Skip to content

Trial to Study Electro-Acupuncture in Subjects With Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy

A Single-Arm Pilot Study of the Feasibility and Efficacy of Electro-Acupuncture in Subjects With Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT07455409
Enrollment
20
Registered
2026-03-06
Start date
2019-08-29
Completion date
2023-08-18
Last updated
2026-05-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy

Brief summary

This study will determine the feasibility and efficacy of a 10-treatment electro-acupuncture (EA) program in subjects with chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy (CIPN). The Investigators hypothesize that EA will be a feasible and effective therapy for CIPN.

Detailed description

This is a single-arm pilot study assessing the feasibility and efficacy of EA in 20 subjects with CIPN. The primary objective is to determine the feasibility of a 10-treatment EA program in subjects with CIPN. Feasibility will be defined as ≥15 patients completing ≥8 EA treatments. Secondary objectives include change in neuropathic pain and quality of life before and after EA treatment. An exploratory correlative analysis of mechanistic biomarkers will also be performed.

Interventions

DEVICEElectro-acupuncture

Electro-acupuncture (EA) is a non-pharmacologic treatment that combines traditional acupuncture with electrical stimulation and involves passing a small electrical current between pairs of acupuncture needles.

Sponsors

The Methodist Hospital Research Institute
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
SUPPORTIVE_CARE
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

This is a single-arm pilot study assessing the feasibility and efficacy of EA in 20 subjects with CIPN. The primary objective is to determine the feasibility of a 10-treatment EA program in subjects with CIPN. Feasibility will be defined as ≥15 patients completing ≥8 EA treatments. Secondary objectives include change in neuropathic pain and quality of life before and after EA treatment. An exploratory correlative analysis of mechanistic biomarkers will also be performed.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Male or female aged ≥18 years * Received curative-intent chemotherapy (i.e., paclitaxel, docetaxel, nab-paclitaxel, carboplatin, oxaliplatin, vinorelbine, ixabepilone, or vincristine) ≥3 months prior to the start of EA treatment * Persistent Grade ≥2 peripheral neuropathy in the fingers or toes according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) v3.0 * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status of ≤2 (see Section 13.3) * Willing and able to provide written informed consent for the study.

Exclusion criteria

* Documented medical history of neuropathy resulting from nerve compression (e.g., carpal tunnel syndrome, radiculopathy, or spinal stenosis) * Severe coagulopathy or bleeding disorder, per the treating physician's discretion * Presence of cellulitis or other skin infection or condition that would preclude placement of acupuncture needles into the hands or feet * Diabetes unless Hgb A1c \<7.5% * Unstable cardiac disease * Pacemaker * Metal plates * Known psychiatric disorder that would interfere with cooperation with the requirements of the study * Pregnant

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants That Complete ≥ 8 EA Treatments of a 10-treatment EA Program5 MonthsFeasibility will be defined as ≥15 patients with CIPN completing ≥8 EA treatments of a 10-treatment EA program

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Neuropathic Pain After a 10-treatment EA ProgramBaseline, 2-weeks post-EA (9 weeks), and 3-months post-EA (5 months)The change in neuropathic pain after a 10-treatment EA program in subjects with CIPN, was assessed by the Brief Pain Inventory Short Form (BPI-SF) at Baseline, 2-Week Post EA, and 3 Month Post EA. Used to evaluate the severity of a subject's pain and the impact of this pain on the subject's daily functioning. Pain and interference are rated on a 10-point scale (0 = no pain/interference and 10 = pain as bad as you can imagine/complete interference). Higher scores mean worse outcomes.
Change in Quality of Life After a 10-treatment EA ProgramBaseline, 2-weeks post-EA (9 weeks), and 3-months post-EA (5 months)Assessed by the Total Outcome Index (TOI), including the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity (FACT/GOG-NTX) subscale at Baseline, 2-Week Post EA, and 3 Month Post EA. The Total Outcome Index (TOI) ranges from 0 to 100, with higher scores consistently indicating better outcomes. Items are rated on a 0-4 Likert scale and negatively worded items are reverse scored so that higher values always reflect better health status. The neurotoxicity subscale score is calculated by summing the scored responses to the neurotoxicity items (with standard prorating if some items are missing), and the TOI is calculated by summing the Physical Well-Being, Functional Well-Being, and Neurotoxicity subscale scores. Lower scores on either measure indicate worse symptoms or functioning, while higher scores reflect improvement or better quality of life related to neurotoxicity.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

During the study period, 31 patients with early-stage breast cancer consented onto the trial. Among these, 23 met the eligibility criteria, and 20 of the 23 were enrolled and started treatment. The first patient was consented on 8/29/2019 and the last patient was consented on 4/25/2023.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
10 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
10 Participants
Age, Continuous66.5 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
18 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
14 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
20 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
20 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 20
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 20
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 20

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 2, 2026