Skip to content

ATH-1017 for Treatment of Mild to Moderate Alzheimer's Disease

A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Double-Blind Study of ATH-1017 Treatment in Subjects With Mild to Moderate Alzheimer's Disease

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04488419
Acronym
LIFT-AD
Enrollment
554
Registered
2020-07-28
Start date
2020-09-28
Completion date
2024-07-15
Last updated
2025-04-04

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Alzheimer Disease, Dementia of Alzheimer Type

Keywords

Alzheimer's Disease, Cognition, Dementia, ATH-1017, LIFT AD, Fosgonimeton

Brief summary

This study is designed to evaluate safety and efficacy of fosgonimeton (ATH-1017) in the treatment of mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease with a randomized treatment duration of 26-weeks.

Detailed description

The study is designed to evaluate safety and efficacy of ATH-1017 in mild to moderate AD subjects, with randomized, parallel-arm treatment duration of 26 weeks, and based on clinical diagnostic criteria of Alzheimer's disease. Clinical efficacy is demonstrated by improvement in cognition and global/functional assessments comparing treatment to placebo.

Interventions

Daily subcutaneous (SC) injection of ATH-1017 in a pre-filled syringe

DRUGPlacebo

Daily subcutaneous (SC) injection of Placebo in a pre-filled syringe

Sponsors

Athira Pharma
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Intervention model description

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
55 Years to 85 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria: * Age 55 to 85 years * Mild-to-moderate AD dementia subjects, MMSE 14-24, CDR 1 or 2 at Screening * Clinical diagnosis of dementia, due probably to AD, by Revised National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer's Association criteria (McKhann, 2011) * Body mass index (BMI) of ≥ 18 and ≤ 35 kg/m2 at Screening * Reliable and capable support person/caregiver * Treatment-free (subjects not receiving acetylcholinesterase inhibitor \[AChEI\] treatment), defined as: * Treatment-naïve, OR * Subjects who received an AChEI in the past and discontinued at least 4 weeks prior to Screening Key

Exclusion criteria

* History of significant neurologic disease, other than AD, that may affect cognition, or concurrent with the onset of dementia * Subject has atypical variant presentation of AD, if known from medical history, particularly non-amnestic AD * History of brain MRI scan indicative of any other significant abnormality * Diagnosis of severe major depressive disorder even without psychotic features. * Significant suicide risk * History within 2 years of Screening, or current diagnosis of psychosis * Myocardial infarction or unstable angina within the last 6 months * Clinically significant cardiac arrhythmia (including atrial fibrillation), cardiomyopathy, or cardiac conduction defect (note: pacemaker is acceptable) * Subject has either hypertension or symptomatic hypotension * Clinically significant ECG abnormality at Screening * Chronic kidney disease with estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) \<45 mL/min * Hepatic impairment with alanine aminotransferase or aspartate aminotransferase \> 2 times the upper limit of normal, or Child-Pugh class B and C * Malignant tumor within 3 years before Screening * Memantine in any form, combination or dosage within 4 weeks prior to Screening * Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors in any dosage form * The subject has received active amyloid or tau immunization (i.e., vaccination for Alzheimer's disease) at any time, or passive immunization (i.e., monoclonal antibodies for Alzheimer's disease) within 6 months of Screening

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Global Statistical Test (GST) ScoreBaseline and Week 26The Global Statistical Test (GST) score is a composite of cognition and function, calculated as the average of two change from baseline z-scores; the z-scores are calculated for the change from baseline scores for cognition (Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale \[ADAS-Cog11\]; lower value indicates improvement) and function (Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living, 23-item version \[ADCS-ADL23\] score; higher value indicates improvement). GST is a standardized score relative to the population mean. Therefore, a GST score of 0 is representative of the population mean. Since GST is a composite of two endpoints, a negative ADCS-ADL23 score is used in deriving GST. Therefore, a lower score indicates improvement, and a higher score indicates worsening. There are no defined clinically relevant thresholds for this GST score.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale 11 (ADAS-Cog11) Change From BaselineBaseline and Week 26The ADAS-Cog11 was designed to measure cognitive symptom change in participants with Alzheimer's Disease (AD) and consisted of 11 tasks. The standard 11 items (and corresponding score range) were: word recall (0-10), commands (0-5), constructional praxis (0-5), naming objects and fingers (0-5), ideational praxis (0-5), orientation (0-8), word recognition (0-12), spoken language ability (0-5), comprehension of spoken language (0-5), word-finding difficulty (0-5), and remembering test instructions (0-5). The test included 7 performance items and 4 clinician-rated items. The ADAS-Cog11 total score was the sum of all 11 individual items, with a total score ranging from 0 (no impairment) to 70 (severe impairment). Higher scores indicated more severe cognitive impairment. Baseline was defined as Day 1.
Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living, 23-Item Version (ADCS-ADL23) Change From BaselineBaseline and Week 26The ADCS-ADL23 is a 23-item assessment of functional impairment in terms of activities of daily living administered to the support person/caregiver. It comprises 23 questions about the subject's involvement and level of performance across items representing daily living. The questions range from basic to instrumental activities of daily living. Each item is rated from the highest level of independent performance to complete loss. The total score range is from 0 to 78, with lower scores indicating greater functional impairment. Baseline was defined as Day 1.
Plasma Neurofilament Light Chain (NfL) Concentrations Change From BaselineBaseline and Week 26Neurofilament light chain (NfL) is an objective biomarker of neurodegeneration and was measured to quantitatively support the evaluation of ATH-1017. Higher concentrations of NfL in plasma are associated with neurodegeneration.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study was conducted in the United States.

Pre-assignment details

This was a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study to evaluate the clinical efficacy of ATH-1017 treatment compared with placebo in participants with a clinical diagnosis of mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD).

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo
Participants were randomized to receive placebo via subcutaneous (SC) injection once-daily (QD) preferably during daytime. The first SC injection of study drug was performed at site under supervision. The participant should withhold study drug administration on the day of subsequent clinic visits; study drug administration was done on site under supervision of site staff at these visits. Clinic visits took place on Day 1 and thereafter at Weeks 2, 6, 12, 16, 20, and 26, with a safety follow-up visit scheduled 4 weeks after completion of the double-blind period at Week 30
218
ATH-1017 40 Milligrams (mg)
Participants were randomized to receive ATH-1017 40 mg via SC injection QD preferably during daytime. The first SC injection of study drug was performed at site under supervision. The participant should withhold study drug administration on the day of subsequent clinic visits; study drug administration was done on site under supervision of site staff at these visits. Clinic visits took place on Day 1 and thereafter at Weeks 2, 6, 12, 16, 20, and 26, with a safety follow-up visit scheduled 4 weeks after completion of the double-blind period at Week 30
224
ATH-1017 70 mg
Participants were randomized to receive ATH-1017 70 mg via SC injection QD preferably during daytime. The first SC injection of study drug was performed at site under supervision. The participant should withhold study drug administration on the day of subsequent clinic visits; study drug administration was done on site under supervision of site staff at these visits. Clinic visits took place on Day 1 and thereafter at Weeks 2, 6, 12, 16, 20, and 26, with a safety follow-up visit scheduled 4 weeks after completion of the double-blind period at Week 30
107
Total549

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Primary Analysis Population>1 Reason240
Primary Analysis PopulationAdverse Event690
Primary Analysis PopulationProtocol Violation110
Primary Analysis PopulationUndetermined730
Primary Analysis PopulationWithdrawal by Subject040
Safety Population, >=1 Dose Administered>1 Reason4712
Safety Population, >=1 Dose AdministeredAdverse Event102218
Safety Population, >=1 Dose AdministeredLack of Efficacy110
Safety Population, >=1 Dose AdministeredLost to Follow-up032
Safety Population, >=1 Dose AdministeredPhysician Decision010
Safety Population, >=1 Dose AdministeredProtocol Violation210
Safety Population, >=1 Dose AdministeredUndetermined1595
Safety Population, >=1 Dose AdministeredWithdrawal by Subject361

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlaceboATH-1017 40 Milligrams (mg)ATH-1017 70 mgTotal
Age, Continuous73.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.22
72.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.24
71.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.8
72.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.19
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
39 Participants45 Participants6 Participants90 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
179 Participants177 Participants101 Participants457 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
13 Participants7 Participants1 Participants21 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
14 Participants19 Participants8 Participants41 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
6 Participants2 Participants1 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
185 Participants194 Participants97 Participants476 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
116 Participants115 Participants56 Participants287 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
102 Participants109 Participants51 Participants262 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 2180 / 2240 / 107
other
Total, other adverse events
65 / 218185 / 224104 / 107
serious
Total, serious adverse events
15 / 21811 / 2243 / 107

Outcome results

Primary

Global Statistical Test (GST) Score

The Global Statistical Test (GST) score is a composite of cognition and function, calculated as the average of two change from baseline z-scores; the z-scores are calculated for the change from baseline scores for cognition (Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale \[ADAS-Cog11\]; lower value indicates improvement) and function (Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living, 23-item version \[ADCS-ADL23\] score; higher value indicates improvement). GST is a standardized score relative to the population mean. Therefore, a GST score of 0 is representative of the population mean. Since GST is a composite of two endpoints, a negative ADCS-ADL23 score is used in deriving GST. Therefore, a lower score indicates improvement, and a higher score indicates worsening. There are no defined clinically relevant thresholds for this GST score.

Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

Population: Primary Analysis Population (Placebo or 40 mg ATH-1017 mITT Participants not taking AChEIs)

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboGlobal Statistical Test (GST) Score-0.126 Z-scoreStandard Error 0.0683
ATH-1017 40 Milligrams (mg)Global Statistical Test (GST) Score-0.208 Z-scoreStandard Error 0.0707
Secondary

Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale 11 (ADAS-Cog11) Change From Baseline

The ADAS-Cog11 was designed to measure cognitive symptom change in participants with Alzheimer's Disease (AD) and consisted of 11 tasks. The standard 11 items (and corresponding score range) were: word recall (0-10), commands (0-5), constructional praxis (0-5), naming objects and fingers (0-5), ideational praxis (0-5), orientation (0-8), word recognition (0-12), spoken language ability (0-5), comprehension of spoken language (0-5), word-finding difficulty (0-5), and remembering test instructions (0-5). The test included 7 performance items and 4 clinician-rated items. The ADAS-Cog11 total score was the sum of all 11 individual items, with a total score ranging from 0 (no impairment) to 70 (severe impairment). Higher scores indicated more severe cognitive impairment. Baseline was defined as Day 1.

Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

Population: Primary Analysis Population (Placebo or 40 mg ATH-1017 mITT Participants not taking AChEIs)

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboAlzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale 11 (ADAS-Cog11) Change From Baseline-0.39 score on a scaleStandard Error 0.54
ATH-1017 40 Milligrams (mg)Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale 11 (ADAS-Cog11) Change From Baseline-1.09 score on a scaleStandard Error 0.56
Secondary

Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living, 23-Item Version (ADCS-ADL23) Change From Baseline

The ADCS-ADL23 is a 23-item assessment of functional impairment in terms of activities of daily living administered to the support person/caregiver. It comprises 23 questions about the subject's involvement and level of performance across items representing daily living. The questions range from basic to instrumental activities of daily living. Each item is rated from the highest level of independent performance to complete loss. The total score range is from 0 to 78, with lower scores indicating greater functional impairment. Baseline was defined as Day 1.

Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

Population: Primary Analysis Population (Placebo or 40 mg ATH-1017 mITT Participants not taking AChEIs)

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboAlzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living, 23-Item Version (ADCS-ADL23) Change From Baseline-0.02 score on a scaleStandard Error 0.65
ATH-1017 40 Milligrams (mg)Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living, 23-Item Version (ADCS-ADL23) Change From Baseline0.65 score on a scaleStandard Error 0.67
Secondary

Plasma Neurofilament Light Chain (NfL) Concentrations Change From Baseline

Neurofilament light chain (NfL) is an objective biomarker of neurodegeneration and was measured to quantitatively support the evaluation of ATH-1017. Higher concentrations of NfL in plasma are associated with neurodegeneration.

Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

Population: Primary Analysis Population (Placebo or 40 mg ATH-1017 mITT Participants not taking AChEIs)

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboPlasma Neurofilament Light Chain (NfL) Concentrations Change From Baseline2.95 picogram / milliterStandard Error 2.49
ATH-1017 40 Milligrams (mg)Plasma Neurofilament Light Chain (NfL) Concentrations Change From Baseline-0.96 picogram / milliterStandard Error 2.48

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 19, 2026