Skip to content

Better Memory With Literacy Acquisition Later in Life

Better Memory With Literacy Acquisition Later in Life

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04473235
Enrollment
108
Registered
2020-07-16
Start date
2021-11-11
Completion date
2022-12-17
Last updated
2024-07-16

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Memory Impairment

Brief summary

This study aims to discover whether acquiring basic-literacy in adulthood can improve episodic memory and brain structural and functional connectivity. In a collaborative project between Brazil and USA, the investigators will use a randomized controlled trial approach to leverage the level of evidence of the benefits of basic adult-education as a possible cognitive reserve builder. If successful, the study's findings will be important in shaping policies targeting increasing access to late-life education to reduce dementia risk.

Interventions

BEHAVIORALLiteracy training

Teaching adults how to read and write using the analytical and phonemic method

BEHAVIORALNon-Literacy training

Attending classes in geography, history, sciences, without receiving the specific training in literacy

Sponsors

Federal University of Minas Gerais
CollaboratorOTHER
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
CollaboratorNIH
University of California, San Francisco
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
PREVENTION
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
40 Years to 89 Years
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

Being illiterate (TOFHLA score \<53) and availability to participate in the study for at least 12 months

Exclusion criteria

A) Presence of remarkable cognitive complains and/or decompensated psychiatric illness (depression and anxiety) and/or current substance abuse such as alcohol and illicit drugs use. B) Objective cognitive impairment: score of 2 standard deviations or bellow for age and education on the Mini-Mental State Evaluation (MMSE) and/or score of 6 or lower on the delayed recall task from the Brief Cognitive Battery. C) History of previously diagnosed dyslexia D) Formal MRI contraindications including metal or claustrophobia. E) Severe structural lesions detected by MRI.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Episodic Memory ImprovementBaseline and 6 monthsChange in free recall sum-of-attempts of the Free and Cued Selective Reminding with Immediate Recall (FCSR) test. The Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT) is an episodic memory test. First, the participant learns 16 figures, 4 each time, with the help of semantic cues provided by the examiner. After that, the participant recalls the figures 3 times, with a distraction activity between each attempt (counting 20 to 1 backwards). The sum of each immediate free recall is called sum of attempts. It ranges from 0 (the participant does not recall any figure in three attempts) to 48 (the participant recalls all the figures). The higher the score, the better the participant's episodic memory.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Brain ConnectivityBaseline and 6 monthsThe intrinsic functional connectivity will be measured using the BOLD (blood oxygen level dependent) that is calculated through resting state functional MRIs that will be performed at baseline and at 6 months follow up. After preprocessing the images and accounting for potential cofounders (head motion signal, cerebral spinal signal, physiological signal and white matter signal), the BOLD signal is measured and coregistered in T1 images for anatomical correspondence of the signal. Then, a seed is placed in the hippocampus and the BOLD signal between the hippocampus and the prefrontal cortex is calculated at baseline and at 6 months follow up. The higher the value, the more the regions are connected. Change in the intrinsic functional connectivity between the hippocampus and the prefrontal cortex.

Countries

Brazil

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

The assignment of participants to each arm group occured after enrollment. There was no specific event before assigment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Literacy Training
The basic-literacy training will be given for two hours/day for four days/week for 6 months. At baseline, participants will be randomized into four classes of 30. An expert in adult education will oversee the classes and meet the teachers periodically, and each class will count with a certified and experienced lead teacher and teacher aid. The intervention group will receive literacy training based on analytical and phonemic methods for enabling reading and writing Literacy training: Teaching adults how to read and write using the analytical and phonemic method
58
Non-literacy Training
The comparator group will have access to non-literacy classes offered at the adult school, including geography, history, informatics, and sciences, but no literacy-training, for two hours/day for four days/week for 6 months. Non-Literacy training: Attending classes in geography, history, sciences, without receiving the specific training in literacy
50
Total108

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeclined continuation20
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up65
Overall StudyPhysician Decision11
Overall StudyProtocol Violation106

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicLiteracy TrainingNon-literacy TrainingTotal
Age, Continuous58.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.8
58.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.7
58.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.7
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
58 Participants50 Participants108 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Free and cued recall sum of attempts28.3 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.1
28.4 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.5
28.3 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.3
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
39 Participants39 Participants78 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
14 Participants7 Participants21 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
5 Participants4 Participants9 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Brazil
58 participants50 participants108 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
42 Participants35 Participants77 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
16 Participants15 Participants31 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 580 / 50
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 582 / 50
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 580 / 50

Outcome results

Primary

Episodic Memory Improvement

Change in free recall sum-of-attempts of the Free and Cued Selective Reminding with Immediate Recall (FCSR) test. The Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT) is an episodic memory test. First, the participant learns 16 figures, 4 each time, with the help of semantic cues provided by the examiner. After that, the participant recalls the figures 3 times, with a distraction activity between each attempt (counting 20 to 1 backwards). The sum of each immediate free recall is called sum of attempts. It ranges from 0 (the participant does not recall any figure in three attempts) to 48 (the participant recalls all the figures). The higher the score, the better the participant's episodic memory.

Time frame: Baseline and 6 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Literacy TrainingEpisodic Memory Improvement31.8 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 5.8
Non-literacy TrainingEpisodic Memory Improvement31.3 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 5.5
p-value: 0.531t-test, 2 sided
Secondary

Change in Brain Connectivity

The intrinsic functional connectivity will be measured using the BOLD (blood oxygen level dependent) that is calculated through resting state functional MRIs that will be performed at baseline and at 6 months follow up. After preprocessing the images and accounting for potential cofounders (head motion signal, cerebral spinal signal, physiological signal and white matter signal), the BOLD signal is measured and coregistered in T1 images for anatomical correspondence of the signal. Then, a seed is placed in the hippocampus and the BOLD signal between the hippocampus and the prefrontal cortex is calculated at baseline and at 6 months follow up. The higher the value, the more the regions are connected. Change in the intrinsic functional connectivity between the hippocampus and the prefrontal cortex.

Time frame: Baseline and 6 months

Population: Some participants had artifacts in their MRIs that made the researchers not able to interpret the resting state functional MRI. Therefore these participants are not included in the analysis for this outcome.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Literacy TrainingChange in Brain ConnectivityConnectivity between the left hippocampal and left prefrontal cortex-0.11 unitlessStandard Deviation 0.38
Literacy TrainingChange in Brain ConnectivityConnectivity between the right hippocampal and right prefrontal cortex-0.11 unitlessStandard Deviation 0.42
Non-literacy TrainingChange in Brain ConnectivityConnectivity between the left hippocampal and left prefrontal cortex0.06 unitlessStandard Deviation 0.39
Non-literacy TrainingChange in Brain ConnectivityConnectivity between the right hippocampal and right prefrontal cortex-0.05 unitlessStandard Deviation 0.39
Comparison: Difference in the connectivity between the left hippocampus and left prefrontal cortex.p-value: 0.627t-test, 2 sided
Comparison: Difference in the connectivity between the right hippocampus and right prefrontal cortex.p-value: 0.12t-test, 2 sided

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 7, 2026