Skip to content

RECOVER-VITAL: Platform Protocol to Measure the Effects of Antiviral Therapies on Long COVID Symptoms

RECOVER-VITAL: A Platform Protocol for Evaluation of Interventions for Viral Persistence, Viral Reactivation, and Immune Dysregulation in Post-Acute Sequelae of SARS-CoV-2 Infection (PASC)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05595369
Acronym
RECOVER-VITAL
Enrollment
963
Registered
2022-10-27
Start date
2023-07-26
Completion date
2025-03-13
Last updated
2025-12-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Long COVID, Long Covid19

Keywords

PASC

Brief summary

This study is a platform protocol designed to be flexible so that it is suitable for a wide range of settings within health care systems and in community settings where it can be integrated into COVID-19 programs and subsequent treatment plans. This protocol is a prospective, multi-center, multi-arm, double-blind, randomized, controlled platform trial with different interventions organized as appendices to the protocol. Each appendix (or sub-study) evaluates potential mechanisms of action, efficacy, and safety of antivirals and other therapeutics in individuals with PASC, according to the platform protocol objectives. The hypothesis is that persistent viral infection, viral reactivation, and/or overactive/chronic immune response and inflammation are underlying contributors to PASC and that antiviral and other applicable therapies may result in viral clearance or decreased inflammation and improvement in PASC symptoms.

Detailed description

Participants will be randomized to study interventions or placebo/controls based on the arms that are actively enrolling at the time of randomization. Study interventions may be added or removed according to adaptive design and/or emerging evidence. When there are multiple study interventions available, randomization will occur based on appropriateness of each intervention for the participant as determined by the study protocol.

Interventions

DRUGExperimental: Paxlovid 25 day dosing

Drug: Paxlovid 25 day dosing Paxlovid (nirmatrelvir 300mg, ritonavir 100mg) bid x 25 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study)

DRUGExperimental: Paxlovid 15 day dosing

Drug: Paxlovid 15 day Dosing Paxlovid (nirmatrelvir 300mg and ritonavir 100mg) bid x 15 days then ritonavir 100mg bid plus nirmatrelvir matching placebo bid x 10 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study)

Drug: Control ritonavir 100mg taken bid plus nirmatrelvir matching placebo bid bid x 25 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study)

Sponsors

Kanecia Obie Zimmerman
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator)

Masking description

Double blind

Intervention model description

As part of screening, potential participants will answer symptom questions. Eligible participants will then complete relevant Symptom Cluster assessments at the Screening visit. Participants will subsequently be assigned to one of the three Symptom Clusters based on the assessments. Participants must meet certain criteria within a specific symptom cluster in order to be included in the cluster. After study enrollment and initial cluster assignment, further assessments will be performed. Participants will undergo assessments for the symptom clusters for which the participants qualify.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. ≥ 18 years of age at the time of enrollment 2. Previous suspected, probably or confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection, as defined by the Pan American Health Organization\* \*Suspected and probable cases will only be allowed if it occurred before May 1, 2021, and will be limited to 10% of the study population. Otherwise, confirmed cases are required. Suspected case of SARS-CoV-2 infection - Three options, A through C: A. A person who meets the clinical OR epidemiological criteria. Clinical criteria: Acute onset of fever AND cough (influenza-like illness) OR Acute onset of ANY THREE OR MORE of the following signs or symptoms: fever, cough, general, weakness/fatigue, headache, myalgia, sore throat, coryza, dyspnea, nausea, diarrhea, anorexia. Epidemiological criteria: Contact of a probable or confirmed case or linked to a COVID-19 cluster; or B. Acute respiratory infection with history of fever or measured fever of ≥ 38°C; and cough; with onset within the last 10 days; and who requires hospitalization); or C. With no clinical signs or symptoms, NOR meeting epidemiologic criteria with a positive professional use or self-test SARS-CoV-2 antigen-Rapid Diagnostic Test. Probable case of SARS-CoV-2 infection: A. A patient who meets clinical criteria above AND is a contact of a probable or confirmed case or is linked to a COVID-19 cluster. Confirmed case of SARS-CoV-2 infection - Two options, A through B: A. A person with a positive nucleic acid amplification test, regardless of clinical criteria OR epidemiological criteria; or B. Meeting clinical criteria AND/OR epidemiological criteria (See suspect case A). With a positive professional use or self-test SARS-CoV-2 Antigen-Rapid Diagnostic Test. 3. At least two moderate symptoms from the same symptom cluster or one severe cluster-associated symptom identified via the Cluster Targeted COVID-19 Symptom Questions (CTCSQ), with participant identifying new symptoms since COVID-19 illness and having persisted for at least 12 weeks 4. Meeting PRO Symptom Cluster criteria for at least one Symptom Cluster 5. Willing and able to provide informed consent, complete the surveys, clinical assessments, and return for all of the necessary follow-up visits

Exclusion criteria

An individual who meets any of the following criteria will be excluded from participation in this study. Refer to appendices for additional appendix-level criteria: 1. Known active acute SARS-CoV-2 infection ≤ 4 weeks from consent 2. Known severe anemia, defined as \< 8 g/dL 3. Meeting the following symptom cluster exclusion for all eligible clusters\*: a. Cognitive dysfunction: known stroke that resulted in cognitive impairment within 3 months of enrollment b. Autonomic dysfunction: atrial fibrillation or significant cardiac arrhythmia, more than moderate alcohol consumption\*\*, pre-existing sustained severe hypertension (BP\> 180/110 mmHg in the sitting position) c. Exercise intolerance: i. any of the following within 4 weeks of consent - an acute myocardial infarction or unstable angina, uncontrolled arrhythmias causing symptoms or hemodynamic compromise, acute myocarditis or pericarditis, uncontrolled acutely decompensated heart failure (acute pulmonary edema), acute pulmonary embolism, suspected dissecting aneurysm, severe hypoxemia at rest, any acute or chronic disorder that may affect exercise performance ii. if the participant is aggravated by exercise (e.g., infection, thyrotoxicosis, unable to cooperate) \*Participants who are eligible for \> 1 cluster must meet all inclusion and no

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Total Number of Participants Enrolled in Each Appendix90 daysAppendix-specific outcome measure data will be reported under the associated NCT ID.

Countries

Puerto Rico, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This is a platform study record. Study recruitment period was from late July 2023 to mid-August 2024 at 69 US sites. Recruiting centers were a mix of large academic and small independent research sites in rural and urban, outpatient settings.

Pre-assignment details

Consented participants were required to endorse two moderate or one severe symptom in one of 3 symptom clusters (exercise intolerance, autonomic dysfunction, or cognitive dysfunction), then meet or exceed a minimal score on a symptom specific questionnaire prior to being assigned. In addition to platform protocol inclusion and exclusion, participants had to meet no symptom cluster exclusion criteria and meet all drug appendix inclusion criteria and no drug appendix exclusion criteria.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Experimental: Paxlovid 25 Day Dosing
Drug: Paxlovid 25 day dosing Paxlovid (nirmatrelvir 300mg, ritonavir 100mg) bid x 25 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study) Experimental: Paxlovid 25 day dosing: Drug: Paxlovid 25 day dosing Paxlovid (nirmatrelvir 300mg, ritonavir 100mg) bid x 25 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study)
321
Experimental: Paxlovid 15 Day Dosing
Drug: Paxlovid 15 day Dosing Paxlovid (nirmatrelvir 300mg and ritonavir 100mg) bid x 15 days then ritonavir 100mg bid plus nirmatrelvir matching placebo bid x 10 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study) Experimental: Paxlovid 15 day dosing: Drug: Paxlovid 15 day Dosing Paxlovid (nirmatrelvir 300mg and ritonavir 100mg) bid x 15 days then ritonavir 100mg bid plus nirmatrelvir matching placebo bid x 10 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study)
312
Placebo Comparator: Control
Drug: Control ritonavir 100mg taken bid plus nirmatrelvir matching placebo bid bid x 25 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study) Placebo Comparator: Control: Drug: Control ritonavir 100mg taken bid plus nirmatrelvir matching placebo bid bid x 25 days See NCT05965726 (Paxlovid Sub-study)
318
Total951

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyAdverse Event200
Overall StudyDid Not Meet Eligibility Criteria040
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up111010
Overall StudyMoved Out of State Unexpectedly010
Overall StudyPhysician Decision100
Overall StudyStudy Drug Non-compliance010
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject576

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicExperimental: Paxlovid 25 Day DosingExperimental: Paxlovid 15 Day DosingPlacebo Comparator: ControlTotal
Age, Continuous49.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.77
48.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.89
47.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.31
48.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.01
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
31 Participants33 Participants44 Participants108 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
288 Participants277 Participants272 Participants837 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants2 Participants2 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
19 Participants9 Participants13 Participants41 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
41 Participants31 Participants37 Participants109 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
9 Participants9 Participants8 Participants26 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
6 Participants9 Participants10 Participants25 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
244 Participants254 Participants249 Participants747 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
321 Participants312 Participants318 Participants951 Participants
Sex/Gender, Customized
Sex/Gender
Female
217 Participants209 Participants212 Participants638 Participants
Sex/Gender, Customized
Sex/Gender
Male
103 Participants102 Participants106 Participants311 Participants
Sex/Gender, Customized
Sex/Gender
Undifferentiated
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Sex/Gender, Customized
Sex/Gender
Unknown
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 3210 / 3120 / 318
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 00 / 00 / 0
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 3210 / 3120 / 318

Outcome results

Primary

Total Number of Participants Enrolled in Each Appendix

Appendix-specific outcome measure data will be reported under the associated NCT ID.

Time frame: 90 days

Population: Enrolled participants.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Experimental: Paxlovid 25 Day DosingTotal Number of Participants Enrolled in Each Appendix323 Participants
Experimental: Paxlovid 15 Day DosingTotal Number of Participants Enrolled in Each Appendix320 Participants
Placebo Comparator: ControlTotal Number of Participants Enrolled in Each Appendix320 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 2, 2026