Skip to content

Comparative Study of Two Topical Anesthetics Prior to Fractional Nonablative Laser Treatment of the Face

Prospective, Randomized, Double-blinded, Split-face Study Comparing Efficacy of Lidocaine 2.5%/Prilocaine 2.5% Cream Under Occlusion, and Lidocaine 23% /Tetracaine 7% Ointment for Anesthesia Prior to 1927nm Fractional Laser Treatment

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04523961
Enrollment
22
Registered
2020-08-24
Start date
2021-01-08
Completion date
2025-02-19
Last updated
2026-02-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Anesthesia, Local, Photodamaged Skin, Topical and Infiltration Anesthetic Toxicity

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to determine the efficacy of lidocaine 2.5%/prilocaine 2.5% cream versus lidocaine 23%/tetracaine 7% ointment for topical anesthesia prior to a nonablative laser procedure.

Detailed description

Lidocaine 23% / tetracaine 7% ointment and lidocaine 2.5%/ prilocaine 2.5% cream are both topical anesthetics that are used commonly to locally anesthetize the skin prior to laser procedures. With the increased use of powerful lasers for medical and cosmetic purposes, adequate pain control is necessary. This study will compare the efficacy of lidocaine 23% / tetracaine 7% ointment and lidocaine 2.5%/ prilocaine 2.5% cream in reducing self-reported pain after laser treatment. It will also aim to determine the amount of redness, burning and itching a patient experiences with each cream, and if any symptoms of lidocaine toxicity are experienced. Prior to the procedure, we will randomly assign half of the face to be applied with 2.5 g of lidocaine 23% / tetracaine 7% ointment without occlusion and the other half of the face with 7.5 g lidocaine 2.5%/ prilocaine 2.5% cream with occlusion. After 60 minutes we will remove the creams with soap and water. Next, the patient will be treated with a fractional thulium fiber laser with a fluence of 20 millijoules and treatment level of 7-11. Standard post procedure instructions will be given, and surveys on symptoms and pain will be completed by both patient and investigator.

Interventions

DRUG2.5 g of lidocaine 23% / tetracaine 7% ointment without occlusion

Topical anesthetic used to numb the skin prior to laser procedures

DRUG7.5 g lidocaine 2.5%/ prilocaine 2.5% cream with occlusion

Topical anesthetic used to numb the skin prior to laser procedures

Sponsors

Mayo Clinic
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
SUPPORTIVE_CARE
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Male or female in general good health.18 years of age or older. * Undergoing 1927nm fractional thulium laser treatment. * Fitzpatrick skin type I-IV with at least mild photodamage of the face by physician discretion. * Subject has completed an appropriately administered informed consent process which includes signing the institutional review board (IRB) approved consent form. * Willingness to have facial exams and digital photos performed of the face. * Female patients will be either of non-childbearing potential defined as: * Having no uterus; * No menses for at least 12 months; or * (WOCBP) women of childbearing potential must agree to use an effective method of birth control during the course of the study, such as: 1. Oral contraceptive pill, injection, implant, patch, vaginal ring, intrauterine device; 2. Intrauterine coil; 3. Bilateral tubal ligation; 4. Barrier method used with an additional form of contraception (e.g., sponge, spermicide or condom); 5. Abstinence (if practicing abstinence must agree to use barrier method described above if becomes sexually active); 6. Vasectomized partner (Must agree to use barrier method described above if becomes sexually active with non-vasectomized).

Exclusion criteria

* Presence of incompletely healed wound or active skin disease within in treatment area. * Pregnant, planning pregnancy or breastfeeding during the course of the study. * Individuals who have ablative laser within 6 months; non ablative lasers, facial peels, or dermabrasion within 1 month. * Individuals with known allergies or sensitivities to any of the ingredients of any topical products being used in this study (a list of the products with active and excipients will be provided below). * Subjects with any pre-existing medical or psychological condition which, in the opinion of the investigator, would put them at increased risk due to study treatment or participation. * Subjects who are unable to comprehend the study consent document or provide full written consent. * Subjects who have taken isotretinoin within 3 months or systemic corticosteroids within 1 month. * Subjects with history of severe cardiovascular disease, kidney disease, liver disease, uncontrolled diabetes, uncontrolled seizures, immunosuppression.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Self-reported Pain After Laser TreatmentAfter laser treatment, approximately 60 minutesParticipants were asked to rate their pain using the self-reported visual analog scale (VAS). The VAS uses a scale of 0 = no pain to 10 = worst pain. Total scores range from 0 - 10, with lower scores indicating lower pain and higher scores indicating greater pain.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants Who Self-reported Itching After Laser TreatmentAfter laser treatment, approximately 60 minutesThe number of participants who reported itching sensation after use of lidocaine 23% / tetracaine 7% ointment and lidocaine 2.5%/ prilocaine 2.5% cream.
Number of Participants Who Self-reported Burning After Laser TreatmentAfter laser treatment, approximately 60 minutesThe number of participants who reported burning sensation after use of lidocaine 23% / tetracaine 7% ointment and lidocaine 2.5%/ prilocaine 2.5% cream.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORElika Hoss

Mayo Clinic

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
10 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
12 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
20 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
20 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
22 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
17 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 220 / 22
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 220 / 22
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 220 / 22

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 21, 2026