Skip to content

Romosozumab in Women With Chronic SCI

Effects of Romosozumab on Bone Health in Women With Spinal Cord Injury and Osteoporosis

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04708886
Enrollment
12
Registered
2021-01-14
Start date
2021-03-01
Completion date
2024-06-10
Last updated
2025-09-24

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Bone Loss, Chronic Spinal Paralysis, Osteopenia, Osteoporosis, Osteoporosis, Spinal Cord Injuries

Keywords

Spinal Cord Injury, Osteoporosis, Romosozumab (Evenity), Alendronate (Fosamax), Bone Diseases, Metabolic Bone Diseases, Anabolic Treatment, Bisphosphonate, Bone Density, Spinal Cord Diseases, Romosozumab, Alendronate, Physiological Effects of Drugs

Brief summary

This two-year open-label pilot clinical trial will evaluate the efficacy and safety of romosozumab to treat bone loss in females with chronic spinal cord injury (SCI) and osteoporosis (OP). Participants will receive monthly injections of romosozumab during the first 12 months of the study. During the second year, participants will take oral alendronate tablets on a weekly basis.

Detailed description

This is a single-site, singe-arm, open-label pilot study to evaluate safety and efficacy of a sequential drug treatment (12 months of romosozumab injections followed by 12 months with alendronate tablets) to treat bone loss in women with chronic SCI and OP. During the first year, participants will receive monthly subcutaneous injections of romosozumab 210 mg. This drug works by increasing bone formation and is FDA-approved for treating OP in post-menopausal women at high risk of fracture or those who did not benefit from using other available OP treatments. During the second year, participants will take weekly oral alendronate 70 mg. Alendronate is FDA-approved for the treatment of osteopenia and the treatment of OP in post-menopausal women and men as well as for the prevention and treatment of glucocorticoid-induced OP. In this study, it will be used to help maintain any increases in bone mass gained from the year of treatment with romosozumab. Twelve participants will receive the study drug treatment, take daily supplements (calcium and vitamin D), and return to the research site for study visits over the course of two years. Computerized tomography (CT) imaging, dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) imaging, and serum bone markers will be collected at various time points.

Interventions

DRUGRomosozumab

Year 1 study drug

DRUGAlendronate

Year 2 study drug

Sponsors

Amgen
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Northwestern University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
FEMALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Age ≥18 years * Female sex * SCI 6 or more months prior to enrollment * Non-ambulatory status (Walking Index for Spinal Cord Injury II score of 3 or less) * Osteoporosis by DXA defined as a t-score of -2.5 at any skeletal site (lumbar spine, total hip, or femoral neck) or a t-score of -2.0 plus a history of a fragility fracture * Good general health, as determined by the study investigator * Able to understand and agree to informed consent in English * Able and willing to complete all the study visits * Females of childbearing potential must be willing and able to use an effective method of contraception or practice abstinence throughout the course of the study and up to 90 days after the last use of study drug. * Vitamin D 25-hydroxy levels ≥ 20 ng/ml (subjects may be repleted and retested prior to baseline) * Normal serum calcium levels (based on current local laboratory normal range) * No known endocrinopathies (diabetes type 1 or 2, treated thyroid conditions can be included) * Normal serum thyroid stimulating hormone and/or T4 levels (based on current local laboratory normal ranges) * Able to take oral medication sitting upright for at least 30 minutes

Exclusion criteria

* Have Paget's disease of the bone * Have abnormal laboratory values that in the judgement of the investigator would put the participant at increased risk of treatment * Any active gastrointestinal condition that results in malabsorption * Abnormalities of the esophagus which delay emptying such as stricture or achalasia * Known hypersensitivity to romosozumab or alendronate * Increased risk of aspiration * Osteonecrosis of the jaw (ONJ) or risk factor for ONJ, such as invasive dental procedures (e.g., tooth extraction, dental implants, oral surgery in the past 6 months), poor oral hygiene, periodontal and/or pre-existing dental disease, or planned invasive dental procedure over the next two years * Heterotopic ossification of the knee region that interferes with CT analysis * History of bone metastasis and skeletal malignancies * History of alcoholism or drug abuse within the 2 years prior to study screening, which in the opinion of the investigator may affect subject's health and/or study commitment * Other medical conditions that in the opinion of the investigator would preclude the subject from completing the study * Currently being prescribed anticonvulsants at a dose or frequency that is determined to interfere with bone metabolism as determined by the investigator * Currently being prescribed glucocorticoids, other than inhaled glucocorticoids * Current or use during past 5 years of any bone-active agents, including any FDA approved treatment (e.g., teriparatide, abaloparatide, denosumab, any bisphosphonate (oral or IV), raloxifene, bazedoxifene, hormone therapy (estrogen and estrogen/progestin) and calcitonin) as well as any strontium-containing compounds. * Pregnant, planning to become pregnant, or lactating * Any history of stroke or cardiovascular disease other than controlled hypertension * Renal insufficiency (calculated creatinine clearance less than 35 ml/min) * Any other neurological impairment that may impair ambulation or muscle function

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Integral vBMC at the Knee (Distal Femur)Baseline - 12 monthsChange from baseline to the Month 12 visit in volumetric bone mineral content (vBMC) obtained via CT (three-dimensional) imaging of the knee.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in BMD at the Total Hip and Femoral NeckBaseline - 12 monthsChange from baseline to the Month 12 visit in bone mineral density (BMD) obtained via DXA (two-dimensional) imaging of the total hip.
Change in vBMC at the HipBaseline - 12 monthsChange from baseline to the Month 12 visit in volumetric bone mineral content (vBMC) obtained via CT imaging of the hip.
Change in Serum Bone Biomarkers (CTX and P1NP)Baseline - 12 monthsChange from baseline to the Month 12 visit in serum levels of CTX and P1NP.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Open-label Romosozumab
Participants received monthly subcutaneous injections of romosozumab (210 mg) for 12 months.
12
Total12

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Year 2: AlendronateLost to Follow-up1
Year 2: AlendronateWithdrawal by Subject1

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicOpen-label Romosozumab
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
12 Participants
Age, Continuous45.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
10 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
12 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
12 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 120 / 12
other
Total, other adverse events
12 / 129 / 12
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 122 / 12

Outcome results

Primary

Change in Integral vBMC at the Knee (Distal Femur)

Change from baseline to the Month 12 visit in volumetric bone mineral content (vBMC) obtained via CT (three-dimensional) imaging of the knee.

Time frame: Baseline - 12 months

Population: Females with Chronic SCI

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Females With Chronic SCIChange in Integral vBMC at the Knee (Distal Femur)-0.78 g
Secondary

Change in BMD at the Total Hip and Femoral Neck

Change from baseline to the Month 12 visit in bone mineral density (BMD) obtained via DXA (two-dimensional) imaging of the total hip.

Time frame: Baseline - 12 months

Population: Females with Chronic SCI

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Females With Chronic SCIChange in BMD at the Total Hip and Femoral NeckTotal Hip0.023 g/cm^2
Females With Chronic SCIChange in BMD at the Total Hip and Femoral NeckFemoral Neck0.033 g/cm^2
Secondary

Change in Serum Bone Biomarkers (CTX and P1NP)

Change from baseline to the Month 12 visit in serum levels of CTX and P1NP.

Time frame: Baseline - 12 months

Population: Females with chronic SCI

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Females With Chronic SCIChange in Serum Bone Biomarkers (CTX and P1NP)CTX-0.0093 ng/mL
Females With Chronic SCIChange in Serum Bone Biomarkers (CTX and P1NP)P1NP-18.25 ng/mL
Secondary

Change in vBMC at the Hip

Change from baseline to the Month 12 visit in volumetric bone mineral content (vBMC) obtained via CT imaging of the hip.

Time frame: Baseline - 12 months

Population: Females with Chronic SCI

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Females With Chronic SCIChange in vBMC at the Hip0.063 g

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026