Skip to content

Partnering With Food Bank to Provide Tobacco Treatment to Underserved Smokers

Partnering With a State Food Bank to Provide Tobacco Treatment to Underserved Smokers (Project NOURISH)

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT05004662
Enrollment
502
Registered
2021-08-13
Start date
2021-12-01
Completion date
2025-08-19
Last updated
2026-08-04

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Smoking Cessation

Brief summary

This study will evaluate the efficacy and economic impact of a theoretically-based, fully automated, interactive smartphone-based smoking cessation intervention.

Interventions

An interactive smartphone-based intervention that comprises content delivered via audio/video clips and text content automatically each week for 12 weeks and on demand for 26 weeks to participants

DRUGNicotine patch

Participants will be provided with a 10-week supply of nicotine patches

BEHAVIORALCounseling

Smoking cessation treatment delivery by State Quitline's

DRUGNicotine lozenge

Participants will be provided with a 10-week supply of nicotine lozenges

Sponsors

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Lead SponsorOTHER
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
PREVENTION
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* ≥100 lifetime cigarettes * English or Spanish speaking * Currently smoke ≥5 cigarettes/day * Process a smartphone compatible with the project app * Have a valid email address * Receipt of food assistance in the past 3 month

Exclusion criteria

* Currently pregnant or breastfeeding * Current use of smoking cessation medications * Enrolled in a smoking cessation study * Household member enrolled in the study * Failure to electronically confirm participation with 14 days of randomization via electronic link sent to participant's smartphone

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Self-Reported 7-Day Point-Prevalence Smoking Abstinence12 Month Follow-UpParticipants who report no smoking, not even a puff, within the past 7 days

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Biochemical Verification Via Salivary Cotinine12 Month Follow-UpInvestigators will biochemically verify smoking status by collecting cotinine samples via salivary cotinine kit
Self-Reported 24-Hour Point-Prevalence Smoking Abstinence12 Month Follow-UpNumber of participants who report no smoking, not even a puff, within the past 24 hours
Self-Reported 30-Day Point-Prevalence Smoking Abstinence12 Month Follow-UpNumber of participants who report no smoking, not even a puff, within the past 30 days

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORDamon J Vidrine, Dr.PH

Moffitt Cancer Center

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORJennifer I Vidrine, Ph.D.

Moffitt Cancer Center

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
20 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
467 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
38 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
226 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
41 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
23 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
374 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
499 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
364 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
67 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 00 / 0
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 00 / 0
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 00 / 0

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Aug 5, 2026