Skip to content

Testing the Addition of the Anti-cancer Viral Therapy Telomelysin™ to Chemoradiation for Patients With Advanced Esophageal Cancer and Are Not Candidates for Surgery

Phase I Trial With Expansion Cohort of OBP-301 (Telomelysin™) and Definitive Chemoradiation for Patients With Locally Advanced Esophageal and Gastroesophageal Cancer Who Are Not Candidates for Surgery

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04391049
Enrollment
16
Registered
2020-05-18
Start date
2021-12-02
Completion date
2030-10-06
Last updated
2026-09-04

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Advanced Esophageal Adenocarcinoma, Advanced Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma, Clinical Stage IIA Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage IIA Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage IIB Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage IIB Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage II Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage II Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage III Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Clinical Stage III Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIA Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIA Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIB Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIB Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage II Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage II Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIIA Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIIA Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIIB Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage IIIB Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage III Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Pathologic Stage III Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage II Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage II Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage IIIA Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage IIIA Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage IIIB Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage IIIB Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage III Esophageal Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Postneoadjuvant Therapy Stage III Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma AJCC v8, Squamous Cell Cancer, Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Unresectable Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma

Keywords

OBP-301, viral therapy

Brief summary

This phase I trial studies the side effects of OBP-301 when given together with carboplatin, paclitaxel, and radiation therapy in treating patients with esophageal or gastroesophageal cancer that invades local or regional structures. OBP-301 is a virus that has been designed to infect and destroy tumor cells (although there is a small risk that it can also infect normal cells). Chemotherapy drugs, such as carboplatin and paclitaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Radiation therapy uses high energy x-rays to kill tumor cells and shrink tumors. Giving OBP-301 with chemotherapy and radiation therapy may work better than standard chemotherapy and radiation therapy in treating patients with esophageal or gastroesophageal cancer.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: I. To determine if the addition of OBP-301 to chemoradiation with carboplatin/paclitaxel is safe. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To assess toxicities associated with the addition of OBP-301 to chemoradiation. II. To assess the number of clinical complete responses (cCR). III. To assess the number of patients alive/without progression (progression-free survival \[PFS\]) and the number of patients alive (overall survival \[OS\]) at 1 and 2 years. EXPLORATORY OBJECTIVE: I. To report correlate outcomes - cCR, PFS and OS - with immune and virus-based correlative assays. OUTLINE: This study will evaluate an initial dose of OBP-301 and a de-escalated dose, if needed. Patients receive OBP-301 by intratumoral injection via endoscopy on days -3, 12, and 26. Patients also receive carboplatin intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 60 minutes on days 1, 8, 15, 22, and 29, and undergo radiation therapy on Monday through Friday beginning day 1 for 28 fractions over 5.5 weeks. All treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 1 and 6-8 weeks, then every 3 months for 2 years.

Interventions

DRUGCarboplatin

Intravenously (IV)

DRUGPaclitaxel

Intravenously (IV)

RADIATIONRadiation Therapy

Daily fractions

BIOLOGICALTelomerase-specific Type 5 Adenovirus OBP-301

Intra-tumoral injection

Sponsors

NRG Oncology
Lead SponsorOTHER
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Pathologically (histologically or cytologically) proven diagnosis of adenocarcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) of the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction (GEJ) within 90 days prior to registration * Gastroesophageal junction tumors must be Siewert type I/II * Required diagnostic workup for study entry: * History/physical examination prior to registration * Computed tomography (CT) of the chest/abdomen with intravenous contrast within 28 days prior to registration; If CT contrast is contraindicated magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the chest/abdomen without contrast is permitted * Bronchoscopy for squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) tumors that are adjacent to the airway to exclude a tracheoesophageal fistula within 42 days prior to registration * Endoscopic ultrasound (if technically feasible) within 90 days prior to registration * Whole body positron emission tomography (PET)/CT scan within 42 days prior to registration: Note: scan will be used for radiation treatment planning, in addition to ruling out metastatic disease * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0-2 within 14 days prior to registration * Adequate hematologic function within 14 days prior to registration defined as follows Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mcL (within 14 days prior to registration) Hemoglobin ≥ 9 gm/dL (within 14 days prior to registration) Platelets ≥ 100,000/mcL (within 14 days prior to registration) * Adequate renal function within 14 days prior to registration defined as follows Creatinine clearance of ≥ 50 ml/min (as calculated by Cockcroft-Gault equation) (within 14 days prior to registration) * Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) (within 14 days prior to registration) * AST/ALT ≤ 2.5 x ULN * Patients for whom non-operative management is a viable option in the opinion of a thoracic surgeon and/or multidisciplinary team and are candidates for chemoradiation; this does not preclude patients from receiving surgery after chemoradiation if felt to me medically indicated; * Patients must, in the opinion of a treating gastroenterologist, have a tumor that is amenable to intratumoral injection with at least 1 mL (1 x 10\^12 vp/mL) of OBP-301 and be a candidate for 3 endoscopy procedures * Female patients of child bearing potential must have a negative serum/urine pregnancy test within 14 days prior to study entry. A female not of childbearing potential is one who has undergone a hysterectomy, bilateral oophorectomy, tubal ligation, or who has had no menses for 12 consecutive months * Patients of reproductive potential must agree to use effective contraception for the duration of study treatment as well as 6 months (for women) or 12 months (for men) after the last administered injection of OBP-301. Effective contraception includes oral contraceptives, implantable hormonal contraception, double-barrier method or intrauterine device * The patient must provide study-specific informed consent prior to study entry * Patients with a prior or concurrent malignancy whose natural history or treatment does not have the potential to interfere with the safety or efficacy assessment of the investigational regimen are eligible for this trial * Known acute or chronic hepatitis B or C infection (testing not required prior to study entry in patients with no known history of hepatitis B or C) * For patients with evidence of chronic hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection, the HBV viral load must be undetectable on suppressive therapy, if indicated * For patients with a history of hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection, they must (i) have been treated and cured, (ii) for patients with HCV infection who are currently on treatment, they are eligible if they have an undetectable HCV viral load * Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-infected patients on effective anti-retroviral therapy with undetectable viral load within 6 months prior to study entry are eligible for this trial

Exclusion criteria

* Definitive clinical or radiologic evidence of metastatic disease including: * Positive malignant cytology of the pleura, pericardium or peritoneum * Radiographic evidence of involvement of any adjacent mediastinal structure, e.g. aorta, trachea, which would increase the risk of repeated endoscopic interventions * Tracheoesophageal fistula * Radiographic evidence of distant organ involvement * Non-regional lymph nodes that cannot be contained within a radiation field * More than 1 esophageal lesion * Prior systemic chemotherapy for the study cancer * Prior radiotherapy to the region of the study cancer that would result in overlap of radiation therapy fields * Biopsy-proven tumor invasion of the tracheobronchial tree or presence of tracheoesophageal fistula or recurrent laryngeal or phrenic nerve paralysis * For patients with known history or current symptoms of cardiac disease, or history of treatment with cardiotoxic agents, a New York Heart Association functional classification 2C or worse * Uncontrolled diabetes * Infection requiring IV antibiotics at the time of registration * Patients requiring immunosuppressive medications including chronic suppressive steroid therapy (greater than the equivalent of 20 mg/day of prednisone), methotrexate, azathioprine and TNF-alpha blockers within 7 days prior to study entry * Received live vaccine within 30 days prior to registration * Received a blood transfusion, hematopoietic agent; granulocyte-colony stimulating factor (G-CSF), and/or oxygen supplementation within 7 days before the screening lab * Breast feeding females

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants Experiencing Any Dose-Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)From start of protocol treatment until 30 days after the completion of chemoradiation, approximately 10 weeks.Adverse events are graded according to Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0, which grades adverse event severity as follows: 1 = mild, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe, 4 = life-threatening, 5 = death related to adverse event. A DLT is defined as the following that are definitely or probably attributed to OBP-301: * Any grade ≥3 adverse event EXCEPT for the following: * Grade 3 nausea/vomiting * Grade 3 esophagitis or dehydration * The first occurrence of grade 3/4 neutropenia * Grade 3/4 lymphopenia (since this is a known toxicity of chemoradiation and OBP-301) * Any toxicity that leads to a \>14-day cumulative delay in chemoradiation. If 0 or 1 participants of 6 participants experienced a DLT, then the treatment regimen would be considered safe (and 9 more would be accrued for secondary endpoints). Otherwise, the regimen would be deemed too toxic and a second cohort of six participants would be accrued to a lower dose of OBP-301 (1 x 10\^11 vp/mL).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedFrom start of protocol treatment to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up was 28.7 months.The Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0 grades adverse event severity as follows: 1 = mild, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe, 4 = life-threatening, 5 = death related to adverse event. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure; see Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.
Number of Participants With Clinical Complete Response (cCR)6-8 weeks after completion of chemoradiation, approximately 11.5-13.5 weeks from baseline.Clinical complete response is defined as grossly free of disease as determined by a visual inspection or if the visual inspection was not certain, then a negative biopsy. The number of participants is determined for two populations: * Complete case analysis only includes eligible participants who started protocol treatment and were assessed for cCR; * Sensitivity analysis includes all eligible participants who started protocol treatment and counts participants without an assessment as not achieving a cCR.
Number of Participants Alive Without Progression at 1 and 2 YearsAt 1 and 2 yearsProgression is defined as pathologically confirmed recurrence of local disease or clinical evidence of distant disease.
Number of Participants Alive at 1 and 2 YearsAt 1 and 2 years

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORGeoffrey Y Ku

NRG Oncology

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)
Patients receive OBP-301 (1×10\^12 vp/mL) by intra-tumoral injection via endoscopy on days -3, 12, and 26. Patients also receive paclitaxel IV (50 mg/m\^2) over 60 minutes followed by carboplatin IV (AUC 2) over 30 minutes and on days 1, 8, 15, 22, and 29, and undergo radiation therapy (1.8 Gy/faction) on Monday through Friday beginning day 1 for 28 fractions (50.4 Gy total) over 5.5 weeks. All treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
15
Total15

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)
Age, Continuous74 years
Clinical N Category
N0 (No regional lymph nodes)
3 Participants
Clinical N Category
N1 (1-2 regional lymph nodes)
7 Participants
Clinical N Category
N2 (3-6 regional lymph nodes)
2 Participants
Clinical N Category
N3 (7 or more regional lymph nodes)
2 Participants
Clinical N Category
NX (Regional lymph nodes cannot be assessed or evaluated)
1 Participants
Clinical T Category
T1b (Tumor has invaded the submucosa, but not penetrated the muscularis propria.)
2 Participants
Clinical T Category
T2 (Tumor invades the muscularis propria.)
4 Participants
Clinical T Category
T3 (Tumor invades the adventitia.)
9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Extent of Dysphagia
Asymptomatic
5 Participants
Extent of Dysphagia
Symptomatic, liquids only
1 Participants
Extent of Dysphagia
Symptomatic, soft foods only
4 Participants
Extent of Dysphagia
Symptomatic, unrestricted diet
5 Participants
Histologic Type
Adenocarcinoma
11 Participants
Histologic Type
Squamous cell carcinoma
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
15 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
12 Participants
Siewert Type for Esophagogastric Junction
Type I
2 Participants
Siewert Type for Esophagogastric Junction
Type II
1 Participants
Tumor Location
Esophagogastric junction
3 Participants
Tumor Location
Esophagus
12 Participants
Zubrod Performance Status
0 (Asymptomatic)
6 Participants
Zubrod Performance Status
1 (Symptomatic but completely ambulatory)
9 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
5 / 15
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 15
serious
Total, serious adverse events
7 / 15

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants Experiencing Any Dose-Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)

Adverse events are graded according to Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0, which grades adverse event severity as follows: 1 = mild, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe, 4 = life-threatening, 5 = death related to adverse event. A DLT is defined as the following that are definitely or probably attributed to OBP-301: * Any grade ≥3 adverse event EXCEPT for the following: * Grade 3 nausea/vomiting * Grade 3 esophagitis or dehydration * The first occurrence of grade 3/4 neutropenia * Grade 3/4 lymphopenia (since this is a known toxicity of chemoradiation and OBP-301) * Any toxicity that leads to a \>14-day cumulative delay in chemoradiation. If 0 or 1 participants of 6 participants experienced a DLT, then the treatment regimen would be considered safe (and 9 more would be accrued for secondary endpoints). Otherwise, the regimen would be deemed too toxic and a second cohort of six participants would be accrued to a lower dose of OBP-301 (1 x 10\^11 vp/mL).

Time frame: From start of protocol treatment until 30 days after the completion of chemoradiation, approximately 10 weeks.

Population: First six eligible participants who started all protocol treatment and either experienced a DLT in the evaluation period or completed the evaluation period without a DLT.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants Experiencing Any Dose-Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)0 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants Alive at 1 and 2 Years

Time frame: At 1 and 2 years

Secondary

Number of Participants Alive Without Progression at 1 and 2 Years

Progression is defined as pathologically confirmed recurrence of local disease or clinical evidence of distant disease.

Time frame: At 1 and 2 years

Secondary

Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event Reported

The Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0 grades adverse event severity as follows: 1 = mild, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe, 4 = life-threatening, 5 = death related to adverse event. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure; see Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.

Time frame: From start of protocol treatment to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up was 28.7 months.

Population: Eligible participants who started treatment

ArmMeasureGroupCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to OBP-301 protocol treatmentGrade 50 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedAll adverse eventsNone reported0 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedAll adverse eventsGrade 11 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedAll adverse eventsGrade 21 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedAll adverse eventsGrade 37 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedAll adverse eventsGrade 44 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedAll adverse eventsGrade 52 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to any protocol treatmentNone reported1 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to any protocol treatmentGrade 13 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to any protocol treatmentGrade 21 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to any protocol treatmentGrade 38 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to any protocol treatmentGrade 41 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to any protocol treatmentGrade 51 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to OBP-301 protocol treatmentNone reported7 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to OBP-301 protocol treatmentGrade 12 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to OBP-301 protocol treatmentGrade 25 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to OBP-301 protocol treatmentGrade 30 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedDefinitely or probably related to OBP-301 protocol treatmentGrade 41 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Clinical Complete Response (cCR)

Clinical complete response is defined as grossly free of disease as determined by a visual inspection or if the visual inspection was not certain, then a negative biopsy. The number of participants is determined for two populations: * Complete case analysis only includes eligible participants who started protocol treatment and were assessed for cCR; * Sensitivity analysis includes all eligible participants who started protocol treatment and counts participants without an assessment as not achieving a cCR.

Time frame: 6-8 weeks after completion of chemoradiation, approximately 11.5-13.5 weeks from baseline.

Population: Eligible and started protocol treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants With Clinical Complete Response (cCR)Complete Case Analysis13 Participants
Treatment (OBP-301, Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Radiation)Number of Participants With Clinical Complete Response (cCR)Sensitivity Analysis13 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 5, 2026