Skip to content

Relapsed/Refractory Large B-cell Lymphoma With NT-I7 Post-CD19 CAR T-cell Therapy

A Phase 1b Study Evaluating the Safety, Tolerability and Preliminary Anti-tumor Activity of NT-I7 a Long-acting Human IL-7, Post-Kymriah®, Post-Yescarta®, or Post-Breyanzi® in Subjects With Relapsed/Refractory Large B-cell Lymphoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05075603
Enrollment
17
Registered
2021-10-13
Start date
2021-07-29
Completion date
2025-03-12
Last updated
2026-08-10

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

DLBCL Arising From Follicular Lymphoma, High-grade B-cell Lymphoma, Primary Mediastinal Large B-cell Lymphoma, Recurrent Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma, Refractory Diffuse Large B-cell Lymphoma

Brief summary

This is a multicenter Phase 1b study evaluating the safety, tolerability, and preliminary anti-tumor activity of NT-I7 administration following standard of care CD19 chimeric antigen receptor T-cell (CAR T-cell) therapy for eligible subjects with relapsed/refractory (r/r) large B-cell lymphoma (LBCL).

Detailed description

This is a multicenter Phase 1b study evaluating the safety, tolerability, and preliminary anti-tumor activity of NT-I7 administration following standard of care CD19 CAR T-cell therapy for eligible subjects with r/r LBCL. The study consists of a Dose Escalation phase followed by a Dose Expansion phase. In the Dose Escalation phase, subjects will be enrolled in 1 of 7 dose levels, starting with 60 µg/kg and up to 720 µg/kg. A dose schedule for an individual dose level will not be taken into expansion until the Dose Escalation phase has been completed or a maximum tolerated dose (MTD) has been determined, whichever occurs first. In the Dose Expansion phase, up to 15 subjects will be enrolled and treated with the recommended dose identified in the Dose Escalation phase. Up to 17- 42 subjects in the Dose Escalation phase, and up to 15 subjects in the Dose Expansion phase will be enrolled at approximately 20 study centers. Treatment Plan: NT-I7 (aka rhIL-7-hyFc, efineptakin alpha), Tisagenlecleucel (Kymriah®), Axicabtagene ciloleucel (Yescarta®), Lisocabtagene Maraleucel (Breyanzi®) \*CAR-T Therapy will be administered per manufacturer's recommendations and in accordance with Food and Drug Administration (FDA) prescribing guidelines and best institutional practices for standard of care use.

Interventions

NT-I7 is administered via an intramuscular injection after CAR-T infusion on Day 21.

DRUGTisagenlecleucel

Administered as standard of care as described in the package insert on Day 0.

DRUGAxicabtagene ciloleucel

Administered as standard of care as described in the package insert on Day 0.

DRUGLisocabtagene Maraleucel

Administered as standard of care as described in the package insert on Day 0.

Sponsors

NeoImmuneTech
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Subjects must meet all the following criteria for study entry: 1. Must be ≥18 years on the day of signing informed consent. 2. Be willing and able to provide written informed consent/assent for the study. 3. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status (PS) 0-1 4. Subjects should be eligible for CAR-T therapy respective to the current FDA-approved CAR-T label for Yescarta, Breyanzi, or Kymriah. 5. Subjects with histologically confirmed relapsed or refractory LBCL including diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) not otherwise specified (NOS), high grade B-cell lymphoma, DLBCL arising from follicular lymphoma, and primary mediastinal large B-cell lymphoma, must be eligible for standard of care (SOC) CD19 CAR T-cell Therapy. (a) Tumor tissue (fresh or archival) must have been tested to confirm the type of LBCL. 6. Subjects must have measurable disease by International Working Group (IWG) response criteria for lymphoma \[Lugano classification (3)\] 1. Baseline fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG)-positron emission tomography (PET)/computed tomography (CT) scans must show positive lesions compatible with CT-defined anatomical tumor sites but will not be used in subsequent clinical decisions. 2. A previously irradiated lesion can be considered a target lesion if the lesion is well defined, measurable, and has clearly progressed. 3. Subjects that received bridging therapy pre-lymphodepletion will be allowed for enrollment regardless of re-staging results (partial metabolic response \[PMR\] or complete metabolic response \[CMR\]), even if the lesion is not measurable per the criteria mentioned above. 4. PET/CT scans done as SOC up to 28 days pre-lymphodepletion therapy will be allowed. All subjects whose scans are \>28 days from lymphodepletion therapy will need a re-staging FDG-PET/CT) scan. 7. (This is a placeholder for inclusion criterion 7, which has been removed.) 8. Subjects must have a life expectancy of greater than or equal to 12 weeks per assessment from the enrolling physician. 9. Adequate organ and marrow function per institutional guidelines at the start of lymphodepleting chemotherapy as pre-conditioning for SOC CD19 CAR T-cell infusion. The following laboratory parameters (9a-h) are recommendations. Labs outside of these ranges may be considered for inclusion after consultation with the medical monitor. Cytopenia resulting from disease or bridging therapy will not be considered exclusionary. 1. Hemoglobin ≥8.0 g/dL or ≥4.96 mmol/L 2. Absolute neutrophil count ≥1,000/µL 3. Platelets \>50,000/µL 4. Total bilirubin ≤1.5 × institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) OR direct bilirubin ≤ULN for subjects with total bilirubin levels \>1.5 × ULN, except subject with documented Gilbert's syndrome (\>3 x ULN), who must have a baseline total bilirubin ≤ 3.0 mg/dL 5. aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase \[SGOT\])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamic-pyruvic transaminase \[SGPT\]) ≤2.5 × ULN (AST and/or ALT ≤5 × ULN for subjects with liver metastasis) 6. Alkaline phosphatase ≤2.5 × ULN (≤5 × ULN for subjects with documented liver involvement or bone metastases) 7. Creatinine clearance (CrCl) ≥30 mL/min as calculated per institutional standard. 8. International normalized ratio (INR) and activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) ≤1.5 × ULN unless subject is receiving anticoagulant therapy as long as PT or aPTT is within therapeutic range of intended use of anticoagulants 10. Female subjects who are either postmenopausal for at least 1 year, are surgically sterile for at least 6 weeks; female subjects of childbearing potential must agree to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or to use dual methods of contraception for the duration of study treatment and for 90 days after NT-I7 injection, whichever is longer. Female subjects of childbearing potential (including women who have had a tubal ligation) must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test within 72 hours prior to NT-I7 injection. If the urine test is positive, or cannot be confirmed as negative, a serum pregnancy test will be required. 11\. Electrocardiogram (ECG) demonstrating Fridericia's corrected QT interval (QTcF) \< 500 ms. Patients with QTcF ≥ 500 ms will require clearance by a local cardiologist.

Exclusion criteria

Subjects meeting any of the following criteria are not eligible for enrollment in the study: 1. In Dose Escalation phase: Grade ≥3 cytokine release syndrome (CRS) or immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome (ICANS) post-CD19 CAR T-cell infusion. Note: Grade 1 or 2 CRS or ICANs must be completely resolved \>3 days prior to NT-I7 injection 2. In Dose Expansion phase: Grade ≥3 CRS or ICANS post-CD19 CAR T-cell infusion. Note: Grade 1 or 2 CRS or ICANS must be completely resolved \>3 days prior to NT-I7 injection 3. Pregnant, lactating or breastfeeding or expecting to conceive or father children within the study duration from screening through 120 days after the last dose of study treatment. 4. This

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Incidence, Nature, and Severity of Adverse Events, Graded According to NCI CTCAE v5.0, Except for Cytokine Release Syndrome (CRS) and Immune Effector Cell-associated Neurotoxicity Syndrome (ICANS), Which Were Graded Based on ASTCT GuidelinesFrom NT-I7 administration (Day 21) to Day 100Treatment-Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE) is defined as an Adverse Event (AE) with an onset date on or after NT-I7 administration and on or before Day 100. A serious TEAE is defined as any AE that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death; a life-threatening AE; an AE that resulted in inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization for ≥24 hours; a persistent or significant incapacity or substantial disruption of the ability to conduct normal life functions; a congenital anomaly/birth defect; important medical events that may not result in death, be life threatening, or require hospitalization may be considered serious when, based upon medical judgment, they may jeopardize the participant and may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the outcomes listed in this definition.
Incidence and Nature of DLTsFrom NT-I7 administration (Day 21) to Day 42A Dose-Limiting Toxicity (DLT) is defined as any TEAE occurring within the first 21 days after NT-I7 administration that is considered to be at least possibly, probably, or definitely related to NT-I7 per the investigator, and that meets at least one of the protocol-defined non-hematologic or hematologic criteria.
Potential Correlation of Dose Levels With Safety and Efficacy ParametersUp to 24 monthsThe Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D) was determined based on cumulative safety data and efficacy parameters (Objective Response Rate \[ORR\] and response rate at 6 months).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Measurement of Duration of Response (DoR)Up to 24 monthsDuration of Response (DoR) for the responders is defined as the time from the first occurrence of a documented objective response (Partial Response \[PR\] or Complete Response \[CR\]) to the time of the first documented disease progression or death from any cause, whichever occurs first, per the Lugano classification as determined by the investigator. Only participants with a response were assessed. The median DoR was estimated using a Kaplan-Meier method.
Measurement of Progression-Free Survival (PFS)Up to 24 monthsProgression-Free Survival (PFS) is defined as the time from CAR T-cell administration to the first occurrence of disease progression or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. The Median PFS was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Measurement of Overall Survival (OS)Up to 24 monthsOverall Survival (OS) is defined as the time from CAR T-cell administration to death from any cause. The median OS was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Rates of Grade 3 and Higher Cytokine Release Syndrome (CRS) or Immune Effector Cell-Associated Neurotoxicity Syndrome (ICANS)From NT-I7 administration (Day 21) to Day 100The Grades of Cytokine Release Syndrome (CRS) or Immune Effector Cell-Associated Neurotoxicity Syndrome (ICANS) are assessed based on the American Society for Transplantation and Cellular Therapy (ASTCT).

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORJohn DiPersio, M.D.

Washington University School of Medicine

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 17 participants were enrolled in the United States from July 2021 to March 2025.

Pre-assignment details

The trial consisted of a dose-escalation phase (Phase 1b). Participants received NT-I7 as an intramuscular (IM) injection on Day 21 across seven dose levels ranging from 60 µg/kg to 720 µg/kg. Participants received CAR-T therapy (Kymriah®, Yescarta®, or Breyanzi®) as an intravenous (IV) infusion on Day 0. Dose expansion phase did not occur.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous74 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants
Weight (kg)81.6 kilogram (kg)

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 11 / 12 / 32 / 31 / 30 / 30 / 3
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 11 / 13 / 33 / 32 / 33 / 33 / 3
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 10 / 10 / 31 / 30 / 30 / 31 / 3

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Aug 11, 2026