Skip to content

FlowTriever2 Pulmonary Embolectomy Clinical Study

FlowTriever Pulmonary Embolectomy Clinical Study - FlowTriever2

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05560763
Acronym
FLARE-FT2
Enrollment
50
Registered
2022-09-29
Start date
2023-02-14
Completion date
2024-09-09
Last updated
2025-10-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pulmonary Embolism

Brief summary

The FLARE-FT2 confirmatory study is a prospective, single-arm, multicenter study of the FlowTriever2 Catheter for mechanical thrombectomy of pulmonary embolism (PE).

Detailed description

The study is a prospective, single-arm, multicenter study to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the FlowTriever2 Catheter for mechanical thrombectomy in patients eligible for endovascular treatment of acute pulmonary embolism (PE). The subjects who meet the inclusion/exclusion criteria will be enrolled in the study. The enrollment period is over a period of approximately 12 months. All study subjects actively participate through the 30-day visit (-5 / +15 days) following treatment. Study participation includes screening, baseline, treatment, 48-hour visit, and 30-day follow-up. The study population consists of subjects that have an acute PE. Subject eligibility is determined based on data available to the Investigator at the time of enrollment. Subjects must meet all inclusion and no exclusion criteria to be eligible for the study. All subjects that complete the procedure and the follow-ups are included in the analysis.

Interventions

DEVICEFlowTriever2 Catheter

The FlowTriever2 Catheter is utilized for the treatment of Pulmonary Embolism via mechanical thrombectomy of thrombus in the pulmonary arteries.

Sponsors

Inari Medical
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Clinical signs and symptoms consistent with acute PE * PE symptom duration ≤ 14 days * CTA evidence of proximal PE (filling defect in at least one main or lobar pulmonary artery) * RV/LV ratio of ≥ 0.9 (NOTE: Enrollment qualification assessment based on Investigator's interpretation of RV/LV ratio) * Systolic blood pressure ≥ 90 mmHg (initial SBP may be ≥ 80 mmHg if the pressure recovers to ≥ 90 mmHg with fluids) * Stable heart rate \< 130 BPM prior to procedure * Patient is deemed medically eligible for interventional procedure(s), per institutional guidelines and/or clinical judgment. * FlowTriever2 Catheter enters the vasculature

Exclusion criteria

* Thrombolytic use within 30 days of baseline CTA * Pulmonary hypertension with peak pulmonary artery pressure \> 70 mmHg by right heart catheterization * Vasopressor requirement after fluids to keep pressure ≥ 90 mmHg * FiO2 requirement \> 40% or \> 6 LPM to keep oxygen saturation \> 90% * Hematocrit \< 28% (NOTE: hematocrit required within 6 hours of index procedure) * Platelets \< 100,000/μL * Serum creatinine \> 1.8 mg/dL * INR \> 3 * Major trauma Injury Severity Score (ISS) \> 15 * Presence of intracardiac lead in the right ventricle or right atrium placed within 6 months * Cardiovascular or pulmonary surgery within last 7 days * Actively progressing cancer * Known bleeding diathesis or coagulation disorder * Left bundle branch block * History of severe or chronic pulmonary arterial hypertension * History of chronic left heart disease with left ventricular ejection fraction ≤ 30% * History of uncompensated heart failure * History of underlying lung disease that is oxygen dependent * History of chest irradiation * History of heparin-induced thrombocytopenia (HIT) Any contraindication to systemic or therapeutic doses heparin or anticoagulants * Known anaphylactic reaction to radiographic contrast agents that cannot be pretreated * Imaging evidence or other evidence that suggests, in the opinion of the Investigator, the Subject is not appropriate for mechanical thrombectomy intervention (e.g., inability to navigate to target location, predominately chronic clot, or non-clot embolus) * Life expectancy of \< 90 days, as determined by Investigator * Female who is pregnant or nursing * Current participation in another investigational drug or device treatment study

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Primary Safety Endpoint (Composite): Incidence of Adjudicated Serious Adverse Events (SAE)Device-related mortality and device-related major bleeding components assessed through 48 hours after index procedure. Intra-procedural device or procedure-related AE component assessed until index procedure completion (index procedure: approx. 50 mins).Incidence of adjudicated Serious Adverse Events (SAE), which is a composite of: * Mortality through 48 hours after the index procedure related to FlowTriever2 Catheter * Major bleeding through 48 hours after the index procedure related to FlowTriever2 Catheter * Intra-procedural device or procedure-related adverse events, including: * Clinical deterioration defined by hemodynamic or respiratory worsening * Pulmonary vascular injury related to FlowTriever2 Catheter * Cardiac injury related to FlowTriever2 Catheter
Primary Effectiveness Endpoint: Change in Mean Pulmonary Arterial Pressure (mmHg)Intraprocedural (at beginning and end of treatment procedure (index procedure: approximately 50 minutes))Change in mean pulmonary arterial pressure measured via right heart catheterization at the beginning of the treatment procedure and at the end of the treatment procedure.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Secondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Symptomatic Recurrences of PE30 days post procedure (-5 / +15 days)Number of adjudicated symptomatic recurrences of pulmonary embolism through the 30-day visit (visit window = 30 days from procedure -5 / +15 days)
Secondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Patient Mortalities30 days post procedure (-5 / +15 days)Number of adjudicated all-cause mortalities through the 30-day visit (visit window = 30 days from procedure -5 / +15 days)
Secondary Effectiveness Endpoint: Number of Patients With Adjunctive Thrombolytic UseDuring Procedure (index procedure: approximately 50 minutes)Number of patients who received adjunctive thrombolytic medication during the index procedure
Secondary Effectiveness Endpoint: Change in Systolic Pulmonary Arterial Pressure (mmHg)Intraprocedural (at beginning and end of treatment procedure (index procedure: approximately 50 minutes))Change in systolic pulmonary arterial pressure measured via right heart catheterization at the beginning of the treatment procedure and at the end of the treatment procedure
Secondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Device-Related Serious Adverse Events30 days post procedure (-5 / +15 days)Number of adjudicated device-related SAE through the 30-day visit (visit window = 30 days from procedure -5 / +15 days)

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

All subjects presenting to the hospital/emergency department with a pulmonary embolism (PE) and meeting all eligibility requirements for enrollment in the FLARE-FT2 study.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
All Subjects
All participants who were treated with the FlowTriever System and FlowTriever2 Catheter for mechanical thrombectomy of PE.
50
Total50

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject4

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAll Subjects
Absolute thrombolytic contraindication with recent intracranial/spinal surgery or head trauma1 Participants
Active Cancer
No
7 Participants
Active Cancer
Yes
0 Participants
Age, Continuous63 years
BMI (kg/m^2)33.2 kg/m^2
Current COVID-19 status
COVID-19 negative
12 Participants
Current COVID-19 status
COVID-19 positive
1 Participants
Current COVID-19 status
COVID-19 status unknown
37 Participants
Diabetes type
Diabetes mellitus type 1
1 Participants
Diabetes type
Diabetes mellitus type 2
13 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
46 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Height (m)1.75 m
History of cancer
No
43 Participants
History of cancer
Yes
7 Participants
History of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)
No
46 Participants
History of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)
Yes
4 Participants
History of congestive heart failure (CHF)
No
47 Participants
History of congestive heart failure (CHF)
Yes
3 Participants
History of coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)
No
50 Participants
History of coronary artery bypass graft (CABG)
Yes
0 Participants
History of coronary artery disease (CAD)
No
46 Participants
History of coronary artery disease (CAD)
Yes
4 Participants
History of diabetes
No
36 Participants
History of diabetes
Yes
14 Participants
History of myocardial infarction (MI)
No
48 Participants
History of myocardial infarction (MI)
Yes
2 Participants
History of pulmonary hypertension
No
48 Participants
History of pulmonary hypertension
Yes
2 Participants
History of renal disease (chronic renal insufficiency)
No
47 Participants
History of renal disease (chronic renal insufficiency)
Yes
3 Participants
History of systemic hypertension
No
22 Participants
History of systemic hypertension
Yes
28 Participants
Hypercoagulable state
No
50 Participants
Hypercoagulable state
Yes
0 Participants
On dialysis
No
3 Participants
On dialysis
Yes
0 Participants
Patent foramen ovale (PFO) / shunt
No
49 Participants
Patent foramen ovale (PFO) / shunt
Yes
1 Participants
Prior cerebrovascular accident (prior stroke/transient ischemic attack (TIA))
No
49 Participants
Prior cerebrovascular accident (prior stroke/transient ischemic attack (TIA))
Yes
1 Participants
Prior COVID-19 infection
Not applicable
11 Participants
Prior COVID-19 infection
Previously recovered
6 Participants
Prior COVID-19 infection
Prior infection unknown
33 Participants
Prior deep venous thrombosis (DVT)
No
36 Participants
Prior deep venous thrombosis (DVT)
Yes
14 Participants
Prior Pulmonary Embolism (PE)
No
42 Participants
Prior Pulmonary Embolism (PE)
Yes
8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
12 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
37 Participants
Recent surgery type
Abdomen
1 Participants
Recent surgery type
Neurological
1 Participants
Recent surgery type
Orthopedic
2 Participants
Recent surgery type
Other
2 Participants
Recent surgery (within 30 days)
No
44 Participants
Recent surgery (within 30 days)
Yes
6 Participants
Recent trauma (within 30 days)
No
49 Participants
Recent trauma (within 30 days)
Yes
1 Participants
Relative thrombolytic contraindication
Oral anticoagulation except for aspirin
1 Condition applies to subject
Relative thrombolytic contraindication
Therapeutic LMWH within 24 hours
1 Condition applies to subject
Sex: Female, Male
Female
20 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
30 Participants
Thrombolytic contraindication
Absolute
1 Participants
Thrombolytic contraindication
None
48 Participants
Thrombolytic contraindication
Relative
1 Participants
Tobacco Use
Current
12 Participants
Tobacco Use
Never
26 Participants
Tobacco Use
Past
12 Participants
Weight (kg)99.9 kg

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 50
other
Total, other adverse events
11 / 50
serious
Total, serious adverse events
10 / 50

Outcome results

Primary

Primary Effectiveness Endpoint: Change in Mean Pulmonary Arterial Pressure (mmHg)

Change in mean pulmonary arterial pressure measured via right heart catheterization at the beginning of the treatment procedure and at the end of the treatment procedure.

Time frame: Intraprocedural (at beginning and end of treatment procedure (index procedure: approximately 50 minutes))

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
All SubjectsPrimary Effectiveness Endpoint: Change in Mean Pulmonary Arterial Pressure (mmHg)-5.50 mmHg
Primary

Primary Safety Endpoint (Composite): Incidence of Adjudicated Serious Adverse Events (SAE)

Incidence of adjudicated Serious Adverse Events (SAE), which is a composite of: * Mortality through 48 hours after the index procedure related to FlowTriever2 Catheter * Major bleeding through 48 hours after the index procedure related to FlowTriever2 Catheter * Intra-procedural device or procedure-related adverse events, including: * Clinical deterioration defined by hemodynamic or respiratory worsening * Pulmonary vascular injury related to FlowTriever2 Catheter * Cardiac injury related to FlowTriever2 Catheter

Time frame: Device-related mortality and device-related major bleeding components assessed through 48 hours after index procedure. Intra-procedural device or procedure-related AE component assessed until index procedure completion (index procedure: approx. 50 mins).

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
All SubjectsPrimary Safety Endpoint (Composite): Incidence of Adjudicated Serious Adverse Events (SAE)Yes0 Participants
All SubjectsPrimary Safety Endpoint (Composite): Incidence of Adjudicated Serious Adverse Events (SAE)No50 Participants
Secondary

Secondary Effectiveness Endpoint: Change in Systolic Pulmonary Arterial Pressure (mmHg)

Change in systolic pulmonary arterial pressure measured via right heart catheterization at the beginning of the treatment procedure and at the end of the treatment procedure

Time frame: Intraprocedural (at beginning and end of treatment procedure (index procedure: approximately 50 minutes))

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
All SubjectsSecondary Effectiveness Endpoint: Change in Systolic Pulmonary Arterial Pressure (mmHg)-8.00 mmHg
Secondary

Secondary Effectiveness Endpoint: Number of Patients With Adjunctive Thrombolytic Use

Number of patients who received adjunctive thrombolytic medication during the index procedure

Time frame: During Procedure (index procedure: approximately 50 minutes)

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
All SubjectsSecondary Effectiveness Endpoint: Number of Patients With Adjunctive Thrombolytic UseYes0 Participants
All SubjectsSecondary Effectiveness Endpoint: Number of Patients With Adjunctive Thrombolytic UseNo50 Participants
Secondary

Secondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Device-Related Serious Adverse Events

Number of adjudicated device-related SAE through the 30-day visit (visit window = 30 days from procedure -5 / +15 days)

Time frame: 30 days post procedure (-5 / +15 days)

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Device-Related Serious Adverse EventsYes0 Participants
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Device-Related Serious Adverse EventsNo46 Participants
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Device-Related Serious Adverse EventsWithdrawn4 Participants
Secondary

Secondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Patient Mortalities

Number of adjudicated all-cause mortalities through the 30-day visit (visit window = 30 days from procedure -5 / +15 days)

Time frame: 30 days post procedure (-5 / +15 days)

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Patient MortalitiesYes0 Participants
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Patient MortalitiesNo46 Participants
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Patient MortalitiesWithdrawn4 Participants
Secondary

Secondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Symptomatic Recurrences of PE

Number of adjudicated symptomatic recurrences of pulmonary embolism through the 30-day visit (visit window = 30 days from procedure -5 / +15 days)

Time frame: 30 days post procedure (-5 / +15 days)

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Symptomatic Recurrences of PEYes0 Participants
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Symptomatic Recurrences of PENo46 Participants
All SubjectsSecondary Safety Endpoint: Number of Symptomatic Recurrences of PEWithdrawn4 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026