Skip to content

Intra-Arterial Chemotherapy for Newly Diagnosed, Residual, or Recurrent Atypical Choroid Plexus Papilloma and Choroid Plexus Carcinoma Prior to Second-Look Surgery

Intra-Arterial (IA) Chemotherapy for Newly Diagnosed, Residual, or Recurrent Atypical Choroid Plexus Papilloma (ACPP) and Choroid Plexus Carcinoma (CPC) Prior to Second-Look Surgery

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04994977
Enrollment
1
Registered
2021-08-06
Start date
2023-05-04
Completion date
2025-12-01
Last updated
2026-06-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Atypical Choroid Plexus Papilloma, Choroid Plexus Carcinoma

Brief summary

This study will test the safety and efficacy of intra-arterial chemotherapy in subjects with newly diagnosed, residual, or recurrent atypical choroid plexus papilloma and choroid plexus carcinoma prior to a second surgery. It is believed that intra-arterial chemotherapy will be safe and feasible for this population and will result in decreased tumor size, which may further improve the goals of a second-look surgery.

Detailed description

The intent of this study is to determine if intra-arterial chemotherapy is a safe and effective option for subjects with atypical choroid plexus papilloma and choroid plexus carcinoma prior to receiving second-look surgery. Angiography occurs when a catheter is inserted through the subjects vasculature to the major vessels that supply cerebral circulation. Subjects on this trial will undergo a a cerebral angiogram to determine the ideal arteries to use for drug infusion. Once identified, chemotherapy will be delivered through the catheter directly to the site of tumor.

Interventions

DRUGMelphalan

Given at 0.5 mg/ml.

DRUGCarboplatin

Given at 5 mg/ml.

DRUGTopotecan

Given at 0.2 mg/ml.

Sponsors

Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
0 Years to 100 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Subjects with a histologically confirmed diagnosis of ACPP or CPC that is newly diagnosed, residual or recurrent. 2. Subjects must have a Karnofsky or Lansky Performance Score ≥ 60 % assessed within two weeks prior to enrollment. Karnofsky is used for patients ≥ 16 years and Lansky for those \< 16. 3. Subjects must have normal organ and marrow function documented within 14 days of enrollment and within 7 days of the start of treatment as noted below: 1. Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,000/μL 2. Platelets ≥ 100,000/μL (transfusion independent, defined as not receiving platelet transfusions within a 7-day period prior to enrollment) 3. Hemoglobin ≥ 8 g/dL (may receive PRBC transfusions) 4. Total bilirubin \< 1.5 times upper limit of normal for age 5. AST (SGOT)/ALT(SGPT) \< 2.5 X institutional upper limit of normal for age 6. Creatinine clearance or radioisotope GFR ≥ 70 ml/min/1.73m2 or a serum creatinine WNL for age as determined using the Schwartz formula.36 7. Sodium, Potassium, Calcium and Magnesium \< 1.5x institutional ULN 8. Albumin ≥ 3 g/dL 4. Subjects who are receiving dexamethasone must be on a stable or decreasing dose for at least 1 week prior to enrollment. 5. Subjects with neurological deficits should have deficits that are stable for a minimum of 1 week prior to enrollment. 6. If the subject has any of the following therapies, must be at least: * 4 weeks post-focal RT (radiation therapy), 3 months post-CSI (craniospinal irradiation) * 4 weeks post-myelosuppressive chemotherapy (if post-nitrosoureas, must have 6 weeks therapy) * 4 weeks post-monoclonal antibodies * 1 week post-targeted therapy 7. If subject has received any previous treatment, all treatment related toxicities should have recovered to \< grade 2 8. Subject or parent must sign a written informed consent document according to institutional guidelines.

Exclusion criteria

1. Females who are pregnant or lactating. 2. Subjects with any clinically significant unrelated systemic illness (serious infections or significant cardiac, pulmonary, hepatic or other organ dysfunction) likely to interfere with the study procedures or results. 3. Subjects who are receiving any other anticancer or investigational agents. 4. Subjects with uncontrolled seizures. 5. Subjects receiving enzyme inducing anticonvulsants. 6. Subjects with other factors that increase the risk of QT prolongation or arrhythmic events (e.g., heart failure, hypokalemia, family history of long QT interval syndrome) including heart failure that meets New York Heart Association (NYHA) class II or above. 7. Subjects who have had an allogenic bone marrow transplant \< 6 months prior to enrollment or an autologous bone marrow/stem cell transplant \< 3 months prior to enrollment. 8. Subjects with multifocal disease or disease that has been disseminated will not be eligible for this study. They will undergo systemic chemotherapy and their disease will be further evaluated prior to be eligible for 2nd look surgery. 9. This study will only enroll subjects with ACPP or CPC and will not enroll subjects with choroid plexus papilloma (CPP). ACPP or CPC subjects with symptomatic hydrocephalus will not be eligible for this study. These subjects will have to be treated for their hydrocephalus and be re-evaluated according to our eligibility criteria in order to be enrolled.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Safety of Intra-arterial Chemotherapy in Subjects With ACPP and CPC, Measured by the Number of Serious Adverse Events That Are Reported as at Least Possible Related to the Intervention That Occur in Subjects on the Trialabout 6 months since the start of therapy

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
The Number of Successful Angiography Procedures, Determined by Examination of Vasculature and Assessment of Catheter PlacementOn Day 1 of the trial for each subject
The Number of Patients With a Tumor Volume Reduction Response, Determined by MRI AssessmentsBetween 4-6 weeks after intra-arterial chemotherapy
The Number of Patients With a Tumor Vascularity Reduction Response, Determined by MRI AssessmentsBetween 4-6 weeks after intra-arterial chemotherapy
The Success of Second Look Surgery Determined by Measuring the Extent of Tumor ResectionAround 7 weeks after intra-arterial chemotherapy, during second look surgeryThe number of participants with successful second look surgery defined by gross total resection of residual tumor
The Success of Second Look Surgery Determined by Amount of Blood LossAround 7 weeks after intra-arterial chemotherapy, during second look surgeryThe number of participants with successful second look surgery determined by amount of blood loss. If the amount of blood loss is insignificant i.e. the surgery does not necessitate blood transfusion, then the surgery is deemed successful.
The Success of Second Look Surgery Determined by Percent of Blood LossAround 7 weeks after intra-arterial chemotherapy, during second look surgery

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORMark Souweidane, M.D.

Weill Medical College of Cornell University

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
1 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 1
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 1
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 1

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 9, 2026