Skip to content

PR3-AAV Resilient Remission or PRRR

A Randomized, Double-Blind, Active Comparator-Controlled Study to Evaluate the Effect of Obinutuzumab Versus Rituximab in PR3-Patients With Anti-Neutrophil Cytoplasmic Antibody (ANCA)-Associated Vasculitis

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05376319
Enrollment
6
Registered
2022-05-17
Start date
2023-06-30
Completion date
2024-05-07
Last updated
2026-05-06

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

ANCA Associated Vasculitis, Granulomatosis With Polyangiitis, Microscopic Polyangiitis

Keywords

Granulomatosis with Polyangiitis, Microscopic Polyangiitis, PR3-ANCA, ANCA-associated Vasculitis

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of obinutuzumab for the treatment of proteinase 3 Anti-Neutrophil Cytoplasmic Antibody (ANCA)-Associated Vasculitis (PR3-AAV).

Interventions

DRUGObinutuzumab

1000 mg per infusion given approximately two weeks apart, on day 1 and on day 15

DRUGRituximab

1000 mg per infusion given approximately two weeks apart, on day 1 and on day 15

Sponsors

Mayo Clinic
Lead SponsorOTHER
Genentech, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Fulfillment of the definitions of the Second Chapel Hill Consensus Conference for ANCA-associated vasculitis (either granulomatosis with polyangiitis or microscopic polyangiitis). * Positivity for ANCA, directed against proteinase-3 (PR3) * Severe newly-diagnosed disease or severe relapsing disease. Severe relapsing disease is defined as at least one major BVAS/WG item or a score ≥ 3 and the investigator deems standard treatment for severe disease is necessary. * Minimum BVAS/WG of 3 * Relapsing patients must have B cells detectable in the peripheral blood. * Patients must have completed COVID19 vaccination (including booster if eligible) at least 4 weeks prior to enrollment with a positive spike protein antibody test result. Patients who have recovered from COVID19 prior to screening with a positive spike protein antibody test result but have not been vaccinated are also eligible. * Female subjects of childbearing potential who are not sterile must agree to use an acceptable method of contraception for 18 months after the last dose of infusion medication. Male subjects who are not sterile whose female partners are of childbearing potential must agree to use an acceptable method of contraception for 180 days after the last dose of infusion medication. * Females of childbearing potential include any female who has not undergone successful surgical sterilization (hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation, or bilateral oophorectomy) or is not postmenopausal (to be considered postmenopausal, the patient must have had amenorrhea for \>12 consecutive months). * Acceptable methods of contraception include the use of at least two of the following: 1) intrauterine device; 2) hormonal contraceptives for at least 30 days prior to first dose infusion (oral, injectable, implant or ring); 3) barrier contraceptives (condom or diaphragm) with spermicide; or 4) abstinence.

Exclusion criteria

* Diagnosis with eosinophilic granulomatosis with polyangiitis (formerly Churg-Strauss syndrome) as defined by the Chapel Hill Consensus Conference. * Positive serum assays for ANCA directed against myeloperoxidase (MPO-ANCA) * Non-severe AAV, defined as disease that does not justify treatment with both B cell depletion and a four-month glucocorticoid taper. * Any of the co-morbidities: * Allergies: a history of severe allergic reactions to human or chimeric monoclonal antibodies or murine protein. * Infection (systemic): an active systemic infection at screening visit * Infection (deep space): have been diagnosed as having a deep-space infection, such as osteomyelitis, septic arthritis, or pneumonia complicated by empyema or lung abscesses, within 6 months prior to the screening visit * Infection (blood borne): active hepatitis B or active hepatitis C or a documented history of HIV, hepatitis B, or hepatitis C * Infection (history): History of recurrent significant infection or history of recurrent bacterial infections * Liver disease: acute or chronic liver disease that is deemed sufficiently severe to impair their ability to participate in the trial. * Renal disease: a history of documented anti-glomerular basement membrane disease (anti-GBM disease). * Malignancy: Active or history of malignancy in the last 5 years. Individuals with squamous cell or basal cell skin carcinomas and individuals with cervical carcinoma in situ may be enrolled if they have received curative surgical treatment. * Active COVID-19 infection. * Uncontrolled disease: evidence of glucocorticoid dependent disease (such as asthma, COPD, psoriasis or IBD, etc.) requiring consistently greater than 10 mg of prednisone for disease control which might affect endpoint assessment or, * Other uncontrolled diseases, including any uncontrolled psychiatric disorders, drug and alcohol abuse, that could interfere with participation in the trial according to the protocol. * Diagnosis of human anti-chimeric antibodies (HACA) formation. * Subjects who are premenopausal and are: * Pregnant on the basis of a serum pregnancy test, * Breastfeeding, or * Do not agree to use effective method(s) of contraception * Use of prohibited medications: They have used any of the prohibited medication listed in Section 5.9.1. * Plasma exchange: They have been treated with plasma exchange within the 3 months preceding the screening visit. * History of intolerance to rituximab or other chimeric monoclonal antibodies (e.g., infliximab). * Recent vaccination: They have had a live vaccine fewer than 4 weeks (28 days) before or during randomization (vaccination with live vaccine through the end of study participation is contraindicated). * Daily use of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) *

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Patients to Achieve Both Complete Remission and Seronegativity for ANCA.6 monthsComplete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper. Seronegativity for ANCA is defined as a negative test for antibodies directed against serine proteinase 3 (i.e., a negative PR3-ANCA assay).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 6 Months6 monthsComplete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper.
Number of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 12 Months12 monthsComplete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper.
Number of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 18 Months18 monthsComplete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORUlrich Specks, MD

Mayo Clinic

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Trial was discontinued after enrollment of the first 6 patients because support was withdrawn by Genentech as enrollment lagged behind the projected timeline.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Intravenous Dose of Obinutuzumab
Subjects who have clinical diagnoses of either granulomatosis with polyangiitis or microscopic polyangiitis received two intravenous doses of obinutuzumab Obinutuzumab: 1000 mg per infusion given approximately two weeks apart, on day 1 and on day 15
2
Intravenous Dose of Rituximab
Subjects who have clinical diagnoses of either granulomatosis with polyangiitis or microscopic polyangiitis received two intravenous doses of rituximab Rituximab: 1000 mg per infusion given approximately two weeks apart, on day 1 and on day 15
4
Total6

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicIntravenous Dose of ObinutuzumabTotalIntravenous Dose of Rituximab
Age, Continuous54 years53.3 years53 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants6 Participants4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
2 Participants6 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
2 participants6 participants4 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants5 Participants4 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 20 / 4
other
Total, other adverse events
2 / 24 / 4
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 20 / 4

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Patients to Achieve Both Complete Remission and Seronegativity for ANCA.

Complete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper. Seronegativity for ANCA is defined as a negative test for antibodies directed against serine proteinase 3 (i.e., a negative PR3-ANCA assay).

Time frame: 6 months

Population: Terminated study due lack of funding. Data was not collected nor analyzed due to lack of funding. Only one subject in each arm reached 6 months. Data was not collected nor analyzed for 1 subject in the Intravenous dose of obinutuzumab and 3 subjects in the Intravenous dose of rituximab.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Intravenous Dose of ObinutuzumabNumber of Patients to Achieve Both Complete Remission and Seronegativity for ANCA.0 Participants
Intravenous Dose of RituximabNumber of Patients to Achieve Both Complete Remission and Seronegativity for ANCA.0 Participants
Secondary

Number of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 12 Months

Complete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper.

Time frame: 12 months

Population: Terminated study due lack of funding. Data was not collected nor analyzed due to lack of funding. Data was not collected nor analyzed for 2 subjects in the Intravenous dose of obinutuzumab and 4 subjects in the Intravenous dose of rituximab.

Secondary

Number of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 18 Months

Complete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper.

Time frame: 18 months

Population: Terminated study due lack of funding. Data was not collected nor analyzed due to lack of funding. Data was not collected nor analyzed for 2 subjects in the Intravenous dose of obinutuzumab and 4 subjects in the Intravenous dose of rituximab.

Secondary

Number of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 6 Months

Complete remission is defined as a Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score for Wegener's Granulomatosis (BVAS/WG) of 0 without glucocorticoids beyond the prescribed prednisone taper.

Time frame: 6 months

Population: Terminated study due lack of funding. Data was not collected nor analyzed due to lack of funding. Only one subject in each arm reached 6 months. Data was not collected nor analyzed for 1 subject in the Intravenous dose of obinutuzumab and 3 subjects in the Intravenous dose of rituximab.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Intravenous Dose of ObinutuzumabNumber of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 6 Months1 Participants
Intravenous Dose of RituximabNumber of Patients to Achieve Sustained Complete Remission 6 Months0 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 7, 2026