Anxiety, Opioid-use Disorder, Pain Interference, Stress Related Disorder
Conditions
Brief summary
This will be a randomized controlled trial (RCT) designed to compare live-online Mindful Recovery Opioid Care Continuum (M-ROCC) groups with a live-online control group on the primary outcome of number of biochemically confirmed opioid negative abstinent periods (defined by a negative oral fluid test \[negative for opiate, oxycodone, fentanyl, methadone\] AND no self-reported illicit opioid use) during the final six two-week periods of the study (study weeks 13-24).
Detailed description
The investigators will conduct a RCT comparing Mindful Recovery Opioid Care Continuum (M-ROCC), a 24-week motivationally-responsive, trauma-sensitive, Group-Based Opioid Treatment (GBOT) program to a live-online control group, on the number of biochemically confirmed opioid negative abstinent periods (defined by a negative oral fluid test \[negative for opiate, oxycodone, fentanyl, methadone\] AND no self-reported illicit opioid use) during the final six two-week periods of the study (study weeks 13-24). Clinical secondary outcomes include level of anxiety measured by the Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System - Anxiety Short Form 8a (PROMIS-ASF), level of pain interference measured by the PROMIS Pain Interference Scale (PROMIS-PISF), and the number of positive oral fluid tests for BZD or cocaine during the final 12 weeks of the study. Other exploratory outcomes will be level of anxiety measured by the Beck anxiety inventory (BAI), 24-week intervention retention, as well as mechanisms of self-regulation assessed by self-report and behavioral measures (emotion regulation, decentering/metacognitive monitoring, interoception, experiential avoidance, self-critical rumination, and self-compassion) and their mediating effects on anxiety and opioid abstinence. Qualitative interviews will be conducted with a minimum of 12 and a maximum of 25 M-ROCC completers until thematic saturation to examine themes regarding live-online mindfulness delivery and to compare responses with our R21 qualitative outcomes from our in-person M-ROCC group model. Computerized Adaptive Testing for Mental Health (CAT-MH) will be used to assess changes in psychiatric co-morbidity. Finally, exploratory outcomes of stigma, mindfulness, perceived stress, pain catastrophizing, interpersonal conflict, and shared identity within group will be measured.
Interventions
1. LDM (Low-Dose Mindfulness): A 4-wk intro mindfulness program for OUD, 50-60 min/week including explicit training in use of mobile mindfulness apps, with rolling admission and ascending practice dose ladder. 2. MTPC (Mindfulness Training for Primary Care): An eight-week intensive mindfulness group with ascending practice dose ladder and skill integration over 16 weeks with 60 minutes/wk. 3. MCS (Mindfulness Maintenance Check-in Support): Ongoing weekly mindfulness group with check-in and reminders, leveraging mobile mindfulness apps and motivational counseling for graduates of LDM for 50-60 mins/wk. After completion of the LDM group, participation in various levels is fluid based on patient motivation, choice, and readiness.
A time- and attention-matched live online control group. The manualized control intervention developed for the basic group-based opioid treatment group in primary care uses 16 core modules and 8 elective modules that are common to eclectic approach in treatment as usual addiction recovery groups (including engagement and group development activities with a mix of basic CBT skills, twelve-step facilitation, community reinforcement, and motivational interviewing). As an active group control, this method will help to isolate mindfulness as the putative mechanism of action by controlling for the therapeutic aspects of group without any reference to mindfulness.
Sponsors
Study design
Masking description
The principal investigator will be masked to arm assignment.
Intervention model description
Two arms, live-online M-ROCC and live-online control, which are randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio at the same time and are implemented in parallel.
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* Participant lives in Massachusetts, Connecticut, Florida, Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont, California, Michigan, Illinois, North Carolina, Virginia, Arizona, and Alabama. * Diagnosis of opioid use disorder prescribed a stable dose of buprenorphine (at least 4 weeks) * Less than 90 days of abstinence (from non-prescribed opioids or benzodiazepines, cocaine, or alcohol) OR OUD with a co-morbid anxiety or stress disorder (as evaluated by Computerized Adaptive Testing for Mental Health \[CAT-MH\] or PROMIS-ASF \> 55). * Able to use an electronic device with a videocamera to attend study groups and complete questionnaires. * Sufficient English fluency to understand procedures and questionnaires * Ability to provide informed consent.
Exclusion criteria
* Active psychosis * Bipolar I disorder history or severe level of mania on CAT-MH (\>71) * Acute suicidality or self-injurious behavior or severe level of suicidality on CAT-SS (\>71) * Cognitive inability as demonstrated by both the inability to complete an informed consent assessment AND complete the Montreal Cognitive Assessment Blind (MOCA BLIND) \<24 on two different days * Current participation in another experimental research study * Previous participation in an 8-week intensive Mindfulness-Based Intervention in past 3 years or participation in the MINDFUL-OBOT pilot study * Expected medical hospitalization in next 6 months * Expected incarceration in next 6 months * Substance use severity requiring likely inpatient treatment in opinion of principal investigator (e.g., severe alcohol withdrawal symptoms, severe benzodiazepine withdrawal symptoms, etc.). * Inability to participate in group intervention without disrupting group in opinion of principal investigator or site PI.
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Biochemically-confirmed Opioid Abstinent 2-week Time Periods | Weeks 13-24 | Biochemically-confirmed opioid abstinence, which is defined as the number of two-week periods with a negative oral fluid screen AND no opioid use reported in weekly self report self-report during the final 12 weeks (weeks 13-24) of the study (6 is the highest possible number of negative oral fluid toxicology screen time periods). Participants will be randomly selected to undergo a live-online supervised oral fluid screen at a rate of once every 2 weeks. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Cocaine. | Weeks 13-24 | Biochemically-confirmed cocaine use, which is defined as the number of two-week periods with a positive oral-fluid screen. Oral-fluid toxicology screens will be conducted during the final 12 weeks (weeks 13-24) of the study (6 is the highest possible number of negative oral fluid toxicology screen time periods). Participants will be randomly selected to undergo a live-online supervised oral fluid screen at a rate of once every 2 weeks. |
| Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Benzodiazepines. | Weeks 13-24 | Biochemically-confirmed benzodiazepine use, which is defined as the number of two-week periods with a positive oral-fluid screen. Oral-fluid toxicology screens will be conducted during the final 12 weeks (weeks 13-24) of the study (6 is the highest possible number of negative oral fluid toxicology screen time periods). Participants will be randomly selected to undergo a live-online supervised oral fluid screen at a rate of once every 2 weeks. |
| Patient Report Outcomes Measurement Information System - Anxiety Short Form 8a (PROMIS-ASF) | 24 Weeks | The Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System - Anxiety Short Form 8a (PROMIS-ASF) is an 8-item scale from 7-35 used to assess patient-reported health status for anxiety. Subjects are asked to rate their experience of the item in the past seven days on a 5-point scale from 1 (Never) to 5 (Always). Higher ratings indicate greater anxiety symptoms while lower ratings indicate less anxiety symptoms. This will be assessed among participants with an anxiety disorder (defined as PROMIS \>55 at baseline) as well at weeks 8, 16, and 24. |
| Pain Interference PROMIS (PROMIS-PISF) | 24 Weeks | The PROMIS Pain Interference instruments measure the self-reported consequences of pain on relevant aspects of one's life. This includes the extent to which pain hinders engagement with social, cognitive, emotional, physical, and recreational activities. The Pain Interference short form is universal rather than disease-specific. It assesses pain interference over the past seven days. Each question has five response options ranging in value from one to five with a total scale range of 7-35. Higher ratings indicate greater pain interference and lower ratings indicate lesser pain interference. This assessment was done at baseline and weeks 8, 16, and 24. |
Other
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Substance Craving Scale (SUBCS) | 24 Weeks | The Substance Craving Scale (SUBCS) is a 6-item scale with a range of 0-60. It includes the 3-item validated Opioid Craving Scale (OCS) as the primary measure with a 0-30 scale based on opioids. The SUBCS adds another 3 items based on other non-opioids substances. The OCS assesses participant craving for Opioids (including fentanyl, heroin, methadone, oxycodone or other opioids) and the (SUBCS) includes the OCS plus other substance use (including illicit drugs \[e.g., cocaine, methamphetamine, etc.\], using unprescribed pills or prescribed medications in ways or at doses for which they were not prescribed \[e.g., Klonopin, etc.\], or drinking alcohol). This study uses the 3-items specifically from the Opioid Craving Scale (OCS) as our outcome measure for this study with a range of 0-30 and includes SUBCS as exploratory. Higher ratings on OCS indicate greater opioid craving and lower ratings indicate less opioid craving. |
Countries
United States
Participant flow
Recruitment details
Participants were recruited through Facebook, community partners (e.g., Lynn Community Health, Boston Medical Center, North Shore Community Health), online telemedicine providers (e.g., Bicycle Health, Boulder Care), and QR-code flyers linking an online referral form. Participants were recruited from 16 states including Massachusetts, Florida, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, New York, Maine, Texas, Rhode Island, California, North Carolina, Illinois, Michigan, Virginia, Alabama, and Arizona.
Pre-assignment details
The PROMIS-ASF and CAT-MH was administered to participants after enrollment which may have caused participants to be excluded based on high mania or psychosis scores, low PTSD or anxiety scores, or no use in the past 90 days. Of 260 participants enrolled, 196 participants met the inclusion criteria and were randomized to begin the study.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum (M-ROCC) builds on other mindfulness interventions for addictive disorders, but is specifically designed for patients with OUD prescribed buprenorphine to be delivered in a live-online environment. It focuses on integration of mindfulness practice for living well through stress, anxiety, depression, pain and addiction recovery. The live-online M-ROCC curriculum has three primary components, including a low-dose mindfulness phase, an intensive mindfulness training phase and then a mindfulness maintenance check-in support group.
Live-Online M-ROCC: 1. LDM (Low-Dose Mindfulness): A 4-wk intro mindfulness program for OUD, 50-60 min/week including explicit training in use of mobile mindfulness apps, with rolling admission and ascending practice dose ladder.
2\. MTPC (Mindfulness Training for Primary Care): An eight-week intensive mindfulness group with ascending practice dose ladder and skill integration over 16 weeks with 60 minutes/wk.
3\. MCS (Mindfulness Maintenance Check-in Support): Ongoing weekly mindfulness group with check-in and reminders, leveraging mobile mindfulness apps and motivational counseling for graduates of LDM for 50-60 mins/wk.
After completion of the LDM group, participation in various levels is fluid based on patient motivation, choice, and readiness. | 98 |
| Live-Online Control A time- and attention-matched live online control group. The manualized control intervention developed for the basic group-based opioid treatment group in primary care uses 16 core modules and 8 elective modules that are common to eclectic approach in treatment as usual addiction recovery groups (including engagement and group development activities with a mix of basic CBT skills, twelve-step facilitation, community reinforcement, and motivational interviewing). As an active group control, this method will help to isolate mindfulness as the putative mechanism of action by controlling for the therapeutic aspects of group without any reference to mindfulness.
Live-Online Control: A time- and attention-matched live online control group. The manualized control intervention developed for the basic group-based opioid treatment group in primary care uses 16 core modules and 8 elective modules that are common to eclectic approach in treatment as usual addiction recovery groups (including engagement and group development activities with a mix of basic CBT skills, twelve-step facilitation, community reinforcement, and motivational interviewing). As an active group control, this method will help to isolate mindfulness as the putative mechanism of action by controlling for the therapeutic aspects of group without any reference to mindfulness. | 98 |
| Total | 196 |
Withdrawals & dropouts
| Period | Reason | FG000 | FG001 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall Study | Lost to Follow-up | 37 | 24 |
| Overall Study | Withdrawal by Subject | 13 | 6 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Live-Online Control | Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Categorical <=18 years | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Age, Categorical >=65 years | 3 Participants | 1 Participants | 4 Participants |
| Age, Categorical Between 18 and 65 years | 95 Participants | 97 Participants | 192 Participants |
| Age, Continuous | 40.9 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.3 | 42.2 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.4 | 41.0 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.3 |
| Annual Income <$20,000 | 46 Participants | 37 Participants | 83 Participants |
| Annual Income $20,000-$80,000 | 38 Participants | 53 Participants | 91 Participants |
| Annual Income >$80,000 | 14 Participants | 7 Participants | 21 Participants |
| Annual Income Unreported | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Buprenorphine Dose | 15.7 milligrams STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.9 | 13.3 milligrams STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.3 | 14.5 milligrams STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.7 |
| Education (years) | 13.5 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.6 | 13.1 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.2 | 13.3 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.4 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 6 Participants | 10 Participants | 16 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 91 Participants | 88 Participants | 179 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Lifetime cocaine or crack use | 67 Participants | 78 Participants | 145 Participants |
| Lifetime heroin use | 59 Participants | 56 Participants | 115 Participants |
| Marital Status Divorced | 14 Participants | 18 Participants | 32 Participants |
| Marital Status Married or Living as Married | 37 Participants | 29 Participants | 66 Participants |
| Marital Status Other | 0 Participants | 2 Participants | 2 Participants |
| Marital Status Single | 44 Participants | 43 Participants | 87 Participants |
| Marital Status Widowed | 3 Participants | 6 Participants | 9 Participants |
| Opioid Craving Scale | 3.0 units on a scale STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.5 | 3.4 units on a scale STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.5 | 3.2 units on a scale STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.5 |
| Participants with 4+ Adverse Childhood Events (ACES) | 65 Participants | 65 Participants | 130 Participants |
| Past mindfulness experience | 21 Participants | 17 Participants | 38 Participants |
| Patient-Reported · Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS)-Anxiety T-Score | 65.9 T-score STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.8 | 64.5 T-score STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.2 | 65.2 T-score STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.5 |
| Patient-Reported · Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS)-Pain Interference T-Score | 59.1 T-score STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.1 | 60.9 T-score STANDARD_DEVIATION 9 | 60.0 T-score STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.6 |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 3 Participants | 2 Participants | 5 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 4 Participants | 3 Participants | 7 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 90 Participants | 90 Participants | 180 Participants |
| Region of the US Midwest | 10 Participants | 14 Participants | 24 Participants |
| Region of the US Northeast | 27 Participants | 24 Participants | 51 Participants |
| Region of the US South | 47 Participants | 48 Participants | 95 Participants |
| Region of the US West | 14 Participants | 12 Participants | 26 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 59 Participants | 60 Participants | 119 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 39 Participants | 38 Participants | 77 Participants |
| Sexual Identity Bisexual | 10 Participants | 9 Participants | 19 Participants |
| Sexual Identity Lesbian, Gay, or Homosexual | 6 Participants | 3 Participants | 9 Participants |
| Sexual Identity Other | 4 Participants | 5 Participants | 9 Participants |
| Sexual Identity Straight or Heterosexual | 78 Participants | 81 Participants | 159 Participants |
| Unemployment Status | 17 Participants | 18 Participants | 35 Participants |
| Used fentanyl in 90 days before screening | 3 Participants | 8 Participants | 11 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 |
| other Total, other adverse events | 29 / 98 | 21 / 98 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 7 / 98 | 2 / 98 |
Outcome results
Number of Biochemically-confirmed Opioid Abstinent 2-week Time Periods
Biochemically-confirmed opioid abstinence, which is defined as the number of two-week periods with a negative oral fluid screen AND no opioid use reported in weekly self report self-report during the final 12 weeks (weeks 13-24) of the study (6 is the highest possible number of negative oral fluid toxicology screen time periods). Participants will be randomly selected to undergo a live-online supervised oral fluid screen at a rate of once every 2 weeks.
Time frame: Weeks 13-24
Population: Using an intent-to-treat, mixed-effects GEE analysis with the covariates baseline buprenorphine dose, cocaine use, and annual income.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum | Number of Biochemically-confirmed Opioid Abstinent 2-week Time Periods | 13.4 percentage of 2-week time periods |
| Live-Online Control | Number of Biochemically-confirmed Opioid Abstinent 2-week Time Periods | 12.7 percentage of 2-week time periods |
Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Benzodiazepines.
Biochemically-confirmed benzodiazepine use, which is defined as the number of two-week periods with a positive oral-fluid screen. Oral-fluid toxicology screens will be conducted during the final 12 weeks (weeks 13-24) of the study (6 is the highest possible number of negative oral fluid toxicology screen time periods). Participants will be randomly selected to undergo a live-online supervised oral fluid screen at a rate of once every 2 weeks.
Time frame: Weeks 13-24
Population: We used an intent-to-treat approach, mixed-effects GEE analysis with the covariates baseline buprenorphine dose, cocaine use, and annual income.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum | Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Benzodiazepines. | 22.1 percentage of 2-week time periods |
| Live-Online Control | Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Benzodiazepines. | 20.2 percentage of 2-week time periods |
Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Cocaine.
Biochemically-confirmed cocaine use, which is defined as the number of two-week periods with a positive oral-fluid screen. Oral-fluid toxicology screens will be conducted during the final 12 weeks (weeks 13-24) of the study (6 is the highest possible number of negative oral fluid toxicology screen time periods). Participants will be randomly selected to undergo a live-online supervised oral fluid screen at a rate of once every 2 weeks.
Time frame: Weeks 13-24
Population: We used an intent-to-treat approach, mixed-effects GEE analysis with the covariates baseline buprenorphine dose, cocaine use, and annual income.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum | Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Cocaine. | 8.4 percentage of 2-week time periods |
| Live-Online Control | Number of Positive Oral-fluid Toxicology Tests for Cocaine. | 1.5 percentage of 2-week time periods |
Pain Interference PROMIS (PROMIS-PISF)
The PROMIS Pain Interference instruments measure the self-reported consequences of pain on relevant aspects of one's life. This includes the extent to which pain hinders engagement with social, cognitive, emotional, physical, and recreational activities. The Pain Interference short form is universal rather than disease-specific. It assesses pain interference over the past seven days. Each question has five response options ranging in value from one to five with a total scale range of 7-35. Higher ratings indicate greater pain interference and lower ratings indicate lesser pain interference. This assessment was done at baseline and weeks 8, 16, and 24.
Time frame: 24 Weeks
Population: Difference-in-differences, intent-to-treat, repeated measures analysis using linear mixed effects models with a study week by group interaction term to estimate the relative changes from baseline to week 24.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum | Pain Interference PROMIS (PROMIS-PISF) | -4.1 differences in scores on a scale |
| Live-Online Control | Pain Interference PROMIS (PROMIS-PISF) | -4.4 differences in scores on a scale |
Patient Report Outcomes Measurement Information System - Anxiety Short Form 8a (PROMIS-ASF)
The Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System - Anxiety Short Form 8a (PROMIS-ASF) is an 8-item scale from 7-35 used to assess patient-reported health status for anxiety. Subjects are asked to rate their experience of the item in the past seven days on a 5-point scale from 1 (Never) to 5 (Always). Higher ratings indicate greater anxiety symptoms while lower ratings indicate less anxiety symptoms. This will be assessed among participants with an anxiety disorder (defined as PROMIS \>55 at baseline) as well at weeks 8, 16, and 24.
Time frame: 24 Weeks
Population: Difference-in-differences, intent-to-treat, repeated measures analysis using linear mixed effects models with a study week by group interaction term to estimate the relative changes from baseline to week 24. We included only those participants with PROMIS-ASF T-scores above 55 at baseline.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum | Patient Report Outcomes Measurement Information System - Anxiety Short Form 8a (PROMIS-ASF) | -9.0 differences in scores on a scale |
| Live-Online Control | Patient Report Outcomes Measurement Information System - Anxiety Short Form 8a (PROMIS-ASF) | -10.0 differences in scores on a scale |
Substance Craving Scale (SUBCS)
The Substance Craving Scale (SUBCS) is a 6-item scale with a range of 0-60. It includes the 3-item validated Opioid Craving Scale (OCS) as the primary measure with a 0-30 scale based on opioids. The SUBCS adds another 3 items based on other non-opioids substances. The OCS assesses participant craving for Opioids (including fentanyl, heroin, methadone, oxycodone or other opioids) and the (SUBCS) includes the OCS plus other substance use (including illicit drugs \[e.g., cocaine, methamphetamine, etc.\], using unprescribed pills or prescribed medications in ways or at doses for which they were not prescribed \[e.g., Klonopin, etc.\], or drinking alcohol). This study uses the 3-items specifically from the Opioid Craving Scale (OCS) as our outcome measure for this study with a range of 0-30 and includes SUBCS as exploratory. Higher ratings on OCS indicate greater opioid craving and lower ratings indicate less opioid craving.
Time frame: 24 Weeks
Population: Difference-in-differences, intent-to-treat, repeated measures analysis using linear mixed effects models with a study week by group interaction term to estimate the relative changes from baseline to week 24.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Live-Online Mindful Recovery OUD Care Continuum | Substance Craving Scale (SUBCS) | -2.3 score on a scale |
| Live-Online Control | Substance Craving Scale (SUBCS) | -1.3 score on a scale |