Skip to content

Isa-Pom-Dex in Elderly/Frail Subjects With RRMM

Study of Isatuximab Plus Pomalidomide and Dexamethasone in Highly Toxicity-vulnerable Subjects With Relapsed or Refractory Multiple Myeloma

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05911321
Enrollment
6
Registered
2023-06-22
Start date
2023-12-05
Completion date
2028-03-26
Last updated
2026-06-09

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Aging, Co-morbidity, Multiple Myeloma, Refractory, Relapse

Keywords

Pomalidomide, Isatuximab, Dexamethasone, low dose

Brief summary

This research study aims to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the combination of isatuximab, pomalidomide, and dexamethasone (Isa-Pd) for the treatment of relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma (RRMM), which refers to multiple myeloma that has returned or has not responded to prior treatment. The study will specifically investigate the impact of administering lower-than-standard doses of pomalidomide and dexamethasone. Using lower doses of pomalidomide and dexamethasone in this setting has not been approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Detailed description

This study aims to address the challenges faced in selecting appropriate therapy for elderly or highly toxicity-vulnerable patients who are poor candidates for standard (full-dose) chemotherapy regimens. Traditional clinical trials often exclude these patients, limiting the generalizability of available data. This single-arm multicenter phase II study will enroll 49 older and/or toxicity-vulnerable patients with RRMM. The study will evaluate the safety and effectiveness of isatuximab when used in combination with pomalidomide and dexamethasone at lower than standard doses. The primary objective is to estimate the overall response rate (ORR), while secondary objectives include the estimation of additional measures of response, as well as measures of toxicity and tolerability. All participants in the trial will also be evaluated by Cancer and Aging Research Group Geriatric Assessments (CARG-GA) and patient- reported outcome (PRO) measures of quality of life (QOL). Biomarkers of aging and frailty will also be studied. Duration of therapy: The duration of study participation will depend on the response to the treatment. In the absence of treatment delays due to adverse events, treatment with Isa-Pd will generally continue until disease progression, unacceptable side effects, other illness or condition that prevents further study treatment, or a subject's decision to withdraw from the study. On average, subjects will most likely be treated for approximately 10 months on this study. Duration of Follow-Up: All participants, including those withdrawn for adverse events (AEs) will be followed after removal from study treatment until death or full subject withdrawal from the study for other reasons. Participants removed from the study treatment for unacceptable AEs will be followed for resolution or stabilization of the AEs.

Interventions

DRUGIsatuximab

Pharmaceutical form: Solution for infusion. Route of administration: Intravenous 10 mg/kg will be administered intravenously once weekly during cycle 1 and every other week during each subsequent cycle.

DRUGPomalidomide

Pharmaceutical form: Pill for oral use. Route of administration: 3 mg Pomalidomide 3 mg pill will be taken by mouth once daily on days 1-21 of each 28-day cycle.

DRUGDexamethasone

Pharmaceutical form: Tablet for oral use Route of administration: Pill for oral use. Dexamethasone 20 mg tablet will be taken by mouth once per week.

Sponsors

UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER
Genzyme, a Sanofi Company
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Written informed consent obtained to participate in the study and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) authorization for release of personal health information (PHI). Consent must be obtained before performance of any study-related procedure not part of normal medical care, with the understanding that consent may be withdrawn by the subject at any time without prejudice to future medical care. 2. Age ≥ 18 years at the time of consent. 3. Documented symptomatic multiple myeloma that has previously responded to therapy (partial response or better) and is relapsed or relapsed and refractory to the last line of therapy. 4. Patients must also be refractory to at least one prior line of therapy that includes an IMiD and/or a PI, and should have received at least 2 cycles of that regimen to be evaluable for refractoriness . 5. If previously treated with an anti-CD38 containing regimen, the subject must have achieved at least a PR to that line of therapy and must not have received an anti- CD38 mAb for at least 6 months prior to enrollment. 6. Willing and able to adhere to the study visit schedule and other protocol requirements based on the judgement of the investigator. 7. Predicted high risk for severe toxicity from intensive regimens for RRMM, such as standard (full-dose) DPD, DVD, KPD, KRD, Ixa-PD, or Elo-PD as each regimen was published (such regimens often use, for example, twice-weekly bortezomib at 1.3 mg/m2, lenalidomide at 25 mg, or pomalidomide 4 mg). High-risk is defined as one of the following: A. Score ≥ 2 (indicating "frail") on the International Myeloma Working Group instrument (IMWG; Palumbo et al. \[Blood 2015\]) B.KPS ≤ 70 C. Not meeting criteria A or B above but felt by treating clinician to not be a candidate for a standard full-dose regimen on account of one of the following: i) History of clinically significant non-hematologic grade ≥3 (NCI CTCAE, version 5.0) toxicity attributed to prior anticancer therapy ii) History of requiring dose-reduction of at least two separate anticancer drugs during prior therapy for multiple myeloma.

Exclusion criteria

All subjects meeting any of the listed

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response Rate (ORR)Up to 12 weeksOverall response rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants achieving a partial response or better (≥PR) per IMWG criteria. The number and percentage of participants achieving at least a partial response were reported. Complete response (CR) requires negative serum and urine immunofixation, disappearance of plasmacytomas, and \<5% bone marrow plasma cells; stringent complete response (sCR) requires CR plus a normal free light chain ratio and no clonal plasma cells in bone marrow. Very good partial response (VGPR) is defined as M-protein detectable by immunofixation but not electrophoresis, or a ≥90% reduction in serum M-protein with urine M-protein \<100 mg/24h. Partial response (PR) is defined as a ≥50% reduction in serum M-protein and a ≥90% reduction in 24-hour urine M-protein (or to \<200 mg/24h), with a ≥50% reduction in plasmacytomas if present at baseline.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Treatment Related Adverse Events RateUp to 12 weeksAll treatment-related adverse events as defined by changes from baseline utilizing National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) criteria version 5.0. NCI-CTCAE is a descriptive terminology utilized for AE reporting. A grading (severity) scale is provided for each AE term. Grade 1 Mild; asymptomatic or mild symptoms; clinical or diagnostic observations only; intervention not indicated. Grade 2 Moderate; minimal, local, or noninvasive intervention indicated; limiting age-appropriate instrumental Activities of Daily Living (ADL). Grade 3 Severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling; limiting self-care ADL. Grade 4 Life-threatening consequences; urgent intervention indicated. Grade 5 Death related to AE.
Treatment Failure-free Survival (TFFS)Up to 3 yearsTFFS is defined as the time start from the first day of study therapy until discontinuation for any reason, including disease progression, toxicity, or death. Progressive disease: Serum M-protein: absolute increase must be ≥ 0.5 g/dL, ≥ 1 g/dL if the lowest M component was ≥ 5 g/dL; absolute Urine M-protein increase≥ 200 mg/24 h). In patients without measurable serum and urine M-protein levels, the difference between involved and uninvolved FLC levels must be \> 10 mg/dL; without measurable involved FLC levels, bone marrow plasma cell percentage irrespective of baseline status Appearance of a new lesion(s), ≥ 50% increase from nadir \> 1 lesion, or ≥ 50% increase in the longest diameter of a previous lesion \>1 cm in short axis;≥ 50% increase e in circulating plasma cells (minimum of 200 cells per μL) if this is the only measure of disease.
Maximum Depth of ResponseUp to 12 weeksMaximum depth of response includes the summation of minimal response (MR), partial response (PR), very good partial response (VGPR), complete response (CR), and stringent complete response (sCR) based on IMWG criteria. Minimal response(MR): ≥ 25% but ≤ 49% reduction of serum M-protein and reduction in 24-h urine M-protein by 50-89%, if present at baseline, a ≥ 50% reduction in the size of soft tissue plasmacytomas is also required. PR, VGPR, CR, and sCR were defined above.
Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)Up to 12 weeksCBR is defined as a partial response or better (≥PR) + minimal response (MR) rate based on International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) criteria.
Bone Marrow Minimal Residual Disease (MRD) NegativityUp to 12 weeksBone marrow minimal residual disease (MRD) negativity will be defined as the ratio of subjects who achieved MRD to all subjects. MRD negativity will be assessed by next-generation sequencing with a minimum sensitivity of 1x10-5.
Time to First ResponseUp to 12 weeksTime to first response is defined as the time from the first study treatment to the achievement of PR or better as defined by IMWG criteria.
Time to Best ResponseUp to 12 weeksTime to best response is defined as the time from the first study treatment to the achievement of best response (PR, VGPR, CR, or sCR) based on IMWG criteria.
Duration of ResponseUp to 3 yearsDuration of response is defined as the time from the achievement of PR or better until progressive disease (PD) based on IMWG criteria. Subjects will be censored if they die of anything other than myeloma.
Progression-free Survival (PFS)Up to 3 yearsPFS is defined as the time from the first study treatment until confirmed PD based on IMWG criteria or death from any cause, whichever comes first.
Median Time to Next Treatment (TTNT)Up to 3 yearsMedian time to next treatment (TTNT) is defined as the time from the start of the study treatment to the next type of Multiple Myeloma treatment or death from any cause, whichever occurs first.
Overall SurvivalUp to 3 yearsOverall survival is defined as the time from the first study treatment to death from any cause.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOREben I Lichtman, MD

UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Six participants were enrolled at a single U.S. center between December 5, 2023, and March 20, 2025.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous72 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
6 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 6

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 10, 2026