Skip to content

Safety and Efficacy of Lorecivivint (SM04690) for the Treatment of Knee Osteoarthritis (STRIDES)

A Phase 3, Multicenter, Randomized, Double Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of a Single Injection of Lorecivivint 0.07 mg in Subjects With Moderate to Severe Osteoarthritis Pain of the Knee

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05603754
Enrollment
499
Registered
2022-11-03
Start date
2022-11-18
Completion date
2024-02-20
Last updated
2026-09-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Knee Osteoarthritis

Brief summary

This phase 3 study was a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of lorecivivint injected intra-articularly (IA) into the target (most painful) knee joint of moderately to severely symptomatic osteoarthritis (OA) subjects at a single dose of 0.07 mg lorecivivint per 2 mL injection. This study utilized standard outcomes to evaluate the safety and efficacy of lorecivivint.

Detailed description

SM04690-OA-21 was a phase 3, 16-week multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel group study investigating the safety, tolerability and efficacy of LOR 0.07 mg (compared with PBO) injected into the target knee joint of moderately to severely symptomatic knee OA subjects. Patient-reported outcomes included Pain Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) \[0-10\], Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Arthritis Index (WOMAC), and Patient Global Assessment (PGA) of knee osteoarthritis. The primary efficacy endpoint was change from baseline in target knee Pain NRS at Week 12. Secondary endpoints included change at Week 12 in WOMAC Function and PGA.

Interventions

One intra-articular injection of 0.07 mg lorecivivint in 2 mL vehicle

DRUGPlacebo

One intra-articular injection of 0 mg lorecivivint in 2 mL vehicle

Sponsors

Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY
NBCD A/S
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
40 Years to 80 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Males and females between 40 and 80 years of age, inclusive, in general good health apart from their knee OA * Ambulatory (single assistive devices such as canes allowed if needed less than 50% of the time, subjects requiring a walker are excluded) * Diagnosis of femorotibial OA in the target knee by standard American College of Rheumatology (ACR) criteria at the Screening Visit (clinical AND radiographic criteria); OA of the knee is not to be secondary to any rheumatologic conditions (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis) * Radiographic disease Stage 2 or 3 in target knee within 24 weeks of the Screening Visit according to the Kellgren-Lawrence (KL) grading of knee OA as assessed by independent central readers * Qualifying mean score on the 24-h average pain score (0-10 numeric rating scale) * Pain compatible with OA of the knee(s) for at least 26 weeks prior to the Screening Visit * Primary source of pain throughout the body is due to OA in the target knee * Body mass index (BMI) ≤ 35 kg/m2 at the Screening Visit

Exclusion criteria

* Pregnant women, breastfeeding women, and women who are not post-menopausal (defined as 12 months with no menses without an alternative medical cause) or permanently surgically sterile (includes hysterectomy, bilateral salpingectomy, and bilateral oophorectomy) who have a positive or indeterminate pregnancy test result at the Screening Visit or Day 1 * Partial or complete joint replacement in either knee * Currently requires use of a lower extremity prosthesis, and/or a structural knee brace (i.e., a knee brace that contains hardware) * Any surgery (e.g., arthroscopy) in either knee within 26 weeks prior to Day 1 * Intra-articular (IA) injection into the target knee with a therapeutic aim including, but not limited to hyaluronic acid, platelet-rich plasma (PRP), and stem cell therapies within 26 weeks prior to Day 1; or IA glucocorticoids within 12 weeks prior to Day 1 allowed * Previous treatment with lorecivivint (SM04690) * Participation in a clinical research trial that included the receipt of an investigational product or any experimental therapeutic procedure within 26 weeks prior to the Screening Visit, or planned participation in any such trial * Subjects requiring the use of opioids \> 1x per week within 12 weeks prior to Day 1 * History of malignancy within the last 5 years; not including subjects with prior history of adequately treated in situ cervical cancer or basal or squamous cell skin cancer * Clinically significant abnormal screening hematology values, blood chemistry values, or urinalysis values as determined by the Investigator * Any known active infections, including urinary tract infection, upper respiratory tract infection, sinusitis, suspicion of IA infection, hepatitis B or hepatitis C infection, and/or infections that may compromise the immune system such as human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) at Day 1 * Use of APAP or NSAIDs during washout period (between Screening Visit 2 and Day 1). Use of aspirin (up to 325 mg/day) for thrombosis prophylaxis is permitted.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline OA Pain in the Target Knee as Assessed by Weekly Average of Daily Pain Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) at Week 12Baseline to Week 12Evaluate change from baseline OA pain in the target knee as assessed by weekly average of daily pain NRS at Week 12. The pain NRS is an 11-point scale \[0-10\] for subject self-reporting of average knee pain in the last 24 hours; 0 indicates no pain, and 10 indicates pain as bad as you can imagine.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline OA Function as Assessed by Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) Physical Function Subscore (WOMAC Function) at Week 12Baseline and Week 12Evaluate change from baseline OA function as assessed by WOMAC Function at Week 12. The WOMAC is a widely-used, proprietary outcome measurement tool used to evaluate the condition of subjects with OA of the knee and hip, including pain (5 questions), stiffness (2 questions) and physical functioning (17 questions) of the joints. Each question is measured on an 11-point NRS scale \[0-10\], where 0 indicates no pain / no stiffness / no difficulty, and 10 indicates extreme pain / extreme stiffness / extreme difficulty. For analysis, WOMAC Function scores were scaled to 0 to 100, where 0 represents "No Functional Difficulty" and 100 represents "Extreme Functional Difficulty".
Change From Baseline OA Disease Activity as Assessed by Patient Global Assessment at Week 12Baseline and Week 12Evaluate change from baseline OA disease activity as assessed by Patient Global Assessment at Week 12. The Patient Global Assessment is an 11-point NRS \[0-10\] for subject self-reporting of how they feel their target knee is impacting them. For analysis, PGA scores were scaled to 0 to 100, where 0 represents "Very Good" and 100 represents "Very Bad".

Countries

United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORYusuf Yazici, MD

Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous60.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.7
Body Mass Index28.87 kg / m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.82
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
316 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
173 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Kellgren-Lawrence Grade
Grade 2
488 Participants
Kellgren-Lawrence Grade
Grade 3
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
46 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
384 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
156 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
95 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 2420 / 249
other
Total, other adverse events
37 / 24226 / 249
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 2423 / 249

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 2, 2026