Skip to content

Efficacy and Safety of APP13007 for Treatment of Inflammation and Pain After Cataract Surgery Including a Corneal Endothelial Cell Sub-study

A Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Masked, Placebo-Controlled, Parallel-Group Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of APP13007 for the Treatment of Inflammation and Pain After Cataract Surgery, Including a Corneal Endothelial Cell Sub-study

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04810962
Enrollment
370
Registered
2021-03-23
Start date
2021-03-16
Completion date
2022-07-06
Last updated
2023-07-25

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Ocular Inflammation and Pain After Cataract Surgery

Brief summary

This Phase 3 study will evaluate APP13007 in comparison to the matching vehicle placebo in a randomized, parallel-group, double-masked fashion. The subjects will have undergone routine cataract surgery on Day 0 of the study and will be assessed the next day (Post-operative Day; POD1) after uncomplicated surgery for eligibility for randomization to study treatment. The study comprises the Main Study and the Endothelial Cell Sub-study.

Interventions

APP13007 eye drop, 0.05%

Matching vehicle placebo eye drop

Sponsors

Formosa Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients 18 years of age or older expected to undergo unilateral uncomplicated cataract extraction via phacoemulsification and posterior chamber intraocular lens implantation in one eye. * Have a pin-hole corrected visual acuity without other correction of ≤ 1.3 logarithm of the minimum angle of resolution (logMAR) in the study eye to be operated and contralateral eye as measured using an Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) chart at Visit 1. * Willing and able to comply with study requirements and visit schedule. * Provide signed and dated informed consent.

Exclusion criteria

* Have a known sensitivity or allergy to clobetasol propionate, corticosteroids, or any of the study medication's components including benzalkonium chloride and soybean lecithin or any routine medication required during cataract surgery or for the conduct of study procedures * Have an ACC count \> 0 or any evidence of intraocular inflammation (e.g., flare) in either eye at the Screening visit * Have a Grade \> 0 on the Ocular Pain Assessment in either eye at the Screening visit Note: Other inclusion/

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (AEs)From First dose to Postoperative Day 22 (End of Main Study)Number of participants with ocular and systemic treatment-emergent AEs.
Participants With ACC Count = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 8 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 8 and Postoperative Day 15The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy at each study visit and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area.
Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 4 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 4, Postoperative Day 8 and Postoperative Day 15Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 1 = minimal; 2 = mild; 3 = moderate; 4 = severe pain).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 4Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 4 = severe pain).
Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 8Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 4 = severe pain).
Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 15Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 4 = severe pain).
Participants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 4The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 4 = Intense).
Participants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 8The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 4 = Intense).
Participants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 15The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 4 = Intense).
Ocular Pain Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15Baseline and Postoperative Day 15Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 1 = minimal; 2 = mild; 3 = moderate; 4 = severe pain).
Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15Baseline and Postoperative Day 15The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 1 = faint; 2 = moderate; 3 = marked; 4 = Intense).
Best Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD4Baseline and Postoperative Day 4The visual acuity in each eye is corrected using the pinhole method and the acuity is quantified on a logMAR (minimal angle of resolution) scale using the 'Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study' \[ETDRS\] charts for right and left eyes. A logMAR Score is calculated using the letter row on the chart and the number of incorrect letters read by the participant.
Best Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD8Baseline and Postoperative Day 8The visual acuity in each eye is corrected using the pinhole method and the acuity is quantified on a logMAR (minimal angle of resolution) scale using the 'Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study' \[ETDRS\] charts for right and left eyes. A logMAR Score is calculated using the letter row on the chart and the number of incorrect letters read by the participant.
Best Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD15Baseline and Postoperative Day 15The visual acuity in each eye is corrected using the pinhole method and the acuity is quantified on a logMAR (minimal angle of resolution) scale using the 'Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study' \[ETDRS\] charts for right and left eyes. A logMAR Score is calculated using the letter row on the chart and the number of incorrect letters read by the participant.
Participants Using of Anti-inflammatory 'Rescue' Medication Through End-of-TreatmentFirst dose to Postoperative Day 15Participants who do not respond to study treatment after randomization are started on anti-inflammatory medication (referred to as 'Rescue' medication). The number of subjects starting 'Rescue' medication is recorded at each study visit
Anterior Chamber Cell Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15Baseline and Postoperative Day 15The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area using a 5 point grading scale. ACC Grade 0 = 0 cells, ACC grade 1 = 1-5 cells, ACC grade 2 = 6-15 cells, ACC grade 3 = 16-30 cells, ACC grade 4 = \>30 cells
Participants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 8The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy at each study visit and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area.ACC Grade 0 = 0 cells, ACC grade 1 = 1-5 cells, ACC grade 2 = 6-15 cells, ACC grade 3 = 16-30 cells, ACC grade 4 = \>30 cells.
Participants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue MedicationPostoperative Day 15The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy at each study visit and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area. ACC Grade 0 = 0 cells, ACC grade 1 = 1-5 cells, ACC grade 2 = 6-15 cells, ACC grade 3 = 16-30 cells, ACC grade 4 = \>30 cells.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Corneal Endothelial Cell Density - Mean Change From Screening to Postoperative Day 85Screening and Postoperative Day 85Corneal endothelial cell density in the Operated Study Eye (units: cells/mm2) was measured from the corneal endothelial cell images obtained using a specular microscope.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A multi-center US study in which 29 sites recruited subjects between March 2021 and March 2022.

Pre-assignment details

Pre-assignment Details Of 466 enrolled participants, 370 met inclusion criteria and were randomized to treatment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
APP13007 0.05% BID
1 drop APP13007 0.05% twice daily for 14 days to study (operated) eye APP13007, 0.05%: APP13007 eye drop, 0.05%
185
Matching Vehicle Placebo
1 drop matching vehicle placebo twice daily for 14 days to study (operated) eye Matching Vehicle Placebo for APP13007, 0.05%: Matching vehicle placebo eye drop
185
Total370

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event01
Overall StudyIP NOT AVAILABLE; REMAINED OUT OF THE COUNTRY; NON STUDY EYE NOT ELIGIBLE ON ENDOTHELIAL CELL COUNT21
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up21
Overall StudyPhysician Decision10
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject13

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAPP13007 0.05% BIDTotalMatching Vehicle Placebo
Age, Continuous67.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.7
67.6 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.1
68.0 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
38 Participants73 Participants35 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
147 Participants297 Participants150 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
15 Participants32 Participants17 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
20 Participants42 Participants22 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
150 Participants295 Participants145 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
185 participants370 participants185 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
98 Participants195 Participants97 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
87 Participants175 Participants88 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 1840 / 185
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 18414 / 185
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 1844 / 185

Outcome results

Primary

Participants With ACC Count = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 8 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue Medication

The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy at each study visit and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area.

Time frame: Postoperative Day 8 and Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With ACC Count = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 8 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue Medication49 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With ACC Count = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 8 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue Medication16 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Primary

Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 4 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue Medication

Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 1 = minimal; 2 = mild; 3 = moderate; 4 = severe pain).

Time frame: Postoperative Day 4, Postoperative Day 8 and Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 4 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue Medication139 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at All Visits From Postoperative Day 4 Through Postoperative Day 15 Without Rescue Medication60 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Primary

Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (AEs)

Number of participants with ocular and systemic treatment-emergent AEs.

Time frame: From First dose to Postoperative Day 22 (End of Main Study)

Population: Safety Population

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (AEs)47 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (AEs)48 Participants
Secondary

Anterior Chamber Cell Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15

The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area using a 5 point grading scale. ACC Grade 0 = 0 cells, ACC grade 1 = 1-5 cells, ACC grade 2 = 6-15 cells, ACC grade 3 = 16-30 cells, ACC grade 4 = \>30 cells

Time frame: Baseline and Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
APP13007 0.05% BIDAnterior Chamber Cell Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15-2.1 grade on a scaleStandard Error 0.1
Matching Vehicle PlaceboAnterior Chamber Cell Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15-1.0 grade on a scaleStandard Error 0.1
p-value: <0.00195% CI: [-1.4, -1]ANCOVA
Secondary

Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15

The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 1 = faint; 2 = moderate; 3 = marked; 4 = Intense).

Time frame: Baseline and Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
APP13007 0.05% BIDAnterior Chamber Flare (ACF) in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15-0.6 grade on a scaleStandard Error 0
Matching Vehicle PlaceboAnterior Chamber Flare (ACF) in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15-0.2 grade on a scaleStandard Error 0
p-value: <0.00195% CI: [-0.5, -0.3]ANCOVA
Secondary

Best Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD15

The visual acuity in each eye is corrected using the pinhole method and the acuity is quantified on a logMAR (minimal angle of resolution) scale using the 'Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study' \[ETDRS\] charts for right and left eyes. A logMAR Score is calculated using the letter row on the chart and the number of incorrect letters read by the participant.

Time frame: Baseline and Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
APP13007 0.05% BIDBest Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD15-0.10 logMAR scoreStandard Error 0.01
Matching Vehicle PlaceboBest Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD15-0.02 logMAR scoreStandard Error 0.01
p-value: <0.00195% CI: [-0.11, -0.05]ANCOVA
Secondary

Best Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD4

The visual acuity in each eye is corrected using the pinhole method and the acuity is quantified on a logMAR (minimal angle of resolution) scale using the 'Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study' \[ETDRS\] charts for right and left eyes. A logMAR Score is calculated using the letter row on the chart and the number of incorrect letters read by the participant.

Time frame: Baseline and Postoperative Day 4

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
APP13007 0.05% BIDBest Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD4-0.08 logMAR ScoreStandard Error 0.01
Matching Vehicle PlaceboBest Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD4-0.03 logMAR ScoreStandard Error 0.01
p-value: <0.00195% CI: [-0.07, -0.02]ANCOVA
Secondary

Best Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD8

The visual acuity in each eye is corrected using the pinhole method and the acuity is quantified on a logMAR (minimal angle of resolution) scale using the 'Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study' \[ETDRS\] charts for right and left eyes. A logMAR Score is calculated using the letter row on the chart and the number of incorrect letters read by the participant.

Time frame: Baseline and Postoperative Day 8

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
APP13007 0.05% BIDBest Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD8-0.11 logMAR scoreStandard Error 0.01
Matching Vehicle PlaceboBest Corrected Visual Acuity in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD8-0.03 logMAR scoreStandard Error 0.01
p-value: <0.00195% CI: [-0.1, -0.05]ANCOVA
Secondary

Ocular Pain Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15

Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 1 = minimal; 2 = mild; 3 = moderate; 4 = severe pain).

Time frame: Baseline and Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
APP13007 0.05% BIDOcular Pain Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15-0.6 grade on a scaleStandard Error 0.1
Matching Vehicle PlaceboOcular Pain Grade in the Operated Study Eye - Change From Baseline (POD1 Prior to Dosing) to POD 15-0.1 grade on a scaleStandard Error 0.1
p-value: <0.00195% CI: [-0.7, -0.3]ANCOVA
Secondary

Participants Using of Anti-inflammatory 'Rescue' Medication Through End-of-Treatment

Participants who do not respond to study treatment after randomization are started on anti-inflammatory medication (referred to as 'Rescue' medication). The number of subjects starting 'Rescue' medication is recorded at each study visit

Time frame: First dose to Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants Using of Anti-inflammatory 'Rescue' Medication Through End-of-Treatment13 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants Using of Anti-inflammatory 'Rescue' Medication Through End-of-Treatment71 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication

The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy at each study visit and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area. ACC Grade 0 = 0 cells, ACC grade 1 = 1-5 cells, ACC grade 2 = 6-15 cells, ACC grade 3 = 16-30 cells, ACC grade 4 = \>30 cells.

Time frame: Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication107 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication35 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication

The number of cells in the anterior chamber of the eye are counted using slit-lamp biomicroscopy at each study visit and the results are reported as number of cells in a 1mm x 1mm area.ACC Grade 0 = 0 cells, ACC grade 1 = 1-5 cells, ACC grade 2 = 6-15 cells, ACC grade 3 = 16-30 cells, ACC grade 4 = \>30 cells.

Time frame: Postoperative Day 8

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication55 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Anterior Chamber Cell Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication24 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication

The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 4 = Intense).

Time frame: Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication159 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication79 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue Medication

The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 4 = Intense).

Time frame: Postoperative Day 4

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue Medication132 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue Medication89 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication

The degree of turbidity (flare) in the anterior chamber of the eye is measured using slit-lamp biomicroscopy and quantified on a five-point (0-4) anterior chamber flare grade scale (0 = none; 4 = Intense).

Time frame: Postoperative Day 8

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication155 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Anterior Chamber Flare (ACF) = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication90 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication

Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 4 = severe pain).

Time frame: Postoperative Day 15

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication160 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD15 Without Rescue Medication92 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue Medication

Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 4 = severe pain).

Time frame: Postoperative Day 4

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue Medication158 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD4 Without Rescue Medication95 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Participants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication

Ocular pain is measured in the eye using a subject-reported five-point (0-4) ocular pain grade scale (0 = no pain; 4 = severe pain).

Time frame: Postoperative Day 8

Population: Intent to Treat Population. Last observation carried forward (LOCF) imputation method.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
APP13007 0.05% BIDParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication161 Participants
Matching Vehicle PlaceboParticipants With Ocular Pain Grade = 0 in the Operated Study Eye at POD8 Without Rescue Medication86 Participants
p-value: <0.001Chi-squared
Other Pre-specified

Corneal Endothelial Cell Density - Mean Change From Screening to Postoperative Day 85

Corneal endothelial cell density in the Operated Study Eye (units: cells/mm2) was measured from the corneal endothelial cell images obtained using a specular microscope.

Time frame: Screening and Postoperative Day 85

Population: Safety Population for Sub-study Participants

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
APP13007 0.05% BIDCorneal Endothelial Cell Density - Mean Change From Screening to Postoperative Day 85-276 cells/mm2Standard Deviation 408
Matching Vehicle PlaceboCorneal Endothelial Cell Density - Mean Change From Screening to Postoperative Day 85-354 cells/mm2Standard Deviation 437

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026