Skip to content

Safety, Tolerability, and Pharmacokinetic Study of TV-44749 in Chinese Patients With Schizophrenia

A Phase 1, Single Dose, Parallel Cohort Study to Evaluate the Safety, Tolerability, and Pharmacokinetics of TV-44749, Olanzapine for Extended-Release Injectable Suspension for Subcutaneous Use, in Chinese Patients With Schizophrenia

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT06253546
Enrollment
24
Registered
2024-02-12
Start date
2024-03-28
Completion date
2025-06-12
Last updated
2026-06-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Schizophrenia

Brief summary

Primary Objective: To evaluate the safety and tolerability of single doses of TV-44749 for subcutaneous (sc) use in Chinese participants with schizophrenia. Secondary Objectives: * To evaluate the pharmacokinetics (PK) of single doses of TV-44749 administered sc. * To evaluate the pharmacokinetics of oral olanzapine tablets following multiple dose administration. * To monitor the safety and tolerability of multiple doses of oral olanzapine tablets given in the study.

Detailed description

The total study duration for participants is planned to be approximately 13 weeks, including 40 days of screening, 1-week oral olanzapine treatment, a 1-week washout period, 4-week TV-44749 treatment, and 2-week follow-up period after the last dosing interval.

Interventions

DRUGTV-44749 318mg

Pharmaceutical form: extended-release injectable suspension Route of administration: subcutaneous injection

DRUGOral Olanzapine 10mg/day

Pharmaceutical form: tablet Route of administration: oral

DRUGTV-44749 425mg

Pharmaceutical form: extended-release injectable suspension Route of administration: subcutaneous injection

DRUGOral Olanzapine 15mg/day

Pharmaceutical form: tablet Route of administration: oral

DRUGTV-44749 531mg

Pharmaceutical form: extended-release injectable suspension Route of administration: subcutaneous injection

DRUGOral Olanzapine 20mg/day

Pharmaceutical form: tablet Route of administration: oral

Sponsors

Teva Branded Pharmaceutical Products R&D LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 64 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Body weight \>50 kg and body mass index (BMI) between 18.5 to 38.0 kg/m2, inclusive, at the time of screening. * A current confirmed diagnosis of schizophrenia according to an evaluation by the investigator, using the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) * Are clinically stable, on oral olanzapine (i.e., dose has not changed in the last 4 weeks), and not currently on other antipsychotic treatment at the time of screening. * No hospitalization for worsening of schizophrenic symptoms and no significant exacerbation of schizophrenic symptoms, as judged by the investigator, within the 3 months prior to screening. * Female participants must have a negative serum pregnancy test at screening, are sterile or postmenopausal, and not planning pregnancy within the study period and for an additional 6 months after last dose administration. * Male participants must be surgically sterile, or, if capable of producing offspring, has exclusively same-sex partners or is currently using an approved method of birth control. * Agree to maintain current smoking or nonsmoking status at the time informed consent is obtained and throughout the study until completion of the end of study (EOS)/early termination (ET) visit. * Have no ongoing or expected significant life events (such as pending loss of housing, marital status change, long travel abroad, surgery, etc.) that could affect study outcomes expected throughout the period of study participation. NOTE: Additional criteria apply, please contact the investigator for more information.

Exclusion criteria

* Presence or have a history of clinically significant diseases of the renal, hepatic, gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, musculoskeletal system or presence or history of clinically significant immunological, endocrine, metabolic, neurological, or psychiatric disorder(s) (other than schizophrenia), or a history of any illness that, in the opinion of the principal investigator, might pose additional risk to the participant by participation in the study or confound the results of the study * Major trauma or surgery in the 2 months before screening or at any time between screening and the first dose of the investigational medicinal product (IMP), surgery scheduled during the study or follow-up period, or open biopsy within 4 months prior to screening * History of malignancy or treatment of malignancy in the last 5 years, excluding resected basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin. NOTE: Additional criteria apply, please contact the investigator for more information.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Period 2: Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Day 1 Up to Day 43An adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received the study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Treatment-emergent AEs were defined as AEs that occurred after the first dose of study drug was administered in Period 1 through end of the trial. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all serious AEs (SAEs), regardless of causality is located in the Reported AE section.
Period 2: Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent SAEsDay 1 Up to Day 43An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received the study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. The SAEs were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. Treatment-emergent AEs were defined as AEs that occurred after the first dose of study drug was administered in Period 1 through end of the trial. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all SAEs, regardless of causality is located in the Reported AE section.
Period 2: Number of Participants With Injection Site AEsDay 1 Up to Day 43Injection site AEs included injection site pruritus, induration, warmth, and abscess. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all SAEs, regardless of causality is located in the Reported AE section. All injection site AEs are reported in this outcome measure and the AE module only reports non-serious AEs at the 5% threshold. In the AE module, a participant could have been included for multiple injection site AEs.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Period 2: Maximum Observed Plasma Drug Concentration (Cmax) of TV-44749Day 1 Up to Day 43
Period 2: Area Under the Plasma Drug Concentration-time Curve (AUC) Over the Period Following Administration on Day 1 to the Time of the Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-t) of TV-44749Day 1 Up to Day 43
Period 2: AUC of TV-44749 Over the Period Following Administration on Day 1 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-inf)Day 1 Up to Day 43
Period 2: Time to Maximum Observed Concentration (Tmax) of TV-44749Day 1 Up to Day 43
Period 2: Apparent Elimination Half-Life (t½) of TV-44749Day 1 Up to Day 43
Period 1: Maximum Observed Plasma Drug Concentration at Steady State (Cmax,ss[Oral Olanzapine])Day -8
Period 1: AUC of Oral Olanzapine From Time 0 to the End of the Dosing Interval (24 Hour) at Steady State (AUC0-tau,ss[Oral Olanzapine])Day -8
Period 1: Calculated AUC of Oral Olanzapine at Steady State Extrapolated Over 28 Days (AUC0-tau,ss[Oral Olanzapine] * 28)Day -8 up to Day 20The steady-state AUC of oral olanzapine over a 28-day dosing interval was calculated by extrapolating the 24-hour AUC obtained following administration of the seventh oral dose (Day -8) to a 28-day period (AUC0-tau,ss\[oral olanzapine\] \* 28).
Period 1: Time to Maximum Concentration of Oral Olanzapine at Steady State (Tmax,ss[Oral Olanzapine])Day -8
Period 1: Number of Participants With TEAEsDay -14 up to Day -8An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received the study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Treatment-emergent AEs were defined as AEs that occurred after the first dose of study drug was administered in Period 1 through end of the trial. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all SAEs, regardless of causality is located in the Reported AE section.
Period 1: Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent SAEsDay -14 up to Day -8An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received the study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. The SAEs were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. Treatment-emergent AEs were defined as AEs that occurred after the first dose of study drug was administered in Period 1 through end of the trial. A summary of other non-SAEs and all serious AEs, regardless of causality is located in the Reported AE section.

Countries

China

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORTeva Medical Expert, MD

Teva Branded Pharmaceutical Products R&D LLC

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

A total of 36 participants were screened. Of these, 24 participants who met the eligibility criteria were enrolled and treated in Period 1 of the trial. A total of 21 participants who completed Period 1 were enrolled and treated in Period 2 of the trial.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous37.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.61
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
9 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 120 / 60 / 60 / 110 / 40 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
9 / 124 / 66 / 610 / 113 / 46 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 121 / 60 / 60 / 110 / 41 / 6

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jul 1, 2026