Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva (FOP)
Conditions
Brief summary
The main objective of this study is to further evaluate the safety and efficacy of palovarotene in adult and paediatric participants with FOP. The aim of the study is also to ensure treatment continuity to participants who have completed one of the parent studies (Study PVO-1A-301, Study PVO-1A-202 and Study PVO-1A-204) and who, in the investigator's judgement, may benefit from palovarotene therapy.
Interventions
Palovarotene will be taken orally once daily at approximately the same time each day.
Sponsors
Study design
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* Participant has completed the EOS or End of Treatment Visit of Study PVO-1A-301 or PVO-1A-202 (PVO-1A-202 Parts C and D correspond to Study PVO-1A-204 in France) and did not previously withdraw consent from any of the parent studies to be eligible for Study CLIN-60120-452. * Participant must be ≥14 years of age (aligned with the age of treated participants in the ongoing parent studies PVO-1A-301 and PVO-1A-202/PVO-1A-204) and qualify as 100% skeletally mature (if \<18 years, based on assessments carried out at parent EOS Visit; if ≥18 years, automatically considered 100% skeletally mature) or have reached final adult height based on investigator's assessment, at the time the Study CLIN- 60120-452 informed consent is signed.
Exclusion criteria
* History of allergy or hypersensitivity to retinoids, gelatin, lactose (note that lactose intolerance is not exclusionary) or palovarotene, or unresponsiveness to prior treatment with palovarotene. * Uncontrolled cardiovascular, hepatic, pulmonary, gastrointestinal, endocrine, metabolic, ophthalmologic, immunologic, psychiatric, or other significant disease. * Symptomatic vertebral fracture. * Intercurrent known or suspected non-healed fracture at any location; * Any other medical condition/clinically significant abnormalities that would expose the participant to undue risk or interfere with study assessments. * Amylase or lipase \>2× above the upper limit of normal (ULN) or with a history of chronic pancreatitis. * Elevated aspartate aminotransferase (AST) or alanine aminotransferase (ALT) \>2.5× ULN. * Fasting triglycerides \>400 mg/dL with or without therapy. * Suicidal ideation (type 4 or 5) or any suicidal behaviour at the Inclusion Visit as defined by the Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS). * Current use of vitamin A or beta carotene, multivitamins containing vitamin A or beta carotene, or herbal preparations, fish oil, and unable or unwilling to discontinue use of these products during palovarotene treatment. * Exposure to synthetic oral retinoids other than palovarotene within 4 weeks of the Inclusion Visit. * Concurrent treatment with tetracycline or any tetracycline derivatives due to the potential increased risk of pseudotumor cerebri. * Use of concomitant medications that are strong inhibitors or inducers of cytochrome P450 (CYP450) 3A4 activity; or kinase inhibitors such as imatinib. * Palovarotene is reimbursed in the country where the study is being conducted. * Any reason that, in the opinion of the investigator, would lead to the inability of the participant and/or family to comply with the protocol.
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious and Non-serious Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious and Non-serious Treatment-related Treatment-emergent Adverse Events | From signing the informed consent form (Day 1) up to 30 days post last dose, approximately 32 months | An adverse event (AE) was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study treatment, whether or not considered related to the study treatment. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose, resulted in death, was life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect or significant medical event. A TEAE was defined as any AE that occurred after signing the informed consent form of this study or an ongoing AE from the parent study with a worsening in severity or relationship to the study treatment following transition to this study. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in the Use of Assistive Devices and Adaptations (Aids) for Daily Living at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | The use of assistive devices and adaptations (aids) for daily living was collected using the FOP assistive devices assessment at each visit. Assistive devices and adaptations include mobility aids, eating tools, personal care tools, bathroom aids and devices, bedroom aids and devices, home adaptions, work environment adaptions, technology adaptions, sports and recreation adaptions, school adaptions and medical therapies for daily living. The mean of total number of assistive devices and adaptations for daily living being used is presented. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | The FOP-PFQ is a disease-specific patient-reported outcome measure of physical impairment; includes 28 questions related to activities of daily living and physical performance scored on a scale of 1 to 5 with lower scores indicating that participant has more difficulty completing those tasks. Total score, upper extremities subscore and mobility subscore is calculated as follows: total score: sum of the scores from each question (range 28 to 140); upper extremities subscore: sum of the scores from 15 questions (questions 1-12, 14, 25 and 26; range 15 to 75); mobility subscore: the sum of the scores from 13 questions (questions 13, 15-24, 27 and 28; range 13 to 65). The scores were transformed to reflect a percentage of worst score which ranged from 0% to 100% with 0% indicating the best possible function and 100% (higher score) indicating the worst possible function. Mean is presented. Inclusion Visit was first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
| Annualized Rate of Healthcare Utilization (HU) in Participants With Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva | Up to approximately 32 months | Annualized HU rate was defined as the (number of HU during the study/duration of participant participation in the study in days) \* 365.25. Annualized rate for total health care services utilized is presented. |
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Vital Capacity (FVC) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Lung function parameters including FVC were obtained by spirometry. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Expiratory Volume in One Second (FEV1) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Lung function parameters including FEV1 were obtained by spirometry. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in Predicted FEV1/FVC Ratio at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | The ratio of FEV1 to FVC was calculated. Lung function parameters were obtained by spirometry. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in Cumulative Analogue Joint Involvement Scale (CAJIS) Total Score at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | The CAJIS is an objective measure of joint movement completed by the investigator to document total joint involvement. This scale assesses functional disability by categorizing range of motion across 12 joints (both right and left shoulder, elbow, wrist, hip, knee and ankle joints) and 3 body regions (cervical spine, thoracic/lumbar spine and jaw), with each joint/region assessed as: 0=normal (\<10% deficit); 1=partially impaired (10% to 90% deficit) and 2=functionally ankylosed (\>90% deficit). The CAJIS total score is calculated as the sum of the scores of all joints/regions and ranges from 0 (no involvement) to 30 (maximally involved). Higher score indicated worse outcome. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | The PROMIS Global Health Scale is a patient-reported outcome measure of physical and mental function. The adult form (developed for participants \>=15 years old) was used for all participants,consists of 10 questions from which 2 scores are calculated: global physical health score (GPH) and global mental health (GMH) score, each ranging from 4 (worse health) to 20 (better health). GPH score:sum of scores from Questions 3, 6, 7 and 8 and GMH score:sum of scores from Questions 2, 4, 5 and 10.These scores were converted to a T-score whose distributions were standardized such that value of 50 represented average (mean) for general population and increments of +/- 10 points represented +/- 1 standard deviation away from the norm.Higher T-scores indicated better physical/mental health. A T-score \<50 indicated worse health than general population, while a T-score \>50 indicated better health. Inclusion Visit was first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
| Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Number of participants with at least 1 flare-up and intercurrent flare-ups since last visit is presented. Intercurrent flare-ups were defined as a new flare-up or marked worsening of the original flare up at any time during a flare-up-based treatment cycle. Outcome of flare-ups resulting in movement restriction and bone formations in participants is presented. Movement restriction includes categories like better, same, slightly worse, moderately worse and severely worse movement than before. |
| Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Number of participants with flare-ups by body locations including shoulder, elbow, hip, knee, ankle or foot, back, jaw and submandibular area and other (includes all other locations than mentioned) is presented. |
| Duration of Flare-up at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Duration of flare-up was defined as (date of end of flare-up - date of start of flare-up + 1). |
| Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Percentage of participants with at least 1 extra bone growth associated or not with a flare-up since last visit is presented. |
| Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Diffusion Capacity of the Lung for Carbon Monoxide (DLCO) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | The DLCO test provides information on the efficiency of gas transfer from alveolar air into the bloodstream. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study. |
Countries
Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Italy, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States
Participant flow
Recruitment details
This single-arm, rollover, multicenter, Phase III, open-label study was conducted at 12 investigational sites in 9 countries from 14-Mar-2022 to 30-Nov-2024 in participants \>=14 years with fibrodysplasia ossificans progressiva (FOP) who had completed parent study PVO-1A-301 (NCT03312634) or PVO-1A-202 (NCT02279095)/PVO-1A-204 (NCT02979769) and continued to benefit from palovarotene therapy. A total of 61 participants were enrolled in the study of which 59 received treatment.
Pre-assignment details
This study consisted of an Inclusion visit which included signing of informed consent form (Day 1), a continuous dosing treatment period (including a follow-up visit every 6 months), and an end of study/early withdrawal visit. Participants were eligible for the study whether they received chronic or flare-up treatment in the parent study at the time of transition.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Palovarotene Participants continued to receive palovarotene 5 mg orally once daily until it was reimbursed in the country where the study was being conducted or another access program became available or until the study end date, whichever occurred first, up to approximately 32 months.
In case of flare-up symptoms or substantial high risk traumatic events (likely to lead to a flare-up), participants received palovarotene 20 mg orally once daily for 4 weeks followed by 10 mg orally once daily for 8 weeks for a total of 12 weeks even if symptoms resolved earlier. | 59 |
| Total | 59 |
Withdrawals & dropouts
| Period | Reason | FG000 |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Study | Adverse Event | 2 |
| Overall Study | Death | 2 |
| Overall Study | Other | 1 |
| Overall Study | Withdrawal by Subject | 18 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Palovarotene |
|---|---|
| Age, Continuous | 22.4 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.9 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 10 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 33 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 16 Participants |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized Asian | 3 Participants |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized Black or African American | 0 Participants |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized Multiple | 2 Participants |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized Not Reported | 15 Participants |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized Other | 1 Participants |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized White | 38 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 28 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 31 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk |
|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | 2 / 59 |
| other Total, other adverse events | 45 / 59 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 9 / 59 |
Outcome results
Number of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious and Non-serious Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious and Non-serious Treatment-related Treatment-emergent Adverse Events
An adverse event (AE) was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study treatment, whether or not considered related to the study treatment. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose, resulted in death, was life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect or significant medical event. A TEAE was defined as any AE that occurred after signing the informed consent form of this study or an ongoing AE from the parent study with a worsening in severity or relationship to the study treatment following transition to this study.
Time frame: From signing the informed consent form (Day 1) up to 30 days post last dose, approximately 32 months
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious and Non-serious Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious and Non-serious Treatment-related Treatment-emergent Adverse Events | All TEAEs | 54 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious and Non-serious Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious and Non-serious Treatment-related Treatment-emergent Adverse Events | Serious TEAEs | 9 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious and Non-serious Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious and Non-serious Treatment-related Treatment-emergent Adverse Events | Non-serious TEAEs | 53 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious and Non-serious Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious and Non-serious Treatment-related Treatment-emergent Adverse Events | Serious treatment-related TEAEs | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious and Non-serious Treatment-emergent Adverse Events and Serious and Non-serious Treatment-related Treatment-emergent Adverse Events | Non-serious treatment-related TEAEs | 38 Participants |
Annualized Rate of Healthcare Utilization (HU) in Participants With Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva
Annualized HU rate was defined as the (number of HU during the study/duration of participant participation in the study in days) \* 365.25. Annualized rate for total health care services utilized is presented.
Time frame: Up to approximately 32 months
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Annualized Rate of Healthcare Utilization (HU) in Participants With Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva | 21.7 HU per participant year | Standard Deviation 31.4 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in Cumulative Analogue Joint Involvement Scale (CAJIS) Total Score at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
The CAJIS is an objective measure of joint movement completed by the investigator to document total joint involvement. This scale assesses functional disability by categorizing range of motion across 12 joints (both right and left shoulder, elbow, wrist, hip, knee and ankle joints) and 3 body regions (cervical spine, thoracic/lumbar spine and jaw), with each joint/region assessed as: 0=normal (\<10% deficit); 1=partially impaired (10% to 90% deficit) and 2=functionally ankylosed (\>90% deficit). The CAJIS total score is calculated as the sum of the scores of all joints/regions and ranges from 0 (no involvement) to 30 (maximally involved). Higher score indicated worse outcome. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Cumulative Analogue Joint Involvement Scale (CAJIS) Total Score at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6 | 0.6 score on a scale | Standard Deviation 1.3 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Cumulative Analogue Joint Involvement Scale (CAJIS) Total Score at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12 | 1.1 score on a scale | Standard Deviation 2 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Cumulative Analogue Joint Involvement Scale (CAJIS) Total Score at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18 | 1.5 score on a scale | Standard Deviation 2.3 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Cumulative Analogue Joint Involvement Scale (CAJIS) Total Score at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24 | 1.5 score on a scale | Standard Deviation 2.6 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Cumulative Analogue Joint Involvement Scale (CAJIS) Total Score at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30 | 2.0 score on a scale | Standard Deviation 4.7 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
The FOP-PFQ is a disease-specific patient-reported outcome measure of physical impairment; includes 28 questions related to activities of daily living and physical performance scored on a scale of 1 to 5 with lower scores indicating that participant has more difficulty completing those tasks. Total score, upper extremities subscore and mobility subscore is calculated as follows: total score: sum of the scores from each question (range 28 to 140); upper extremities subscore: sum of the scores from 15 questions (questions 1-12, 14, 25 and 26; range 15 to 75); mobility subscore: the sum of the scores from 13 questions (questions 13, 15-24, 27 and 28; range 13 to 65). The scores were transformed to reflect a percentage of worst score which ranged from 0% to 100% with 0% indicating the best possible function and 100% (higher score) indicating the worst possible function. Mean is presented. Inclusion Visit was first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6: total score | 0.74 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 6.37 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12: total score | 2.39 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 10.21 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18: total score | 4.77 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 12.39 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24: total score | 7.80 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 15.15 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30: total score | 13.79 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 21.98 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6: upper extremities subscore | 0.70 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 6.87 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12: upper extremities subscore | 1.12 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 8.52 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18: upper extremities subscore | 3.24 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 11.28 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24: upper extremities subscore | 5.54 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 12.42 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30: upper extremities subscore | 8.15 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 11.5 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6: mobility subscore | 0.74 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 9.15 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12: mobility subscore | 3.90 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 14.98 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18: mobility subscore | 6.53 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 17.45 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24: mobility subscore | 10.38 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 23.08 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percentage of Worst Score Using the Adult Form of the Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva Physical Function Questionnaire (FOP-PFQ) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30: mobility subscore | 20.30 percentage of score | Standard Deviation 36.44 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Diffusion Capacity of the Lung for Carbon Monoxide (DLCO) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
The DLCO test provides information on the efficiency of gas transfer from alveolar air into the bloodstream. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Diffusion Capacity of the Lung for Carbon Monoxide (DLCO) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6 | -1.5 percent predicted DLCO | Standard Deviation 7.9 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Diffusion Capacity of the Lung for Carbon Monoxide (DLCO) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12 | -5.3 percent predicted DLCO | Standard Deviation 12.6 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Diffusion Capacity of the Lung for Carbon Monoxide (DLCO) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18 | -4.4 percent predicted DLCO | Standard Deviation 16.5 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Diffusion Capacity of the Lung for Carbon Monoxide (DLCO) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24 | -4.8 percent predicted DLCO | Standard Deviation 11.4 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Diffusion Capacity of the Lung for Carbon Monoxide (DLCO) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30 | -20.0 percent predicted DLCO | Standard Deviation 20.3 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Expiratory Volume in One Second (FEV1) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Lung function parameters including FEV1 were obtained by spirometry. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Expiratory Volume in One Second (FEV1) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6 | 1.8 percent predicted FEV1 | Standard Deviation 5.9 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Expiratory Volume in One Second (FEV1) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12 | -3.1 percent predicted FEV1 | Standard Deviation 9.6 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Expiratory Volume in One Second (FEV1) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18 | -5.3 percent predicted FEV1 | Standard Deviation 11.8 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Expiratory Volume in One Second (FEV1) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24 | -3.8 percent predicted FEV1 | Standard Deviation 6.6 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Expiratory Volume in One Second (FEV1) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30 | -10.0 percent predicted FEV1 | Standard Deviation 11.1 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Vital Capacity (FVC) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Lung function parameters including FVC were obtained by spirometry. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Vital Capacity (FVC) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6 | 1.2 percent predicted FVC | Standard Deviation 5.5 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Vital Capacity (FVC) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12 | -0.7 percent predicted FVC | Standard Deviation 6.8 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Vital Capacity (FVC) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18 | -3.9 percent predicted FVC | Standard Deviation 9.8 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Vital Capacity (FVC) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24 | -1.6 percent predicted FVC | Standard Deviation 5.8 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Percent Predicted Forced Vital Capacity (FVC) at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30 | -2.8 percent predicted FVC | Standard Deviation 3.8 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
The PROMIS Global Health Scale is a patient-reported outcome measure of physical and mental function. The adult form (developed for participants \>=15 years old) was used for all participants,consists of 10 questions from which 2 scores are calculated: global physical health score (GPH) and global mental health (GMH) score, each ranging from 4 (worse health) to 20 (better health). GPH score:sum of scores from Questions 3, 6, 7 and 8 and GMH score:sum of scores from Questions 2, 4, 5 and 10.These scores were converted to a T-score whose distributions were standardized such that value of 50 represented average (mean) for general population and increments of +/- 10 points represented +/- 1 standard deviation away from the norm.Higher T-scores indicated better physical/mental health. A T-score \<50 indicated worse health than general population, while a T-score \>50 indicated better health. Inclusion Visit was first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6: GPH | -0.6 T-score | Standard Deviation 4.4 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12: GPH | -1.7 T-score | Standard Deviation 5 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18: GPH | -2.9 T-score | Standard Deviation 5 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24: GPH | -1.9 T-score | Standard Deviation 5.8 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30: GPH | -3.9 T-score | Standard Deviation 7 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6: GMH | -1.0 T-score | Standard Deviation 4.8 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12: GMH | -1.5 T-score | Standard Deviation 6.3 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18: GMH | -2.3 T-score | Standard Deviation 6.9 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24: GMH | -2.2 T-score | Standard Deviation 6 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Physical and Mental Function Using Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Global Health Scale at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30: GMH | -5.7 T-score | Standard Deviation 5.1 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in Predicted FEV1/FVC Ratio at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
The ratio of FEV1 to FVC was calculated. Lung function parameters were obtained by spirometry. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Predicted FEV1/FVC Ratio at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6 | 0.0163 ratio | Standard Deviation 0.0574 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Predicted FEV1/FVC Ratio at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12 | -0.0323 ratio | Standard Deviation 0.1358 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Predicted FEV1/FVC Ratio at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18 | -0.0137 ratio | Standard Deviation 0.0888 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Predicted FEV1/FVC Ratio at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24 | -0.0365 ratio | Standard Deviation 0.0994 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in Predicted FEV1/FVC Ratio at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30 | -0.1268 ratio | Standard Deviation 0.1564 |
Change From the Inclusion Visit in the Use of Assistive Devices and Adaptations (Aids) for Daily Living at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
The use of assistive devices and adaptations (aids) for daily living was collected using the FOP assistive devices assessment at each visit. Assistive devices and adaptations include mobility aids, eating tools, personal care tools, bathroom aids and devices, bedroom aids and devices, home adaptions, work environment adaptions, technology adaptions, sports and recreation adaptions, school adaptions and medical therapies for daily living. The mean of total number of assistive devices and adaptations for daily living being used is presented. The Inclusion Visit was the first study visit (Day 1) and first administration of palovarotene in this study.
Time frame: Inclusion Visit (Day 1) and Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in the Use of Assistive Devices and Adaptations (Aids) for Daily Living at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 6 | -0.7 number of aids | Standard Deviation 3.4 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in the Use of Assistive Devices and Adaptations (Aids) for Daily Living at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 12 | 1.1 number of aids | Standard Deviation 4.7 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in the Use of Assistive Devices and Adaptations (Aids) for Daily Living at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 18 | 1.4 number of aids | Standard Deviation 5.7 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in the Use of Assistive Devices and Adaptations (Aids) for Daily Living at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 24 | 1.2 number of aids | Standard Deviation 5.1 |
| Palovarotene | Change From the Inclusion Visit in the Use of Assistive Devices and Adaptations (Aids) for Daily Living at Months 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30 | Month 30 | 2.8 number of aids | Standard Deviation 7.4 |
Duration of Flare-up at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24
Duration of flare-up was defined as (date of end of flare-up - date of start of flare-up + 1).
Time frame: Months 6, 12, 18 and 24
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study. Only those participants with data collected at specified timepoints are reported.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Duration of Flare-up at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 6 | 130.7 days | Standard Deviation 153.3 |
| Palovarotene | Duration of Flare-up at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 12 | 121.7 days | Standard Deviation 102.7 |
| Palovarotene | Duration of Flare-up at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 18 | 72.4 days | Standard Deviation 42.6 |
| Palovarotene | Duration of Flare-up at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 24 | 72.3 days | Standard Deviation 53.9 |
Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes
Number of participants with at least 1 flare-up and intercurrent flare-ups since last visit is presented. Intercurrent flare-ups were defined as a new flare-up or marked worsening of the original flare up at any time during a flare-up-based treatment cycle. Outcome of flare-ups resulting in movement restriction and bone formations in participants is presented. Movement restriction includes categories like better, same, slightly worse, moderately worse and severely worse movement than before.
Time frame: Months 6, 12, 18 and 24
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: better movement | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: at least 1 flare up since last visit | 27 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: at least 1 flare up since last visit | 26 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: at least 1 flare up since last visit | 15 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: at least 1 flare up since last visit | 4 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: intercurrent flare-ups since last visit | 7 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: intercurrent flare-ups since last visit | 4 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: intercurrent flare-ups since last visit | 4 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: intercurrent flare-ups since last visit | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: same movement | 22 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: slightly worse movement | 7 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: moderately worse movement | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: severely worse movement | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: better movement | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: same movement | 17 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: slightly worse movement | 10 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: moderately worse movement | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: severely worse movement | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: better movement | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: same movement | 7 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: slightly worse movement | 7 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: moderately worse movement | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: severely worse movement | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: better movement | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: same movement | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: slightly worse movement | 3 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: moderately worse movement | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: severely worse movement | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 6: bone formation | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 12: bone formation | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 18: bone formation | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups and Flare-up Outcomes | Month 24: bone formation | 0 Participants |
Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location
Number of participants with flare-ups by body locations including shoulder, elbow, hip, knee, ankle or foot, back, jaw and submandibular area and other (includes all other locations than mentioned) is presented.
Time frame: Months 6, 12, 18 and 24
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: elbow | 3 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: shoulder | 8 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: hip | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: knee | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: ankle or foot | 3 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: back | 4 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: jaw and submandibular area | 4 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 6: other | 14 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: shoulder | 4 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: elbow | 2 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: hip | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: knee | 3 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: ankle or foot | 5 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: back | 2 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: jaw and submandibular area | 3 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 12: other | 12 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: shoulder | 4 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: elbow | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: hip | 3 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: knee | 2 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: ankle or foot | 2 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: back | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: jaw and submandibular area | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 18: other | 8 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: shoulder | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: elbow | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: hip | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: knee | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: ankle or foot | 1 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: back | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: jaw and submandibular area | 0 Participants |
| Palovarotene | Number of Participants With Flare-ups by Body Location | Month 24: other | 2 Participants |
Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24
Percentage of participants with at least 1 extra bone growth associated or not with a flare-up since last visit is presented.
Time frame: Months 6, 12, 18 and 24
Population: The FAS/safety set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of palovarotene in this study.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 6: associated | 8.5 percentage of participants |
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 6: not associated | 3.4 percentage of participants |
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 12: associated | 8.5 percentage of participants |
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 12: not associated | 8.5 percentage of participants |
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 18: associated | 1.7 percentage of participants |
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 18: not associated | 3.4 percentage of participants |
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 24: associated | 0 percentage of participants |
| Palovarotene | Percentage of Participants With Extra Bone Growth at Months 6, 12, 18 and 24 | Month 24: not associated | 3.4 percentage of participants |