Skip to content

Randomized Trial of Buprenorphine Microdose Inductions During Hospitalization

Randomized Trial of Buprenorphine Microdose Inductions During Hospitalization

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05118204
Acronym
Micro-bupe
Enrollment
23
Registered
2021-11-11
Start date
2022-09-29
Completion date
2025-04-09
Last updated
2026-05-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Chronic Pain, Opioid-use Disorder, Substance Use Disorders

Brief summary

Investigators will test a novel protocol for starting BUP (buprenorphine-naloxone) treatment. The BUP microdose induction protocol has participants start very low doses of BUP without stopping other opioids that they are taking. The treatment as usual (TAU) has participants stop other opioids and experience opioid withdrawal before starting BUP. Investigators propose to test BUP microdose inductions vs. TAU in a randomized controlled trial.

Detailed description

Investigators will conduct a hybrid type 1 effectiveness-implementation study, using a pragmatic, open-label, randomized controlled trial (RCT). Investigators will randomize 270 hospitalized patients with (a) chronic pain and (b) opioid misuse or opioid use disorder (OUD) to a 5-day BUP microdose induction protocol (without stopping full agonists) or 2-day standard induction (with stopping full agonists), and then link participants to outpatient BUP treatment when they are released from the hospital. Study assessment visits will occur at baseline, 1 week, and 1, 3, and 6 months. Assessments will include interviews and urine drug tests to determine whether participants start BUP, continue BUP, have improvements in pain and decrease illicit opioid use. During induction and 3-months of follow-up, investigators will also collect data on mobile devices to assess opioid withdrawal, opioid craving, pain, and anxiety. These data will allow investigators to assess whether BUP microdosing targets of engagement-opioid- and pain-related symptoms-mediate OUD outcomes. Exploratory analyses will also examine pain as a trigger for opioid relapse. Aim 1: To test the effectiveness of BUP microdose induction (vs. TAU) on OUD outcomes. H1: The microdose arm (vs. TAU) will have better BUP treatment uptake and retention, and less illicit opioid use. H2: Improvements in H1 will be mediated by opioid- and pain-related symptoms. Aim 2: To test the effectiveness of microdosing (vs. TAU) on pain outcomes. H3: The microdose arm (vs. TAU) will have less pain intensity and interference, and improved quality of life. H4: Improvements in H3 will be mediated by OUD outcomes. Aim 3: To inform future implementation and dissemination efforts, investigators will: 3a) Examine factors influencing reach, adoption, implementation, and maintenance of BUP microdosing. Investigators will use qualitative and quantitative methods to describe multi-level factors influencing these domains; 3b) Calculate the cost and examine cost-effectiveness of BUP microdosing. H5: Compared with TAU, BUP microdosing will be cost-effective from a societal and a health sector perspective.

Interventions

DRUGBUP microdose induction

Participants will be started on a 5-day BUP microdose induction protocol (without stopping full agonists). Day 1: participants will receive buprenorphine (Belbuca) 225 mcg mg every 12 hours Day 2: participants will receive buprenorphine (Belbuca) 450 mcg every 8 hours Day 3: participants will receive buprenorphine-naloxone 2-0.5 mg every 8 hours Day 4: participants will receive buprenorphine-naloxone 4-1 mg every 8 hours Day 5: participants will receive buprenorphine-naloxone 8-2 mg every 12 hours

DRUGTAU

2-day standard BUP induction protocol (with stopping full agonists) Day 1: hold all opioids Day 2: buprenorphine-naloxone 2-0.5 mg every 6 hours Day 3: buprenorphine-naloxone 8-2 mg every 12 hours

BEHAVIORALLinkage to outpatient BUP treatment

Participants will be given an expedited appointment (within 2 weeks) to continue BUP treatment at a Montefiore community health center

Sponsors

Montefiore Medical Center
Lead SponsorOTHER
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
CollaboratorNIH
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
CollaboratorOTHER
Wake Forest University
CollaboratorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Age \> 18 years * Opioid misuse or OUD * Chronic pain * Currently taking opioids * Fluency in English or Spanish * Planned hospitalization for ≥ 48 hours

Exclusion criteria

* Current OUD treatment (BUP, methadone, naltrexone) * Severe alcohol or benzodiazepine use disorder * Hypersensitivity to BUP or naloxone * Pain due to malignancy * Severe untreated mental illness (suicidality, psychosis) * Pregnancy * Unable to consent due to pain or cognitive impairment

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
BUP Treatment Uptake7 daysThe percentage of participants who start BUP treatment, defined as receiving BUP 7 days after the baseline visit, will be reported for each arm.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pain Intensity3 monthsMean pain intensity score, measured using the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI), will be reported for each study arm. The pain intensity score has 4 items that are each rated on a scale from 0 (low intensity) to 10 (high intensity). The score reported is the average score from the 4-items also reported on a scale of 0-10.
Pain Interference3 monthsMean pain interference score, measured using the pain interference scale from the BPI, which is a 7-item instrument measuring the impact of pain on daily activities and physical functioning, will be reported for each study arm. Each item is rated on a scale from 0 (low interference) to 10 (high interference). The score reported is the average score from the 7-items also reported on a scale of 0-10.
BUP Retention in Care1, 3, and 6 monthsThe number/percentage of participants who are retained in BUP treatment, defined as having a BUP prescription written 180-210 days (6-month retention) after enrollment, will be reported for each arm.
Illicit Opioid Use1, 3, and 6 monthsThe mean number of days of illicit opioid use, defined as self-reported use of heroin, fentanyl, or non-prescribed opioid analgesics in the prior 30 days based on the Addiction Severity Index, will be reported for each arm.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORAaron Fox, MD

Montefiore Medical Center

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
BUP Microdose Induction
Participants in this arm will receive a novel BUP microdose induction protocol. BUP microdose induction: Participants will be started on a 5-day BUP microdose induction protocol (without stopping full agonists). Day 1: participants will receive buprenorphine (Belbuca) 225 mcg mg every 12 hours Day 2: participants will receive buprenorphine (Belbuca) 450 mcg every 8 hours Day 3: participants will receive buprenorphine-naloxone 2-0.5 mg every 8 hours Day 4: participants will receive buprenorphine-naloxone 4-1 mg every 8 hours Day 5: participants will receive buprenorphine-naloxone 8-2 mg every 12 hours Linkage to outpatient BUP treatment: Participants will be given an expedited appointment (within 2 weeks) to continue BUP treatment at a Montefiore community health center
12
Treatment As Usual (TAU)
Participants in this arm will receive standard BUP induction protocol. TAU: 2-day standard BUP induction protocol (with stopping full agonists) Day 1: hold all opioids Day 2: buprenorphine-naloxone 2-0.5 mg every 6 hours Day 3: buprenorphine-naloxone 8-2 mg every 12 hours Linkage to outpatient BUP treatment: Participants will be given an expedited appointment (within 2 weeks) to continue BUP treatment at a Montefiore community health center
11
Total23

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalTreatment As Usual (TAU)BUP Microdose Induction
Age, Continuous47.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 15.8
49.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 15.4
45.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.6
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants5 Participants8 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
10 Participants6 Participants4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Opioid Use Disorder status
Opioid use disorder mild or Opioid misuse
14 Participants7 Participants7 Participants
Opioid Use Disorder status
Opioid use disorder moderate or severe
9 Participants4 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
11 Participants6 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
2 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
8 Participants4 Participants4 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
9 Participants3 Participants6 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
14 Participants8 Participants6 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 121 / 11
other
Total, other adverse events
12 / 1211 / 11
serious
Total, serious adverse events
8 / 126 / 11

Outcome results

Primary

BUP Treatment Uptake

The percentage of participants who start BUP treatment, defined as receiving BUP 7 days after the baseline visit, will be reported for each arm.

Time frame: 7 days

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
BUP Microdose InductionBUP Treatment Uptake11 Participants
Treatment As Usual (TAU)BUP Treatment Uptake10 Participants
p-value: 195% CI: [0.05, 16.54]Fisher Exact
Secondary

BUP Retention in Care

The percentage of participants who are retained in BUP treatment, defined as having a BUP prescription written 180-210 days (6-month retention) after enrollment, will be reported for each arm.

Time frame: 1, 3, and 6 months

Secondary

Illicit Opioid Use

The mean number of days of illicit opioid use, defined as self-reported use of heroin, fentanyl, or non-prescribed opioid analgesics in the prior 30 days based on the Addiction Severity Index, will be reported for each arm.

Time frame: 1, 3, and 6 months

Secondary

Pain Intensity

Mean pain intensity score, measured using the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI), will be reported for each study arm.

Time frame: 3 months

Secondary

Pain Interference

Mean pain interference score, measured using the pain interference scale from the BPI, which is a 7-item instrument measuring the impact of pain on daily activities and physical functioning, will be reported for each study arm.

Time frame: 3 months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 9, 2026