Skip to content

Bridge Device for Surgical Pain for Rotator Cuff Surgery

Evaluation of Bridge Device in Pain Management for Outpatient Rotator Cuff Surgery

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT06071884
Enrollment
42
Registered
2023-10-10
Start date
2024-07-29
Completion date
2024-09-26
Last updated
2026-01-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pain, Rotator Cuff Injuries

Brief summary

The objective of the trial is to investigate the efficacy of the Bridge device in reducing post-operative pain and post-operative opioid consumption in patients undergoing rotator cuff surgery with the typical mode of anesthesia, nerve block plus propofol sedation.

Detailed description

The interscalene block is the gold standard for postoperative pain management following rotator cuff surgery. However, the duration of the block does not cover rehabilitation. Therefore, in most cases, patients are discharged from the surgical center with an opioid prescription. There is a growing need to investigate complementary, non-pharmacologic pain-management methods. The Bridge device, which provides auricular neuromodulation of various cutaneous nerves near the ear, is manufactured by Masimo and previously FDA-approved to reduce symptoms of opioid withdrawal. It is a promising technology that could help relieve post-operative pain without exposing patients to the adverse effects of opioids or other pain-relieving medications. The objective of the trial is to investigate the efficacy of the Bridge device in reducing post-operative pain and post-operative opioid consumption in patients undergoing rotator cuff surgery with the typical mode of anesthesia, nerve block plus propofol sedation. Those enrolled will be assigned to a study group and compared to historic cohort (control group). Historic control group involves patients that underwent same surgical procedure performed at the surgical center involved in the study, by the same surgical operator, between 2020 and 2023. \*Prior to study enrollment, the outcome measure timepoints were updated to postoperative days (POD) 1, 3, 5, and 7. This was largely due to pain trajectories in surgical populations often follow a predictable, nonlinear course, with meaningful fluctuations most apparent on alternating days rather than daily increments. By assessing the outcome measures on POD 1, 3, 5, and 7, the revised scheduled timepoints continues to capture initial peak (POD 1), early recovery phase (POD3), the late recovery phase (POD 5), and the resolution/transition phase (POD 7) regarding pain trajectories.

Interventions

DEVICEBridge Percutaneous Nerve Field Stimulator

The Bridge device is an FDA-cleared, drug-free, non-surgical device that uses neuro-modulation to aid in the reduction of symptoms associated with opioid withdrawal through application to branches of the Cranial Nerves V, VII, IX, X, and the occipital nerves. This study is investigating its effectiveness treating post-surgical pain.

Sponsors

Masimo Corporation
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Steven Orebaugh
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Greater than 18 years of age * Willing and able to provide informed consent * Scheduled to undergo elective rotator cuff surgery at UPMC * No pre-existing medical conditions which would prevent application of the Bridge device on auricle of ear (i.e., skin infection, rash)

Exclusion criteria

* Opioids dependence * Chronic pain condition with daily opioid use * Anatomical malformation, which may interfere with placement of the nerve block * Raynaud's disease diagnosis * Vasculopathy * Hemophilia or other coagulopathy, or use of active anticoagulation other than aspirin * Patient refusal * Pacemaker * Pre-existing medical conditions which would prevent application of the Bridge device on auricle of ear (i.e., skin infection, rash) * Psoriasis vulgaris

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Oral Opioid Use POD 1Post-Operative Day 1This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.
Oral Opioid Use POD 3Post-Operative Day 3This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.
Oral Opioid Use POD 5Post-Operative Day 5This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.
Oral Opioid Use POD 7Post-Operative Day 7This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 7Post-Operative Day 7Collected through the subject diary (response yes/no) and recorded as a count of participants
Adverse Events Related to Opioid POD 5Post-Operative Day 5Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to opioids like nausea, vomiting, dizziness, and itching
Adverse Events Related to Opioid POD 7Post-Operative Day 7Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to opioids like nausea, vomiting, dizziness, and itching
Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 1Post-operative Day 1Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation
Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 1Post-Operative Day 1Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.
Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 5Post-operative Day 5Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation
Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 7Post-operative Day 7Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation
Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 7Post-Operative Day 7Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.
Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 3Post-operative Day 3Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation
Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 3Post-Operative Day 3Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.
Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 5Post-Operative Day 5Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.
Number of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 5Post-Operative Day 5Collected through the subject diary (response yes/no) and recorded as a count of participants

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field Stimulator
The case group (n = 15) will receive an activated Bridge device after surgery and continuing wearing the device until post-operative day (POD) 7. Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field Stimulator: The Bridge device is an FDA-cleared, drug-free, non-surgical device that uses neuro-modulation to aid in the reduction of symptoms associated with opioid withdrawal through application to branches of the Cranial Nerves V, VII, IX, X, and the occipital nerves. This study is investigating its effectiveness treating post-surgical pain.
15
Historical Controls
Historical Controls (n=27) who previously had arthroscopic ambulatory rotator cuff surgery, all other factors are the same as the intervention group (multimodal analgesia, etc.)
27
Total42

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicBridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorHistorical ControlsTotal
Age, Continuous58.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.4
56.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.8
57.25 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.5
Body Mass Index (BMI)30.5 kg/m2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.1
32.3 kg/m2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.8
31.4 kg/m2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
14 Participants0 Participants14 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants27 Participants27 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants27 Participants27 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
14 Participants0 Participants14 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
15 participants27 participants42 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
6 Participants12 Participants18 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
9 Participants15 Participants24 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 150 / 27
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 155 / 27
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 150 / 27

Outcome results

Primary

Oral Opioid Use POD 1

This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 1

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorOral Opioid Use POD 135.7 mg OMEStandard Deviation 37.1
Historical ControlsOral Opioid Use POD 140.2 mg OMEStandard Deviation 28.5
Primary

Oral Opioid Use POD 3

This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 3

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorOral Opioid Use POD 321.5 mg OMEStandard Deviation 20.9
Historical ControlsOral Opioid Use POD 335.4 mg OMEStandard Deviation 25.7
Primary

Oral Opioid Use POD 5

This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 5

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorOral Opioid Use POD 56.0 mg OMEStandard Deviation 17.2
Primary

Oral Opioid Use POD 7

This outcome will be measured by total Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME, mg) abstracted from the medical records.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 7

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorOral Opioid Use POD 70.5 mg OMEStandard Deviation 1.94
Secondary

Adverse Events Related to Opioid POD 5

Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to opioids like nausea, vomiting, dizziness, and itching

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 5

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorAdverse Events Related to Opioid POD 5Responded 'Yes'0 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorAdverse Events Related to Opioid POD 5Responded 'No'15 Participants
Secondary

Adverse Events Related to Opioid POD 7

Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to opioids like nausea, vomiting, dizziness, and itching

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 7

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorAdverse Events Related to Opioid POD 7Responded 'Yes'3 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorAdverse Events Related to Opioid POD 7Responded 'No'12 Participants
Secondary

Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 1

Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation

Time frame: Post-operative Day 1

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 1Responded 'Yes'0 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 1Responded 'No'15 Participants
Secondary

Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 3

Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation

Time frame: Post-operative Day 3

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 3Responded 'Yes'0 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 3Responded 'No'15 Participants
Secondary

Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 5

Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation

Time frame: Post-operative Day 5

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 5Responded 'Yes'0 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 5Responded 'No'15 Participants
Secondary

Local Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 7

Recorded as yes/no for adverse events related to the device such as pain or skin irritation

Time frame: Post-operative Day 7

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 7Responded 'Yes'3 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorLocal Adverse Events on Ear Related to Device POD 7Responded 'No'12 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 5

Collected through the subject diary (response yes/no) and recorded as a count of participants

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 5

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorNumber of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 5Responded 'Yes'7 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorNumber of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 5Responded 'No'8 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 7

Collected through the subject diary (response yes/no) and recorded as a count of participants

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 7

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorNumber of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 7Responded 'Yes'3 Participants
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorNumber of Participants Who Self-Reported Oral Opioid Use POD 7Responded 'No'12 Participants
Secondary

Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 1

Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 1

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorSelf-Reported Pain Scores POD 14.57 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.9
Historical ControlsSelf-Reported Pain Scores POD 16.42 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.58
Secondary

Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 3

Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 3

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorSelf-Reported Pain Scores POD 33.18 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.2
Historical ControlsSelf-Reported Pain Scores POD 36.75 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.01
Secondary

Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 5

Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 5

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorSelf-Reported Pain Scores POD 52.42 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.1
Secondary

Self-Reported Pain Scores POD 7

Pain scores will be completed on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of 0=no pain at all and 10=the most severe pain.

Time frame: Post-Operative Day 7

Population: Historical Controls data for this outcome were unavailable, and this measure was collected only in the BRIDGE group. Therefore, zero Historical Controls participants were analyzed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Bridge Percutaneous Nerve Field StimulatorSelf-Reported Pain Scores POD 71.8 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 1.82

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026