Skip to content

GNOS-PV02 Personalized Neoantigen Vaccine, INO-9012 and Pembrolizumab in Subjects With Advanced HCC

An Open-label, Multi-center, Phase I/IIa Study of a Personalized Neoantigen DNA Vaccine (GNOS-PV02) and Plasmid Encoded IL-12 (INO-9012) in Combination With Pembrolizumab (MK-3475) in Subjects With Advanced Hepatocellular Carcinoma

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04251117
Enrollment
36
Registered
2020-01-31
Start date
2020-03-01
Completion date
2028-11-29
Last updated
2026-09-24

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

HCC

Brief summary

This is a single-arm, open-label, multi-site Phase I/IIa study of a personalized neoantigen DNA vaccine (GNOS-PV02) and plasmid encoded IL-12 (INO-9012) in combination with pembrolizumab (MK-3475) in subjects with histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of HCC based on pathology report.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALGNOS-PV02

GNOS-PV02 delivered by intradermal injection and electroporation

BIOLOGICALINO-9012

INO-9012 delivered by intradermal injection and electroporation

DRUGPembrolizumab

Pembrolizumab administered as an intravenous (IV) infusion

DEVICECELLECTRA®2000 EP Device

CELLECTRA® 2000 Device is a system indicated for use to enhance the uptake and expression of plasmid-based biologics in order to enhance vaccine efficacy.

Sponsors

Geneos Therapeutics
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Be willing and able to provide written informed consent for the study. The subject may also provide consent for Future Biomedical Research (FBR). However, the subject may participate in the main study without participating in FBR. 2. 18 years of age on day of signing informed consent. 3. Have histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of HCC based on pathology report. Radiological diagnosis is valid to initiate screening pending confirmation by pathology. 4. Have Barcelona Clinic Liver Cancer (BCLC) Stage C disease or BCLC Stage B disease not amenable to locoregional therapy, or refractory to locoregional therapy, and not amenable to a curative treatment approach. 5. Have a Child-Pugh Class A liver score. 6. Have a predicted life expectancy of greater than 6 months. 7. Have measurable disease based on RECIST 1.1. 8. Have a performance status of 0 or 1 using the ECOG Performance Scale within 7 days of first dose of study drug. 9. Receiving or eligible for first-line therapy with sorafenib or lenvatinib. 10. Willing to submit a tissue sample for personalized DNA vaccine manufacturing. 11. Patients with chronic or acute HBV infection \[as characterized by positive hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) and/or hepatitis B core antibodies (anti-HBcAb) with detectable HBV DNA (≥10 IU/ml)\] must be treated with effective antiviral therapy, as per institutional practices, prior to enrollment and for the duration of the study therapy. Patients who test positive for anti-hepatitis B core (HBc) with undetectable HBV DNA (\<10 IU/ml) do not require anti-viral therapy prior to enrollment however these subjects will be tested at every cycle to monitor HBV DNA levels and initiate antiviral therapy if HBV DNA is detected (≥10 IU/ml). Subjects with chronic infection by hepatitis C virus (HCV), who are untreated, are allowed on study. In addition, subjects with successful HCV treatment (defined as sustained virologic response \[SVR\] 12 or SVR 24) are allowed, as long as 4 weeks have passed between completion of HCV therapy and start of study drug. Subjects receiving antiviral therapy during TKI may be enrolled. 12. Women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) must have a negative urine or serum pregnancy test for the patient to be eligible for trial enrolment. 13. Be willing to use an adequate method of contraception for the course of the study through 150 days after the last dose of study drug (male and female subjects of childbearing potential). Note: Abstinence is acceptable if this is the usual lifestyle and preferred contraception for the subject. 14. Demonstrate adequate organ function

Exclusion criteria

1. Is currently participating and receiving study drug or has participated in a study of an investigational agent and received study drug or used an investigation device, within 4 weeks of the first dose of treatment. Subjects must also have recovered from associated therapy (i.e., to Grade ≤1 or baseline) and from AEs due to any prior therapy. 2. Has received sorafenib or lenvatinib within 14 days of first dose of study drug. 3. Has had esophageal or gastric variceal bleeding within the last 6 months. If suspected, subjects will be screened for esophageal varices. If varices are present, they should be treated according to institutional standards before starting study treatment. 4. Has clinically apparent ascites on physical examination. Note: only ascites detectable on imaging studies is allowed. 5. Evidence of portal vein invasion based on imaging is allowed pending subjects meet laboratory criteria for enrollment. 6. Has had encephalopathy in the last 6 months. Subjects on rifaximin or lactulose to control their encephalopathy are not allowed. 7. Had a solid organ or hematologic transplant. 8. Had prior systemic therapy for HCC other than sorafenib or lenvatinib. 9. Has active autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment in past 2 years (i.e., with use of disease-modifying agents, corticosteroids, or immunosuppressive drugs). Replacement therapy (e.g., T4, insulin, or physiologic corticosteroid replacement therapy for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency, etc.) is not considered a form of systemic treatment. 10. Has a diagnosis of immunodeficiency or is receiving systemic steroid therapy or any other form of immunosuppressive therapy within 7 days prior to the first dose of study drug. The use of physiologic doses of corticosteroids may be approved after consultation with the Sponsor. 11. Has received locoregional therapy to liver (transarterial chemoembolization \[TACE\], transarterial embolization \[TAE\], radiation, radioembolization, or ablation) or major surgery to liver or other site within 3 weeks prior to the first dose of study drug. Minor surgery (e.g., simple excision, tooth extraction) must have occurred at least 7 days prior to the first dose of study drug (Cycle 1, Day 1). Subjects must have recovered adequately (i.e., Grade ≤1 or baseline) from the toxicity and/or complications from any intervention prior to starting therapy. 12. Has a diagnosed additional malignancy within 5 years prior to first dose of study drug, with the exception of curatively treated basal cell carcinoma of the skin, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, and/or curatively resected in situ cervical and/or breast cancers. Subjects with history of early-stage prostate cancer that has been curatively treated or appropriate for observation may be enrolled. 13. Has radiographically detectable (even if asymptomatic and/or previously treated) central nervous system (CNS) metastases and/or carcinomatous meningitis, as assessed by local site investigator. 14. Has a known history of, or any evidence of, interstitial lung disease or active non- infectious pneumonitis. 15. Has an active infection requiring systemic therapy. 16. Has a history or current evidence of any condition, therapy, or laboratory abnormality that might confound the results of the study, interfere with the subject's participation for the full duration of the study, or is not in the best interest of the subject to participate, in the opinion of the treating investigator, including dialysis. 17. Has known psychiatric or substance abuse disorders that would interfere with cooperation with the requirements of the study. 18. Is pregnant or breastfeeding or expecting to conceive or father children within the projected duration of the study, starting with the screening visit through 150 days after the last dose of study drug. 19. Has received prior immunotherapy including anti-programmed death (PD) 1, anti-programmed death ligand (PD-L)-1, or anti-PD-L2 agents, or personalized therapies such as adoptive cell therapy or neoantigen-based vaccine. 20. Has a known history of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) (HIV I/II antibodies). 21. Has untreated active hepatitis B virus (HBV), unless planned antiviral therapy during TKI. Note: Patients with HBV infection, characterized by positive HBsAg and/or HBcAb with detectable HBV DNA (≥10 IU/ml or above the limit of detection per local lab standard), must be treated with antiviral therapy as per institutional practice to ensure adequate viral suppression (HBV DNA ≤2000 IU/mL) prior to treatment with the study drug. Patients who test positive for HBcAg with undetectable HBV DNA (\<10 IU/ml or under the limit of detection per local lab standard) do not require anti-viral therapy prior to enrollment. 22. Has received a live vaccine within 30 days of planned start of study treatment (Cycle 1, Day 1). Note: The killed virus vaccines used for seasonal influenza vaccines for injection are allowed; however intranasal influenza vaccines (e.g., FluMist®) are live attenuated vaccines and are not allowed. Non-live COVID-19 vaccines are allowed. 23. Any contraindication for treatment with the CELLECTRA® 2000 Device: Less than two acceptable sites available for ID injection and EP considering the deltoid and anterolateral quadriceps muscles: 1. Tattoos, keloids or hypertrophic scars located within 2 cm of intended administration site. 2. Implantable-Cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD) or pacemaker (to prevent a life-threatening arrhythmia) that is located ipsilateral to the deltoid injection site (unless deemed acceptable by a cardiologist). 3. Any metal implants or implantable medical device within the intended treatment site (i.e. electroporation area). 24. Has no mutations detected after sequencing of the tumor

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Incidence of Treatment-Related Adverse EventsFrom first study drug administration to approximately 57 monthsIncidence of treatment-related adverse events (TRAEs), defined as adverse events deemed possibly, probably, or definitely related to study treatment (PTCV, IL-12, electroporation and/or immune checkpoint inhibitor), with onset on or after the first dose and graded according to CTCAE version 5.0.
Neoantigen-Specific T-Cell ResponseFrom baseline (pretreatment) through on-treatment assessments (approximately up to Week 12), with additional exploratory follow-up time points.Neoantigen-specific T-cell immune response measured using interferon-gamma (IFNγ) ELISpot assays in peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs). Immune responses were assessed as the magnitude and presence of vaccine-induced T-cell responses to patient-specific neoantigens.
Immunogenicity of a Personalized Neoantigen DNA Vaccine as Measured by T-cell Activation and Cytolytic Cell Phenotype in PBMCs Using Flow CytometryAssessments completed at Weeks 9 or Weeks 12 post-treatment for 4 subjects.Immunogenicity assessed by flow cytometry in peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs), including T-cell activation (CD69+CD107a+), proliferation (Ki67+) and cytolytic phenotype (GZMA+PRF1+) in CD4+ and CD8+ T-cell populations following stimulation with personalized neoantigen vaccine (PTCV) compared to unstimulated control. Results are summarized as mean percentage of marker-positive T-cell populations among CD4+ or CD8+ T cells. Measurements were performed under unstimulated and antigen-stimulated conditions and data were averaged across the timepoints for the 4 subjects.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Objective Response Rate (ORR)From first dose to first documented disease progression or death, up to 60 monthsObjective response rate, defined as the proportion of patients achieving a complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1, as assessed by investigator review.
Anti-tumor Activity as Measured by Objective Response Rate (ORR) by iRECISTFrom treatment initiation to first documented disease progression or death. Up to 60 months.Objective response rate (ORR) defined as the proportion of patients achieving an immune complete response (iCR) or immune partial response (iPR) according to immune Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (iRECIST), as assessed by investigator review.
Anti-tumor Activity as Measured by Duration of Response (DOR)From first documented response until disease progression or death, assessed up to approximately 5 years.Duration of response defined as the time from first documented confirmed response (complete or partial response) to disease progression or death from any cause, whichever occurred first, assessed according to RECIST version 1.1 using Kaplan-Meier estimation.
Disease Control Rate (DCR)From baseline through disease progression; dosing can occur for up to 5 years. Tumor assessments performed every 9 weeks through Week 54 and every 12 weeks thereafter until progression or study end (up to 5 years).Disease control rate defined as the proportion of participants achieving a complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) according to RECIST version 1.1, as assessed by investigator review.
Progression-Free Survival (PFS)From first dose of study treatment until disease progression or death, assessed up to approximately 5 years.Progression-free survival defined as the time from first dose of study treatment to the first documented radiographic disease progression according to RECIST version 1.1 or death from any cause, whichever occurred first.
Anti-tumor Activity as Measured by Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by iRECISTFrom first dose of study treatment until confirmed disease progression or death, assessed up to approximately 5 years.Progression-free survival (PFS) defined as the time from first dose of study treatment to confirmed progressive disease or death from any cause, whichever occurred first, assessed according to immune Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (iRECIST) using Kaplan-Meier estimation.
Overall Survival (OS)From first dose of study treatment until death from any cause, with follow up conducted for up to approximately 5 years.Overall survival defined as the time from first dose of study treatment to death from any cause.

Countries

New Zealand, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Male and female subjects with advanced HCC currently receiving or scheduled to receive first-line treatment with sorafenib or lenvatinib, will be enrolled in this study. Combination therapy with GNOS-PV02 and pembrolizumab will begin after discontinuation of first-line lenvatinib or sorafenib. Enrollment period: 3 years.

Pre-assignment details

This was not a randomized study. All patients that met screening criteria and discontinued 1st line therapy were eligible for the study.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic—
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
20 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
16 Participants
Age, Continuous68 Years
Baseline Alpha-Fetoprotein (AFP)
< 400 ng/mL
28 Participants
Baseline Alpha-Fetoprotein (AFP)
≥ 400 ng/mL
8 Participants
BCLC Stage
Stage B
18 Participants
BCLC Stage
Stage C
18 Participants
Child-Pugh Classification
Class A
36 Participants
Child-Pugh Classification
Class B or C
0 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
ECOG 0
8 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
ECOG 1
14 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
ECOG 2
10 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
ECOG 3
3 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
ECOG 4
0 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
ECOG 5
0 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
UNKNOWN
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
36 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Etiology of hepatocellular carcinoma
HBV
8 Participants
Etiology of hepatocellular carcinoma
HBV + HCV
1 Participants
Etiology of hepatocellular carcinoma
HCV
10 Participants
Etiology of hepatocellular carcinoma
Non-viral
17 Participants
Number of Targetable Neoantigens
≤ 20
10 Participants
Number of Targetable Neoantigens
21-40
16 Participants
Number of Targetable Neoantigens
41-67
10 Participants
Portal vein invasion
Absent
29 Participants
Portal vein invasion
Present
7 Participants
Prior systemic therapy for HCC
Lenvatinib
33 Participants
Prior systemic therapy for HCC
Lenvatinib + Sorafenib
1 Participants
Prior systemic therapy for HCC
Sorafenib
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Other
6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
21 Participants
Region of Enrollment
New Zealand
28 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
11 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
25 Participants
Wnt/β-catenin Mutation
Absent
26 Participants
Wnt/β-catenin Mutation
Present
10 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
24 / 36
other
Total, other adverse events
27 / 36
serious
Total, serious adverse events
19 / 36

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 25, 2026