Skip to content

Ph2 Placebo-Controlled Study for Safety & Ocular Efficacy of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion in Pts w/ Elevated Eye Pressure

A Phase 2, Double-Masked, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Dose-Response Study Assessing the Safety and Ocular Hypotensive Efficacy of Two Concentrations of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion in Patients With Elevated Intraocular Pressure

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT06144918
Enrollment
56
Registered
2023-11-22
Start date
2023-11-09
Completion date
2024-02-22
Last updated
2026-01-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Ocular Hypertension, Primary Open Angle Glaucoma

Keywords

glaucoma, IOP, ocular hypertension, POAG

Brief summary

The goal of this clinical trial is to test in patients with glaucoma and elevated pressure in the eye. The main questions it aims to answer are: • ability to lower pressure in the eye • safety in the eye and the body of patients with elevated pressure in the eye. Patients will be randomly given either: * 0.5% (5 mg/mL) SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion * 1.0% (10 mg/mL) SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion * Placebo Ophthalmic Emulsion Patients will be tested before starting and will have one drop of the product placed into each eye twice a day for 14 days, by the site and by the patient. At the end of the study, researchers will compare the groups to see if there is a change from before use of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion to the end of study.

Detailed description

This is a multi-center, randomized, double-masked, placebo-controlled Phase 2 study to evaluate the ocular hypotensive efficacy, safety, and tolerability of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion after 14 days of binocular dosing, twice daily (BID). There will be a 35-day screening period, including wash-out (if needed), followed by a visit on Day-1 to confirm eligibility. The first dose will be administered by the staff immediately after the (eligibility) 08:00 IOP measurement on Day 1, with subsequent study assessments up to 8 hours post-dose. The PM (evening) dose will be self-administered by the patient at home, approximately 12 hours after the AM (morning) dose. The patient will self-administer study treatment on Days 2 through 6 in the AM and PM. On Day 7, the patient will return to have the AM dose administered by site staff immediately after the 08:00 IOP measurement has been taken. Subsequent assessments will be performed in a similar fashion as Day 1 with study assessments up to 8 hours post-dose. Patient will self-administer the Day 7 PM dose and the AM and PM doses on Days 8 through 13. On Day 14, the patient will return to have the AM dose administered by site and assessments similar to that of Days 1 and 7, the patient may complete the final dose on Day 14 at the site approximately 12 hours after the AM dose and have end of study (EOS) procedures performed. Or the patient may choose to self-administer the Day 14 PM dose at home and return to the site within 2 days for EOS visit.IOP efficacy will be evaluated by Goldmann applanation tonometry. Safety/tolerability will be evaluated by review of ocular signs and symptoms through Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA), ophthalmic assessments, ocular comfort patient-reported outcome (PRO), vital signs, and other standard safety measures Diagnosis and main criteria for inclusion: Patients with primary open-angle glaucoma (POAG) or ocular hypertension (OHT) Screening: up to 35 days, including wash-out from any topical pharmacological IOP-lowering therapies (if required) Treatment: 2 weeks (14 days) Follow up: Up to 2 days after the last dose on Day 14

Interventions

DRUGSBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion, 0.5%

0.5% (5 mg/mL) SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion eyedrop

DRUGSBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion, 1.0%

1.0% (10 mg/mL) SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion eyedrop

DRUGSBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion, Placebo

Placebo, SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion eyedrop without the active ingredient (SBI-100)

Sponsors

Skye Bioscience, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. At least 18 years of age or greater at time of informed consent. 2. Diagnosis of either primary open angle glaucoma (POAG) or ocular hypertension (OHT) in each eye. 3. Intraocular Pressure (IOP) Criteria: 1. If currently on an IOP-lowering therapy, patient is willing to withhold therapy according to study requirements, and in the opinion of the Investigator, can do so without significant risk. 2. If treatment naïve, Screening IOP is ≥ 21 and ≤ 36 mmHg in each eye, and in the opinion of the Investigator, is likely to be controlled on a single IOP-lowering therapy. 3. 08:00 Hour IOP is between 21 and 36 mmHg in each eye on Day-1 and Day 1. 4. Central corneal thickness between 480 and 620 μm at Screening in each eye. 5. Best correct visual acuity (BCVA) for distance equivalent to 20/100 or better in each eye at Screening and Day 1 (pre-dose).

Exclusion criteria

Either eye: 1. Mean/Median intraocular pressure \> 36 mmHg at Screening and/or any time prior to treatment administration. 2. Concurrent treatment for glaucoma requiring more than 2 topical therapies (either as 2 independent monotherapies or as fixed dose combination), oral IOP-lowering therapy and/or in the opinion of the Investigator cannot be controlled on a single IOP therapy. 3. Has planned ocular surgeries/procedures within the duration of the study. 4. Any occurrences of the following prior to Day 1: 1. Ocular trauma or surgery within 6 months 2. Ocular laser treatments within 3 months 3. In the opinion of the Investigator history or evidence of clinically significant ocular inflammation, including but not limited to blepharitis, conjunctivitis, etc. 4. History of recurrent ocular herpes (simplex or zoster) 5. Previous glaucoma intraocular surgery or glaucoma laser procedure and/or refractive surgery (e.g., radial keratotomy, PRK, SLT, LASIK, etc.) within 6 months 6. Ocular medication within 30 days prior, except for: i. IOP-lowering therapies (washed-out per study requirements) ii. Lid scrubs iii. Artificial tears, gels and/or ointments to treat dry eye disease that in the opinion of the Investigator is not considered chronic use 5. Visual field loss, in the opinion of the Investigator, is functionally significant 6. Will require contact lenses and cannot refrain from using them at least 7 days prior to Day 1 and throughout the study. General/Systemic: 1. Participation in any investigational study within 30 days of screening. 2. Known hypersensitivity or allergic reaction to cannabinoids, cannabis, sesame seed/oil or any component of the SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion formulation and/or topical anesthetics. 3. Females of childbearing potential (not confirmed as post-menopausal or surgically sterile within the 6 months prior to screening) who are pregnant, nursing, or planning a pregnancy during the study and not using a reliable method of contraception from screening until at least 30 days after the last dose. 4. Males with partners of childbearing potential and do not agree to use a reliable method of contraception during the study and at least 30 days after the last dose. 5. Patients with a history of substance or alcohol abuse, considered chronic tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) users and/or test positive for alcohol or illicit drug use at Screening or Day-1.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in Ocular Hypertension as Measured by Intraocular Pressure (IOP)baseline and day 14To evaluate the diurnal ocular hypotensive efficacy of 2 dose levels of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion compared to placebo in patients with elevated Intraocular Pressure (IOP). IOP was measured by Goldmann applanation tonometry and values were compared between baseline and Day 14 (evaluation of mean change in mmHg (millimeters of mercury)).
Ocular and Systemic Safety as Assessed by Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)baseline up to day 16To evaluate the ocular and systemic safety of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion in patients with elevated IOP. Safety and tolerability were evaluated by review of ocular signs and symptoms through use of BCVA (best corrected visual acuity; change in score from baseline to Day 14), ophthalmic assessments) including slit lamp biomicroscopy, dilated fundus exam, pupil diameter, visual field and pachymetry), ocular comfort patient reported outcome, vital signs, assessment of adverse events (ocular and non-ocular).

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

There was a screening/washout period of up to 35 days to washout procedures and medications prohibited by the study protocol. At Visit 3 (Day 1), eligible patients were randomized 1:1:1 to IP in a double-masked fashion (SBI-100 0.5%, SBI-100 1.0% or placebo). Eleven (11) participants were screen failures and therefore, did not receive a treatment assigned. A total of 56 participants were screened and enrolled.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion, 0.5%
All patients enrolled into the study will be randomly assigned to an interventional treatment of 0.5% or 1.0% or Placebo, SBI-100 ophthalmic emulsion SBI-100 ophthalmic emulsion, 0.5%: 0.5% (5 mg/ml) SBI-100 ophthalmic emulsion
19
SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion 1.0%
All patients enrolled into the study will be randomly assigned to an interventional treatment of 0.5% or 1.0% or Placebo, SBI-100 ophthalmic emulsion SBI-100 ophthalmic emulsion, 1.0%: 1.0% (10 mg/ml) SBI-100 ophthalmic emulsion
19
Placebo
All patients enrolled into the study will be randomly assigned to an interventional treatment of 0.5% or 1.0% or Placebo, SBI-100 ophthalmic emulsion Placebo
18
Total56

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalPlaceboSBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion, 0.5%SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion 1.0%
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
42 Participants14 Participants12 Participants16 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
14 Participants4 Participants7 Participants3 Participants
Diagnosis for Study Inclusion
Both OHT and POAG
4 Participants1 Participants3 Participants0 Participants
Diagnosis for Study Inclusion
OHT (ocular hypertension)
22 Participants9 Participants9 Participants4 Participants
Diagnosis for Study Inclusion
POAG (primary open angle glaucoma)
30 Participants8 Participants7 Participants15 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
16 Participants5 Participants4 Participants7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
40 Participants13 Participants15 Participants12 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
52 Participants18 Participants17 Participants17 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
56 participants18 participants19 participants19 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
28 Participants11 Participants10 Participants7 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
28 Participants7 Participants9 Participants12 Participants
Study Eye
OD (oculus dexter; right eye)
34 Participants13 Participants10 Participants11 Participants
Study Eye
OS (oculus sinister; left eye)
22 Participants5 Participants9 Participants8 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 190 / 190 / 18
other
Total, other adverse events
14 / 1919 / 198 / 18
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 190 / 190 / 18

Outcome results

Primary

Change From Baseline in Ocular Hypertension as Measured by Intraocular Pressure (IOP)

To evaluate the diurnal ocular hypotensive efficacy of 2 dose levels of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion compared to placebo in patients with elevated Intraocular Pressure (IOP). IOP was measured by Goldmann applanation tonometry and values were compared between baseline and Day 14 (evaluation of mean change in mmHg (millimeters of mercury)).

Time frame: baseline and day 14

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion, 0.5%Change From Baseline in Ocular Hypertension as Measured by Intraocular Pressure (IOP)-1.985 Change in IOP mmHgStandard Error 0.5039
SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion 1.0%Change From Baseline in Ocular Hypertension as Measured by Intraocular Pressure (IOP)-1.118 Change in IOP mmHgStandard Error 0.5041
PlaceboChange From Baseline in Ocular Hypertension as Measured by Intraocular Pressure (IOP)-0.827 Change in IOP mmHgStandard Error 0.5177
Primary

Ocular and Systemic Safety as Assessed by Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

To evaluate the ocular and systemic safety of SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion in patients with elevated IOP. Safety and tolerability were evaluated by review of ocular signs and symptoms through use of BCVA (best corrected visual acuity; change in score from baseline to Day 14), ophthalmic assessments) including slit lamp biomicroscopy, dilated fundus exam, pupil diameter, visual field and pachymetry), ocular comfort patient reported outcome, vital signs, assessment of adverse events (ocular and non-ocular).

Time frame: baseline up to day 16

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion, 0.5%Ocular and Systemic Safety as Assessed by Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)3 Events
SBI-100 Ophthalmic Emulsion 1.0%Ocular and Systemic Safety as Assessed by Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)0 Events
PlaceboOcular and Systemic Safety as Assessed by Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)0 Events

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026