Skip to content

A Study of TAK-341 in Treatment of Multiple System Atrophy

A Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-Controlled, Phase 2 Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetics, and Pharmacodynamics of Intravenous TAK-341 in Subjects With Multiple System Atrophy

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05526391
Enrollment
158
Registered
2022-09-02
Start date
2022-11-16
Completion date
2025-07-28
Last updated
2026-06-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Multiple System Atrophy

Keywords

Drug Therapy

Brief summary

The main aim is to see how TAK-341 works after 52 weeks in participants with multiple system atrophy as measured by the Unified Multiple System Atrophy Rating Scale Part I (UMSARS). The study will enroll approximately 138 patients. Participants will receive a total of 13 intravenous infusions every 4 weeks approximately, these may be either of TAK-341 or placebo, after each infusion some blood samplings will be taken and other assessments completed. This trial will be conducted in North America, Europe and Asia.

Detailed description

The drug being tested in this study is called TAK-341. The study will evaluate the efficacy, safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics (PK), and pharmacodynamics of intravenous (IV) TAK-341 in participants with multiple system atrophy (MSA). The study will enroll approximately 158 participants. The study comprises a screening period of up to 42 days (6 weeks), a 52-week double-blind treatment period, and a follow-up safety visit. Participants will be randomly assigned (by chance, like flipping a coin) to one of the two treatment groups-which will remain undisclosed to the participant, care provider and investigator during the study: * TAK-341 * Placebo The change from baseline in UMSARS will be measured at Week 52 post-dose. This multi-center trial will be conducted worldwide. The duration of treatment in this study will be 52 weeks. Participants will make a follow-up visit to the site after approximately 90 days after the last dose of study treatment.

Interventions

DRUGPlacebo

TAK-341-matching placebo IV infusion

DRUGTAK-341

TAK-341 IV infusion

Sponsors

Takeda
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY
AstraZeneca
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
40 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Diagnostic: 1. The participant has a diagnosis of possible or probable MSA using the modified Gilman et al, 2008 diagnostic criteria. 2. The participant's onset of first MSA symptoms occurred ≤4 years before screening, as assessed by the investigator. 3. Evidence of MSA specific symptoms and deficits as measured by the UMSARS scale.

Exclusion criteria

Medical History: 1\. The participant has any contraindication to study procedures. Diagnostic Assessments: 1. Presence of confounding diagnosis and/or conditions that could affect participant's safety during the study per investigator judgement. 2. The participant's participation in a previous study of a disease-modifying therapy (with proven receipt of active treatment) will compromise the interpretability of the data from the present study, per consultation with medical monitor or designee. Other: 1\. The participant has participated in another study investigating active or passive immunization against α-synuclein (αSYN) for progressive disease (PD) or MSA, or has had immunoglobulin G therapy, within 6 months before screening.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in Modified Unified Multiple System Atrophy Rating Scale (UMSARS) Part I Total Score at Week 52Baseline, Week 52UMSARS Part I (historical review) is a 12-item scale that was adapted from the Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (UPDRS) and is used to assess activities related to motor disability and autonomic dysfunction. In this study, the UMSARS was modified to exclude the sexual function item. Thus, total 11 items were assessed. Each item was initially scored on a scale from 0 (normal) to 4 (severe); ratings of normal (0) and mild (1) were then combined and recorded as 0, making minimum score 0 and maximum score 3. The investigator rated the average functional situation for the past 2 weeks according to findings from the participant and caregiver interview and indicated the score that best fit with the participant's status. The total score is a sum of scores from all domains and range from 0 to 33. Higher scores indicate worse impairment.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in 11-item UMSARS at Week 52Baseline, Week 52The 11- item UMSARS includes 11 items from Part I and II to assess both motor and autonomic disability. UMSARS Part I (historical review) is used to assess activities related to motor disability and autonomic dysfunction. UMSARS Part II (motor examination) is used to measure the functional impairment and specific parkinsonian or cerebellar features. Each item was scored on a scale from 0 (normal) to 4 (severe); total score ranges from 0 to 44, higher scores indicated worse impairment.
Change From Baseline in the UMSARS Total Score (UMSARS Part I + Part II) at Week 52Baseline, Week 52UMSARS total scale consists of all items from UMSARS Parts I and II. UMSARS Part I (historical review): 12-item scale used to assess activities related to motor disability and autonomic dysfunction. Each item is scored from 0 (normal) to 4 (severe). UMSARS Part II (motor examination): 14-item scale used to measure the functional impairment (for example speech, rapid alternating movements of the hands, finger taps, leg agility) of selected complex movements, and specific parkinsonian (tremor at rest) or cerebellar (ocular motor dysfunction, heel-shin test) features. The worst affected limb was assessed, and each item was scored from 0 (normal) to 4 (severe). UMSARS Part I and Part II total score is the sum of UMSARS Part I and Part II and ranges from 0 to 104. A higher score indicates worse impairment.
Change From Baseline in UMSARS Part I 11-Item Score at Week 52Baseline, Week 52UMSARS Part I (historical review) is a 12-item scale that was adapted from the UPDRS. In this study, the UMSARS was modified to exclude the sexual function item. The UMSARS is used to assess activities related to motor disability and autonomic dysfunction. Each item was scored on a scale from 0 (normal) to 4 (severe). UMSARS Part I 11-item total score is the total score of UMSARS Part I, excluding the sexual function item, and without collapse of ratings of scale items. The UMSARS Part I 11-item total score ranges from 0 to 44, and higher scores indicate worse impairment.
Change From Baseline in UMSARS Part II at Week 52Baseline, Week 52UMSARS Part II (motor examination): 14-item scale used to measure the functional impairment (e.g., speech, rapid alternating movements of the hands, finger taps, leg agility) of selected complex movements, and specific parkinsonian (tremor at rest) or cerebellar (ocular motor dysfunction, heel-shin test) features. the worst affected limb was assessed, and each item was scored from 0 (normal) to 4 (severe). The UMSARS Part II total score ranges from 0 to 56, and higher scores indicate worse impairment.
Change From Baseline on Clinical Global Impression-Severity (CGI-S) ScoreBaseline, Week 24 and Week 52The CGI-S is used to assess the clinician's impression of the participant's clinical condition. The clinician rates the current severity of the participant's illness on a 7-point scale ranging from 1 (normal, not at all ill) to 7 (most extremely ill). The rating was based on observed and reported symptoms, behaviour, and function and reflected the severity level at the time of the assessment. A higher score indicates worse impairment.
Change From Baseline in Scales for Outcomes in Parkinson's Disease - Autonomic Dysfunction (SCOPA-AUT) Total ScoreBaseline, Week 24 and Week 52The SCOPA-AUT is a participant-reported outcome that assesses autonomic function. Autonomic function is a critical symptom domain for MSA. The scale was completed by participants and consisted of 25 items assessing the following domains: gastrointestinal (7 items), urinary (6 items), cardiovascular (3 items), thermoregulatory (4 items), pupillomotor (1 item), and sexual (2 items for men and 2 items for women). The score for each item ranged from 0 (never experiencing the symptom) to 3 (often experiencing the symptom). The total composite score including all domains was reported. The score range was 0 (no symptoms) to 69 (highest burden of symptoms). A higher score indicates worse impairment.
Overall Survival (OS) at Week 52At Week 52OS was estimated with Kaplan-Meier survival estimates, along with 95% confidence interval. A cox proportional hazards model was fitted to model the survival probability with treatment as the predictor. The participants with missing value were censored. The probabilities of survival at Week 52 for participants were estimated and reported.
Change From Baseline in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) Free Alpha-Synuclein (αSYN)Baseline, Week 52α-Synucleinopathies are diseases characterized by abnormal accumulation of aggregated αSYN. In participants with MSA, αSYN is seen to accumulate primarily in oligodendrocytes, forming glial cytoplasmic inclusions. A negative change from Baseline indicates an improvement.
Maximum Observed Steady State Serum Concentration (Cmax) for TAK-341On Day 57- immediately before end of infusion (EOI) (60 minutes), 6 hours and 24 hours.Cmax is the maximum observed serum concentration for TAK-341.
Time to Maximum Steady State Concentration (Tmax) for TAK-341On Day 57- immediately before EOI (60 minutes), 6 hours and 24 hours.Tmax is the time of first occurrence of maximum observed concentration for TAK-341.
Area Under the Serum Concentration Time Curve (AUCτ) at Steady State for TAK-341On Day 57- immediately before EOI (60 minutes), 6 hours and 24 hours.AUCτ is the area under the serum concentration-time curve during a dosing interval.
CSF Concentration of TAK-341On Day 1, Day 85 and Day 365Lumbar puncture was performed for CSF on Day 1, Day 85 and Day 365, predose.
Number of Participants With at Least One Adverse Event (AE)Up to Week 61An adverse event (AE) is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product; it does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (e.g., a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a drug, whether or not it is considered related to the drug. A TEAE is defined as an adverse event that occurs after administration of the first dose of study treatment and up through 90 days after the last dose of study treatment.
Number of Participants With Anti-Drug AntibodiesUp to Week 61

Countries

Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORMedical Director

Takeda

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants participated across investigative sites in the United States, Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Portugal, Spain, and the United Kingdom between 16 November 2022 and 28 July 2025.

Pre-assignment details

A total of 158 participants with possible or probable multiple system atrophy (MSA), received multiple intravenous (IV) infusions of either TAK-341 or placebo, every 4 weeks (Q4W) over 52 weeks. The study comprised of a screening period of 6 weeks, a 52-week treatment period, and a follow-up visit approximately 90 days after the final infusion.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
45 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
113 Participants
Age, Continuous60.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.47
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
76 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
13 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
129 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
70 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
39 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
4 / 746 / 84
other
Total, other adverse events
60 / 7464 / 83
serious
Total, serious adverse events
22 / 7429 / 83

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 3, 2026