdministrationHeadache0 Participants
Cognitively ImpairedNumber of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Flortaucipir AdministrationDysgeusia0 Participants
Cognitively NormalNumber of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Flortaucipir AdministrationHeadache3 Participants
Cognitively NormalNumber of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Flortaucipir AdministrationDysgeusia3 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026