Skip to content

A Study of Atezolizumab and Bevacizumab in Hepatocellular Carcinoma

A Phase II Study of Atezolizumab and Bevacizumab in Child-Pugh B7 and B8 Hepatocellular Carcinoma (The AB7 Trial)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04829383
Acronym
AB7
Enrollment
6
Registered
2021-04-02
Start date
2021-03-22
Completion date
2024-10-15
Last updated
2026-06-16

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Unresectable Hepatocellular Carcinoma

Brief summary

This will be a nonrandomized, single arm feasibility study with the primary goal of evaluating the safety profile of the combination of atezolizumab and bevacizumab in patients with advanced/metastatic HCC with Child-Pugh B7 and B8 liver disease who have received no prior systemic therapy.

Interventions

DRUGAtezolizumab

1,200 mg

DRUGBevacizumab

15 mg/kg

Sponsors

Howard S Hochster
Lead SponsorOTHER
Genentech, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
CollaboratorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Subject must meet all of the following applicable inclusion criteria to participate in this study: * Written informed consent and HIPAA authorization for release of personal health information must be obtained either from the subject or their representative. See protocol. NOTE: HIPAA authorization may be included in the informed consent or obtained separately. * Age ≥ 18 years at the time of consent. * ECOG Performance Status of 0-1. * Locally advanced, metastatic, or unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma that has not received prior systemic therapy. Note: if no prior histologic diagnosis exists, prefer fresh biopsy if it is both safe and feasible. If fresh biopsy is not safe and feasible, imaging criteria may be used for diagnosis as per AASLD criteria in cirrhotic patients (please see www.aasld.org for up to date guidelines). * Child Pugh Class B7 or B8 liver dysfunction or cirrhosis with the following limitations: * Bilirubin ≤ 3 mg/dL * Albumin ≥ 2.8 g/dL * INR ≤ 1.7 * Absent to slight \[CP=1 to 2\] (no moderate \[CP=3\]) ascites (Also see

Exclusion criteria

). * No clinically significant encephalopathy (Also see

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Grade 3-5 Adverse EventsAdverse Events have been recorded from the time of consent until 30 days after treatment discontinuation of study drugs or until a new anti-cancer treatment starts, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 10 monthsNumber of participants with grade 3-5 treatment-related adverse event reported by CTCAE v5 term and grade

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response Rate (ORR)Up to a maximum of 11 monthsPer Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1): Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
Disease Control Rate (DCR)Up to a maximum of 11 months.Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response(CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. DCR defined as the proportion of patients who have a CR, PR or SD for at least 16 weeks according to RECIST v1.1
Duration of Response (DOR)Up to a maximum of 11 monthsPer Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response(CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. Duration of response (DOR) defined as the the length of time from the first occurrence of an objective response to disease progression or death from any cause according to RECIST v1.1
Overall Survival (OS)Up to a maximum of 11 months.Overall survival (OS) defined as the time from start of treatment to death from any cause. Participants who were alive at the time of analysis were censored at their last known date alive.
Progression-free Survival (PFS)Up to a maximum of 11 months.Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response(CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. Progression-free survival (PFS) defined as the time from start of treatment to disease progression or death from any cause according to RECIST v1.1

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORHoward S Hochster, DO, MPH

Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
5 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
1 Participants
ECOG
0
0 Participants
ECOG
1
5 Participants
ECOG
Vital Sign Not Collected
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
5 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
6 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
4 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
4 / 6

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 17, 2026