Skip to content

Wearable Focal Vibration for Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy

Wearable Focal Vibration for Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04959929
Enrollment
13
Registered
2021-07-13
Start date
2023-02-09
Completion date
2025-07-22
Last updated
2026-07-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy

Keywords

focal vibration, wearable, in-home rehabilitation, chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy, CIPN, lower extremity

Brief summary

This study will perform an early Phase I feasibility study with single-arm, double-baseline repeated measured design. The investigators will test the feasibility of using focal vibration to improve symptoms of persistent CIPN.

Detailed description

This is an initial Phase I single-site, single-arm, double-baseline repeated measures feasibility study of wearable focal vibration (FV with Myovolt) for persistent chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy. We will enroll up to 15 cancer survivors who are cancer-free and meet all other inclusion/ exclusion criteria, including CIPN symptoms at least 3 months after final chemotherapy infusion. Participants will undergo baseline assessments (V1) of questionnaires and performance tests, and may repeat these tests within a few days as a double-baseline (V2). In addition, they complete 7-days of baseline symptom monitoring by diary before starting 6 weeks of daily at-home therapy with a Myovolt wearable FV device. A study coach will check in by phone or video calls during the intervention period. Participants undergo post-testing immediately after the 6-week intervention (V3), and after another 6 weeks without FV (V4). In total, participants attend 3-4 onsite study visits, a 6-week intervention period with weekly remote check-in contact from the study team, and a 6-week intervention-free follow-up period with at least one remote check-in. Participants will keep a provided daily symptom diary during the primary study period (i.e., 6 weeks), and at least weekly in the 6-week follow-up period.

Interventions

Myovolt is a wearable rehabilitative device that delivers vibration to the region of the body where the motors are worn. Participants are asked to apply the vibration to specific leg locations twice a day, for about 30 minutes at a time, and to record their response using a provided log. They may be asked to try applying the device at different location or using different vibration parameters (pulse frequency or intensity).

Sponsors

University of Oklahoma
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

All participants will be assigned to a single group that will receive focal vibration therapy using Myovolt.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Age 18 years or older * Cancer patients with current symptoms of chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy affecting the feet, persisting for at least 3 months after completion of chemotherapy, and not substantially improving in recent weeks. The CIPN must be painful, or severe enough to interfere with function, activities, or participation (generally NCI-CTCAE Grade II) * Clinically stable to participate in study assessments and the intervention (at a minimum, able to stand independently from a chair and walk household distances without help from another person) * Able to read and speak English, give a voluntary written consent * Sufficient cognition to consent, confirmed by recall of key study points * Use of pain medications (opioids, anti-convulsants, and antidepressants) must be stable in the two weeks prior to study enrollment, and the participant must agree to avoid significant changes in pain medication regimen during the period of active study participation, and to notify the study team if medications change

Exclusion criteria

* Neuropathy (known or suspected) of any etiology other than chemotherapy or diabetes (for example, due to alcohol, vitamin deficiency, autoimmune disorder, CMT, idiopathic * Unsafe/unable to self-apply the focal vibration intervention for any reason (for example, insufficient hand dexterity or cognitive executive function * Recent or fluctuating musculoskeletal injury or lesion that would impact physical performance * Lower limb deficiency/amputations * Pregnant, or planning to get pregnant in the next 6 months. Pre-menopausal females who enroll agree to notify the study team as soon as possible should they become pregnant

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Feasibility of EnrollmentBaselinePercent of interested individuals who enrolled.
Adherence to Myovolt Focal VibrationAfter 6-week interventionNumber of completed sessions the intervention was worn, as a percentage of the number of sessions prescribed.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity-12 (FACT-GOG/NTX-12) Symptom InventoryChange from Baseline after 6-week InterventionThe FACT-GOG/Ntx-12 is a composite measure of CIPN symptoms and functional impairments and related quality of life, scored from 0 to 48 where a higher score indicates worse neuropathy symptoms.
Neuropathy Total Symptom Score-6 (NTSS-6)Change from Baseline after 6-week InterventionThe NTSS-6 rates neuropathic symptoms (severity and frequency) in 6-categories. Scores range from 0 to 21.96, and higher scores indicate higher symptom burden.
Patient Neurotoxicity Questionnaire (PNQ)Change from Baseline after 6-week InterventionThe PNQ grades the extent of sensory and motor neuropathy in cancer cohorts scored from grade A (no neuropathy, also Grade 0) to grade E (severe neuropathy, also Grade 4). Sensory and motor severity are rated separately.
Global Rating of Change (GROC) ScaleAfter 6-week interventionThe GROC scale is a universal clinical outcome providing a simple but comprehensive "umbrella" patient-perspective of change. Scores on a 9-point ordinal scale centered around 0 (Unchanged) ranged from -4 (very much worse) to 0 (unchanged) to +4 (very much better).
Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity-12 (FACT-GOG/NTX-12) Physical Well-Being SubscaleChange from Baseline after 6-week InterventionThe FACT-GOG/Ntx-12 PWB subscale is a patient-report measure of physical symptoms and function. Scored from 0 to 28, higher scores indicate better well-being.
Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity-12 (FACT-GOG/NTX-12) Functional Well-Being SubscaleChange from Baseline after 6-week InterventionThe FACT-GOG/Ntx-12 FWB subscale is a patient-report measure of functional well-being with questions about work, leisure and sleep, and a summary quality of life(QoL)rating. Scores range from 0 to 28, higher scores indicate better well-being and QoL.
Manual Muscle Testing (MMT) of ToesChange from Baseline after 6-week InterventionMMT assesses muscle strength by an assessor applying pressure against the hallux as the participant lifts and holds 1st metatarsophalangeal extension. Strength is rated from 0 (weakest) to 5 (strongest). Change of 1 grade from the baseline values is categorized as improvement or decline.
Change in Toe Strength Using a Proprietary Quantifiable Toe Measurement Device, Quantification of Hallux Extension Strength or QuHalEx(TM), U.S. Patent 11402284 Issued to the University of Oklahoma on 08/02/2022, and Provisional Patent 63/627,850.Change from Baseline after 6-week InterventionQuHalEx(TM) measures toe strength by reading force measurements (higher is stronger) when participants sit with foot strapped on a portable base of a proprietary University of Oklahoma QuHalEx(TM) load-cell prototype device (U.S. Patent 11402284 issued to the University of Oklahoma on 08/02/2022, and provisional patent 63/627,850). With the great toe inserted into a cap, the participant pulls up and holds isometrically for a few seconds. The peak force is the highest value recorded over the hold time. We report the change in peak force from baseline to the 6-week visit.
Vibration Perception Threshold Using BiothesiometerChange from Baseline after 6-week InterventionVibratory threshold is measured by a non-invasive vibrating probe (biothesiometer) placed on the skin and increased from 0 Hz until the amplitude when the participant first reports detection (eyes closed) or the maximum amplitude available on the biothesiometer scale (50 Volts). Higher indicates worse sensation.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORElizabeth Hile, PhD

University of Oklahoma

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
3 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
10 Participants
Age, Continuous55.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.6
BMI29.2 kg/sq m
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.7
Cancer Type
breast
5 Participants
Cancer Type
colorectal
2 Participants
Cancer Type
gynecological
3 Participants
Cancer Type
hematological
2 Participants
Cancer Type
testicular
1 Participants
CIPN Persistence (yrs)4.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.4
Diabetes
diabetes
4 Participants
Diabetes
no diabetes
9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
9 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
13 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
10 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 13
other
Total, other adverse events
7 / 13
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 13

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jul 21, 2026