Skip to content

Regorafenib Plus Pembrolizumab in Patients With Advanced or Spreading Liver Cancer Who Have Been Previously Treated With PD-1/PD-L1 Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors

An Open-Label Study of Regorafenib in Combination With Pembrolizumab in Patients With Advanced or Metastatic Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) After PD1/PD-L1 Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04696055
Enrollment
95
Registered
2021-01-06
Start date
2021-02-03
Completion date
2024-04-23
Last updated
2025-05-13

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Hepatocellular Carcinoma

Keywords

Advanced or metastatic hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), Liver cancer

Brief summary

Researchers are looking for a better way to treat people diagnosed with liver cancer which may have spread to nearby tissue and is unlikely to be cured or controlled with treatment (advanced metastatic hepatocellular carcinoma, HCC). Before a treatment can be approved for people to take, researchers do clinical trials to better understand its safety and how it works. In this trial, the researchers will learn more about the trial treatment, regorafenib, in a small number of participants. They will study the results when the trial treatment is taken with another cancer treatment called pembrolizumab. There will be 2 parts to this trial. The part 1 (pilot phase) will include about 52 men and women. The part 2 (expansion phase) will include about 67 men and women. All of the participants will have HCC and will be aged 18 years or older. All of the participants will have tried other treatments that did not help their HCC. These other treatments (PD-1/PD-L1 Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors) are designed to work by stopping the activity of certain proteins in the immune system thought to play a role in HCC. During both parts of the trial, the participants will take regorafenib and receive pembrolizumab. In the pilot phase, there will be 2 groups of participants. The group that each participant joins will be based on the treatment they already received for their HCC. The researchers will review the results in each group to learn if regorafenib and pembrolizumab are helping one group of participants more than others. Outcome of this review will determine the population to be treated in the expansion phase.

Interventions

DRUGPembrolizumab

Pembrolizumab 400 mg to be administered as an intravenous (IV) infusion every 6 weeks (Q6W).

DRUGRegorafenib (Stivarga, BAY73-4506)

Regorafenib to be given orally (p.o.) at a starting dose of 90 mg QD for 3 weeks of every 4 weeks (i.e., 3 weeks on, 1 week off). If the starting dose of 90 mg daily is well tolerated the dose should be escalated to 120 mg starting after the first 4-week cycle of regorafenib.

Sponsors

Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Bayer
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* ≥ 18 years of age on the day of signing informed consent. * Histological or cytological confirmation of HCC or non-invasive diagnosis of HCC as per American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD) criteria in cirrhotic participants. * Unresectable advanced HCC eligible for systemic therapy. * Participants must have progressed after only one prior line of systemic immunotherapy treatment with an anti-PD-1/PD-L1 mAb administered either as monotherapy or in combination with other checkpoint inhibitors or other therapies. A wash out period of at least 28 days or 5 half-lives, whichever is shorter, must be completed for eligibility in this trial. PD-1/PD-L1 treatment progression is defined by meeting all of the following criteria: 1. Has received at least 2 doses of an approved anti PD-1/PD-L1 mAb or received PD-1/PD-L1 treatment for 8 weeks, whichever is longer. 2. Has demonstrated disease progression after PD-1/PD-L1 treatment as defined by RECIST 1.1. In the absence of rapid clinical progression, the initial evidence of RECIST 1.1 disease progression is to be confirmed using iRECIST by a second assessment no less than four weeks from the date of the first documented progressive disease. i. This determination is made by the investigator. Once progressive disease is confirmed, the initial date of RECIST 1.1 progressive disease documentation will be considered that date of disease progression. ii. In cases of unequivocal clinical or radiological progression, disease progression confirmation may not be required after documented discussion and approval by the sponsor. c. Progressive disease has been documented within 12 weeks from the last dose of anti-PD-1/PD-L1 mAb. \- Participants who receive anti-PD-1 therapy as adjuvant treatment following complete resection of liver cancer and have disease recurrence (unresectable locoregional disease or distant metastases) are eligible if they progressed while on active treatment or within 6 months of stopping anti-PD-1 therapy. This will be considered the first line of systemic therapy. For these participants, the following applies: 1. a second assessment to confirm disease progression beyond recurrence is not required; and 2. they must have received at least 2 prior doses of anti-PD-1/PD-L1 mAb. * Barcelona Clinic Liver Cancer (BCLC) stage B or C. * Liver function status should be Child-Pugh (CP) Class A within 7 days prior to the first dose of study intervention. CP status should be calculated based on clinical findings and laboratory results during the screening period. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status (PS) of 0 or 1 within 7 days prior to the first dose of study intervention. * At least one measurable lesion by CT scan or MRI according to RECIST 1.1. Tumor lesions situated in a previously irradiated area, or in an area subjected to other loco-regional therapy, may be considered measurable if there has been demonstrated progression in the lesion. * Participants with controlled (treated) hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection will be allowed if they meet the following criteria: * Antiviral therapy for HBV must be given for at least 4 weeks and HBV viral load must be less than 500 IU/mL prior to first dose of study intervention. * Participants on active HBV therapy with viral loads under 500 IU/ml should stay on the same therapy throughout study treatment. * Participants who are anti-HBc (+), negative for HBsAg, negative for anti-HBs, and have an HBV viral load under 500 IU/mL that do not require HBV antiviral prophylaxis. * Provision of recent tumor tissue (as defined below) is mandatory at screening. Exceptions will be accepted for participants with no recent baseline tumor tissues after documented discussion and approval by the sponsor. * Tumor tissue obtained within 180 days of enrollment and after the last dose of most recent anti-cancer therapy. * Or a new biopsy.

Exclusion criteria

* Fibrolamellar and mixed hepatocellular/cholangiocarcinoma subtypes. * Patients with disease that is suitable for local therapy administered with curative intent. * Patients who experienced any Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) ≥ 3 or any other immune- related toxicities that led to permanent discontinuation of treatment with immune checkpoint inhibitors in 1 L. * Persistent proteinuria of CTCAE Grade 3 or higher. * Diagnosis of immunodeficiency or patient is receiving chronic systemic steroid therapy (in doses exceeding 10 mg daily of prednisone equivalent) or any other form of immunosuppressive therapy within 7 days prior to the first dose of study interventions. * Active autoimmune disease. * History of (non-infectious) pneumonitis that required steroids or current pneumonitis. * Any hemorrhage or bleeding event CTCAE Grade ≥ 3 within 28 days prior to the start of study medication. * Patients with large esophageal varices at risk of bleeding that are not being treated with conventional medical intervention. * Arterial or venous thrombotic or embolic events such as cerebrovascular accident (including transient ischemic attacks), deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolism within 6 months before the start of study medication. * Ongoing infection CTCAE Grade \> 2 requiring systemic therapy. * Dual active HBV infection (HBsAg (+) and / or detectable HBV DNA) and HCV infection (anti-HCV Ab (+) and detectable HCV RNA) at study entry. * Uncontrolled hypertension (systolic blood pressure ≥ 140 mmHg or diastolic pressure ≥ 90 mmHg) on more than 2 separate measurements despite optimal medical management. * Unstable angina (angina symptoms at rest), new-onset angina (begun within the last 3 months). * Myocardial infarction less than 6 months before start of study intervention. * Pleural effusion or ascites that causes respiratory compromise (CTCAE Grade ≥ 2 dyspnea). * Patients with previous malignancies (except non-melanoma skin cancers, and the following in situ cancers: bladder, gastric, colon, cervical/dysplasia, melanoma, or breast) are excluded unless a complete remission was achieved at least 3 years prior to study entry. * Known active central nervous system (CNS) metastases and/or carcinomatous meningitis. Participants with previously treated brain metastases may participate provided they are radiologically stable. * Significant acute gastrointestinal disorders with diarrhea as a major symptom. * Prior monotherapy treatment with any tyrosine kinase inhibitor in 1L. * Prior treatment with regorafenib, in combination regimens with immune checkpoint inhibitors. * Transfusion of blood products within 7 days prior to signing informed consent, or administration of colony stimulating factors within 4 weeks prior to signing informed consent. * Previous assignment to treatment during this study. * Previous (at least a minimum of 28 days, or 5 half-lives of an investigational drug before the start of study treatment, whichever is shorter) or concomitant participation in another clinical study with investigational medicinal product(s).

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central AssessmentUp to 15 months. Data up to 38 months are now available and are also reported for full transparency.Overall response rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants with best overall response of confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR). ORR per RECIST 1.1 by independent central assessment is reported). RECIST 1.1: response evaluation criteria in solid tumors version 1.1

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Investigator AssessmentUp to 38 monthsOverall response rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants with best overall response of confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR). ORR by RECIST 1.1 investigator review is reported. RECIST 1.1: response evaluation criteria in solid tumors version 1.1
Duration of Response (DOR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central Assessment and Investigator AssessmentUp to 38 monthsDuration of response (DOR) for partial response (PR) and complete response (CR) was defined as the time from the first documented objective response of PR or CR, whichever noted earlier, to disease progression or death (if death occurs before progression was documented). DOR was defined for confirmed responders only, i.e., participants with a CR or PR. RECIST 1.1: response evaluation criteria in solid tumors version 1.1
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Up to 38 monthsAn AE was considered as treatment-emergent (TEAE) if arising or worsening after start of first study intervention administration until 30 days after administration of any study intervention. In addition, any AEs qualifying as a serious adverse event (SAE) were collected for 90 days after the last dose of pembrolizumab, unless a new anti-cancer therapy had been initiated.
Number of Participants With Safety-relevant Changes in Clinical ParametersUp to 38 monthsNumber of participants with clinically relevant trends observed in laboratory data, ECG data, or ECOG performance status is reported.
Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationUp to 38 monthsDose modification included dose interruption, dose reduction, dose discontinuation.

Countries

France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Spain, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study was conducted between 03 February 2021 (first participant first visit) and 23 April 2024 (last participant last visit) at 39 centers in 8 countries.

Pre-assignment details

A total of 136 participants were screened, of whom 41 were screening failures. A total of 95 participants were assigned to treatment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])
Cohort 1 with participants after one systemic line of therapy consisting of atezolizumab plus bevacizumab treatment combination only. Pembrolizumab 400 mg was administered as an intravenous (IV) infusion every 6 weeks. Regorafenib was given orally at a starting dose of 90 mg once daily for 3 weeks of every 4 weeks (i.e., 3 weeks on, 1 week off). If the starting dose of 90 mg daily was well tolerated the dose was escalated to 120 mg starting after the first 4-week cycle of regorafenib.
68
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])
Cohort 2 with participants after one systemic line of therapy consisting of any PD-1/PD-L1 immune oncology (IO) containing first line treatment (excluding atezolizumab with or without bevacizumab) in monotherapy or combination regimens. Pembrolizumab 400 mg was administered as an IV infusion every 6 weeks. Regorafenib was given orally at a starting dose of 90 mg once daily for 3 weeks of every 4 weeks (i.e., 3 weeks on, 1 week off). If the starting dose of 90 mg daily was well tolerated the dose was escalated to 120 mg starting after the first 4-week cycle of regorafenib.
27
Total95

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event102
Overall StudyDeath40
Overall StudyOther72
Overall StudyPhysician Decision30
Overall StudyProgressive Disease - Clinical Progression11
Overall StudyProgressive Disease - Radiological Progression4220
Overall StudySubject Decision12

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])TotalCohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])
Age, Continuous70.9 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.3
64.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.4
61.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants10 Participants7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
17 Participants67 Participants50 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
7 Participants18 Participants11 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants22 Participants19 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
4 Participants13 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
20 Participants57 Participants37 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
7 Participants22 Participants15 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
20 Participants73 Participants53 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
53 / 6820 / 27
other
Total, other adverse events
63 / 6827 / 27
serious
Total, serious adverse events
37 / 6811 / 27

Outcome results

Primary

Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central Assessment

Overall response rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants with best overall response of confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR). ORR per RECIST 1.1 by independent central assessment is reported). RECIST 1.1: response evaluation criteria in solid tumors version 1.1

Time frame: Up to 15 months. Data up to 38 months are now available and are also reported for full transparency.

Population: Full Analysis Set (FAS)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central AssessmentUp to 15 months (primary outcome as previously reported)5.9 Percentage of participants
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central AssessmentUp to 38 months (as of study completion)7.4 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central AssessmentUp to 15 months (primary outcome as previously reported)11.1 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central AssessmentUp to 38 months (as of study completion)14.8 Percentage of participants
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central Assessment and Investigator Assessment

Duration of response (DOR) for partial response (PR) and complete response (CR) was defined as the time from the first documented objective response of PR or CR, whichever noted earlier, to disease progression or death (if death occurs before progression was documented). DOR was defined for confirmed responders only, i.e., participants with a CR or PR. RECIST 1.1: response evaluation criteria in solid tumors version 1.1

Time frame: Up to 38 months

Population: Confirmed responders in Full Analysis Set (FAS)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Duration of Response (DOR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central Assessment and Investigator AssessmentCentral assessment210 Days
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Duration of Response (DOR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central Assessment and Investigator AssessmentInvestigator assessment431 Days
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Duration of Response (DOR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central Assessment and Investigator AssessmentCentral assessment195 Days
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Duration of Response (DOR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Central Assessment and Investigator AssessmentInvestigator assessment364 Days
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE was considered as treatment-emergent (TEAE) if arising or worsening after start of first study intervention administration until 30 days after administration of any study intervention. In addition, any AEs qualifying as a serious adverse event (SAE) were collected for 90 days after the last dose of pembrolizumab, unless a new anti-cancer therapy had been initiated.

Time frame: Up to 38 months

Population: Full Analysis Set (FAS)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Any TEAE68 Participants
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Any SAE37 Participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Any TEAE27 Participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Any SAE11 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Safety-relevant Changes in Clinical Parameters

Number of participants with clinically relevant trends observed in laboratory data, ECG data, or ECOG performance status is reported.

Time frame: Up to 38 months

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Number of Participants With Safety-relevant Changes in Clinical Parameters0 Participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Number of Participants With Safety-relevant Changes in Clinical Parameters0 Participants
Secondary

Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Investigator Assessment

Overall response rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants with best overall response of confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR). ORR by RECIST 1.1 investigator review is reported. RECIST 1.1: response evaluation criteria in solid tumors version 1.1

Time frame: Up to 38 months

Population: Full Analysis Set (FAS)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Investigator Assessment7.4 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per RECIST 1.1 by Investigator Assessment18.5 Percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Dose Modification

Dose modification included dose interruption, dose reduction, dose discontinuation.

Time frame: Up to 38 months

Population: Full Analysis Set (FAS)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationRegorafenib - drug withdrawal16.2 Percentage of participants
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationPembrolizumab - dose interruptions or delays14.7 Percentage of participants
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationRegorafenib - dose reductions41.2 Percentage of participants
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationPembrolizumab - drug withdrawal4.4 Percentage of participants
Cohort 1 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Atezolizumab + Bevacizumab])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationRegorafenib - drug interruptions or delays63.2 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationPembrolizumab - drug withdrawal11.1 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationRegorafenib - drug interruptions or delays70.4 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationRegorafenib - dose reductions63.0 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationPembrolizumab - dose interruptions or delays25.9 Percentage of participants
Cohort 2 (Regorafenib + Pembrolizumab [1L: Any Other IO Containing Treatment])Percentage of Participants With Dose ModificationRegorafenib - drug withdrawal25.9 Percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 6, 2026