Skip to content

Guselkumab in Active Psoriatic Arthritis Participants With Inadequate Response/Intolerance to One Prior Anti-TNF Alpha Agent

A Phase 3B, Multicenter, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of Guselkumab Administered Subcutaneously in Participants With Active Psoriatic Arthritis Who Had an Inadequate Response and/or Intolerance to One Prior Anti-Tumor Necrosis Factor Alpha Agent

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04936308
Acronym
SOLSTICE
Enrollment
453
Registered
2021-06-23
Start date
2021-09-28
Completion date
2026-07-02
Last updated
2026-08-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Arthritis, Psoriatic

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy of guselkumab treatment in participants with active psoriatic arthritis (PsA) and inadequate response (IR) and/or intolerance to a prior anti-tumor necrosis factor (TNF) by assessing the reduction in signs and symptoms of PsA.

Detailed description

PsA is a chronic, immune-mediated inflammatory disease characterized by peripheral joint inflammation, enthesitis, dactylitis, axial disease, and the skin lesions associated with psoriasis. Guselkumab is a fully human monoclonal antibody (mAb) that binds to p19 protein subunit of interleukin (IL)-23 and blocks the binding of extracellular IL-23 to the cell surface IL-23 receptor, inhibiting IL-23 specific intracellular signaling, subsequent activation, and cytokine production. The primary hypothesis of this study is that guselkumab is superior to placebo as assessed by the proportion of participants who had an inadequate response (IR) and/or intolerance to one prior anti-tumor necrosis factor (anti-TNF) achieving an American College of Rheumatology 20 (ACR 20) response at Week 24. This study will consist of a screening phase (up to 6 weeks), blinded treatment phase (approximately up to 2 years), which includes a placebo-controlled period from Week 0 to Week 24, and an active-controlled treatment phase from Week 24 to Week 100, and safety follow-up phase (Week 112). Safety assessments will include physical examinations, vital signs, height, weight, electrocardiograms, and clinical safety laboratory assessments. The total duration of the study will be up to 118 weeks.

Interventions

DRUGGuselkumab

Participants will receive guselkumab as SC injection.

DRUGPlacebo

Participants will receive matching placebo as SC injection.

Sponsors

Janssen Research & Development, LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Have a diagnosis of active psoriatic arthritis (PsA) for at least 6 months before the first administration of study agent and meet Classification criteria for Psoriatic Arthritis (CASPAR) at screening * Have active PsA as defined by: at least 3 swollen joints and at least 3 tender joints at screening and at baseline; and C-reactive protein (CRP) greater than or equal to (\>=) 0.3 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL) at screening from the central laboratory * Have at least one of the following PsA subsets: distal interphalangeal joint involvement, polyarticular arthritis with absence of rheumatoid nodules, asymmetric peripheral arthritis, or spondylitis with peripheral arthritis * Have active plaque psoriasis, with at least one psoriatic plaque of \>= 2 centimeters (cm) diameter and/or nail changes consistent with psoriasis, or documented history of plaque psoriasis * Have an inadequate response and/or intolerance to anti-tumor necrosis factor alpha (TNF alpha) therapy, defined as presence of active PsA despite previous treatment with one prior anti-TNF alpha agent

Exclusion criteria

* Has other inflammatory diseases that might confound the evaluations of benefit of guselkumab therapy in the treatment of PsA, including but not limited to rheumatoid arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis/nonradiographic axial spondyloarthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus, or Lyme disease * Has received more than 1 prior anti-tumor necrosis factor (TNF) alpha agent (or biosimilars) * Has ever received Janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor including but not limited to tofacitinib, baricitinib, filgotinib, peficitinib, decernotinib, upadacitinib or any other investigational JAK inhibitor * Has received any systemic immunosuppressants (example, azathioprine, cyclosporine, 6 thioguanine, mercaptopurine, mycophenolate mofetil, hydroxyurea, tacrolimus) within 4 weeks of the first administration of study intervention * Has known allergies, hypersensitivity, or intolerance to guselkumab or its excipients * Has a history of chronic or recurrent infectious disease, including but not limited to chronic renal infection, chronic chest infection (example, bronchiectasis), recurrent urinary tract infection (example, recurrent pyelonephritis or chronic non-remitting cystitis), fungal infection (example, mucocutaneous candidiasis), or open, draining, or infected skin wounds or ulcers

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved an American College of Rheumatology (ACR) 20 Response at Week 24At Week 24ACR 20 response: \>=20% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=20% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved a Psoriasis Response of Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Psoriasis Score of 0 or 1 and >=2 Grade Reduction From Baseline at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3 Percent(%) Body Surface Area (BSA)At Week 24A psoriasis IGA response was defined as an IGA score of 0 (cleared) or 1 (minimal) and greater than equal to (\>=2) grade reduction from baseline in the IGA psoriasis score. The IGA documents the investigator's assessment of the patient's psoriasis and lesions are graded for induration, erythema and scaling, each using a 5 point scale: 0 (no evidence), 1 (minimal), 2 (mild), 3 (moderate), and 4 (severe). The IGA score of psoriasis was based upon the average of induration, erythema and scaling scores. The participant's psoriasis was assessed as cleared (0), minimal (1), mild (2), moderate (3), or severe (4).
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) 90 Response at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3% BSA Psoriatic Involvement and an IGA Score of >=2 (Mild) at BaselineAt Week 24PASI is a tool to assess and grade severity of psoriasis and response to therapy. In PASI, body is divided into 4 areas: head, trunk, upper extremities, lower extremities. Each area was assessed separately for percentage of area involved and translated to numeric score ranging from 0 (no involvement) to 6 (90 to 100% involvement), and for erythema, induration, and scaling, each rated on scale of 0 to 4 that is none to maximum severtiy. PASI numeric score range from 0 (no psoriasis) to 72. Higher scores indicate more severe disease. A PASI 90 response: \>=90% improvement in PASI score from baseline.
Change From Baseline in Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score at Week 24Baseline (pre dose Week 0) and Week 24The HAQ-DI is a 20-question instrument that assesses the degree of difficulty a participant has in accomplishing tasks in 8 functional areas (dressing, arising, eating, walking, hygiene, reaching, gripping, and activities of daily living), each scored from 0 (no difficulty) to 3 (inability to perform a task in that area). Overall score was computed as the sum of domain scores and divided by the number of domains answered. Total possible score range 0-3 where 0 = least difficulty and 3 = extreme difficulty. Lower scores are indicative of better functioning. Negative change from baseline indicates improvement of physical function.
Change From Baseline in 36-item Short Form Health Survey (SF-36) Physical Component Summary (PCS) Score at Week 24Baseline (pre dose Week 0) and Week 24SF-36 is a multi-domain instrument with 36 items to evaluate the health status and quality of life. It included 8 subscales (physical functioning, physical role functioning, bodily pain, general health perception, vitality, social functioning, emotional role functioning, and mental health), which yielded a Physical Component Summary (PCS) with score range 0-100 (higher score-better quality of life) and a Mental Component Summary (MCS) with score range 0-100 (higher score-better quality of life) in addition to subscale scores. The PCS scores are normalized to a mean of 50 and standard deviations of 10, based upon general US population norms. A positive change indicates improvement while a negative change indicates worsening of health status and quality of life.
Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F) Score at Week 24Baseline (pre dose Week 0) and Week 24The FACIT-Fatigue is a questionnaire that assesses self-reported tiredness, weakness, and difficulty conducting usual activities due to fatigue. The subscale consists 13-item instrument to measure fatigue. Each of the 13 items has a set of five response categories: Not at all (=0), A little bit (=1), Somewhat (=2), Quite a bit (=3) and Very much (=4). A total FACIT-Fatigue subscale score was calculated as the sum of the 13 item scores (reserved scores \[4 - score\]) and ranges from 0 to 52, with a higher score indicating less fatigue. Positive changes from baseline indicate improvement of fatigue. Items were reverse scored when appropriate to provide a scale in which higher scores represent better functioning or less fatigue.
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Minimal Disease Activity (MDA) at Week 24At Week 24MDA is a measure that defines a satisfactory state of disease activity that includes 5 domains of PsA (joint symptoms, skin psoriasis, patient's perspective of pain and disease activity on arthritis and psoriasis, physical function and enthesitis). Participants were classified as achieving MDA if they fulfilled 5 of the following 7 criteria at that visit: Tender joint count (68 joints)\<=1, Swollen joint count (66 joints) \<=1, Psoriasis activity and severity index \<=1, Patient's Assessment of Pain \<=15 on a 100-unit VAS, Patient's Global Assessment of Disease Activity (arthritis and psoriasis) \<=20 on a 100-unit VAS, HAQ-DI score \<=0.5, and Tender entheseal points \<= 1 (LEI index score \<= 1).
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 20 Response at Week 16At Week 16ACR 20 response: \>=20% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=20% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 16At Week 16ACR 50 response: \>=50% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=50% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 24At Week 24ACR 50 response: \>=50% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=50% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 70 Response at Week 24At Week 24ACR 70 response: \>=70% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=70% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.
Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs)From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Related AEs (TERAEs)From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Treatment Emergent AEs Leading to Discontinuation of Study InterventionFrom first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Percentage of Participants With InfectionsFrom first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Percentage of Participants With Injection-site ReactionsFrom first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Percentage of Participants With Infusion Related ReactionsFrom first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Number of Participants With Post-baseline Laboratory Abnormalities With Maximum Toxicity Grade Greater Than or Equal to >=3 Based on Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112
Serum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeAt Weeks 0, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20,and 24Serum concentrations of guselkumab over time was reported.
Number of Participants With Antibodies to GuselkumabBaseline (pre dose Week 0) up to Week 24Number of participants with antibodies to guselkumab (ADA) were reported. A validated immunoassay was used to detect ADA.

Countries

Argentina, Australia, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Israel, Malaysia, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russia, Spain, Turkey (Türkiye), Ukraine, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORJanssen Research & Development, LLC Clinical Trial

Janssen Research & Development, LLC

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo
Participants received placebo matched to guselkumab subcutaneous (SC) injections every 4 weeks (q4w) from Week 0 through Week 20. At Week 24, participants crossed over to receive guselkumab 100 mg sc injections every 4 weeks from Week 24 through Week 100.
150
Guselkumab 100 mg q8w
Participants received guselkumab 100 mg SC injections at Weeks 0 and 4, then every 8 weeks (q8w) from Week 12 to Week 100 and placebo matched to guselkumab SC injections at Week 8 then q8w through Week 96 to maintain the blind.
151
Guselkumab 100 mg q4w
Participants received guselkumab 100 mg subcutaneous injections every 4 weeks from Week 0 through to end of study.
150
Total451

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicGuselkumab 100 mg q8wPlaceboGuselkumab 100 mg q4wTotal
Age, Continuous51.9 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.91
49.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.59
50.6 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.29
50.6 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.95
Age, Customized
Adults (18-64 years)
126 Participants132 Participants127 Participants385 Participants
Age, Customized
From 65 to 84 years
25 Participants18 Participants23 Participants66 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
18 Participants22 Participants18 Participants58 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
128 Participants127 Participants132 Participants387 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
5 Participants1 Participants0 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants2 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants3 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants4 Participants5 Participants15 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
143 Participants141 Participants141 Participants425 Participants
Region of Enrollment
ARGENTINA
9 Participants7 Participants8 Participants24 Participants
Region of Enrollment
BULGARIA
17 Participants15 Participants21 Participants53 Participants
Region of Enrollment
CZECH REPUBLIC
10 Participants10 Participants7 Participants27 Participants
Region of Enrollment
HUNGARY
7 Participants8 Participants9 Participants24 Participants
Region of Enrollment
ISRAEL
5 Participants3 Participants2 Participants10 Participants
Region of Enrollment
MALAYSIA
0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
POLAND
42 Participants39 Participants38 Participants119 Participants
Region of Enrollment
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
13 Participants10 Participants5 Participants28 Participants
Region of Enrollment
SPAIN
1 Participants2 Participants4 Participants7 Participants
Region of Enrollment
TURKEY
4 Participants5 Participants4 Participants13 Participants
Region of Enrollment
UKRAINE
14 Participants18 Participants18 Participants50 Participants
Region of Enrollment
UNITED STATES
29 Participants32 Participants32 Participants93 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
77 Participants85 Participants75 Participants237 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
74 Participants65 Participants75 Participants214 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 1490 / 1511 / 150
other
Total, other adverse events
18 / 14924 / 15116 / 150
serious
Total, serious adverse events
6 / 1494 / 1512 / 150

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved an American College of Rheumatology (ACR) 20 Response at Week 24

ACR 20 response: \>=20% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=20% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.

Time frame: At Week 24

Population: Full analysis set (FAS) included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved an American College of Rheumatology (ACR) 20 Response at Week 2435.9 Percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved an American College of Rheumatology (ACR) 20 Response at Week 2463.0 Percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved an American College of Rheumatology (ACR) 20 Response at Week 2460.9 Percentage of participants
Secondary

Change From Baseline in 36-item Short Form Health Survey (SF-36) Physical Component Summary (PCS) Score at Week 24

SF-36 is a multi-domain instrument with 36 items to evaluate the health status and quality of life. It included 8 subscales (physical functioning, physical role functioning, bodily pain, general health perception, vitality, social functioning, emotional role functioning, and mental health), which yielded a Physical Component Summary (PCS) with score range 0-100 (higher score-better quality of life) and a Mental Component Summary (MCS) with score range 0-100 (higher score-better quality of life) in addition to subscale scores. The PCS scores are normalized to a mean of 50 and standard deviations of 10, based upon general US population norms. A positive change indicates improvement while a negative change indicates worsening of health status and quality of life.

Time frame: Baseline (pre dose Week 0) and Week 24

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses. Missing data were imputed using Multiple Imputation (MI) after applying the Intercurrent Event (ICE) strategies. N (overall number of participants analyzed) included all participants with change data at Week 24 after applying the ICE Strategy and Missing Data Imputation.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgChange From Baseline in 36-item Short Form Health Survey (SF-36) Physical Component Summary (PCS) Score at Week 243.705 units on a scale
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wChange From Baseline in 36-item Short Form Health Survey (SF-36) Physical Component Summary (PCS) Score at Week 246.986 units on a scale
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wChange From Baseline in 36-item Short Form Health Survey (SF-36) Physical Component Summary (PCS) Score at Week 247.027 units on a scale
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F) Score at Week 24

The FACIT-Fatigue is a questionnaire that assesses self-reported tiredness, weakness, and difficulty conducting usual activities due to fatigue. The subscale consists 13-item instrument to measure fatigue. Each of the 13 items has a set of five response categories: Not at all (=0), A little bit (=1), Somewhat (=2), Quite a bit (=3) and Very much (=4). A total FACIT-Fatigue subscale score was calculated as the sum of the 13 item scores (reserved scores \[4 - score\]) and ranges from 0 to 52, with a higher score indicating less fatigue. Positive changes from baseline indicate improvement of fatigue. Items were reverse scored when appropriate to provide a scale in which higher scores represent better functioning or less fatigue.

Time frame: Baseline (pre dose Week 0) and Week 24

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses. Missing data were imputed using MI after applying the ICE strategies. N (overall number of participants analyzed) included all participants with change data at Week 24 after applying the ICE Strategy and Missing Data Imputation.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgChange From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F) Score at Week 243.9 units on a scale
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wChange From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F) Score at Week 247.8 units on a scale
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wChange From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-F) Score at Week 248.4 units on a scale
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score at Week 24

The HAQ-DI is a 20-question instrument that assesses the degree of difficulty a participant has in accomplishing tasks in 8 functional areas (dressing, arising, eating, walking, hygiene, reaching, gripping, and activities of daily living), each scored from 0 (no difficulty) to 3 (inability to perform a task in that area). Overall score was computed as the sum of domain scores and divided by the number of domains answered. Total possible score range 0-3 where 0 = least difficulty and 3 = extreme difficulty. Lower scores are indicative of better functioning. Negative change from baseline indicates improvement of physical function.

Time frame: Baseline (pre dose Week 0) and Week 24

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgChange From Baseline in Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score at Week 24-0.2359 units on a scale
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wChange From Baseline in Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score at Week 24-0.3955 units on a scale
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wChange From Baseline in Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index (HAQ-DI) Score at Week 24-0.4159 units on a scale
Secondary

Number of Participants With Antibodies to Guselkumab

Number of participants with antibodies to guselkumab (ADA) were reported. A validated immunoassay was used to detect ADA.

Time frame: Baseline (pre dose Week 0) up to Week 24

Population: Immunogenicity analysis set included all participants who received at least one (complete or partial) administration of guselkumab and who had at least 1 sample obtained after their first administration of guselkumab.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgNumber of Participants With Antibodies to Guselkumab6 Participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wNumber of Participants With Antibodies to Guselkumab17 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Post-baseline Laboratory Abnormalities With Maximum Toxicity Grade Greater Than or Equal to >=3 Based on Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 20 Response at Week 16

ACR 20 response: \>=20% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=20% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.

Time frame: At Week 16

Population: Full analysis set (FAS) included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 20 Response at Week 1630.7 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 20 Response at Week 1657.5 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 20 Response at Week 1653.2 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 16

ACR 50 response: \>=50% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=50% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.

Time frame: At Week 16

Population: Full analysis set (FAS) included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 1610.1 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 1628.8 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 1625.0 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 24

ACR 50 response: \>=50% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=50% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.

Time frame: At Week 24

Population: Full analysis set (FAS) included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 2412.7 percantage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 2432.9 percantage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 50 Response at Week 2433.3 percantage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 70 Response at Week 24

ACR 70 response: \>=70% improvement from baseline in both swollen joint count (66 joints) and tender joint count (68 joints), and \>=70% improvement from baseline in 3 of 5 assessments: patient's assessment of pain using visual analog scale (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no pain and 100=worst possible pain), patient's global assessment of disease activity (arthritis, VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=excellent and 100= poor), physician's global assessment of disease activity (VAS; 0-100 mm, 0=no arthritis activity and 100=extremely active arthritis), patient's assessment of physical function measured by Disability Index of Health Assessment Questionnaire (HAQ-DI; 20-question instrument assessing 8 functional areas; range: 0-3, 0= no difficulty, 3= inability to perform task in that area), and CRP.

Time frame: At Week 24

Population: Full analysis set (FAS) included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 70 Response at Week 242.1 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 70 Response at Week 2417.8 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved ACR 70 Response at Week 2419.0 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved a Psoriasis Response of Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Psoriasis Score of 0 or 1 and >=2 Grade Reduction From Baseline at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3 Percent(%) Body Surface Area (BSA)

A psoriasis IGA response was defined as an IGA score of 0 (cleared) or 1 (minimal) and greater than equal to (\>=2) grade reduction from baseline in the IGA psoriasis score. The IGA documents the investigator's assessment of the patient's psoriasis and lesions are graded for induration, erythema and scaling, each using a 5 point scale: 0 (no evidence), 1 (minimal), 2 (mild), 3 (moderate), and 4 (severe). The IGA score of psoriasis was based upon the average of induration, erythema and scaling scores. The participant's psoriasis was assessed as cleared (0), minimal (1), mild (2), moderate (3), or severe (4).

Time frame: At Week 24

Population: Full analysis set included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses among the participants who had \>=3% BSA psoriatic involvement and an IGA score of \>=2 (mild) at baseline. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved a Psoriasis Response of Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Psoriasis Score of 0 or 1 and >=2 Grade Reduction From Baseline at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3 Percent(%) Body Surface Area (BSA)18.8 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved a Psoriasis Response of Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Psoriasis Score of 0 or 1 and >=2 Grade Reduction From Baseline at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3 Percent(%) Body Surface Area (BSA)60.7 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved a Psoriasis Response of Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Psoriasis Score of 0 or 1 and >=2 Grade Reduction From Baseline at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3 Percent(%) Body Surface Area (BSA)56.8 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Minimal Disease Activity (MDA) at Week 24

MDA is a measure that defines a satisfactory state of disease activity that includes 5 domains of PsA (joint symptoms, skin psoriasis, patient's perspective of pain and disease activity on arthritis and psoriasis, physical function and enthesitis). Participants were classified as achieving MDA if they fulfilled 5 of the following 7 criteria at that visit: Tender joint count (68 joints)\<=1, Swollen joint count (66 joints) \<=1, Psoriasis activity and severity index \<=1, Patient's Assessment of Pain \<=15 on a 100-unit VAS, Patient's Global Assessment of Disease Activity (arthritis and psoriasis) \<=20 on a 100-unit VAS, HAQ-DI score \<=0.5, and Tender entheseal points \<= 1 (LEI index score \<= 1).

Time frame: At Week 24

Population: Full analysis set included all participants who were randomized in the study and were included in analyses. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Minimal Disease Activity (MDA) at Week 245.6 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Minimal Disease Activity (MDA) at Week 2424.8 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Minimal Disease Activity (MDA) at Week 2420.4 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) 90 Response at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3% BSA Psoriatic Involvement and an IGA Score of >=2 (Mild) at Baseline

PASI is a tool to assess and grade severity of psoriasis and response to therapy. In PASI, body is divided into 4 areas: head, trunk, upper extremities, lower extremities. Each area was assessed separately for percentage of area involved and translated to numeric score ranging from 0 (no involvement) to 6 (90 to 100% involvement), and for erythema, induration, and scaling, each rated on scale of 0 to 4 that is none to maximum severtiy. PASI numeric score range from 0 (no psoriasis) to 72. Higher scores indicate more severe disease. A PASI 90 response: \>=90% improvement in PASI score from baseline.

Time frame: At Week 24

Population: Full analysis set included all participants who were randomized in the study and included in the analyses among the participants who had \>=3% BSA psoriatic involvement and an IGA score of \>=2 (mild) at baseline. Here, 'N' (number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) 90 Response at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3% BSA Psoriatic Involvement and an IGA Score of >=2 (Mild) at Baseline12.5 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) 90 Response at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3% BSA Psoriatic Involvement and an IGA Score of >=2 (Mild) at Baseline47.6 percentage of participants
Guselkumab 100 mg q4wPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) 90 Response at Week 24 Among the Participants With >=3% BSA Psoriatic Involvement and an IGA Score of >=2 (Mild) at Baseline54.9 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Infections

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Infusion Related Reactions

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Injection-site Reactions

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Related AEs (TERAEs)

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs)

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Population: Safety Analysis Set included all participants who received at least one (complete or partial) administration of any study intervention, i.e. the treated population.

Secondary

Serum Guselkumab Concentration Over Time

Serum concentrations of guselkumab over time was reported.

Time frame: At Weeks 0, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20,and 24

Population: Pharmacokinetics (PK) analysis set all participants who received at least one complete administration of guselkumab and had at least one valid blood sample drawn for PK analysis. Here 'N' (overall number of participants analyzed) signifies number of participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure. Here 'n' (number analyzed) signifies number of participants analyzed at specified timepoints.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 83.23 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 1.789
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 162.79 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 1.436
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 42.22 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 1.162
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 200.90 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 0.603
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 121.10 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 0.745
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 242.71 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 1.347
Placebo Followed by Guselkumab 100 mgSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 00.00 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 0.003
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 243.79 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 2.288
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 00.00 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 0.004
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 42.32 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 1.331
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 83.16 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 1.74
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 123.45 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 2.038
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 163.58 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 2.119
Guselkumab 100 mg q8wSerum Guselkumab Concentration Over TimeWeek 203.61 micrograms/milliliters (mcg/mL)Standard Deviation 2.013
Secondary

Treatment Emergent AEs Leading to Discontinuation of Study Intervention

Time frame: From first administration of study drug (Week 0) up to Week 112

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Aug 21, 2026