Skip to content

A Study of Ramucirumab (LY3009806) in Healthy Participants

A Single-Dose Study in Healthy Participants to Characterize Ramucirumab Pharmacokinetics and Investigate Injection Site Reactions Following an Intravenous Infusion or Subcutaneous Administration of Ramucirumab

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04495478
Enrollment
50
Registered
2020-07-31
Start date
2020-07-30
Completion date
2021-05-09
Last updated
2023-02-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Healthy

Brief summary

This study evaluates a new formulation of ramucirumab, a drug approved for several types of cancer. In this study of healthy participants, a small amount of ramucirumab will be given by injection either into a vein or just under the skin. Study doctors will measure the amount of ramucirumab in the bloodstream. Side effects and tolerability will be documented. The study will last for about 16 weeks for each participant, including screening and follow up. Screening is required within 28 days prior to entering the study.

Interventions

DRUGRamucirumab - IV

Administered IV.

Administered IV.

DRUGRamucirumab - SC

Administered SC.

Administered SC.

Sponsors

Eli Lilly and Company
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
BASIC_SCIENCE
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 60 Years
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* Overtly healthy male or a female (not pregnant and agreeable to take birth control measures until study completion) * Have a body weight greater than or equal to (≥)70 kilograms (kg) and body mass index (BMI) of 18 to 32 kilogram per square meter (kg/m ²), inclusive * Have normal blood pressure, pulse rate, electrocardiogram (ECG), and blood and urine laboratory test results that are acceptable for the study

Exclusion criteria

* Are currently participating in or completed a clinical trial within the last 30 days or any other type of medical research judged to be incompatible with this study * Have previously participated or withdrawn from this study * Have or used to have health problems or laboratory test results or ECG readings that, in the opinion of the doctor, could make it unsafe to participate, or could interfere with understanding the results of the study * Had blood loss of more than 500 milliliters (mL) within the previous 30 days of study screening

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug AdministrationBaseline through Day 90An SAE is any adverse event from this study that results in 1 of the following: Death, initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization, a life-threatening experience (that is, risk of death), persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, Important medical events that may not be immediately life-threatening or result in death or hospitalization but may jeopardize the subject or may require intervention to prevent 1 of the other outcomes listed in the definition above. The number of participants with one or more SAEs considered by the investigator to be related to study drug administration is reported. A summary of SAEs and other non-serious adverse events (AEs), regardless of causality, will be reported in the Reported Adverse Events module
Number of Participants With Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) Following Subcutaneous (SC) Administration of Study DrugDay 1 Predose through Day 90Number of participants showing ISRs when the drug was administered subcutaneously were reported.
Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Ramucirumab1, 8, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144, 168, 264, 336, 504 hours post-dosePK: AUC\[0-∞\] of Ramucirumab.
PK: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Ramucirumab1, 8, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144, 168, 264, 336, 504 hours post-dosePK: Cmax of Ramucirumab

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo IV
Participants received single dose of placebo administered IV.
3
350 mg Ramucirumab IV
Participants received single 350 mg ramucirumab administered as a 60-minute intravenous infusion at a concentration of 10 mg/mL as one 35 mL infusion.
7
Placebo SC
Participants received single dose of placebo administered SC.
12
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (1x2 mL)
Participants received single 350 mg ramucirumab SC administered at a concentration of 175 mg/mL as one 2 mL injection.
7
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)
Participants received single 350 mg ramucirumab SC administered at a concentration of 87.5 mg/mL as two 2 mL injections.
7
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x1 mL)
Participants received single 350 mg ramucirumab SC administered at a concentration of 175 mg/mL as two 1 mL injections.
7
700 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)
Participants received single 700 mg ramucirumab SC administered at a concentration of 175 mg/mL as two 2 mL injections.
7
Total50

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004FG005FG006
Overall StudyPhysician Decision0100100
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject0001000

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlacebo IVTotal700 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x1 mL)350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)350 mg Ramucirumab SC (1x2 mL)Placebo SC350 mg Ramucirumab IV
Age, Continuous34 years40 years41 years39 years46 years51 years37 years35 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants23 Participants1 Participants2 Participants4 Participants4 Participants7 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants27 Participants6 Participants5 Participants3 Participants3 Participants5 Participants4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants12 Participants2 Participants2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants3 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
2 Participants35 Participants5 Participants5 Participants5 Participants6 Participants8 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
3 Participants50 Participants7 Participants7 Participants7 Participants7 Participants12 Participants7 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants9 Participants1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants41 Participants6 Participants7 Participants5 Participants5 Participants10 Participants5 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 30 / 70 / 120 / 70 / 70 / 70 / 7
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 34 / 71 / 123 / 72 / 75 / 74 / 7
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 30 / 71 / 120 / 71 / 70 / 70 / 7

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) Following Subcutaneous (SC) Administration of Study Drug

Number of participants showing ISRs when the drug was administered subcutaneously were reported.

Time frame: Day 1 Predose through Day 90

Population: All participants who received at least one dose of study drug subcutaneously.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Placebo IVNumber of Participants With Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) Following Subcutaneous (SC) Administration of Study Drug3 Participants
350 mg Ramucirumab IVNumber of Participants With Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) Following Subcutaneous (SC) Administration of Study Drug3 Participants
Placebo SCNumber of Participants With Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) Following Subcutaneous (SC) Administration of Study Drug2 Participants
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (1x2 mL)Number of Participants With Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) Following Subcutaneous (SC) Administration of Study Drug1 Participants
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)Number of Participants With Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) Following Subcutaneous (SC) Administration of Study Drug1 Participants
Primary

Number of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration

An SAE is any adverse event from this study that results in 1 of the following: Death, initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization, a life-threatening experience (that is, risk of death), persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, Important medical events that may not be immediately life-threatening or result in death or hospitalization but may jeopardize the subject or may require intervention to prevent 1 of the other outcomes listed in the definition above. The number of participants with one or more SAEs considered by the investigator to be related to study drug administration is reported. A summary of SAEs and other non-serious adverse events (AEs), regardless of causality, will be reported in the Reported Adverse Events module

Time frame: Baseline through Day 90

Population: All participants who received at least one dose of study drug.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Placebo IVNumber of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration0 Participants
350 mg Ramucirumab IVNumber of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration0 Participants
Placebo SCNumber of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration1 Participants
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (1x2 mL)Number of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration0 Participants
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)Number of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration1 Participants
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x1 mL)Number of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration0 Participants
700 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)Number of Participants With One or More Serious Adverse Event(s) (SAEs) Considered by the Investigator to be Related to Study Drug Administration0 Participants
Primary

Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Ramucirumab

PK: AUC\[0-∞\] of Ramucirumab.

Time frame: 1, 8, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144, 168, 264, 336, 504 hours post-dose

Population: All participants who received at least one dose of ramucirumab and had sufficient evaluable PK data.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
Placebo IVPharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Ramucirumab18700 hour*microgram per milliliter (h*μg/mL)Geometric Coefficient of Variation 19
350 mg Ramucirumab IVPharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Ramucirumab5250 hour*microgram per milliliter (h*μg/mL)Geometric Coefficient of Variation 48
Placebo SCPharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Ramucirumab5140 hour*microgram per milliliter (h*μg/mL)Geometric Coefficient of Variation 76
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (1x2 mL)Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Ramucirumab6350 hour*microgram per milliliter (h*μg/mL)Geometric Coefficient of Variation 57
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC[0-∞]) of Ramucirumab14200 hour*microgram per milliliter (h*μg/mL)Geometric Coefficient of Variation 76
Primary

PK: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Ramucirumab

PK: Cmax of Ramucirumab

Time frame: 1, 8, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144, 168, 264, 336, 504 hours post-dose

Population: All participants who received at least one dose of ramucirumab and had sufficient evaluable PK data.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
Placebo IVPK: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Ramucirumab116 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 11
350 mg Ramucirumab IVPK: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Ramucirumab24 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 56
Placebo SCPK: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Ramucirumab20.2 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 63
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (1x2 mL)PK: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Ramucirumab21 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 66
350 mg Ramucirumab SC (2x2 mL)PK: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Ramucirumab46.7 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 44

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026