Small-Cell Lung Cancer
Conditions
Brief summary
Study GO43104 is a Phase III, randomized, open-label, multicenter study of lurbinectedin in combination with atezolizumab compared with atezolizumab alone administered as maintenance therapy in participants with extensive-stage small-cell lung cancer (ES-SCLC) after first-line induction therapy with carboplatin, etoposide, and atezolizumab. The study consists of 2 phases: an induction phase and a maintenance phase. Participants need to have an ongoing response or stable disease per the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumor (RECIST) v1.1 criteria after completion of 4 cycles of carboplatin, etoposide, and atezolizumab induction treatment in order to be considered for eligibility screening for the maintenance phase. Eligible participants will be randomized in a 1:1 ratio to receive either lurbinectedin plus atezolizumab or atezolizumab in the maintenance phase.
Interventions
Atezolizumab will be administered intravenously at a fixed dose of 1200 mg on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle for 4 cycles in the induction phase. Atezolizumab will be administered intravenously at a fixed dose of 1200 mg on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle in the maintenance phase.
Lurbinectedin 3.2 mg/m² will be administered intravenously on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle in the maintenance phase.
Carboplatin will be administered according to the standard of care treatment for 4 cycles in the induction phase.
Etoposide will be administered according to the standard of care treatment for 4 cycles in the induction phase.
Sponsors
Study design
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
for the Induction Phase: * ECOG PS of 0 or 1 * No prior systemic therapy for ES-SCLC * Treatment-free for at least 6 months since last chemo/radiotherapy, among those treated (with curative intent) with prior chemo/radiotherapy for limited-stage SCLC * Histologically or cytologically confirmed ES-SCLC * Adequate hematologic and end-organ function to receive 4 cycles of induction treatment with carboplatin, etoposide and atezolizumab * Measurable disease, as defined by RECIST v1.1 * Negative HIV test and no evidence of active Hepatitis B or Hepatitis C at screening
Exclusion criteria
for the Induction Phase: * Presence or history of CNS metastases * Active or history of autoimmune disease or deficiency * History of malignancies other than SCLC within 5 years prior to enrollment * Prior treatment with CD137 agonists or immune checkpoint blockade therapies, including anti-CTLA-4, anti-PD-1, and anti-PD-L1 therapeutic antibodies, or lurbinectedin or trabectedin * History of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, organizing pneumonia, drug induced pneumonitis, or idiopathic pneumonitis, or evidence of active pneumonitis on screening chest computed tomography (CT) scan * Treatment with investigational therapy within 28 days prior to enrollment Inclusion Criteria for the Maintenance Phase: * ECOG PS of 0 or 1 * Ongoing response or stable disease per RECIST 1.1 after 4 cycles of induction therapy * Toxicities attributed to prior induction anti-cancer therapy or PCI resolved to Grade \<=1 * Adequate hematologic and end-organ function
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Randomized Phase: Independent Review Facility (IRF) - Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS) | Up to 26 months | PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of first documented PD as determined by the IRF according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) or death, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 millimetres (mm). |
| Randomized Phase: Overall Survival (OS) | Up to 26 months | OS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of death from any cause. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Randomized Phase: Investigator-assessed PFS | Up to 26 months | PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of first documented PD as assessed by investigator according to RECIST v1.1 or death, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. |
| Randomized Phase: Confirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Determined by the IRF | Up to 26 months | ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with an objective tumor response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) as determined by the IRF using RECIST v.1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) have a reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD. Percentages have been rounded off. |
| Randomized Phase: Confirmed ORR as Determined by the Investigator | Up to 26 months | ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with an objective tumor response of CR or PR as determined by the investigator using RECIST v.1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) have a reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD. |
| Randomized Phase: Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by the IRF | Up to 26 months | DOR was calculated for participants who had a best confirmed OR of CR/PR. DOR= time from first occurrence of a documented OR until the time of documented PD as determined by IRF assessment using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. CR=disappearance of all target and non-target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR= at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. |
| Randomized Phase: DOR as Determined by the Investigator | Up to 26 months | DOR was calculated for participants who had a best confirmed OR of CR/PR. DOR= time from first occurrence of a documented OR until the time of documented PD as determined by investigator using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. CR=disappearance of all target and non-target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR= at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. |
| Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS as Determined by the IRF at 6 Months and 12 Months | Months 6 and 12 | PFS rate at 6 months and 12 months was defined as the percentage of participants who had not experienced PD as determined by the IRF according to RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause at 6 months and 12 months after randomization. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. Percentages have been rounded off. |
| Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS Determined by Investigator at 6 Months and 12 Months | Months 6 and 12 | PFS rate at 6 months and 12 months was defined as the percentage of participants who had not experienced PD as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause at 6 months and 12 months after randomization. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. Percentages have been rounded off. |
| Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With OS at 12 Months and 24 Months | Months 12 and 24 | OS rate at 12 months and 24 months was defined as the percentage of participants who had not experienced death from any cause at 12 months and 24 months after randomization. Percentages have been rounded off. |
| Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | Up to 26 months | An AE =any unfavorable \& unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values/abnormal clinical test results), symptoms/disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether considered related to the pharmaceutical product. SAE=any significant hazard, contraindication, side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention to prevent one or other of the outcomes listed above. AESI= drug induced liver injury, suspected transmission of infectious agent via study treatment, hepatitis, systemic lupus erythematosus, hypersensitivity, etc. AESIs may include events not specified in the protocol. |
| Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Atezolizumab | Up to 26 months | For determining post-baseline incidence, participants were considered to be ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed at least one positive post-baseline ADA result during the randomized phase, or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of 1 or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 titer units (t.u.) greater than the baseline titer result. |
| Randomized Phase: Time to Confirmed Deterioration (TTCD) in Physical Functioning (PF) and Global Health Status (GHS) as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire-Core 30 (EORTC QLQC30) | Up to 26 months | EORTC QLQ-C30=30 questions assessing 5 aspects of participant functioning(physical,emotional,role,cognitive \&social),3 symptom scales,GHS/QoL \& 6 single items.PF scale=5 questions about participants PF \& daily activities(strenuous activities,long walks,short walks,bed/chair rest \& needing help with eating,dressing,washing themselves/using the toilet).PF scale scored on 4-point scale(1=Not at All-4=Very Much).GHS/QoL scored on 7-point scale(1=Very Poor- 7=Excellent).Scores were linearly transformed to a range of 0-100,higher scores=higher response level \& better QoL.TTCD for PF \& GHS/QoL=time from the date of randomization until first confirmed clinically meaningful deterioration,which is decrease from baseline in PF/GHS score that must be held for at least 2 consecutive assessments/initial decrease above baseline followed by death attributable to cancer progression within 6 weeks of the last deteriorated assessment.Score change≥10-point change in subscale score,considered meaningful. |
Countries
Belgium, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Poland, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey (Türkiye), United Kingdom, United States
Contacts
Hoffmann-La Roche
Participant flow
Recruitment details
A total of 660 participants with ES SCLC took part in the study across 96 investigative sites in 13 countries.
Pre-assignment details
The study consists of 2 phases, an enrollment phase (induction phase), where participants received standard of care treatment with carboplatin, etoposide and atezolizumab, and a randomized phase (maintenance phase), where participants were randomized in 1:1 ratio to receive either atezolizumab + lurbinectedin or atezolizumab. The study is ongoing.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Atezolizumab Participants received atezolizumab, 1200 mg, Q3W as IV infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle until unacceptable toxicity or PD whichever occurred first. | 241 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin Participants received atezolizumab, 1200 mg, Q3W, as IV infusion and lurbinectedin, 3.2 mg/m\^2, Q3W, as IV infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle until unacceptable toxicity or PD whichever occurred first. | 242 |
| Total | 483 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Total | Atezolizumab |
|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Continuous | 65.1 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.6 | 65.5 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.8 | 66.0 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 8 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 16 Participants | 32 Participants | 16 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 206 Participants | 416 Participants | 210 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 20 Participants | 35 Participants | 15 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 Participants | 1 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 31 Participants | 62 Participants | 31 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 3 Participants | 4 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 12 Participants | 22 Participants | 10 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 195 Participants | 394 Participants | 199 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 91 Participants | 181 Participants | 90 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 151 Participants | 302 Participants | 151 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk | EG002 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | 54 / 660 | 135 / 241 | 113 / 242 |
| other Total, other adverse events | 526 / 653 | 127 / 240 | 213 / 242 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 181 / 653 | 41 / 240 | 75 / 242 |
Outcome results
Randomized Phase: Independent Review Facility (IRF) - Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS)
PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of first documented PD as determined by the IRF according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) or death, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 millimetres (mm).
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Independent Review Facility (IRF) - Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS) | 2.14 months | 95% Confidence Interval 1.64 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Independent Review Facility (IRF) - Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS) | 5.36 months | 95% Confidence Interval 4.24 |
Randomized Phase: Overall Survival (OS)
OS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of death from any cause.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Overall Survival (OS) | 10.64 months | 95% Confidence Interval 9.49 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Overall Survival (OS) | 13.24 months | 95% Confidence Interval 11.89 |
Randomized Phase: Confirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Determined by the IRF
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with an objective tumor response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) as determined by the IRF using RECIST v.1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) have a reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD. Percentages have been rounded off.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received. Overall number analyzed is the number of participants with measurable disease at baseline, as assessed by IRF.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Confirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Determined by the IRF | 10.4 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 6.4 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Confirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Determined by the IRF | 19.4 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 13.85 |
Randomized Phase: Confirmed ORR as Determined by the Investigator
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with an objective tumor response of CR or PR as determined by the investigator using RECIST v.1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) have a reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received. Overall number analyzed is the number of participants with measurable disease at baseline, as assessed by investigator.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Confirmed ORR as Determined by the Investigator | 13.2 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 8.86 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Confirmed ORR as Determined by the Investigator | 17.1 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 12.19 |
Randomized Phase: DOR as Determined by the Investigator
DOR was calculated for participants who had a best confirmed OR of CR/PR. DOR= time from first occurrence of a documented OR until the time of documented PD as determined by investigator using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. CR=disappearance of all target and non-target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR= at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received. Overall number analyzed is the number of participants with response, per investigator.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: DOR as Determined by the Investigator | 11.93 months |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: DOR as Determined by the Investigator | 5.75 months |
Randomized Phase: Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by the IRF
DOR was calculated for participants who had a best confirmed OR of CR/PR. DOR= time from first occurrence of a documented OR until the time of documented PD as determined by IRF assessment using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. CR=disappearance of all target and non-target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR= at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received. Overall number analyzed is the number of participants with response, per IRF.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by the IRF | 5.62 months |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by the IRF | 9.00 months |
Randomized Phase: Investigator-assessed PFS
PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of first documented PD as assessed by investigator according to RECIST v1.1 or death, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Investigator-assessed PFS | 2.73 months | 95% Confidence Interval 2.53 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Investigator-assessed PFS | 5.36 months | 95% Confidence Interval 4.3 |
Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI)
An AE =any unfavorable & unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values/abnormal clinical test results), symptoms/disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether considered related to the pharmaceutical product. SAE=any significant hazard, contraindication, side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention to prevent one or other of the outcomes listed above. AESI= drug induced liver injury, suspected transmission of infectious agent via study treatment, hepatitis, systemic lupus erythematosus, hypersensitivity, etc. AESIs may include events not specified in the protocol.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: Saftey analysis set (SAS)=all participants who were randomized \& received at least 1 dose of atezolizumab/lurbinectedin.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | SAEs | 41 Participants |
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | AESIs for Lurbinectedin | 62 Participants |
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | AESIs for Atezolizumab | 54 Participants |
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | AEs | 194 Participants |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | AEs | 235 Participants |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | SAEs | 75 Participants |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | AESIs for Atezolizumab | 76 Participants |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs), Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI) | AESIs for Lurbinectedin | 93 Participants |
Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Atezolizumab
For determining post-baseline incidence, participants were considered to be ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed at least one positive post-baseline ADA result during the randomized phase, or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of 1 or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 titer units (t.u.) greater than the baseline titer result.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: ADA-evaluable population was defined as participants with at least one post-dose evaluable ADA sample (collected in the randomized phase).
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Atezolizumab | 20 Participants |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Number of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) to Atezolizumab | 19 Participants |
Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With OS at 12 Months and 24 Months
OS rate at 12 months and 24 months was defined as the percentage of participants who had not experienced death from any cause at 12 months and 24 months after randomization. Percentages have been rounded off.
Time frame: Months 12 and 24
Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS as Determined by the IRF at 6 Months and 12 Months
PFS rate at 6 months and 12 months was defined as the percentage of participants who had not experienced PD as determined by the IRF according to RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause at 6 months and 12 months after randomization. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. Percentages have been rounded off.
Time frame: Months 6 and 12
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS as Determined by the IRF at 6 Months and 12 Months | 6 Months | 18.66 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 13.45 |
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS as Determined by the IRF at 6 Months and 12 Months | 12 Months | 12.03 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 7.27 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS as Determined by the IRF at 6 Months and 12 Months | 12 Months | 20.54 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 14.37 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS as Determined by the IRF at 6 Months and 12 Months | 6 Months | 41.22 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 34.58 |
Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS Determined by Investigator at 6 Months and 12 Months
PFS rate at 6 months and 12 months was defined as the percentage of participants who had not experienced PD as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause at 6 months and 12 months after randomization. PD was defined as appearance of a new lesion(s), unequivocal progression in non-target lesion(s) or at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on the study including baseline (nadir). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. Percentages have been rounded off.
Time frame: Months 6 and 12
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS Determined by Investigator at 6 Months and 12 Months | 6 Months | 22.56 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 17.12 |
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS Determined by Investigator at 6 Months and 12 Months | 12 Months | 12.80 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 8.07 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS Determined by Investigator at 6 Months and 12 Months | 6 Months | 46.21 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 39.6 |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Percentage of Participants With PFS Determined by Investigator at 6 Months and 12 Months | 12 Months | 20.32 percentage of participants | 95% Confidence Interval 14.33 |
Randomized Phase: Time to Confirmed Deterioration (TTCD) in Physical Functioning (PF) and Global Health Status (GHS) as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire-Core 30 (EORTC QLQC30)
EORTC QLQ-C30=30 questions assessing 5 aspects of participant functioning(physical,emotional,role,cognitive &social),3 symptom scales,GHS/QoL & 6 single items.PF scale=5 questions about participants PF & daily activities(strenuous activities,long walks,short walks,bed/chair rest & needing help with eating,dressing,washing themselves/using the toilet).PF scale scored on 4-point scale(1=Not at All-4=Very Much).GHS/QoL scored on 7-point scale(1=Very Poor- 7=Excellent).Scores were linearly transformed to a range of 0-100,higher scores=higher response level & better QoL.TTCD for PF & GHS/QoL=time from the date of randomization until first confirmed clinically meaningful deterioration,which is decrease from baseline in PF/GHS score that must be held for at least 2 consecutive assessments/initial decrease above baseline followed by death attributable to cancer progression within 6 weeks of the last deteriorated assessment.Score change≥10-point change in subscale score,considered meaningful.
Time frame: Up to 26 months
Population: FAS included all participants randomized into the randomized phase, regardless of whether or not the assigned study treatment was received.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEDIAN) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Time to Confirmed Deterioration (TTCD) in Physical Functioning (PF) and Global Health Status (GHS) as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire-Core 30 (EORTC QLQC30) | TTCD for PF | NA months |
| Atezolizumab | Randomized Phase: Time to Confirmed Deterioration (TTCD) in Physical Functioning (PF) and Global Health Status (GHS) as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire-Core 30 (EORTC QLQC30) | TTCD for GHS/QoL | 12.9 months |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Time to Confirmed Deterioration (TTCD) in Physical Functioning (PF) and Global Health Status (GHS) as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire-Core 30 (EORTC QLQC30) | TTCD for PF | 15.9 months |
| Atezolizumab+ Lurbinectedin | Randomized Phase: Time to Confirmed Deterioration (TTCD) in Physical Functioning (PF) and Global Health Status (GHS) as Measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire-Core 30 (EORTC QLQC30) | TTCD for GHS/QoL | 10.8 months |