Skip to content

Proton Radiotherapy for Stage I, IIA, and IIB Seminoma

A Phase II Study of Adjuvant Proton Radiation Therapy for the Treatment of Stage I, IIA and IIB Seminoma

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01557790
Enrollment
5
Registered
2012-03-20
Start date
2012-03-31
Completion date
2017-12-31
Last updated
2020-04-13

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Stage I, IIA and IIB Seminoma

Keywords

Adult male, 18 years or older, clinical diagnosis

Brief summary

Phase II study using Proton radiation therapy to treat males, aged 18 years or older, with Stage I, IIA and IIB Seminoma. This research study will be done in conjunction with the Robert H. Burr Proton Therapy Center at the Mass. General Hospital and the Department of Defense. In the feasibility portion of the study patients will be evaluated to determine acute toxicity. If the study is deemed feasible the principal investigator (PI) hopes that proton RT will reduce the lethargy rate as compared to photon radiation therapy (RT).

Detailed description

This is a Phase II study using proton radiation therapy in addition to their standard care in subjects who have Stage I, IIA, IIB Seminoma. Testicular cancer are the most common solid cancers among men aged 20 to 35. Each subject must be 18 years of age or older and have a histologically proven diagnosis of testicular cancer. In addition to a subject's routine exams and tests, they will be asked to complete a series of quality of life questionnaires before, during and after their treatment. All side effects/toxicities will be monitored and recorded. Patients will be followed for a minimum of 5 years.

Interventions

Sponsors

Massachusetts General Hospital
CollaboratorOTHER
Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histological diagnosis; Histologically proven diagnosis of testicular seminoma; - Histologically confirmed seminomatous germ cell tumor of the testis categorized as either classical or anaplastic; * Stage I disease; Any pT N0 M0 S0-3 (Appendix B) \[AJCC, 7th Ed.\] (72); Stage IIA or IIB disease; * Any pT N1 M0 S0-3 (Appendix B) \[AJCC, 7th Ed.\] (72); Any pT N2 M0 S0-3 (Appendix B) \[AJCC, 7th Ed.\] (72); (at the discretion of the principal investigators, bulky stage IIB may be excluded from the study, according to National Comprehensive Cancer Center Guidelines. 2. Laboratory evaluations; Semen analysis (patients will not be excluded if they do not wish to have an analysis or their insurance denies the claim) Follice-stimulating hormone (prior to the start of radiation) Luteinizing Hormone (Prior to the start of radiation) Lactate Dehydrogenase (Prior to the start of radiation) Human Chorionic Gonadotropic (Prior to the start of radiation) Complete blood count (Prior to the start of radiation) Testosterone (prior to the start of radiation) 3. Appropriate stage for protocol entry, as per protocol section 3.2.1, , based upon the following minimum diagnostic workup: History and physical examination, including a complete list of current medications; Chest x-ray (PA and lateral views) or CT Chest (within 3 months of study registration); Abdominal/pelvic CT scan or Abd/pelvic MRI(within 3 months of study registration); Brain MRI if clinically indicated; Bone scan if clinically indicated; 4. For stage I seminoma patients only, definitive surgical intervention within ten weeks prior to registration; Patients undergoing scrotal violations (scrotal orchiectomy, transscrotal biopsy, testicular fine needle aspiration, scrotal exploration) will be eligible; 5. The patient is a candidate for definitive external beam radiotherapy; The patient has had no prior radiotherapy to the region of study; The patient has no inflammatory bowel disease, active collagen vascular or connective tissue disorders, and no other medical or social contraindications to radiotherapy, as determined by a participating radiation oncologist; 6. Patient age: ³18 years; 7. Patient ECOG performance status: 0-1 (Appendix C); 8. For Stage II disease recurrence, rebiopsy is not clinically indicated. Imaging suffices for confirmation of recurrence

Exclusion criteria

* Prior radiotherapy to the region of the study cancer * Prior radiation therapy for a different cancer or disease process is allowed, provided there will be no overlap of radiation therapy fields between the participant's prior and current course of radiation therapy, radiotherapy was completed more than four weeks from first fraction of proton therapy administered in this study, and the participant has recovered to Grade ≤1 toxicity related to prior radiotherapy * Chemotherapy administered for the diagnosis of seminoma * Prior chemotherapy for a different cancer is allowed, provided therapy was completed more than twelve months from first fraction of proton therapy administered in this study and the participant has recovered to Grade ≤1 toxicity related to agents previously administered * Incomplete definitive surgical orchiectomy, including diagnostic biopsy alone * Pelvic lymph node dissection for the diagnosis of seminoma * An investigational drug administered for the diagnosis of seminoma given concurrently or within four weeks of the first fraction of proton therapy administration * Prior or concurrent second invasive malignancy other than non-melanoma skin cancer, unless disease free for a minimum of five years * Known severe, active co-morbidity, defined as follows:Any clinically significant unrelated systemic illness, medical condition, or other factor, which at the discretion of the Principal Investigators, would interfere in the safe and timely completion of study procedures, compromise the patient's ability to tolerate the protocol therapy, or is likely to interfere with the study procedures or results * Cognitively impaired patients who cannot provide informed consent

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Number of Serious Adverse Events5 years

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Proton RT
Subjects receive proton radiation for seminoma Proton Radiation Therapy
5
Total5

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicProton RT
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
5 Participants
Age, Continuous36.86 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.64
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
5 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 5
other
Total, other adverse events
5 / 5
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 5

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Serious Adverse Events

Time frame: 5 years

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Proton RTNumber of Serious Adverse Events0 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026