Skip to content

A Trial to Investigate Recovery From COVID-19 With C21 in Adult Subjects

A Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled, Parallel-group, Phase 3, Multicenter Trial Investigating the Efficacy and Safety of C21 as add-on to Standard of Care in Adult Subjects With COVID-19

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04880642
Acronym
ATTRACT-3
Enrollment
272
Registered
2021-05-11
Start date
2021-09-16
Completion date
2022-04-25
Last updated
2023-12-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

COVID-19

Brief summary

This trial is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group, 2-arm, multicenter trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of C21 versus placebo as add-on to standard of care (SoC) in adult subjects with COVID-19. The trial planned to enroll a total of maximum 300 randomized subjects, 150 per arm (oral C21 100 mg twice a day (BID) or placebo for 14 days) according to the 1:1 randomization.

Detailed description

The trial consists of 3 consecutive periods: a screening period of up to 48 hours, a 2-week investigational medicinal product (IMP) treatment period and a follow-up period of up to 7 weeks after last IMP intake. All subjects went through a series of efficacy, safety, and laboratory assessments. Safety laboratory tests and samples for future exploratory analysis were obtained at the screening visit. The trial duration for an individual subject was not exceeded 9 weeks.

Interventions

DRUGC21

C21

DRUGPlacebo

Placebo

Sponsors

Vicore Pharma AB
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Age ≥18 years or the legal age of consent in the jurisdiction in which the trial was taking place at the time of signing the informed consent (Specific for India; Age ≥18 to ≤65 years at the time of signing the informed consent) 2. Hospitalized due to SARS-CoV-2 infection confirmed by a hospital-approved polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test, documented by either of the following: 1. PCR positive in sample collected \<72 hours prior to randomization (Visit 2); OR 2. PCR positive in sample collected ≥72 hours and ≤7 days prior to randomization, documented inability to obtain a repeat sample AND progressive disease suggestive of ongoing SARS-CoV-2 infection 3. A score of 5 or 6 on the 8-point ordinal scale: 1. Score 5: Hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen 2. Score 6: Hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high-flow oxygen device 4. Contraceptive use by men and women of childbearing potential consistent with local regulations regarding the methods of contraception for those participating in clinical studies and according to Appendix 3 in the Protocol (see Section 10.3) 5. Written informed consent, consistent with International Council for Harmonization Good Clinical Practice Revision 2 and local laws, obtained before the initiation of any trial-related procedure 6. Capable of giving signed informed consent as described in Appendix 1 in the Protocol (see Section 10.1.3) which includes compliance with the requirements and restrictions listed in the informed consent form and in this Protocol Country specific: 7. Specific for India: For subjects with an ordinal scale score of 5, moderate to severe COVID-19 disease confirmed by at an SpO2≤93 % or a respiratory rate≥24/min on room air. Note: If a subject was on supplemental oxygen with SpO2\>93% and respiratory rate\<24/min, but desaturation to ≤93 % or increase of respiratory rate to ≥24/min on lower supplemental oxygen or room air is documented during screening, the inclusion criterion was considered to be met.

Exclusion criteria

1. Concurrent serious medical condition which in the opinion of the investigator constituted a risk or a contraindication for the participation in the trial or that could interfere with the trial objectives, conduct or evaluation 2. Known, active tuberculosis, active hepatitis B, C, or human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection (i.e., HIV with a CD4 count\<500 cells/mm³). 3. Moderate or severe impairment of hepatic function (e.g., Child-Pugh class B or C where alterations in the score components were not due to another underlying disease (see Section 8.4.5 in the Protocol)). 4. Severe renal impairment (i.e., estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR)≤30 ml/min/1.73m2) 5. COVID-19 symptom onset \>21 days prior to screening (Visit 1). 6. Hospitalized due to COVID-19 for \>72 hours at screening (Visit 1). 7. Invasive mechanical ventilation or ECMO within 72 hours of screening (Visit 1). 8. Expected need for invasive mechanical ventilation or ECMO in \<48 hours in the opinion of the investigator 9. Moderate to severe ARDS (e.g., same-day PaO2/FiO2 ≤200 mmHg; or SpO2/FiO2 ≤232 if arterial blood gas test is not available), if on non-invasive mechanical ventilation or high-flow oxygen. 10. Pregnant or breast-feeding female subjects 11. Any previous and concurrent experimental treatment for COVID-19 that was not considered local SoC. 12. Treatment with the medications listed below within 1 week prior to screening (Visit 1) or anticipated need for such medication during the participation in this trial: 1. Strong Cytochrome P450 (CYP) 3A4 inducers. 2. P-glycoprotein (P-gp) substrates with narrow therapeutic index. 3. High dose Breast Cancer Resistance Protein (BCRP) sensitive substrates. 4. Warfarin. 5. Sulphasalazine or rosuvastatin. 13. Current or previous participation in any other clinical trial where the subject had received a dose of IMP within 1 month or 5 half-lives of the IMP, whichever was longest, prior to screening (Visit 1). 14. Positive pregnancy test (see Section 8.4.6 in the Protocol). 15. Abnormal laboratory value at screening (Visit 1) indicating a potential risk for the subject if enrolled in the trial as evaluated by the investigator

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
All-cause Mortality up to Day 60Day 1 to Day 60Proportion of subjects in the mITT (all randomised, including 5 subjects not treated) with death up to Day 60 follow-up

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Time to Sustained Hospital Discharge up to Day 60Day 1 to Day 60Time to sustained hospital discharge from Day 1 to Day 60: Time to sustained hospital discharge was defined as the time to the date of discharge from the initial hospitalization or re-hospitalization due to COVID-19 after which the subject was not re-hospitalized for COVID-19 related reasons.
Supplemental Oxygen-free Days up to Day 29Day 1 to Day 29, maximum 28 DaysSupplemental oxygen-free days from Day 1 up to Day 29, observed range 0 to 28 days. Subjects with deaths imputed as -1 day according to SAP and FDA guidance. Outcome was identical in both groups for both median and range
Proportion of Subjects Free of Respiratory Failure, Defined as an 8-point Ordinal Scale Score ≤5, at Day 15Day 15Proportion of subjects free of respiratory failure, defined as an 8-point ordinal scale score ≤5, at Day 15. Missing data imputed by MI, proportion given are average over the imputations.
Proportion of Subjects Discharged From Hospital and Free of Supplemental Oxygen at Day 15Day 15Proportion of subjects discharged from hospital and free of supplemental oxygen at Day 15. Missing data imputed by MI, proportion given are average over the imputations.

Countries

Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Czechia, India, Philippines, Russia, South Africa, Ukraine, United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

316 subjects were screened. Of those, 44 subjects were screening failures, 39 for failure to meet eligibility criteria, 3 due to withdrawal by the subject, and 2 for other reasons. The remaining 272 subjects were randomized. 5 of the randomized subjects did not receive treatment. The screening period was from signing of ICF until randomization.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
C21 Treatment
Oral C21 treatment 100 mg twice daily for 14 days
136
Placebo Treatment
Oral placebo treatment twice daily for 14 days
136
Total272

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Follow-upDeath43
Follow-upWithdrawal by Subject10
RandomizationWithdrawal by Subject23
Treatment PeriodAdverse Event01
Treatment PeriodDeath66
Treatment PeriodDiscontinuation criteria of eGFR01
Treatment PeriodLost to Follow-up10
Treatment PeriodProtocol Violation01
Treatment PeriodWithdrawal by Subject53

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicC21 TreatmentPlacebo TreatmentTotal
Age, Continuous53.5 years56.5 years55.0 years
Body mass index28.71 Kg/m^228.14 Kg/m^228.42 Kg/m^2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants6 Participants12 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
127 Participants127 Participants254 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants3 Participants6 Participants
Height168.8 Cm167.6 Cm168.2 Cm
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
43 Participants45 Participants88 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
3 Participants1 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
90 Participants87 Participants177 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Brazil
4 participants5 participants9 participants
Region of Enrollment
Colombia
2 participants0 participants2 participants
Region of Enrollment
Czechia
20 participants19 participants39 participants
Region of Enrollment
India
38 participants38 participants76 participants
Region of Enrollment
Philippines
3 participants5 participants8 participants
Region of Enrollment
Russia
9 participants7 participants16 participants
Region of Enrollment
South Africa
2 participants3 participants5 participants
Region of Enrollment
Ukraine
54 participants55 participants109 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
4 participants4 participants8 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
57 Participants63 Participants120 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
79 Participants73 Participants152 Participants
Weight81.89 Kg79.26 Kg80.58 Kg

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
10 / 13610 / 136
other
Total, other adverse events
22 / 13424 / 133
serious
Total, serious adverse events
15 / 13413 / 133

Outcome results

Primary

All-cause Mortality up to Day 60

Proportion of subjects in the mITT (all randomised, including 5 subjects not treated) with death up to Day 60 follow-up

Time frame: Day 1 to Day 60

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
C21 TreatmentAll-cause Mortality up to Day 60Censored126 Participants
C21 TreatmentAll-cause Mortality up to Day 60Death10 Participants
Placebo TreatmentAll-cause Mortality up to Day 60Death10 Participants
Placebo TreatmentAll-cause Mortality up to Day 60Censored126 Participants
p-value: 0.94995% CI: [0.4, 2.36]Log Rank
Secondary

Proportion of Subjects Discharged From Hospital and Free of Supplemental Oxygen at Day 15

Proportion of subjects discharged from hospital and free of supplemental oxygen at Day 15. Missing data imputed by MI, proportion given are average over the imputations.

Time frame: Day 15

Population: ITT

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
C21 TreatmentProportion of Subjects Discharged From Hospital and Free of Supplemental Oxygen at Day 150.676 proportion of responders
Placebo TreatmentProportion of Subjects Discharged From Hospital and Free of Supplemental Oxygen at Day 150.679 proportion of responders
p-value: 0.94895% CI: [-11.4, 10.6]Regression, Logistic
Secondary

Proportion of Subjects Free of Respiratory Failure, Defined as an 8-point Ordinal Scale Score ≤5, at Day 15

Proportion of subjects free of respiratory failure, defined as an 8-point ordinal scale score ≤5, at Day 15. Missing data imputed by MI, proportion given are average over the imputations.

Time frame: Day 15

Population: ITT

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
C21 TreatmentProportion of Subjects Free of Respiratory Failure, Defined as an 8-point Ordinal Scale Score ≤5, at Day 150.884 proportion of responders
Placebo TreatmentProportion of Subjects Free of Respiratory Failure, Defined as an 8-point Ordinal Scale Score ≤5, at Day 150.901 proportion of responders
p-value: 0.67195% CI: [-9.3, 6]Regression, Logistic
Secondary

Supplemental Oxygen-free Days up to Day 29

Supplemental oxygen-free days from Day 1 up to Day 29, observed range 0 to 28 days. Subjects with deaths imputed as -1 day according to SAP and FDA guidance. Outcome was identical in both groups for both median and range

Time frame: Day 1 to Day 29, maximum 28 Days

Population: ITT

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
C21 TreatmentSupplemental Oxygen-free Days up to Day 2923.0 Days
Placebo TreatmentSupplemental Oxygen-free Days up to Day 2923.0 Days
p-value: 0.42595% CI: [-1, 1]Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Time to Sustained Hospital Discharge up to Day 60

Time to sustained hospital discharge from Day 1 to Day 60: Time to sustained hospital discharge was defined as the time to the date of discharge from the initial hospitalization or re-hospitalization due to COVID-19 after which the subject was not re-hospitalized for COVID-19 related reasons.

Time frame: Day 1 to Day 60

Population: ITT

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
C21 TreatmentTime to Sustained Hospital Discharge up to Day 609.0 Days
Placebo TreatmentTime to Sustained Hospital Discharge up to Day 609.0 Days
p-value: 0.30195% CI: [0.91, 1.52]Log Rank

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 20, 2026