Skip to content

A Drug-Drug Interaction Study of Orforglipron (LY3502970) in Healthy Overweight and Obese Participants

A Drug-Drug Interaction Study to Assess the Effect of Orforglipron on the Pharmacokinetics of Digoxin, Simvastatin, Rosuvastatin, Acetaminophen, and Midazolam in Healthy Overweight and Obese Participants

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT06186622
Enrollment
50
Registered
2024-01-02
Start date
2024-01-02
Completion date
2024-07-10
Last updated
2026-05-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Healthy, Obese, Overweight

Brief summary

The main purpose of this study is to determine effect of orforglipron capsule formulation on the amount of digoxin, rosuvastatin, acetaminophen, midazolam, and simvastatin (each given alone and together with orforglipron) that enters the bloodstream and how long it takes the body to eliminate them when administered orally in healthy overweight and obese participants. In addition, the effect of the orforglipron tablet on the amount of simvastatin that enters the bloodstream and how long it takes the body to eliminate it will be evaluated. The study will also assess the effect of sodium bicarbonate when administered alone with simvastatin versus orforglipron capsule containing sodium bicarbonate administered with simvastatin. The safety and tolerability of orforglipron and information about any side effects experienced will be collected. Study will be conducted in two parts, with part 1 and 2 lasting up to approximately 23 and 24 weeks each, including the screening period.

Interventions

DRUGOrforglipron

Administered orally.

DRUGSimvastatin

Administered orally.

DRUGDigoxin

Administered orally.

DRUGRosuvastatin

Administered orally.

DRUGAcetaminophen

Administered orally.

DRUGMidazolam

Administered orally.

DRUGSodium Bicarbonate

Administered orally.

Sponsors

Eli Lilly and Company
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
BASIC_SCIENCE
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 70 Years
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* Participants who are overtly healthy as determined by medical history and physical examination. * Have body mass index (BMI) equal to or greater than 27 kilograms per meter squared (kg/m²), inclusive, at screening. * Have an estimated glomerular filtration rate equal to or greater than 60 milliliters per minute (mL/min). * Males and females who agree to follow contraceptive requirements, or women not of childbearing potential (WNOCBP). * Have venous access sufficient to allow for blood sampling.

Exclusion criteria

* Have any type of diabetes with hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) level of 6.5 percent (%) or greater. * Have significant history of or currently have Major Depressive Disorder or psychiatric disorder within the last 2 years. * Obesity induced by other endocrine disorders, such as Cushing's syndrome or Prader-Willi syndrome. * Have known clinically significant gastric emptying abnormality. * Have undergone bariatric surgery (for example: Lap-Band, Gastric Bypass) * Have a known self or family history (first-degree relative) of multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2A or type 2B, thyroid C-cell hyperplasia, or any form of thyroid cancer. * Have an abnormal 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG) at screening. * Have significant previous or current history of comorbidities capable of significantly altering the absorption, metabolism, or elimination of drug. * Participants must not be currently participating in or completed a clinical trial within the last 90 days. * Have a known allergy or hypersensitivity to midazolam, simvastatin, rosuvastatin, or digoxin.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid Following Simultaneous Administration of Orforglipron Capsule Formulation (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 hours (h) post-dose; Day 98 (Cohort 1) and Day 93 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseAUC \[0-∞\] of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following simultaneous administration with or without Orforglipron capsule were reported in this outcome measure.
PK: AUC [0-∞] of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid Following Staggered Administration of Orforglipron Capsule Formulation (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 h post-dose; Day 104 (Cohort 1) and Day 99 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseAUC \[0-∞\] of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following staggered administration with or without Orforglipron capsule were reported in this outcome measure. Simvastatin was administered \~2h (±10 min) after Orforglipron capsule administration (Staggered dosing).
PK: AUC [0-∞] of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid After Sodium Bicarbonate Coadministration (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 h post-dose; Day 7 (Cohort 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseAUC \[0-∞\] of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following simultaneous administration with or without sodium bicarbonate administration were reported in this outcome measure.
PK: AUC [0-∞] of Digoxin (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 2 (For Cohort 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, and 120h post-dose ; Day 99 (Cohort 1) and Day 94 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, and 120h post-dose
PK: AUC [0-∞] of Rosuvastatin (Cohort 1 Only)Day 8 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, and 72h post-dose; Day 105 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, and 72h post-dose
PK: AUC [0-∞] of Acetaminophen (Cohort 1 Only)Day 10 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24h post-dose; Day 14 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24h post-dose; Day 107 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24h post-doseAUC \[0-∞\] of acetaminophen following staggered administration with or without either 1 mg or 36 mg Orforglipron capsule were reported in this outcome measure. Acetaminophen was administered \~2h (±10 min) after Orforglipron capsule administration (Staggered dosing).
PK: AUC [0-∞] of Midazolam and Its Metabolite 1'-Hydroxymidazolam (Cohort 1 Only)Day 12 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 12, and 24h post-dose; Day 109 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 12, and 24h post-doseAUC \[0-∞\] of midazolam and its metabolite (1'-Hydroxymidazolam) following simultaneous administration with or without Orforglipron capsule were reported in this outcome measure.
PK: Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid Following Simultaneous Administration of Orforglipron Capsule Formulation (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 h post-dose; Day 98 (Cohort 1) and Day 93 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseCmax of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following simultaneous administration with or without Orforglipron capsule were reported in this outcome measure.
PK: Cmax of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid Following Staggered Administration of Orforglipron Capsule Formulation (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 h post-dose; Day 104 (Cohort 1) and Day 99 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseCmax of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following staggered administration with or without Orforglipron capsule were reported in this outcome measure. Simvastatin was administered \~2h (±10 min) after Orforglipron capsule administration (Staggered dosing).
PK: Cmax of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid After Sodium Bicarbonate Coadministration (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 h post-dose; Day 7 (Cohort 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseCmax of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following simultaneous administration with or without sodium bicarbonate administration were reported in this outcome measure.
PK: Cmax of Digoxin (Cohorts 1 and 2)Day 2 (For Cohort 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, and 120h post-dose; Day 99 (Cohort 1) and Day 94 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, and 120h post-dose
PK: Cmax of Rosuvastatin (Cohort 1 Only)Day 8 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, and 72h post-dose; Day 105 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, and 72h post-dose
PK: Cmax of Acetaminophen (Cohort 1 Only)Day 10 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24h post-dose; Day 14 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24h post-dose; Day 107 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24h post-doseCmax of acetaminophen following staggered administration with or without either 1 mg or 36 mg Orforglipron capsule were reported in this outcome measure. Acetaminophen was administered \~2h (±10 min) after Orforglipron capsule administration (Staggered dosing).
PK: Cmax of Midazolam and Its Metabolite 1'-Hydroxymidazolam (Cohort 1 Only)Day 12 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 12, and 24h post-dose; Day 109 (Cohort 1 only): Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 12, and 24h post-doseCmax of Midazolam and its metabolite (1'-Hydroxymidazolam) following simultaneous administration with or without Orforglipron capsule is reported in this outcome measure.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
PK: AUC [0-∞] of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid Following Administration of Orforglipron Tablet Formulation (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 h post-dose; Day 111 (Cohort 1) and Day 101 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseAUC \[0-∞\] of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following simultaneous administration with or without Orforglipron tablet were reported in this outcome measure.
PK: Cmax of Simvastatin and Its Metabolite Simvastatin Acid Following Administration of Orforglipron Tablet Formulation (Cohort 1 and 2)Day 1 (For Cohorts 1 and 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24 h post-dose; Day 111 (Cohort 1) and Day 101 (Cohort 2): Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 24h post-doseCmax of simvastatin and its active acid metabolite (simvastatin acid) following simultaneous administration with or without Orforglipron tablet were reported in this outcome measure.

Countries

United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORCall 1-877-CTLILLY (1-877-285-4559) or 1-317-615-4559 Mon - Fri 9 AM - 5 PM Eastern time (UTC/GMT - 5 hours, EST)

Eli Lilly and Company

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous42.9 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.17
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
19 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
31 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
35 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
50 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
34 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
9 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
EG007
affected / at risk
EG008
affected / at risk
EG009
affected / at risk
EG010
affected / at risk
EG011
affected / at risk
EG012
affected / at risk
EG013
affected / at risk
EG014
affected / at risk
EG015
affected / at risk
EG016
affected / at risk
EG017
affected / at risk
EG018
affected / at risk
EG019
affected / at risk
EG020
affected / at risk
EG021
affected / at risk
EG022
affected / at risk
EG023
affected / at risk
EG024
affected / at risk
EG025
affected / at risk
EG026
affected / at risk
EG027
affected / at risk
EG028
affected / at risk
EG029
affected / at risk
EG030
affected / at risk
EG031
affected / at risk
EG032
affected / at risk
EG033
affected / at risk
EG034
affected / at risk
EG035
affected / at risk
EG036
affected / at risk
EG037
affected / at risk
EG038
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 300 / 300 / 280 / 280 / 270 / 270 / 270 / 270 / 260 / 260 / 260 / 260 / 260 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 210 / 220 / 220 / 200 / 200 / 200 / 200 / 200 / 190 / 190 / 180 / 180 / 160 / 160 / 160 / 160 / 160 / 16
other
Total, other adverse events
2 / 300 / 300 / 280 / 281 / 270 / 271 / 274 / 272 / 265 / 262 / 262 / 2611 / 260 / 222 / 222 / 220 / 222 / 222 / 221 / 221 / 221 / 210 / 222 / 221 / 200 / 200 / 209 / 207 / 206 / 196 / 194 / 1810 / 181 / 161 / 162 / 161 / 160 / 163 / 16
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 300 / 300 / 280 / 280 / 270 / 270 / 270 / 270 / 260 / 260 / 260 / 260 / 260 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 220 / 210 / 220 / 220 / 200 / 200 / 200 / 200 / 200 / 191 / 190 / 180 / 180 / 160 / 160 / 160 / 160 / 160 / 16

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 23, 2026