Skip to content

3K3A-APC for Treatment of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

A Phase 2 Open Label Trial of 3K3A-APC in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05039268
Enrollment
16
Registered
2021-09-09
Start date
2021-11-25
Completion date
2022-09-12
Last updated
2023-10-11

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis

Keywords

ALS, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, MND, Motor Neurone Disease, 3K3A-APC

Brief summary

Phase 2 open label trial to investigate the safety and potentially efficacy of 3K3A-APC in patients with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS).

Detailed description

This Phase 2 open label trial seeks to investigate whether a novel therapy named 3K3A-APC is safe and potentially effective in patients with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). A total of 16 patients with ALS will be enrolled into 2 dose cohorts with five doses of 15mg or 30mg doses given 12 hours apart in each cohort. The primary study outcomes are to ensure the safety and tolerability of 3K3AAPC in ALS patients, and to determine whether 3K3A-APC is able to reduce the pathological changes that might possibly cause ALS.

Interventions

DRUG3K3A-APC Protein

3K3A-APC with intravenous dosing of five doses of either 15mg or 30mg at 12 hourly interval. The first 8 patients will receive 15mg dose, and the next 8 patients will receive 30mg dose.

Sponsors

ZZ Biotech, LLC
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Macquarie University, Australia
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Patients must have clinically definite ALS (Awaji Criteria) 2. Male or female age 18 years and less than 75 years at time of ALS study 3. Symptom onset less than 36 months before screening 4. Diagnosis of ALS less than 24 months before screening 5. Clinically definite Upper Motor Neuron signs

Exclusion criteria

1. Current treatment with anticoagulants (e.g., warfarin, novel oral anticoagulants, heparin) that might preclude safe completion of the lumbar puncture 2. Condition that precludes the safe performance of routine lumbar puncture, such as prohibitive lumbar spinal disease, bleeding diathesis, or clinically significant coagulopathy or thrombocytopenia 3. Use of investigational drugs or devices within 60 days prior to Baseline (dietary supplements taken outside of a clinical trial are not exclusionary, e.g., coenzyme Q10) 4. Prolonged prothrombin time or activated partial thromboplastin time \>2xULN 5. Severe hypertension or hypotension 6. Glomerular filtration rate (GFR) \<35 mL/min 7. Forced vital capacity (FVC) at screening of \<50% of predicted 8. Prior exposure to any exogenous form of APC 9. Inability to lie flat for procedures (MRI, PET, LP) 10. Pregnant or lactating during the study period

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants Who Had Any Serious Adverse Events or Any Adverse Events With Severity Higher Than Moderate.15 DaysNumber of participants who had any serious adverse events or any adverse events with severity higher than moderate, as determined by the Principal Investigator, using the composite safety assessment including clinical laboratory testing (full blood count, biochemistry, coagulation, iron study, CSF analysis and ECG), physical examination and self-reporting of adverse events. All clinical significant findings in the composite safety assessment were reported as adverse events.
Percentage of Change in PERSI Score in the Motor Cortex Before and After Dosing7 DaysPERSI (Parametric Estimation of Reference Signal Intensity) score is the measurement of microglial activation in the motor cortex utilising serial \[18F\]FEMPA PET imaging. The percentage of change in PERSI score before and after dosing in the two (2) dose cohorts is calculated.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Monocyte Activation7 DaysChange in the level of monocyte activation in the peripheral blood utilising a novel method.
Cytokine Level7 DaysChange in cytokine level in serum, plasma and CSF.
Soluble CD14 Level7 DaysChange in soluble CD14 level in serum, plasma and CSF.
Neurofilament Level7 DaysChange in neurofilament level in serum, plasma and CSF.
Kynurenine Level7 DaysChange in kynurenine level in serum, plasma and CSF.
Chemokine Level7 DaysChange in chemokine level in serum, plasma and CSF.
Diffusion Kurtosis Using MRI Scan7 DaysChange in diffusion kurtosis using MRI scan of the brain to determine whether the blood brain barrier integrity can be measured in ALS by Magnetic Resonance Imaging, and whether 3K3A-APC is able to repair it

Countries

Australia

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
15mg Dose Group
Participants will receive a fixed dose regimen of five doses of 15mg. 3K3A-APC Protein: 3K3A-APC with intravenous dosing of five doses of either 15mg or 30mg at 12 hourly interval. The first 8 patients will receive 15mg dose, and the next 8 patients will receive 30mg dose.
8
30mg Dose Group
Participants will receive a fixed dose regimen of five doses of 30mg. 3K3A-APC Protein: 3K3A-APC with intravenous dosing of five doses of either 15mg or 30mg at 12 hourly interval. The first 8 patients will receive 15mg dose, and the next 8 patients will receive 30mg dose.
8
Total16

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic15mg Dose Group30mg Dose GroupTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
2 Participants3 Participants5 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
6 Participants5 Participants11 Participants
Age, Continuous59.5 years57.1 years58.3 years
ALSFRS-R Score30.875 units on a scale37.125 units on a scale34.0 units on a scale
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants8 Participants16 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
8 Participants8 Participants16 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
8 participants8 participants16 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
2 Participants3 Participants5 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
6 Participants5 Participants11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 80 / 8
other
Total, other adverse events
4 / 86 / 8
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 80 / 8

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants Who Had Any Serious Adverse Events or Any Adverse Events With Severity Higher Than Moderate.

Number of participants who had any serious adverse events or any adverse events with severity higher than moderate, as determined by the Principal Investigator, using the composite safety assessment including clinical laboratory testing (full blood count, biochemistry, coagulation, iron study, CSF analysis and ECG), physical examination and self-reporting of adverse events. All clinical significant findings in the composite safety assessment were reported as adverse events.

Time frame: 15 Days

Population: All dosed participants are included in the analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
15mg Dose GroupNumber of Participants Who Had Any Serious Adverse Events or Any Adverse Events With Severity Higher Than Moderate.0 Participants
30mg Dose GroupNumber of Participants Who Had Any Serious Adverse Events or Any Adverse Events With Severity Higher Than Moderate.0 Participants
Primary

Percentage of Change in PERSI Score in the Motor Cortex Before and After Dosing

PERSI (Parametric Estimation of Reference Signal Intensity) score is the measurement of microglial activation in the motor cortex utilising serial \[18F\]FEMPA PET imaging. The percentage of change in PERSI score before and after dosing in the two (2) dose cohorts is calculated.

Time frame: 7 Days

Population: In total, 8 participants were included in the data analysis, with 5 participants in the 15mg group and 3 participants in the 30mg group.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
15mg Dose GroupPercentage of Change in PERSI Score in the Motor Cortex Before and After Dosing-0.14 Percentage of change
30mg Dose GroupPercentage of Change in PERSI Score in the Motor Cortex Before and After Dosing0.53 Percentage of change
Secondary

Chemokine Level

Change in chemokine level in serum, plasma and CSF.

Time frame: 7 Days

Secondary

Cytokine Level

Change in cytokine level in serum, plasma and CSF.

Time frame: 7 Days

Secondary

Diffusion Kurtosis Using MRI Scan

Change in diffusion kurtosis using MRI scan of the brain to determine whether the blood brain barrier integrity can be measured in ALS by Magnetic Resonance Imaging, and whether 3K3A-APC is able to repair it

Time frame: 7 Days

Secondary

Kynurenine Level

Change in kynurenine level in serum, plasma and CSF.

Time frame: 7 Days

Secondary

Monocyte Activation

Change in the level of monocyte activation in the peripheral blood utilising a novel method.

Time frame: 7 Days

Secondary

Neurofilament Level

Change in neurofilament level in serum, plasma and CSF.

Time frame: 7 Days

Secondary

Soluble CD14 Level

Change in soluble CD14 level in serum, plasma and CSF.

Time frame: 7 Days

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026