Skip to content

A Research Study to Look Into How Well Semaglutide Medicine Works at Different Doses in People With Type 2 Diabetes and Overweight

Investigation of Once-weekly Semaglutide S.C. Dose-Response in Patients With Type 2 Diabetes and Overweight - a Participant- and Investigator-blinded and Sponsor Open-label Study

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05486065
Enrollment
245
Registered
2022-08-03
Start date
2022-08-08
Completion date
2023-12-13
Last updated
2025-12-12

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2

Brief summary

This study compares how three doses of semaglutide work in participants with type 2 diabetes (T2D) and overweight who are taking metformin. The study will look mainly at how well participant's blood sugar and participant's body weight are controlled when they are taking the study medicine at different doses. Participants will either get semaglutide \[2 milligrams (mg), 8 mg, or 16 mg\] or semaglutide placebo (a dummy medicine). Participants will take the study medicine with an injection pen called NovoPen®4. The injection pen is a medical tool with a needle used to inject the study medicine under the skin. The study will last for about 52 weeks. Participants will have 13 clinic visits and 4 phone calls.

Interventions

DRUGSemaglutide

Semaglutide s.c. injection once-weekly for 40 weeks. Dose gradually increased over 24 weeks, followed by a 16 week maintenance period.

DRUGPlacebo

Semaglutide placebo s.c. injection once-weekly for 40 weeks. Dose gradually increased over 24 weeks, followed by a 16 week maintenance period.

Sponsors

Novo Nordisk A/S
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 64 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Male or female. * Aged 18-64 years (both inclusive) at the time of signing informed consent. * Diagnosed with type 2 diabetes mellitus greater than equal to (≥) 180 days prior to the day of screening. * Glycosylated haemoglobin (HbA1c) of 7.0 - 10.5 percentage (%) \[53 - 91 millimoles per mole (mmol/mol)\] (both inclusive). * Body Mass Index (BMI) ≥ 27.0 kilograms per meter square (kg/m\^2). * Stable daily dose(s) ≥ 90 days prior to the day of screening of any metformin formulations.

Exclusion criteria

* Treatment with any medication for the indication of diabetes or obesity other than stated in the inclusion criteria within 90 days before screening. However, short term insulin treatment for a maximum of 14 days prior to the day of screening is allowed, as is prior insulin treatment for gestational diabetes. * Uncontrolled and potentially unstable diabetic retinopathy or maculopathy. Verified by a fundus examination performed within the past 90 days prior to day of screening or in the period between screening and randomisation. Pharmacological pupil-dilation is a requirement unless using a digital fundus photography camera specified for non-dilated examination. * Renal impairment measured as estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) value of less than (\<) 30 milliliters per minute (mL/min)/1.73 meter square (m\^2) at screening.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Glycated Haemoglobin (HbA1c)Baseline (week 0) and End of treatment (week 40)Change in HbA1c from baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 40) is presented.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Body WeightBaseline (week 0) and End of treatment (week 40)Change in body weight from baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 40) is presented.
Number of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)From baseline (week 0) up to end of study (week 49)An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant that is temporally associated with use of investigational medicinal products (IMP), whether or not considered related to IMP. AE can therefore be any unfavourable & unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom or disease (new or exacerbated) temporally associated with use of IMP. TEAE was defined as event that had onset date (or increase in severity) during on-treatment observation period. On treatment observation period data are presented. On-treatment observation period is defined as time points from first drug date until first date of end of data point sets (DPS1) or last administration of randomised treatment +63 days. DPS1 in trial is defined as all observed data points from randomisation until first date of end of study visit or date of death or date of withdrawal of informed consent or contact as defined by investigator for participants that are lost to follow up.
Number of Treatment-emergent Severe Hypoglycaemic EpisodesFrom baseline (week 0) up to end of study (week 49)Number of treatment-emergent severe Hypoglycaemic episodes are presented. Severe hypoglycaemic episodes (level 3) were defined as episodes that were associated with severe cognitive impairment requiring external assistance for recovery. On treatment observation period data are presented. On-treatment oberservation period is defined as time points from first drug date until the first date of end of data point sets (DPS1) or last administration of randomised treatment +63 days. DPS1 in trial is defined as all observed data points from randomisation until the first date of end of study visit or date of death or date of withdrawal of informed consent or date of last contact as defined by investigator for participants that are lost to follow up.

Countries

Greece, Hungary, Poland, Puerto Rico, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This study was conducted at 82 active sites in 4 countries, of which 75 sites enrolled participants.

Pre-assignment details

Participants were randomized at a ratio of 3:1:3:1:3:1 to receive semaglutide (2 milligram \[mg\], 8 mg, 16 mg) or matching placebo.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Semaglutide 2.0 mg
Participants received once-weekly subcutaneous (s.c.) injections of semaglutide (in a dose-escalation manner every 4 weeks \[0-4 weeks: 0.29 mg; 5-8 weeks: 0.58 mg; 9-12 weeks: 1.06 mg\], followed by the maintenance dose of 2 mg) till 40 weeks.
61
Semaglutide 8.0 mg
Participants received once-weekly s.c. injections of semaglutide (in a dose-escalation manner every 4 weeks \[0-4 weeks: 0.29 mg; 5-8 weeks: 0.58 mg; 9-12 weeks: 1.06 mg; 13-16 weeks: 2.02 mg; 17-20 weeks: 4.03 mg\], followed by the maintenance dose of 8 mg) till 40 weeks.
62
Semaglutide 16.0 mg
Participants received once-weekly s.c. injections of semaglutide (in a dose-escalation manner every 4 weeks \[0-4 weeks: 0.29 mg; 5-8 weeks: 0.58 mg; 9-12 weeks: 1.06 mg; 13-16 weeks: 2.02 mg; 17-20 weeks: 4.03 mg; 21-24 weeks: 8.06 mg\], followed by the maintenance dose of 16 mg) till 40 weeks.
62
Placebo
Participants received once-weekly s.c. injection of placebo matched to semaglutide for 40 weeks.
60
Total245

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003
Overall StudyFailure to meet randomization criteria0001
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up4222
Overall StudyPhysician Decision0110
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject1543

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSemaglutide 2.0 mgSemaglutide 8.0 mgSemaglutide 16.0 mgPlaceboTotal
Age, Continuous52.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.6
53.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.5
52.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.6
52.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.5
52.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
9 Participants8 Participants9 Participants13 Participants39 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
52 Participants54 Participants53 Participants47 Participants206 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants11 Participants4 Participants4 Participants25 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
54 Participants49 Participants56 Participants55 Participants214 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
27 Participants33 Participants25 Participants35 Participants120 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
34 Participants29 Participants37 Participants25 Participants125 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 600 / 600 / 620 / 59
other
Total, other adverse events
30 / 6048 / 6050 / 6229 / 59
serious
Total, serious adverse events
4 / 602 / 601 / 622 / 59

Outcome results

Primary

Change in Glycated Haemoglobin (HbA1c)

Change in HbA1c from baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 40) is presented.

Time frame: Baseline (week 0) and End of treatment (week 40)

Population: Full analysis set included all randomised participants. Here, Overall Number of Participants Analyzed signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Semaglutide 2.0 mgChange in Glycated Haemoglobin (HbA1c)-1.9 Percentage-point of HbA1cStandard Deviation 1.1
Semaglutide 8.0 mgChange in Glycated Haemoglobin (HbA1c)-1.8 Percentage-point of HbA1cStandard Deviation 1.5
Semaglutide 16.0 mgChange in Glycated Haemoglobin (HbA1c)-2.1 Percentage-point of HbA1cStandard Deviation 1.5
PlaceboChange in Glycated Haemoglobin (HbA1c)-1.1 Percentage-point of HbA1cStandard Deviation 1.3
p-value: 0.000295% CI: [-1.25, -0.39]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.000395% CI: [-1.19, -0.35]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-1.5, -0.64]ANCOVA
Comparison: The change in HbA1c from baseline was analysed using an ANCOVA (Analysis of Covariance) with randomised treatment and stratification factor, sex as fixed effect and baseline HbA1c as a covariate. Missing values were imputed using Jump to reference method.p-value: 0.830595% CI: [-0.38, 0.47]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.167895% CI: [-0.72, 0.13]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.244595% CI: [-0.67, 0.17]ANCOVA
Secondary

Change in Body Weight

Change in body weight from baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 40) is presented.

Time frame: Baseline (week 0) and End of treatment (week 40)

Population: Full analysis set included all randomised participants. Here, Overall Number of Participants Analyzed signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Semaglutide 2.0 mgChange in Body Weight-8.9 Kilogram (kg)Standard Deviation 8.5
Semaglutide 8.0 mgChange in Body Weight-10.1 Kilogram (kg)Standard Deviation 7.4
Semaglutide 16.0 mgChange in Body Weight-13.1 Kilogram (kg)Standard Deviation 8.4
PlaceboChange in Body Weight-2.3 Kilogram (kg)Standard Deviation 4.9
Secondary

Number of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant that is temporally associated with use of investigational medicinal products (IMP), whether or not considered related to IMP. AE can therefore be any unfavourable & unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom or disease (new or exacerbated) temporally associated with use of IMP. TEAE was defined as event that had onset date (or increase in severity) during on-treatment observation period. On treatment observation period data are presented. On-treatment observation period is defined as time points from first drug date until first date of end of data point sets (DPS1) or last administration of randomised treatment +63 days. DPS1 in trial is defined as all observed data points from randomisation until first date of end of study visit or date of death or date of withdrawal of informed consent or contact as defined by investigator for participants that are lost to follow up.

Time frame: From baseline (week 0) up to end of study (week 49)

Population: Safety analysis set included all participants who are exposed to randomised treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Semaglutide 2.0 mgNumber of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)43 Events
Semaglutide 8.0 mgNumber of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)54 Events
Semaglutide 16.0 mgNumber of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)55 Events
PlaceboNumber of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)37 Events
Secondary

Number of Treatment-emergent Severe Hypoglycaemic Episodes

Number of treatment-emergent severe Hypoglycaemic episodes are presented. Severe hypoglycaemic episodes (level 3) were defined as episodes that were associated with severe cognitive impairment requiring external assistance for recovery. On treatment observation period data are presented. On-treatment oberservation period is defined as time points from first drug date until the first date of end of data point sets (DPS1) or last administration of randomised treatment +63 days. DPS1 in trial is defined as all observed data points from randomisation until the first date of end of study visit or date of death or date of withdrawal of informed consent or date of last contact as defined by investigator for participants that are lost to follow up.

Time frame: From baseline (week 0) up to end of study (week 49)

Population: Safety analysis set included all participants who are exposed to randomised treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Semaglutide 2.0 mgNumber of Treatment-emergent Severe Hypoglycaemic Episodes0 Episodes
Semaglutide 8.0 mgNumber of Treatment-emergent Severe Hypoglycaemic Episodes0 Episodes
Semaglutide 16.0 mgNumber of Treatment-emergent Severe Hypoglycaemic Episodes0 Episodes
PlaceboNumber of Treatment-emergent Severe Hypoglycaemic Episodes0 Episodes

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026