Skip to content

A Study of JNJ-77242113 for the Treatment of Moderate-to-Severe Plaque Psoriasis

A Phase 2a Multicenter, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, and Tolerability of an Oral Tablet Formulation of JNJ-77242113 for the Treatment of Moderate-to-Severe Plaque Psoriasis

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05357755
Acronym
SUMMIT
Enrollment
90
Registered
2022-05-03
Start date
2022-06-13
Completion date
2023-04-10
Last updated
2026-05-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Plaque Psoriasis

Brief summary

The purpose of the study is to evaluate the efficacy of an oral tablet formulation of JNJ-77242113 compared with placebo in participants with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis.

Detailed description

The population of people living with moderate to severe psoriasis is approximately 3.5 billion who are mostly managed with topical and conventional therapies. JNJ-77242113, investigational drug, targets the immune responses in the body and skin which impacts diseases, such as psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis and this study evaluates JNJ-77242113 as options of advanced therapies in moderate to severe plaque psoriasis. The hypothesis of this study is that an oral tablet formulation of JNJ-77242113 will result in superior efficacy compared with placebo as determined by the percentage of participants achieving Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) 75 (greater than or equal to \[\>=\] 75 percentage \[%\] improvement in PASI) (PASI 75) response at Week 16. The total duration of this study is up to 24 weeks which includes a screening period of less than or equal to (\<=) 4 weeks, a 16-week placebo- controlled treatment period, and a follow-up visit approximately 4 weeks after the last administration of study intervention. Safety assessments include adverse events (AEs) monitoring, clinical safety laboratory assessments, electrocardiograms (ECGs), vital signs, physical examinations, concomitant medication monitoring, pregnancy testing, Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) and tuberculosis evaluations.

Interventions

DRUGJNJ-77242113

JNJ-77242113 will be administered orally as delayed release tablets.

DRUGPlacebo

Matching placebo will be administered orally as delayed release tablets.

Sponsors

Janssen Research & Development, LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Participant has a diagnosis of plaque psoriasis, with or without psoriatic arthritis, for at least 26 weeks prior to the first administration of study intervention * Participant has a total Body Surface Area (BSA) greater than or equal to (\>=) 10 percentage (%) at screening and baseline * Participant has a total Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) \>= 12 at screening and baseline * Participant has a total Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) \>= 3 at screening and baseline * Participant be a candidate for phototherapy or systemic treatment for plaque psoriasis

Exclusion criteria

* Participant has a nonplaque form of psoriasis (for example, erythrodermic, guttate, or pustular) * Participant has current drug-induced psoriasis (for example, a new onset of psoriasis or an exacerbation of psoriasis from beta blockers, calcium channel blockers, or lithium) * Participant have previously received any other therapeutic agent directly targeted to interleukin 23 (including but not limited to guselkumab, tildrakizumab, or risankizumab) * Participant has received any therapeutic agent directly targeted to interleukin 17 (IL-17), interleukin 17 receptor (IL-17R) or interleukin 12/23 (IL-12/23) (including but not limited to secukinumab, ixekizumab, brodalumab, or ustekinumab) or has received biological therapy targeting tumor necrosis factor (TNF) (including, but not limited to adalimumab, infliximab, or etanercept) within 12 weeks or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer, of the first administration of study intervention * Participant has received proton pump inhibitors (including but not limited to omeprazole, esomeprazole, lansoprazole, rabeprazole, pantoprazole, dexlansoprazole, or zegerid) within 1 week of first administration of study intervention

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentages of Participants Who Achieved at Least 75 Percent (%) Improvement From Baseline in Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI 75) Score at Week 16Baseline (Week 0), Week 16Percentage of participants who achieved PASI-75 score (greater than or equal to \[\>=\] 75% improvement from baseline in PASI) at Week 16 were reported. The PASI was a system used for assessing and grading the severity of psoriatic lesions and their response to therapy. In the PASI system, the body was divided into 4 regions: the head, trunk, upper extremities, and lower extremities. Each of these areas were assessed and scored separately for erythema, induration, and scaling, which were each rated on a scale of 0 to 4 (0=none, 1 = slight, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe and 4 = very severe) and extent of involvement from 0 (indicated no involvement) to 6 (90% - 100% involvement). The PASI produced a numeric total score that could range from 0 (no psoriasis) to 72 (maximum psoriasis). Higher score indicated greater severity of psoriasis. The baseline was defined as the closest measurement taken prior to or at the time of the first study drug administration date.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in PASI Total Score at Week 16Baseline (Week 0), Week 16Change from baseline in PASI total score at Week 16 was reported. The PASI was a system used for assessing and grading the severity of psoriatic lesions and their response to therapy. In the PASI system, the body was divided into 4 regions: the head, trunk, upper extremities, and lower extremities. Each of these areas were assessed and scored separately for erythema, induration, and scaling, which were each rated on a scale of 0 to 4 (0=none, 1 = slight, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe and 4 = very severe) and extent of involvement from 0 (indicated no involvement) to 6 (90% - 100% involvement). The PASI produced a numeric total score that could range from 0 (no psoriasis) to 72 (maximum psoriasis). Higher score indicated greater severity of psoriasis. The baseline was defined as the closest measurement taken prior to or at the time of the first study drug administration date.
Percentages of Participants Who Achieved at Least 90% Improvement From Baseline in PASI (PASI 90) Score at Week 16Baseline (Week 0), Week 16Percentage of participants who achieved PASI-90 score (\>=90% improvement from baseline in PASI) at Week 16 were reported. The PASI was a system used for assessing and grading the severity of psoriatic lesions and their response to therapy. In the PASI system, the body was divided into 4 regions: the head, trunk, upper extremities, and lower extremities. Each of these areas were assessed and scored separately for erythema, induration, and scaling, which were each rated on a scale of 0 to 4 (0=none, 1 = slight, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe and 4 = very severe) and extent of involvement from 0 (indicated no involvement) to 6 (90% - 100% involvement). The PASI produced a numeric total score that could range from 0 (no psoriasis) to 72 (maximum psoriasis). Higher score indicated greater severity of psoriasis. The baseline was defined as the closest measurement taken prior to or at the time of the first study drug administration date.
Percentages of Participants Who Achieved 100% Improvement From Baseline in PASI (PASI 100) Score at Week 16Baseline (Week 0), Week 16Percentages of participants who achieved PASI 100- score (100% improvement from baseline in PASI) at Week 16 were reported. The PASI was a system used for assessing and grading the severity of psoriatic lesions and their response to therapy. In the PASI system, the body was divided into 4 regions: the head, trunk, upper extremities, and lower extremities. Each of these areas were assessed and scored separately for erythema, induration, and scaling, which were each rated on a scale of 0 to 4 (0=none, 1 = slight, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe and 4 = very severe) and extent of involvement from 0 (indicated no involvement) to 6 (90% - 100% involvement). The PASI produced a numeric total score that could range from 0 (no psoriasis) to 72 (maximum psoriasis). Higher score indicated greater severity of psoriasis. The baseline was defined as the closest measurement taken prior to or at the time of the first study drug administration date.
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved an Investigator Global Assessment (IGA) Score of Cleared (0) or Minimal (1) at Week 16Week 16The IGA assesses participant's plaque psoriasis. Lesions were graded for induration, erythema and scaling, each using a 5 point scale. Induration: 0 = no evidence of plaque elevation, 1 = minimal plaque elevation, = 0.25 millimeters (mm); 2 = mild plaque elevation, = 0.5 mm; 3 = moderate plaque elevation, = 0.75 mm; 4 = severe plaque elevation, greater than (\>)1 mm; Erythema: 0 = no evidence of erythema, hyperpigmentation may be present, 1 = faint erythema, 2 = light red coloration, 3 = moderate red coloration, 4 = bright red coloration; Scaling: 0 = no evidence of scaling, 1 = minimal; occasional fine scale over less than 5% of the lesion, 2 = mild; fine scale dominates, 3 = moderate; coarse scale predominates, 4 = severe; thick, scale predominates. Final IGA score of psoriasis was based upon the average of induration, erythema and scaling scores assessed on a 5 point scale: cleared (0), minimal (1), mild (2), moderate (3), or severe (4). A higher score indicated more severe disease.
Percentages of Participants Who Achieved an IGA Score of Cleared (0) at Week 16Week 16The IGA assesses participant's plaque psoriasis. Lesions were graded for induration, erythema and scaling, each using a 5 point scale. Induration: 0 = no evidence of plaque elevation, 1 = minimal plaque elevation, = 0.25 millimeters (mm); 2 = mild plaque elevation, = 0.5 mm; 3 = moderate plaque elevation, = 0.75 mm; 4 = severe plaque elevation, greater than (\>)1 mm; Erythema: 0 = no evidence of erythema, hyperpigmentation may be present, 1 = faint erythema, 2 = light red coloration, 3 = moderate red coloration, 4 = bright red coloration; Scaling: 0 = no evidence of scaling, 1 = minimal; occasional fine scale over less than 5% of the lesion, 2 = mild; fine scale dominates, 3 = moderate; coarse scale predominates, 4 = severe; thick, scale predominates. Final IGA score of psoriasis was based upon the average of induration, erythema and scaling scores assessed on a 5 point scale: cleared (0), minimal (1), mild (2), moderate (3), or severe (4). A higher score indicated more severe disease.
Percent Change From Baseline in Psoriasis-Affected Body Surface Area (BSA) at Week 16Baseline (Week 0), Week 16Percent change from baseline in psoriasis-affected BSA at Week 16 was reported. BSA was commonly used measure of severity of skin disease. It was defined as the percentage of surface area of the body involved with the condition being assessed, (that is, plaque psoriasis). BSA was assessed using handprint method where the surface area of the participant's hand including the palm and all 5 digits was used as a guide to estimate 1% BSA. The baseline measurement was defined as the closest measurement taken prior to or at the time of the first study intervention administration date.
Number of Participants With 1 or More Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)From Week 0 through Week 20An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant administered a pharmaceutical (investigational or non-investigational) product. An AE does not necessarily have a causal relationship with the intervention. TEAE was defined as any adverse event that occurred at or after the initial administration of study intervention. Data included all TEAEs (both serious and non-serious).
Number of Participants With Serious TEAEsFrom Week 0 through Week 20An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant administered a pharmaceutical (investigational or non-investigational) product. An AE does not necessarily have a causal relationship with the intervention. A serious adverse event (SAE) is any untoward medical occurrence at any dose that: results in death, is life threatening, require inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, or results in congenital anomaly/birth defect. TEAE was defined as any adverse event that occurs at or after the initial administration of study intervention.

Countries

Canada, France, Germany, Poland, Spain, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORJanssen Research & Development, LLC Clinical Trial

Janssen Research & Development, LLC

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

A total of 90 subjects were randomized, out of which 1 subject was inadvertently randomized but never treated. Hence, 89 subjects started the study and received study treatment.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous41.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.42
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
29 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
78 Participants
Region of Enrollment
CANADA
13 Participants
Region of Enrollment
FRANCE
2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
GERMANY
4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
POLAND
5 Participants
Region of Enrollment
SPAIN
4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
UNITED STATES
10 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
16 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 240 / 310 / 34
other
Total, other adverse events
10 / 247 / 3111 / 34
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 240 / 312 / 34

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 6, 2026