Skip to content

Changes in Biomarker of Exposure in Adults Who Smoke Cigarettes Switching From Cigarettes to Heated Tobacco Products

A Multi-site, Open-Label, Parallel-Group Study To Evaluate Changes In Tobacco-Related Biomarkers of Exposure and Biomarkers of Potential Harm With Use of Heated Tobacco Products Compared to Combustible Cigarettes in Adult Smokers

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT06179290
Enrollment
921
Registered
2023-12-21
Start date
2023-10-02
Completion date
2025-03-24
Last updated
2026-05-27

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Tobacco Use

Keywords

Tobacco, Smoking, Heated tobacco

Brief summary

The purpose of the study is to evaluate changes in biomarkers of exposure (BoE) to harmful and potentially harmful constituents (HPHCs) in adult smokers who completely switch to Ploom heated tobacco products (HTPs) compared to those who continue to smoke usual brand combustible cigarettes (UBCC).

Detailed description

This is a multi-site, open-label, two-group (menthol and non-menthol), six-arm (HTP, Continue Smoking, and Smoking Abstinence arms within each group) randomized, clinical study to evaluate changes in BoEs in adult smokers who remain smoking, switch to the Ploom HTP, or abstain from smoking, for 60 days (5 days in clinic followed by a 55-day ambulatory phase). Target enrollment is 300 male and female adult smokers between the ages of 22 and 65 in overall good health.

Interventions

OTHERPloom HTP Menthol HTS; MX3 (681)

Menthol heated tobacco product

OTHERPloom HTP Tobacco HTS; R8 (120)

Non-menthol heated tobacco product

OTHERSmoking Abstinence (menthol)

No smoking or other tobacco product use for duration of the study, menthol group comparator

OTHERSmoking Abstinence (non-menthol)

No smoking or other tobacco product use for duration of the study, non-menthol group comparator

Sponsors

Altria Client Services LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY
Celerion
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
OTHER
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

This is a multi-site, open-label, two-group (menthol and non-menthol), six-arm (HTP, Continue Smoking, and Smoking Abstinence arms within each group) randomized, clinical study to evaluate changes in BoEs in adult smokers who remain smoking, switch to the Ploom HTP, or abstain from smoking, for 60 days (5 days in clinic followed by 55-day ambulatory phase). This study follows the recommendations of the FDA's final Premarket Tobacco Product Application guidance (FDA, 2023).

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
22 Years to 65 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Voluntary consent to participate in this study documented on the signed ICF. 2. Score 5 or higher (moderate dependence or higher) on the FTCD. 3. Healthy adult males and females ≥ 22 and ≤ 65 years of age, inclusive, at Screening. 4. Smoking history (self-reported at screening) of an average of at least 10 but no more than 30 factory-manufactured combustible cigarettes (either menthol or non-menthol) daily for at least 12 months prior to screening. Brief periods (ie, up to 7 consecutive days) of non-smoking during the 3 months prior to screening (eg, due to illness or participation in a study where smoking was prohibited) will be permitted. 5. Screening and first check-in blood pressure ≤ 150/90 mmHg measured after being seated for at least 10 minutes. Two rechecks may be performed at the Principal Investigator's discretion. 6. Positive urine cotinine (≥ 500 ng/mL) at screening. 7. Exhaled carbon monoxide (eCO) ≥ 10 ppm at screening. 8. Post-bronchodilator forced expired volume in 1 second (FEV1) : forced vital capacity (FVC) ratio \> 0.7 and FEV1 \> 80% of predicted at screening. 9. Negative pregnancy test at Screening and first check-in (Day -2) for all female subjects. 10. Female subjects who are heterosexually active and of childbearing potential (eg, neither surgically sterile at least 6 months prior to first check-in nor postmenopausal with amenorrhea for at least 12 months prior to first check-in with follicle-stimulating hormone \[FSH\] levels consistent with postmenopausal status) must have been using one of the following forms of contraception for the time period indicated and agree to continue using it through completion of the study: * hormonal (eg, oral, vaginal ring, transdermal patch, implant, injection) consistently for at least 3 months prior to first check-in, when used in combination with male condoms with spermicide (use of NuvaRing® is at the Principal Investigator's discretion) * double barrier (eg, condom with spermicide or diaphragm with spermicide) consistently for at least 2 weeks prior to first check-in * intrauterine device or system (utilize Principal Investigator discretion regarding use of hormonal or nonhormonal devices) for at least 3 months prior to first check-in * exclusive partner who is clinically sterile (ie, documented infertility or surgical sterilization; see below for additional information on sterility) or has been vasectomized for at least 6 months (inclusive) prior to first check-in Note: Sexual abstinence, defined as refraining from intercourse, is allowed when this is in line with the preferred and usual lifestyle of the subject. Female subjects of childbearing potential who are not currently engaging in heterosexual intercourse must agree to use one of the above methods of birth control through completion of study, in the event that they have heterosexual intercourse during the course of the study. 11. Female subjects who are of nonchildbearing potential must have undergone one of the following sterilization procedures at least 6 months prior to first check-in: * Hysteroscopic sterilization (including Essure® or similar nonsurgical sterilization procedures); * bilateral tubal ligation or bilateral salpingectomy; * hysterectomy; * bilateral oophorectomy Or be postmenopausal with amenorrhea for at least 12 months prior to first check-in and have FSH levels consistent with postmenopausal status. 12. Willing to comply with the requirements of the study. 13. Willing to use Ploom HTP after the Product Trial at first check-in. 14. Willing and able to abstain from cigarettes from Day 1 through the end of the study (EOS) on Day 60 (±3 days) if they are randomized to a Smoking Abstinence arm.

Exclusion criteria

1. Use of any type of tobacco- or nicotine-containing products other than manufactured cigarettes (eg, e-vapor products, roll-your-own cigarettes, bidis, snuff, nicotine inhaler, pipe, cigar, chewing tobacco, nicotine patch, nicotine spray, nicotine lozenge, or nicotine gum) in the 7 days prior to first check-in. 2. Self-reported puffers (ie, adult smokers who draw smoke from the cigarette into the mouth and throat but do not inhale). 3. Planning to quit smoking in the next three months (at screening). 4. History or presence of clinically significant gastrointestinal, renal, hepatic, neurologic, hematologic, endocrine, oncologic, urologic, existing respiratory diseases, immunologic, psychiatric, lymphatic, or cardiovascular disease, or any other condition that, in the opinion of the Principal Investigator, would jeopardize the safety of the subject or impact the validity of the study results. 5. Clinically significant abnormal findings on the vital signs, physical examination, medical history, ECG, or clinical laboratory results, in the opinion of the Principal Investigator. 6. Positive test for human immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B surface antigen, or hepatitis C virus at screening. 7. History or presence of any type of malignant tumors. 8. Current evidence or any history of congestive heart failure. 9. Diabetes mellitus (fasting glucose ≥126 mg/L \[7 mmol/L\]) that is not controlled by diet/exercise alone, in the opinion of the Principal Investigator. 10. An acute illness (eg, upper respiratory infection, viral infection) requiring treatment with prescribed medicines within 2 weeks prior to first check-in. 11. Any planned surgery from the time of screening through EOS. 12. History of drug or alcohol abuse within 24 months prior to first check-in. 13. Fever (ie, body temperature \>100.5°F) at screening or first check-in. One re-check may be performed at the Principal Investigator's discretion. 14. Body mass index greater than 40.0 kg/m2 or less than 18.0 kg/m2 at screening. 15. Systolic blood pressure \>150 mmHg and/or diastolic blood pressure \> 90 mmHg at screening or first check-in, measured after being seated for at least 10 minutes. Two re-checks may be performed at the Principal Investigator's discretion. 16. Estimated creatinine clearance (by Cockcroft-Gault equation) \< 80 mL/minute at screening. 17. Serum alanine aminotransferase ≥1.5 times the upper limit of normal and/or aspartate aminotransferase ≥1.5 times the upper limit of normal at screening. 18. Positive screen for alcohol (urine/breath) or any of the following drugs of abuse (urine/saliva), regardless of the reason of use: amphetamines, methamphetamines, opiates, cannabinoids, or cocaine at screening or first check-in. 19. Female subjects who are pregnant (positive serum pregnancy test at screening or urine/serum pregnancy test at first check-in), lactating, or intend to become pregnant from screening through EOS. 20. Use of prescription or over-the-counter bronchodilator medication (eg, inhaled or oral ß-agonists) for treatment of any illnesses and within 12 months prior to first check-in and throughout the study. 21. Use of medications or foods known or are suspected to interact with cytochrome P450 2A6 (including, but not limited to, amiodarone, amlodipine, amobarbital, clofibrate, clotrimazole, desipramine, disulfiram, entacapone, fenofibrate, isoniazid, grapefruit, ketoconazole, letrozole, methimazole, methoxsalen, metyrapone, miconazole, modafinil, orphenadrine, pentobarbital, phenobarbital, pilocarpine, primidone, propoxyphene, quinidine, rifampicin, rifampin, secobarbital, selegiline, sulconazole, tioconazole, tranylcypromine) within 14 days or 5 half-lives of the drug, whichever is longer, prior to first check-in or during the study. 22. Use of antibiotic treatment within 2 weeks prior to first check-in. 23. Plasma donation within 7 days prior to first check-in. 24. Donation of blood or blood products (with the exception of plasma as noted above), had significant blood loss, or received whole blood or a blood product transfusion within 56 days prior to first check-in. 25. Participation in a previous clinical study for an investigational drug, device, biologic, or a tobacco product within 30 days prior to first check-in. 26. Subject or a first-degree relative (ie, parent, sibling, child, spouse/partner) is a current or former employee of the tobacco industry or a named party or class representative in litigation with any tobacco company. 27. Subject or a first-degree relative (ie, parent, sibling, child, spouse/partner) is a current employee of the study site. 28. Have been diagnosed with major depressive disorder or have a history of suicide attempt. 29. Have pre-bronchodilator to post-bronchodilator FEV1 increases of greater than or equal to 12% or grade "C" or worse per ATS/ERS 2019 standards.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Total 4-(Methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanol (NNAL)Baseline through Day 5Total 4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanol (NNAL) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (pg/mg creatinine)
Total N-nitrosonornicotine (NNN)Baseline through Day 5Total N-nitrosonornicotine (NNN) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (pg/mg creatinine)
2-hydroxybutenylmercapturic Acid (2-MHBMA)Baseline through Day 52-hydroxybutenylmercapturic acid (2-MHBMA) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (ng/mg creatinine)
3-hydroxypropylmercapturic Acid (3-HPMA)Baseline through Day 53-hydroxypropylmercapturic acid (3-HPMA) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (ng/mg creatinine)
S-phenyl Mercapturic Acid (SPMA)Baseline through Day 5S-phenyl mercapturic acid (SPMA) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (pg/mg creatinine)
2-Hydroxyethyl Mercapturic Acid (HEMA)Baseline through Day 52-Hydroxyethyl mercapturic acid (HEMA) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (ng/mg creatinine)
1-aminonaphthalene (1-AN)Baseline through Day 51-aminonaphthalene (1-AN) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (pg/mg creatinine)
2-aminonaphthalene (2-AN)Baseline through Day 52-aminonaphthalene (2-AN) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (pg/mg creatinine)
2-cyanoethyl-mercapturic Acid (CEMA)Baseline to Day 52-cyanoethyl-mercapturic acid (CEMA) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (ng/mg creatinine)
3-hydroxybenzo[a]Pyrene (3-OH-B[a]P)Baseline through Day 53-hydroxybenzo\[a\]pyrene (3-OH-B\[a\]P) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (fg/mg creatinine)
3-hydroxy-1-methylpropylmercapturic Acid (HMPMA)Baseline through Day 53-hydroxy-1-methylpropylmercapturic acid (HMPMA) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (ng/mg creatinine)
4-Aminobiphenyl (4-ABP)Baseline through Day 54-Aminobiphenyl (4-ABP) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (pg/mg creatinine)
S-benzyl Mercapturic Acid (SBMA)Baseline through Day 5S-benzyl mercapturic acid (SBMA) in urine adjusted for urine creatinine (pg/mg creatinine)
Carboxyhemoglobin (COHb)Baseline to Day 5COHb, or carboxyhemoglobin, is the percent of hemoglobin that is bound to carbon monoxide instead of oxygen

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

A total of 921 subjects consented to study participation; 611 subjects failed screening testing: 4 subjects met eligibility criteria but were not needed; 306 participants enrolled in the Product Trial period and 10 participants discontinued study participation either due to failure to meet randomization criteria or withdrawal by subject prior to study randomization on Day -1, resulting in 296 participants randomized into study.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous36.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.05
BMI (kg/m^2)28.284 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.0665
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
21 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Height (cm)170.96 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.166
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
36 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
153 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
22 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
33 Participants
Weight (kg)84.85 kg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 19.842

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 3060 / 590 / 601 / 300 / 610 / 570 / 29
other
Total, other adverse events
31 / 30613 / 5910 / 603 / 3018 / 6113 / 5712 / 29
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 3060 / 591 / 601 / 300 / 610 / 570 / 29

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 28, 2026