Skip to content

Evaluation of Tofacitinib in Prevention of Photosensitivity in Lupus

Evaluation of Tofacitinib in Prevention of Photosensitivity in Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus (ALE11)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05048238
Enrollment
7
Registered
2021-09-17
Start date
2022-09-30
Completion date
2024-02-29
Last updated
2025-08-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cutaneous Lupus

Keywords

Systematic Lupus Erythematosus, Lupus, Systemic Lupus, Cutaneous Lupus, Tofacitinib, Ultraviolet

Brief summary

This is a single-arm, multi-site, proof-of-concept study that will evaluate the treatment of 10 participants with cutaneous lupus erythematosus (CLE) with Tofacitinib.

Detailed description

Once consented, study participants meeting all entry criteria will undergo 25 days of treatment with tofacitinib (11 mg orally daily). Tofacitinib will be distributed to eligible participants at Visit 2 (Day 1) and the first dose will be taken on Day 2. The last dose is the morning of Visit 5 (Day 26).Ultraviolet B (UVB)-mediated cutaneous apoptosis and ancillary mechanistic studies will be evaluated in phototests, skin biopsies and blood samples collected before and after treatment. This study will assess whether a 25-day regimen of tofacitinib impacts photosensitivity following UVB exposure in individuals with CLE.

Interventions

DRUGTofacitinib

10 participants with Cutaneous lupus erythematosus (CLE). Consenting individuals meeting all entry criteria will undergo 25 days of treatment with tofacitinib (11 mg orally (PO) daily) with evaluation of UVB-mediated cutaneous apoptosis

Sponsors

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 65 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Cutaneous lupus erythematosus based upon all of the following: 1. a clinical diagnosis made by a rheumatologist or dermatologist of one of the following: acute cutaneous lupus erythematosus, subacute cutaneous lupus, or chronic cutaneous lupus erythematosus; 2. active skin disease within 5 years prior to screening. Participants may have concomitant SLE. 2. SLEDAI-2K score ≤4 (clinical criteria only, excludes all laboratory criteria) for all participants regardless of whether they have concomitant SLE. 3. If taking oral corticosteroids, the dose must be ≤ 10 mg daily of prednisone (or equivalent), stable dose for at least 4 weeks, and not anticipated to change over the course of the study. 4. If taking oral anti-malarial medications, the dose(s) must be ≤ 100 mg daily for quinacrine or/and ≤ 400 mg daily for hydroxychloroquine, stable for at least 6 months, and not anticipated to change over the course of the study. 5. If taking oral or subcutaneous methotrexate, the dose must be ≤ 25 mg weekly, stable for at least 4 weeks, and not anticipated to change over the course of the study. 6. If taking oral leflunomide, the dose must be ≤ 20 mg daily, stable for at least 4 weeks, and not anticipated to change over the course of the study. 7. If taking oral mycophenolate mofetil (MMF) or mycophenolic acid, the dose must be equivalent to ≤ 3000 mg of MMF daily, stable for at least 4 weeks, and not anticipated to change over the course of the study. 8. Adults 18 to 65 years of age at screening. 9. All participants and/or their sexual partners who engage in sexual activity that could lead to pregnancy must be willing to use complete abstinence or an FDA-regulated form of contraception for the duration of the study and for at least one month after discontinuation of study drug to prevent pregnancy. Highly effective birth control methods include, but are not limited to, hormonal contraception, an intrauterine device, or surgical options. Periodic abstinence and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of birth control.

Exclusion criteria

1. Inability or unwillingness of a participant to give written informed consent or comply with study protocol. 2. Current or recent history, within the last year, of uncontrolled clinically significant renal, hepatic, hematologic, gastrointestinal, metabolic, endocrine, pulmonary, cardiac, or neurologic disease or significant impairment that might negatively impact the participant's ability to participate or that may put a participant at increased risk. 3. Potential active nephritis and/or urinary tract infection at screening, defined as any one of the following determined at screening unless otherwise specified: 1. \>10 RBCs /hpf, 2. \>5 WBCs /hpf with either positive nitrites or greater than a trace leukocyte esterase, 3. Signs or symptoms of a urinary tract infection, 4. For individuals with no history of nephritis: Urine protein (mg/dL): creatinine (mg/dL) ratio (Pr/Cr)\>0.5 at screening or a Pr/Cr level that has exceeded 1.0 in the prior 12 months, 5. For individuals with a history of nephritis: A rise in Pr/Cr of \>0.5 over the prior 3-6 months prior to screening. 4. History of severe gastrointestinal narrowing or strictures. 5. Medically confirmed history of diverticulitis or chronic, ulcerative lower gastrointestinal (GI) disease such as Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis, or other symptomatic, lower GI conditions that might predispose a participant to perforations. 6. History of thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, or antiphospholipid syndrome. 7. History of any one of the following anti-phospholipid antibodies: 1. Positive lupus anticoagulant test, or 2. Anti-β2-glycoprotein I IgG ELISA titer ≥ 40 GPL, or 3. Anti-cardiolipin IgG ELISA titer ≥ 40 GPL. 8. History of chronic pulmonary disease requiring supplemental oxygen including chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) requiring chronic treatment, interstitial lung disease (ILD) requiring immunosuppressive therapy, and asthma requiring chronic steroid (other than inhaled steroid) or biologic therapy. 9. History of moderate to severe atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease as evidenced by prior coronary artery bypass surgery, coronary artery stent placement, myocardial infarction, symptomatic carotid arterial disease, peripheral vascular disease, abdominal aortic aneurysm; or angina within the past 8 weeks prior to Visit 1 (Day 0). 10. History of keloid scarring. 11. History of any lymphoproliferative disorder or other malignancy with the exception of successfully treated or excised basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or cervical cancer in situ. 12. Other autoimmune diseases likely to require immunosuppression. 13. Any of the following lab results at screening: 1. Hemoglobin \<9.5 g/dL 2. White Blood Cell count \<3.5 x 109/L 3. Absolute Neutrophil count \<1.2 x 109/L 4. Platelet count \<120 x 109/L 5. Absolute Lymphocyte count \<0.75 x 109/L 6. Alanine Aminotransferase (ALT) or Aspartate Aminotransferase (AST) \> 1.5 × the upper limit of normal (ULN) 7. Total bilirubin \> ULN 8. Estimated glomerular filtration rate \[GFR\] \<60mL/min/1.73 m2 9. Triglycerides ≥ 300 mg/dL (fasting not required) 10. Total Cholesterol ≥ 240 mg/dL (fasting not required). 14. Major surgery \< 8 weeks prior to Visit 1 (Day 0). 15. Hospitalized for serious infection \< 4 weeks prior to Visit 1 (Day 0). 16. Chronic infections other than chronic or intermittent uncomplicated urinary tract infections (including but not limited to tuberculosis, chronic pyelonephritis, osteomyelitis). 17. Presumed or documented COVID-19 infection within 30 days prior to Visit 1 (Day 0). 18. Recent (within one month prior to screening) close contact with a person who has active TB infection. 19. History of untreated active or latent TB infection. 20. History of incompletely treated active or latent TB infection unless at least one month of treatment has been completed prior to screening. 21. Positive Interferon-Gamma Release Assay (IGRA) or positive purified protein derivative tuberculin skin test (PPD) (\> 5mm induration) at screening. 22. An indeterminate IGRA at screening unless followed by a subsequent negative IGRA or negative PPD. 23. History of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). 24. A positive test for HIV antigen/antibody or nucleic acid test (NAT) at screening. 25. History of a hepatitis B infection. 26. A positive test for hepatitis B surface antigen or hepatitis B core antibody at screening. 27. History of a hepatitis C infection. 28. A positive test for hepatitis C antibody (regardless of whether hepatitis C RNA levels are undetectable) at screening. 29. History of recurrent (more than one episode) herpes zoster, one or more episodes of any of the following: herpes zoster ophthalmicus, or disseminated herpes zoster, or disseminated herpes simplex. 30. Current, recent (\< 4 weeks prior to Visit 1 (Day 0)) or chronic use of antibiotic medication, except for suppression of chronic/recurrent urinary tract infection, which is allowed. 31. Simultaneous use of more than one of the following: leflunomide, methotrexate and MMF. 32. Any of the following active medications (oral or parenteral): cyclosporine, voclosporin, cyclophosphamide, tacrolimus, rituximab or other anti-CD20s, or any other investigational or marketed biologic with immunomodulatory properties within a year prior to Visit 1 (Day 0). 33. Any of the following medications (oral or parenteral): azathioprine or belimumab within 3 months prior to Visit 1 (Day 0). 34. Any prior treatment with cell-depleting therapies other than anti-CD20s including but not limited to CAMPATH, anti-CD4, anti-CD5, anti-CD3, anti-CD19 products. 35. Intravenous or intramuscular corticosteroids within 2 weeks prior to Visit 1 (Day 0). 36. Treatment with any investigational agent ≤ 4 weeks or ≤ 5 half-lives of the investigational drug prior to Visit 1 (Day 0), whichever is longer. 37. Treatment with more than one dose of ketoconazole within one week of screening. 38. Any prior treatment with chlorambucil, bone marrow transplantation, or total lymphoid irradiation. 39. Vaccinated or exposed by close contact, e.g., within a household, to a live/attenuated vaccine ≤ 6 weeks prior to Visit 1 (Day 0); or is expected to be vaccinated or to have household exposure to these vaccines during treatment or during the 6 weeks following discontinuation of study medication. 40. Received a non-live vaccine ≤ 2 weeks prior to initiation of study drug, or unwillingness of a participant to delay non-live vaccination until 1 month after completion of study therapy. 41. Pregnant or breastfeeding females. 42. History of alcohol or substance abuse, unless in full remission for greater than 6 months prior to first dose of study drug. 43. Past or current medical or psychiatric conditions or findings from physical examination or laboratory testing that are not listed above, which, in the opinion of the investigator, may pose additional risks from participation in the study, may interfere with the participant's ability to comply with study requirements or that may impact the quality or interpretation of the data obtained from the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal CellsDay 1 (pre-treatment) to Day 26At Day 0 and Day 25, skin was exposed to 10-80 mJ/cm2 UVB irradiation. At Day 1 and Day 26, erythema levels were measured with a Chroma Meter at each dose site and in an unexposed section. Skin biopsies at Day 1 and Day 26 were taken at the unexposed site and at the minimal erythema dose (MED) at Day 1. The percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells were determined in each skin biopsy sample by TUNEL staining. The percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic cells is defined as the difference between the percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells in the UVB-exposed biopsy at the MED and percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells in the unexposed biopsy at the same visit. Change in percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic epidermal cells is calculated as the difference in the percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic cells at Day 26 and at Day 1.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.Day 1 (pre-treatment) to Day 26Skin biopsies at Day 1 and Day 26 were taken at the unexposed site and at the site corresponding to the next higher UVB dose than the Day 26 MED. RNA was isolated and expression values were analyzed by RNA sequencing. UVB-induced expression is defined as the difference in expression measured in the biopsy exposed at the Visit 2 (Day 1) 1x minimal erythema dose (MED) and that measured in the unexposed biopsy.
Change in Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Activity ScoreDay 0 (pre-treatment) to Day 25CLASI is a validated, physician-based assessment tool used to measure cutaneous lupus severity. Severity is calculated based on disease activity (erythema and scale) and damage (dyspigmentation and scarring) for the cumulative areas of involved skin. CLASI activity score ranges from 0 to 70, with higher scores indicating increased disease severity.
Change in CLASI Damage ScoreDay 0 (pre-treatment) to Day 25CLASI is a validated, physician-based assessment tool used to measure cutaneous lupus severity. Damage is calculated based on dyspigmentation and scarring for the cumulative areas of involved skin. The CLASI damage score ranges from 0 to 56, with higher scores indicating worse damage to the skin due to lupus.
Change in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVBDay 1 (pre-treatment) to Day 26At Day 0 and Day 25, skin was exposed to 10-80 mJ/cm2 UVB irradiation. At Day 1 and Day 26, erythema levels were measured with a Chroma Meter at each dose site and in an unexposed section. The MED was defined as the dose that contained the lowest UVB exposure and the average redness reading that was at least 2.5 higher than the average redness reading in the unexposed skin. The possible values for MED ranged from 10 to 80 mJ/cm2.
Change in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0Screening Visit through Day 40The study sites graded the severity of laboratory results for the study participants according to the criteria set forth in the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 5.0. The NCI-CTCAE manual provides a common language to describe levels of severity, to analyze and interpret data, and to articulate the clinical significance of adverse events. Select laboratory results are incorporated into relevant adverse event criteria.
Treatment-emergent Adverse Events by SeverityDay 2 to Day 40The study sites graded the severity of AEs experienced by the study participants according to the criteria set forth in the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 5.0. The NCI-CTCAE manual provides a common language to describe levels of severity, to analyze and interpret data, and to articulate the clinical significance of all AEs. A treatment-emergent AE is defined as an increase in grade from the last assessment prior to a participant starting treatment at Day 2, or from the last post-baseline value that doesn't meet grading criteria. AEs were classified by system organ class and preferred term according to the Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (MedDRA) version 25.1.
Treatment-emergent Adverse Events by Relationship to TofacitinibDay 2 to Day 40The relationship, or attribution, of an adverse event to the study therapy regimen or study procedure(s) was initially determined by the site investigator and recorded on the appropriate AE/SAE eCRF as not related, possibly related or related. Final determination of attribution for safety reporting was determined by sponsor. An AE assessed as possibly related or related was classified as related to the study therapy or procedure. A treatment-emergent AE is defined as an increase in grade from the last assessment prior to a participant starting treatment at Day 2, or from the last post-baseline value that doesn't meet grading criteria. AEs were classified by system organ class and preferred term according to the Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (MedDRA) version 25.1.
Change in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) Total ScoreDay 0 (pre-treatment) to Day 25Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) is a validated, physician-based assessment tool used to measure the extent of lupus disease activity within the past 30 days. SLEDAI-2K total score is a weighted sum of the presence of 24 lupus disease symptoms and ranges from 0 to 105, with higher scores indicating more lupus disease activity present.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Two study sites were activated in the United States, beginning in March 2022. A total of eight participants were screened from September 2022 to January 2024 at both sites. Of those screened seven participants enrolled in the study.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Tofacitinib
25-day regimen of tofacitinib 11 mg daily
7
Total7

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject1

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTofacitinib
Age, Continuous42.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.26
CLASI Total Activity (CLASI-A) Score2.4 CLASI-A Score
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.87
CLASI Total Damage (CLASI-D) Score2.9 CLASI-D Score
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.4
Diagnosed with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE)
No
4 Participants
Diagnosed with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE)
Yes
3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Fitzpatrick Scale
Type I
1 Participants
Fitzpatrick Scale
Type II
2 Participants
Fitzpatrick Scale
Type III
1 Participants
Fitzpatrick Scale
Type IV
2 Participants
Fitzpatrick Scale
Type V
1 Participants
Fitzpatrick Scale
Type VI
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
6 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
7 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
6 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants
SLEDAI-2K Score (Clinical Criteria Only)0.9 SLEDAI-2K Score
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.07

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 7
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 7
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 7

Outcome results

Primary

Change in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal Cells

At Day 0 and Day 25, skin was exposed to 10-80 mJ/cm2 UVB irradiation. At Day 1 and Day 26, erythema levels were measured with a Chroma Meter at each dose site and in an unexposed section. Skin biopsies at Day 1 and Day 26 were taken at the unexposed site and at the minimal erythema dose (MED) at Day 1. The percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells were determined in each skin biopsy sample by TUNEL staining. The percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic cells is defined as the difference between the percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells in the UVB-exposed biopsy at the MED and percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells in the unexposed biopsy at the same visit. Change in percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic epidermal cells is calculated as the difference in the percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic cells at Day 26 and at Day 1.

Time frame: Day 1 (pre-treatment) to Day 26

Population: The Per Protocol 1 (PP1) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib and who completed phototests and skin biopsies at both baseline (Visits 1 and 2) and post-treatment (Visits 4 and 5) time points. Only individuals who completed at least 21 days of IP dosing had the post-treatment phototest.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
TofacitinibChange in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal CellsDay 120.06 percentage of epidermal cellsStandard Deviation 9.587
TofacitinibChange in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal CellsDay 263.03 percentage of epidermal cellsStandard Deviation 2.349
TofacitinibChange in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal CellsChange from Day 1 to Day 26-17.03 percentage of epidermal cellsStandard Deviation 8.355
Primary

Change in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal Cells

At Day 0 and Day 25, skin was exposed to 10-80 mJ/cm2 UVB irradiation. At Day 1 and Day 26, erythema levels were measured with a Chroma Meter at each dose site and in an unexposed section. Skin biopsies at Day 1 and Day 26 were taken at the unexposed site and at the minimal erythema dose (MED) at Day 1. The percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells were determined in each skin biopsy sample by TUNEL staining. The percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic cells is defined as the difference between the percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells in the UVB-exposed biopsy at the MED and percentage of apoptotic epidermal cells in the unexposed biopsy at the same visit. Change in percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic epidermal cells is calculated as the difference in the percentage of UVB-induced apoptotic cells at Day 26 and at Day 1.

Time frame: Day 1 (pre-treatment) to Day 26

Population: The Per Protocol 2 (PP2) population includes all PP1 participants with no protocol deviations that would impact photo sensitivity assessments.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
TofacitinibChange in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal CellsDay 121.51 percentage of epidermal cellsStandard Deviation 12.334
TofacitinibChange in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal CellsDay 263.45 percentage of epidermal cellsStandard Deviation 2.976
TofacitinibChange in Percentage of UVB-induced Apoptotic Epidermal CellsChange from Day 1 to Day 26-18.06 percentage of epidermal cellsStandard Deviation 11.182
Secondary

Change in CLASI Damage Score

CLASI is a validated, physician-based assessment tool used to measure cutaneous lupus severity. Damage is calculated based on dyspigmentation and scarring for the cumulative areas of involved skin. The CLASI damage score ranges from 0 to 56, with higher scores indicating worse damage to the skin due to lupus.

Time frame: Day 0 (pre-treatment) to Day 25

Population: The Per Protocol 1 (PP1) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib and who completed phototests and skin biopsies at both baseline (Visits 1 and 2) and post-treatment (Visits 4 and 5) time points. Only individuals who completed at least 21 days of IP dosing had the post-treatment phototest.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
TofacitinibChange in CLASI Damage ScoreDay 03.3 CLASI-D ScoreStandard Deviation 5.75
TofacitinibChange in CLASI Damage ScoreDay 252.8 CLASI-D ScoreStandard Deviation 4.67
TofacitinibChange in CLASI Damage ScoreChange to Day 25-0.5 CLASI-D ScoreStandard Deviation 1.22
Secondary

Change in Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Activity Score

CLASI is a validated, physician-based assessment tool used to measure cutaneous lupus severity. Severity is calculated based on disease activity (erythema and scale) and damage (dyspigmentation and scarring) for the cumulative areas of involved skin. CLASI activity score ranges from 0 to 70, with higher scores indicating increased disease severity.

Time frame: Day 0 (pre-treatment) to Day 25

Population: The Per Protocol 1 (PP1) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib and who completed phototests and skin biopsies at both baseline (Visits 1 and 2) and post-treatment (Visits 4 and 5) time points. Only individuals who complete at least 21 days of IP dosing had the post-treatment phototest.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
TofacitinibChange in Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Activity ScoreDay 02.8 CLASI-A ScoreStandard Deviation 4.07
TofacitinibChange in Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Activity ScoreDay 252.3 CLASI-A ScoreStandard Deviation 3.27
TofacitinibChange in Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Activity ScoreChange from Day 0 to Day 25-0.5 CLASI-A ScoreStandard Deviation 1.22
Secondary

Change in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVB

At Day 0 and Day 25, skin was exposed to 10-80 mJ/cm2 UVB irradiation. At Day 1 and Day 26, erythema levels were measured with a Chroma Meter at each dose site and in an unexposed section. The MED was defined as the dose that contained the lowest UVB exposure and the average redness reading that was at least 2.5 higher than the average redness reading in the unexposed skin. The possible values for MED ranged from 10 to 80 mJ/cm2.

Time frame: Day 1 (pre-treatment) to Day 26

Population: The Per Protocol 1 (PP1) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib and who completed phototests and skin biopsies at both baseline (Visits 1 and 2) and post-treatment (Visits 4 and 5) time points. Only individuals who completed at least 21 days of IP dosing had the post-treatment phototest.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TofacitinibChange in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVB+30 mJ/cm20 Participants
TofacitinibChange in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVB+20 mJ/cm20 Participants
TofacitinibChange in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVB+10 mJ/cm21 Participants
TofacitinibChange in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVBStayed the same3 Participants
TofacitinibChange in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVB-10 mJ/cm20 Participants
TofacitinibChange in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVB-20 mJ/cm21 Participants
TofacitinibChange in Minimal Erythema Dose (MED) Due to UVB-30 mJ/cm21 Participants
Secondary

Change in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0

The study sites graded the severity of laboratory results for the study participants according to the criteria set forth in the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 5.0. The NCI-CTCAE manual provides a common language to describe levels of severity, to analyze and interpret data, and to articulate the clinical significance of adverse events. Select laboratory results are incorporated into relevant adverse event criteria.

Time frame: Screening Visit through Day 40

Population: The Safety Sample (SS) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
TofacitinibChange in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0Alanine Aminotransferase: Increase by 1 grade1 participants
TofacitinibChange in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0Alanine Aminotransferase: Increase by 2+ grades0 participants
TofacitinibChange in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0Aspartate Aminotransferase: Increase by 1 grade1 participants
TofacitinibChange in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0Aspartate Aminotransferase: Increase by 2+ grades0 participants
TofacitinibChange in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0Total Cholesterol: Increase by 1 grade2 participants
TofacitinibChange in Severity Grade for Laboratory Tests From Grade 0Total Cholesterol: Increase by 2+ grades0 participants
Secondary

Change in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) Total Score

Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) is a validated, physician-based assessment tool used to measure the extent of lupus disease activity within the past 30 days. SLEDAI-2K total score is a weighted sum of the presence of 24 lupus disease symptoms and ranges from 0 to 105, with higher scores indicating more lupus disease activity present.

Time frame: Day 0 (pre-treatment) to Day 25

Population: The Per Protocol 1 (PP1) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib and who completed phototests and skin biopsies at both baseline (Visits 1 and 2) and post-treatment (Visits 4 and 5) time points. Only individuals who completed at least 21 days of IP dosing had the post-treatment phototest.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
TofacitinibChange in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) Total ScoreDay 01.3 SLEDAI-2K ScoreStandard Deviation 1.63
TofacitinibChange in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) Total ScoreDay 251.7 SLEDAI-2K ScoreStandard Deviation 1.97
TofacitinibChange in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) Total ScoreChange to Day 250.3 SLEDAI-2K ScoreStandard Deviation 0.82
Secondary

Change in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.

Skin biopsies at Day 1 and Day 26 were taken at the unexposed site and at the site corresponding to the next higher UVB dose than the Day 26 MED. RNA was isolated and expression values were analyzed by RNA sequencing. UVB-induced expression is defined as the difference in expression measured in the biopsy exposed at the Visit 2 (Day 1) 1x minimal erythema dose (MED) and that measured in the unexposed biopsy.

Time frame: Day 1 (pre-treatment) to Day 26

Population: The Per Protocol 1 (PP1) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib and who completed phototests and skin biopsies at both baseline (Visits 1 and 2) and post-treatment (Visits 4 and 5) time points. Only individuals who completed at least 21 days of IP dosing had the post-treatment phototest.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.TNF at Day 1-5.5 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 10.13
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.TNF at Day 26-0.8 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 5.85
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.TNF Change from Day 1 to Day 264.7 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 6.5
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IL1B at Day 138.5 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 42.57
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IL1B at Day 264.8 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 20.82
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IL1B Change from Day 1 to Day 26-33.7 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 44.85
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.CXCL9 at Day 153.8 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 63.35
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.CXCL9 at Day 26133.7 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 246.27
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.CXCL9 Change from Day 1 to Day 2679.8 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 289.29
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IL6 at Day 1-0.7 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 5.24
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IL6 at Day 2610.5 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 25.74
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IL6 Change from Day 1 to Day 2611.2 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 25.33
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IFNB1 at Day 10.0 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 0
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IFNB1 at Day 260.00 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 0
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IFNB1 Change from Day 1 to Day 260.0 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 0
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IFI44 at Day 110.2 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 54.62
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IFI44 at Day 26109.5 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 137.5
TofacitinibChange in UVB-induced Expression of Inflammatory Genes in Skin Based on Enumeration of RNA Transcripts.IFI44 Change from Day 1 to Day 2699.3 Count of RNA transcriptsStandard Deviation 107.08
Secondary

Treatment-emergent Adverse Events by Relationship to Tofacitinib

The relationship, or attribution, of an adverse event to the study therapy regimen or study procedure(s) was initially determined by the site investigator and recorded on the appropriate AE/SAE eCRF as not related, possibly related or related. Final determination of attribution for safety reporting was determined by sponsor. An AE assessed as possibly related or related was classified as related to the study therapy or procedure. A treatment-emergent AE is defined as an increase in grade from the last assessment prior to a participant starting treatment at Day 2, or from the last post-baseline value that doesn't meet grading criteria. AEs were classified by system organ class and preferred term according to the Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (MedDRA) version 25.1.

Time frame: Day 2 to Day 40

Population: The Safety Sample (SS) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
TofacitinibTreatment-emergent Adverse Events by Relationship to TofacitinibRelated to Tofacitinib0 Adverse Events
TofacitinibTreatment-emergent Adverse Events by Relationship to TofacitinibNot Related to Tofacitinib1 Adverse Events
Secondary

Treatment-emergent Adverse Events by Severity

The study sites graded the severity of AEs experienced by the study participants according to the criteria set forth in the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 5.0. The NCI-CTCAE manual provides a common language to describe levels of severity, to analyze and interpret data, and to articulate the clinical significance of all AEs. A treatment-emergent AE is defined as an increase in grade from the last assessment prior to a participant starting treatment at Day 2, or from the last post-baseline value that doesn't meet grading criteria. AEs were classified by system organ class and preferred term according to the Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (MedDRA) version 25.1.

Time frame: Day 2 to Day 40

Population: The Safety Sample (SS) population includes all participants who received any amount of tofacitinib.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
TofacitinibTreatment-emergent Adverse Events by SeverityGrade 21 Adverse Events
TofacitinibTreatment-emergent Adverse Events by SeverityGrade 30 Adverse Events
TofacitinibTreatment-emergent Adverse Events by SeverityGrade 40 Adverse Events
TofacitinibTreatment-emergent Adverse Events by SeverityGrade 50 Adverse Events

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026