Skip to content

Dronabinol in Total Knee Arthroplasty (TKA)

Effects of Perioperative Dronabinol Use in Total Knee Arthroplasty

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04734080
Enrollment
114
Registered
2021-02-02
Start date
2021-03-09
Completion date
2024-04-01
Last updated
2026-03-27

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Opioid Use, Total Knee Arthroplasty

Keywords

Knee Arthroplasty, Dronabinol, Opioid

Brief summary

The goal of this double-blinded randomized controlled trial is to compare whether the addition of Dronabinol compared to a placebo will affect opioid intake in patients undergoing a total knee arthroplasty. The main question it aims to answer are: 1. Does perioperative dronabinol use (starting in the immediate preoperative period (enrollment before 1 PM), with BID dosing concluding the evening of POD2) affect postoperative opioid consumption 24-48 hours following total knee arthroplasty? 2. Is there an effect of perioperative dronabinol use in the total knee arthroplasty patient on POD2 pain scores with ambulation? 3. Will hospital length of stay following total knee arthroplasty be affected in patients who use perioperative dronabinol as compared to control? 4. Does the use of perioperative dronabinol affect time to reach physical therapy discharge goals in postoperative total knee arthroplasty patients? 5. Is there a change in number of postoperative oxygen desaturation events in patients following total knee arthroplasty based on perioperative dronabinol use? Participants will: * Be randomized to take the dronabinol or placebo medication in 5 dosage * Answer survey questions in regard to pain, postop nausea/vomiting, cognitive/adverse event, and outcome quality and support of decision making. * Be connected to a Masimo to record oxygen saturation and an Actigraph to record sleep quality. Researchers will compare two groups: 1) intervention group and 2) control group to see if dronabinol affects postoperative opioid consumption 24-48 hours following their total knee arthroplasty surgery.

Detailed description

The objective of this study is to examine the possible therapeutic advantages of administering perioperative dronabinol to individuals who are undergoing unilateral total knee arthroplasty (TKA). With the utilization of contemporary regional anesthetic procedures and peripheral nerve blocks, pain management is typically effective in the immediate aftermath of total knee arthroplasty (TKA) within the first day after surgery. Rebound pain is shown to occur on the second day following postoperative discharge (POD2), once the analgesic blocks administered during the procedure have ceased to be effective. Previous studies have suggested that dronabinol, a synthetic form of THC, may have potential analgesic properties. Our goal is to find out if giving dronabinol before surgery could lower the number of opioids that people need on postoperative day 2 (POD2) in people who are having total knee arthroplasty (TKA). This research could provide valuable insights into alternative pain management strategies for TKA patients, potentially minimizing opioid-related side effects and improving overall patient outcomes.

Interventions

Dronabinol is a synthetic tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) agent approved for nausea and vomiting with chemotherapy and as an appetite stimulant in AIDS patients.

OTHERPlacebo oral tablet

Non-active placebo

Sponsors

Hospital for Special Surgery, New York
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator)

Masking description

Throughout cannabinoid research, there has been concern about potential unblinding due to the side effect profile of this class of medication. Prior meta-analyses have advocated for the use of active placebo, with concern that unblinding may misrepresent the effects of clinical trials. However, due to evidence of histamine receptor involvement in pain transmission, as well as overlap in antihistamine antiemetic use and common cannabinoid side effect profiles, we have chosen to use non-active placebo. Our hope is to elicit maximum benefit of cannabinoid dosing perioperatively without confounding variables. With use of non-active placebo, we will perform a comprehensive blinding analysis following the study period to ensure adequate blinding.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 70 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients aged between 18-70 years old with osteoarthrosis scheduled for primary unilateral knee arthroplasty with a participating surgeon * Planned use of regional anesthetic technique during surgery involving infiltration between the popliteal artery and the capsule of the posterior knee (IPACK), adductor canal block (ACB) and periarticular injection (PAI) * Ability to follow study protocol

Exclusion criteria

* Patients less than 18 years of age or older than 70 years of age * Contraindication to regional or neuraxial anesthetic * Intended use of general anesthesia * Revision surgery * Chronic opioid use (for \>3 months prior to surgery) * Cannabis/cannabinoid use within the last 3 months * ASA class of IV or greater * Active or history of major mental history (as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders-5 \[DSM-5\]; i.e. major depressive disorder, anxiety, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia) * History of seizures * Use of antidepressants * Use of anticonvulsants * Use of Coumadin * Use of Disulfuram * Use of Metronidazole * Non-English speakers * BMI ≥40 * Sleep Apnea

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Cumulative Opioid Consumption 24-48 Hours Post-operatively24-48 hours post-operativelyThe primary outcome of the study will be cumulative patient opioid consumption 24-48 hours post operatively, defined by total morphine equivalents (MEs). This outcome will be measured starting at recovery room entry and conclude at 48 hours after anesthesia stop time.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Time to Reach Discharge From Physical TherapyPost operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU)-DischargeTime to reach discharge physical therapy goals, as defined by the number of hours required to meet the following criteria: stable vital signs during Physical therapy (PT), safe independent transfer from bed to standing as well as transfer in and out of seated position, ability to walk 40 feet only with aid of crutch or walker. This outcome will be measured prior to patient discharge.
Average Pain Score With Ambulation Reported on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)Post operative day 1, 2, 7, 90 and 180Patient pain with ambulation on postoperative day (POD) 1, 2, 7, 90 and 180, defined by patient reported Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) pain score, (from 0-no pain to 10-worst pain imaginable).
Average Pain Score at Rest Reported on a Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)Post operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU), POD 1, 2, 7, 90 and 180Patient pain at rest upon PACU entry and in the morning of postoperative day (POD)1, POD2, POD7, POD90 and POD180 defined by patient reported Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) pain score, (from 0-no pain to 10-worst pain imaginable).
Pain With Physical TherapyPostoperative Day 1 and Postoperative Day 2Patient pain during morning physical therapy on postoperative day (POD)1 and 2, defined by patient reported Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) pain score, (from 0-no pain to 10-worst pain imaginable).
Length of Hospital Stay (Hours)Post operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU)-DischargeHospital length of stay from procedure start time to time of discharge
the Number of Desaturation EventsPost operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU)-48 hours post operative dischargePostoperative desaturation events are defined as the number of times oxygen saturation dropped below 88% for at least 20 seconds or more. The number of such events will be counted per subject during the monitoring period, beginning in the immediate postoperative period on postoperative day (POD)0 (in the PACU) and will continue until the end post operative day 2/patient discharge, whichever occurs first. Oxygen desaturation is defined when measured SpO2 is less than 88%. Measurements will only be recorded if the desaturation event happens for 20 seconds or longer.
PainOUT Scale Questions24 hours post operative discharge, 48 hours post operative discharge, 7 days post operative discharge, 90 days post operative discharge, 180 days post operative dischargePainOut assesses post-surgical pain by collecting data on pain intensity, interference with daily activities, and other related factors. Questionnaire uses multiple scales from 0 (none/not at all/did not interfere/extremely dissatisfied) to 10 (extreme/severe/worst pain imaginable/completely interfered/extremely satisfied). Pain severity/Interference/Symptom questions are scored from 0-10, with higher scores indicating worse outcomes. With a scale of 0-10, higher scores indicate better outcomes for the following questions: decision participation question and satisfaction question. The following questions used a scale of 1-11, where 1=0% and 11=100%: Pain relief (a higher percentage indicates better outcome) Time with severe pain (a higher percentage indicates worse outcome)
PainOut Count Questions24 hours post operative discharge, 48 hours post operative discharge, 7 days post operative discharge, 90 days post operative discharge, 180 days post operative dischargeThe following questions used a scale of Yes/No, reporting number of patients with Yes * Been out of bed since surgery * Would have liked more pain treatment * Received information about pain treatment * Used non-medicine methods to relieve pain * Persistent painful condition for 3 months or more
DN4 Score24 hours post operative discharge, 48 hours post operative discharge, 7days post operative discharge, 3 months post operative discharge, 6 months post operative dischargeDN4 questionnaire to assess neuropathic pain on postoperative day (POD)1, 2, 7, 90 and 180. The DN4 questionnaire is a series of Yes or No questions that revolves around the characteristics that may suggest the presence or development of neuropathic conditions/pain (burning, painful cold, electric shocks, tingling, pins and needles, numbness, itching, hypoesthesia to touch, hypoesthesia to pinprick, pain increased by brushing). Total score is calculated by summing the total of the individual question scores, for a total score range of 0-10, with a score of greater than or equal to 4 indicating the patient may be suffering from neuropathic pain.
Opioid-Related Symptom Distress (ORSDS) Scale24 hours post operative discharge, 48 hours post operative dischargeThe Opioid-Related Symptom Distress Scale (ORSDS) is a scale that assesses three dimensions of symptom distress (frequency, severity, and bothersomeness) for 12 symptoms. The symptom-specific ORSDS is calculated by taking the average of the three symptom distress dimensions. The composite score will be reported for postoperative day (POD)1 and POD2. If a patient denies experiencing a particular symptom, their response will be coded as 0. If they do: Frequency will be assessed using a 4 point scale: 1. rarely 2. occasionally 3. frequently 4. almost constantly with 1 being the lowest and 4 being the highest. Severity is assessed using a 4 point scale: 1. slight 2. moderate 3. severe 4. very severe with 1 being the lowest and 4 being the highest. Bothersomeness is assessed using a 5 point scale: 1. not at all 2. a little bit 3. somewhat 4. quite a bit 5. very much with 1 being the lowest and 5 being the highest.
Non-opioid Analgesic ConsumptionPACU, POD1, POD2, POD7Patient consumption of non-opioid analgesics in the post-anesthesia care unit (PACU) and on postoperative day (POD)1, POD2, POD7. This was measured for acetaminophen, ibuprofen, ketorolac, meloxicam, naproxen, and gabapentin as yes/no. Number of participants who report "yes" for each non-opioid analgesic is reported.
Sleep Disturbance: Total Sleep TimePost operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU)- 24 hours post operativeSleep disturbance via actigraphy measurement using the ActiGraph wGT3X-BT activity monitor. Measured during the first 24 hours postoperatively.
Sleep Disturbance: Wake After Sleep OnsetPost operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU)- 24 hours post operativeSleep disturbance via actigraphy measurement using the ActiGraph wGT3X-BT activity monitor. Wake After Sleep Onset is the duration of time a patient was awake after falling asleep and before getting out of bed. Measured during the first 24 hours postoperatively.
Sleep Disturbance: Sleep EfficiencyPost operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU)- 24 hours post operativeSleep disturbance via actigraphy measurement using the ActiGraph wGT3X-BT activity monitor. Sleep Efficiency is the ratio between total sleep time and the total time in bed. Measured during the first 24 hours postoperatively. Sleep Efficiency ratio is expressed as a percentage, where higher values represent better outcomes.
Sleep Disturbance: Number of AwakeningsPost operative day 0 (beginning in the PACU)- 24 hours post operativeSleep disturbance via actigraphy measurement using the ActiGraph wGT3X-BT activity monitor. Measured as number of awakenings during the first 24 hours postoperatively.
Cognitive AssessmentPACU, Post-Op, POD1, POD2Measured as yes/no for a series of 13 questions asking patients if they have experienced any: change of mood, difficulty with memory, slurring of speech, blurred vision, hallucinations, increased awareness of surroundings, palpitations, headache, dizziness, drowsiness, dry mouth, involuntary muscle twitching, or tremors. Number of participants who report "yes" for each symptom is reported. Measured in the post-anesthesia care unit (PACU), between PACU exist and midnight (Post-op), postoperative day (POD)1, POD2
Opioid Consumption in the Post-anesthesia Care Unit and Postoperative Day 1post-anesthesia care unit and postoperative day 1Opioid consumption measured in morphine milligram equivalents in the post-anesthesia care unit and postoperative day 1 (analyzed as 0-24 hours after surgery)
Opioid Consumption at Postoperative Day 90Postoperative Day 90Number of participants reporting opioid use at postoperative day 90.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORKethy Jules-Elysee, M.D.

Hospital for Special Surgery, New York

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Subject enrollment began on 03/09/2021 and ended on 10/04/2023. The last subject follow-up was completed on 04/01/2024.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous63 years
American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Class
1
1 participants
American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Class
2
53 participants
American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Class
3
2 participants
Body Mass Index29.8 kg/m^2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
98 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
44 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
26 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
23 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 550 / 56
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 550 / 56
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 550 / 56

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 28, 2026