Skip to content

Safety and Efficacy of Rituximab for Treatment of Multicentric Castleman Disease in Malawi

LCCC 1950 - Rituximab for Multicentric Castleman Disease in Malawi, A Single-Arm Phase II Safety/Efficacy Trial

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04585893
Enrollment
15
Registered
2020-10-14
Start date
2021-06-22
Completion date
2026-06-07
Last updated
2026-07-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Multicentric Castleman Disease

Keywords

Multicentric Castleman Disease, MCD, HIV, Rituximab, single arm phase 2, safety and efficacy

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to determine the safety and efficacy of first-line, risk-stratified Rituximab-based Multicentric Castleman Disease (MCD) treatment in Malawi in a single-arm, phase II clinical trial. This study also aims to compare the cost-effectiveness of first-line Rituximab treatment for MCD in Malawi to chemotherapy.

Detailed description

This study aims to determine the safety and efficacy of first-line, risk-stratified rituximab-based MCD treatment in Malawi in a single-arm, phase II clinical trial. The investigators will enroll 27 subjects with newly diagnosed or previously treated MCD (who have not previously received rituximab) requiring treatment (B symptoms or hemoglobin \<10 g/dL). Subjects will be treated with four weekly doses of rituximab. High-risk subjects (defined as patients with Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status \>2 or hemoglobin \<8 g/dL) will also receive etoposide chemotherapy. Subjects will be followed for one year for toxicity and two years for survival. The primary outcome will be safety, defined as the frequency of ≥Grade 3 treatment-related Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (AEs). Secondary outcomes will be event-free survival (death, progression, or development of NHL) and 1- and 2-year overall survival (OS). The investigators also aim to compare the cost-effectiveness of first-line rituximab treatment for MCD in Malawi to chemotherapy (using the investigators' historical controls).

Interventions

DRUGRituximab

375 mg/m\^2 administered via IV infusion weekly for four weeks. Administered via slow IV infusion, starting at 50mg/hr and increasing by 50mg/hr every 30 minutes to a maximum infusion rate of 400mg/hr.

DRUGEtoposide

Subjects with high-risk disease will receive 100 mg/m\^2 etoposide weekly for four weeks administered over one hour via IV infusion after completion of rituximab

Sponsors

UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER
Fogarty International Center of the National Institute of Health
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Newly diagnosed or previously treated subjects with KSHV-associated MCD that is pathologically confirmed by characteristic histologic features and latency-associated nuclear antigen (LANA) positivity by Immunohistochemistry (IHC). 2. Age is greater than or equal 18 years old at time of consent. 3. Can provide informed consent. 4. HIV-infected or HIV-uninfected. 5. If HIV-infected, must be on or willing to start antiretroviral therapy including lamivudine or tenofovir. 6. Willing to comply with study visits. 7. MCD treatment indicated based on the presence of a symptomatic MCD flare, defined as the presence of each of the following three criteria: 1. Fever (subjective or objective) 2. Lymphadenopathy or hepatosplenomegaly 3. At least one of the following signs or symptoms attributable to MCD by the local study investigator: * Weight loss \>5% * Malaise * Anemia (Hemoglobin \<10 g/dL) within the past 4 weeks * Thrombocytopenia (Platelets \<100 x 103/mL) NOTE: If only two of the three criteria are present, but the provider feels treatment is indicated for a symptomatic MCD flare, this will be allowed after communication with the study principal investigator (PI). Subjects with low hemoglobin within the past 4 weeks that have since received a blood transfusion are still eligible for participation. The subject's pre-transfusion hemoglobin value will be considered when determining risk classification. 8. Females of childbearing potential must have a negative urine pregnancy test within three days prior to registration. NOTE: Females are considered of childbearing potential unless they are surgically sterile (have undergone a hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation, or bilateral oophorectomy) or they are naturally postmenopausal for at least 12 consecutive months. Documentation of postmenopausal status must be provided. 9. Females must agree to abstain from breastfeeding during therapy and for 6 months after the completion of therapy. 10. Females of childbearing potential must be willing to abstain from heterosexual activity or to use two forms of effective methods of contraception from the time of informed consent until 12 months after treatment discontinuation. The two contraception methods can be comprised of two barrier methods, a barrier method plus a hormonal method, or an intrauterine device that meets \<1% failure rate for protection from pregnancy in the product label. 11. Male subjects with female partners must have had a prior vasectomy or agree to use an adequate method of contraception (i.e., double barrier method: condom plus spermicidal agent) starting with the first dose of study therapy through 6 months after the last dose of study therapy. 12. More than 7 days without corticosteroid use prior to starting the treatment.

Exclusion criteria

1. Symptomatic, extensive-stage KS (T1 by the AIDS Clinical Trials Group (ACTG) staging system; T1 includes ulceration or edema from KS, raised or non-hard palate oral lesions, or any visceral involvement) requiring urgent treatment, to avoid potential rituximab-induced KS worsening. 2. Previous rituximab use for MCD. 3. Second active malignancy requiring systemic therapy. 4. If HIV negative and a) hepatitis B virus surface antigen positive or b) a combination of HepB core antibody positive and HepB surface antibody negative (indicative of chronic infection) unless on tenofovir or lamivudine. All HIV-infected patients must be on tenofovir or lamivudine as part of the inclusion criteria. 5. Active infection requiring systemic therapy. 6. Treatment with any investigational drug within 28 days prior to registration. 7. More than 7 days of corticosteroids immediately prior to enrollment. If the subject is taking corticosteroids for more than 7 days, they require a 7 day washout period before enrollment. 8. Bilirubin \>3 mg/dL. 9. Creatinine clearance \<30 ml/min by Cockcroft-Gault formula. 10. ECOG performance status \>3. 11. Pregnant or breastfeeding (Note: Breast milk cannot be stored for future use while the mother is being treated in the study).

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participant With Non-hematologic Grade ≥3 Adverse Events (AEs)From the start of rituximab-based therapy to 12 weeks. (Up to 13 weeks)Safety was assessed by the number of participants with non-hematologic Grade ≥3 adverse events (AEs) and treatment-related mortality. AEs were evaluated using the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v5). CTCAE defines AE severity as: Grade 1 (mild), Grade 2 (moderate), Grade 3 (severe or medically significant), Grade 4 (life-threatening), and Grade 5 (death related to AE).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Characterization of MCD Presentation in MalawiBaseline - until 21 daysCharacterization of Multicentric Castleman disease (MCD) presentation in Malawi will be summarized using baseline demographics and laboratory values. Descriptive statistics will be performed.
Overall Survival90 days, 1 year, and 2 yearsOverall survival is the measure of time from the first treatment day to the date of death for any cause. Subjects who have not had an event will be censored at the date of the last assessment documenting the subject was alive.
Event-free Survival90 days, 1 year, and 2 yearsEvent-free survival is the measure of time after treatment during which no sign of cancer (refractory disease, relapse, non-Hodgkin lymphoma development, or death ) is found.
Efficacy of Risk-adjusted TreatmentAt the end of the treatment, 12 weeks after start of the treatmentThe efficacy of risk-adjusted treatment will be defined as the clinical response rate which is the resolution of presenting signs/symptoms that defined the Multicentric Castleman disease (MCD) attack. MCD attack/flare is defined as the presence of each of the following three criteria: 1) Fever (subjective or objective), 2) Lymphadenopathy or hepatosplenomegaly, 3) At least one of the following signs or symptoms attributable to MCD by the local study investigator: a) Weight loss \>5%, b) Malaise, c) Anemia (Hemoglobin \<10 g/dL), and d) Thrombocytopenia (Platelets \<100 x 10\^3/uL).
Clinical Response RateAt the end of the treatment, 12 weeks after start of the treatmentClinical Response Rate will be defined as the percentage of subjects who achieved resolution of presenting signs/symptoms that defined the Multicentric Castleman disease (MCD) attack) without relapse.
Radiological Response RateAt the end of the treatment, 12 weeks after start of the treatmentThe Radiological Response Rate will be defined as the percentage of subjects without relapse defined using chest radiography, abdominal sonography, and physical exam for gross lymphadenopathy. Response criteria for lymph node response will be Complete response (CR)- the disappearance of all evident disease; Partial response (PR)-at least a 50% decrease in target lesions with no increase in non-target lesions, Stable disease (SD)- Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD); PD- the appearance of a new lesion or at least a 50% increase in lesion size.
Additional SafetyFirst day of the treatment through 12 weeks (Up to 13 weeks)Additional Safety will be defined as all Adverse Events occurred. AEs will be evaluated using National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5 (CTCAE v5).
The Rate of Kaposi Sarcoma ExacerbationUp to 2 yearsThe rate of Kaposi sarcoma exacerbation will be determined by symptomatic or clinical (dermatologic or visceral organ) exacerbation of the disease. All disease flares will be biopsy confirmed whenever possible.
Quality of Life- Patient-reported Outcomes QuestionnairesBaseline, week3, end of the treatment, 12 weeks, 6 months after the treatment, 24 months after the treatment, time of relapse.Quality of Life- patient-reported outcomes (PRO) questionnaires will be assessed by the Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System Global Health Survey (PROMIS Global-10). The survey includes 10 items about mental and physical health rated on Likert scales ranging from 1 to 5, with higher scores indicative of better health.
Change in Hemoglobin MeasurementBaseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)Hemoglobin will be measured in grams per deciliter (g/dL) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.
Change in Platelet Count MeasurementBaseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)Platelet count will be measured in microliters (µl) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.
Change in C-reactive Protein MeasurementBaseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)C-reactive protein (CRP) will be measured in milligrams per milliliter (mg/mL) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.
Change in Kaposi Sarcoma Herpesvirus Viral Load MeasurementBaseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)Kaposi sarcoma herpesvirus (KSHV) viral load will be measured in copies per milliliter (copies/mL) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.

Countries

Malawi

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORYuri Fedoriw, MD

University of North Carolina

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were recruited from 06/22/2021 through 06/07/2024 at one center in Malawi.

Pre-assignment details

Fifteen subjects were enrolled in the study between 06/22/2021 and 06/07/2024.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
High-risk Patients
High-risk patients (defined as patients with ECOG performance status \>2 or hemoglobin \<8 g/dL) will receive four weekly doses of rituximab (375 mg/m2) and etoposide (100 mg/m2).
9
Low-risk Patients
Low-risk patients will receive the same dose of rituximab (four weekly doses at 375 mg/m2) alone.
6
Total15

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicHigh-risk PatientsTotalLow-risk Patients
Age, Continuous40.44 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.13
39.73 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.79
38.66 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.23
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
9 Participants15 Participants6 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
9 Participants15 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Malawi
9 participants15 participants6 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants5 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
6 Participants10 Participants4 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 90 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
9 / 96 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 91 / 6

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participant With Non-hematologic Grade ≥3 Adverse Events (AEs)

Safety was assessed by the number of participants with non-hematologic Grade ≥3 adverse events (AEs) and treatment-related mortality. AEs were evaluated using the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v5). CTCAE defines AE severity as: Grade 1 (mild), Grade 2 (moderate), Grade 3 (severe or medically significant), Grade 4 (life-threatening), and Grade 5 (death related to AE).

Time frame: From the start of rituximab-based therapy to 12 weeks. (Up to 13 weeks)

Population: All participants started the study.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
High-risk PatientsNumber of Participant With Non-hematologic Grade ≥3 Adverse Events (AEs)0 Participants
Low-risk PatientsNumber of Participant With Non-hematologic Grade ≥3 Adverse Events (AEs)0 Participants
Secondary

Additional Safety

Additional Safety will be defined as all Adverse Events occurred. AEs will be evaluated using National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5 (CTCAE v5).

Time frame: First day of the treatment through 12 weeks (Up to 13 weeks)

Secondary

Change in C-reactive Protein Measurement

C-reactive protein (CRP) will be measured in milligrams per milliliter (mg/mL) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.

Time frame: Baseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)

Secondary

Change in Hemoglobin Measurement

Hemoglobin will be measured in grams per deciliter (g/dL) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.

Time frame: Baseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)

Secondary

Change in Kaposi Sarcoma Herpesvirus Viral Load Measurement

Kaposi sarcoma herpesvirus (KSHV) viral load will be measured in copies per milliliter (copies/mL) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.

Time frame: Baseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)

Secondary

Change in Platelet Count Measurement

Platelet count will be measured in microliters (µl) at baseline, day 15, and end-of-treatment. Differences will be compared by paired t-test.

Time frame: Baseline, Day 15 and End of treatment (approximately 6 weeks)

Secondary

Characterization of MCD Presentation in Malawi

Characterization of Multicentric Castleman disease (MCD) presentation in Malawi will be summarized using baseline demographics and laboratory values. Descriptive statistics will be performed.

Time frame: Baseline - until 21 days

Secondary

Clinical Response Rate

Clinical Response Rate will be defined as the percentage of subjects who achieved resolution of presenting signs/symptoms that defined the Multicentric Castleman disease (MCD) attack) without relapse.

Time frame: At the end of the treatment, 12 weeks after start of the treatment

Secondary

Efficacy of Risk-adjusted Treatment

The efficacy of risk-adjusted treatment will be defined as the clinical response rate which is the resolution of presenting signs/symptoms that defined the Multicentric Castleman disease (MCD) attack. MCD attack/flare is defined as the presence of each of the following three criteria: 1) Fever (subjective or objective), 2) Lymphadenopathy or hepatosplenomegaly, 3) At least one of the following signs or symptoms attributable to MCD by the local study investigator: a) Weight loss \>5%, b) Malaise, c) Anemia (Hemoglobin \<10 g/dL), and d) Thrombocytopenia (Platelets \<100 x 10\^3/uL).

Time frame: At the end of the treatment, 12 weeks after start of the treatment

Secondary

Event-free Survival

Event-free survival is the measure of time after treatment during which no sign of cancer (refractory disease, relapse, non-Hodgkin lymphoma development, or death ) is found.

Time frame: 90 days, 1 year, and 2 years

Secondary

Overall Survival

Overall survival is the measure of time from the first treatment day to the date of death for any cause. Subjects who have not had an event will be censored at the date of the last assessment documenting the subject was alive.

Time frame: 90 days, 1 year, and 2 years

Secondary

Quality of Life- Patient-reported Outcomes Questionnaires

Quality of Life- patient-reported outcomes (PRO) questionnaires will be assessed by the Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System Global Health Survey (PROMIS Global-10). The survey includes 10 items about mental and physical health rated on Likert scales ranging from 1 to 5, with higher scores indicative of better health.

Time frame: Baseline, week3, end of the treatment, 12 weeks, 6 months after the treatment, 24 months after the treatment, time of relapse.

Secondary

Radiological Response Rate

The Radiological Response Rate will be defined as the percentage of subjects without relapse defined using chest radiography, abdominal sonography, and physical exam for gross lymphadenopathy. Response criteria for lymph node response will be Complete response (CR)- the disappearance of all evident disease; Partial response (PR)-at least a 50% decrease in target lesions with no increase in non-target lesions, Stable disease (SD)- Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD); PD- the appearance of a new lesion or at least a 50% increase in lesion size.

Time frame: At the end of the treatment, 12 weeks after start of the treatment

Secondary

The Rate of Kaposi Sarcoma Exacerbation

The rate of Kaposi sarcoma exacerbation will be determined by symptomatic or clinical (dermatologic or visceral organ) exacerbation of the disease. All disease flares will be biopsy confirmed whenever possible.

Time frame: Up to 2 years

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jul 31, 2026