Skip to content

Post-Market Registry of AURYON Atherectomy Device in Subjects Affected With Infrainguinal Peripheral Artery Disease

PATHFINDER Post-Market Registry of AURYON Atherectomy Device in Subjects Affected With Infrainguinal Peripheral Artery Disease (EX-PAD-05)

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Observational
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04229563
Acronym
PATHFINDER
Enrollment
102
Registered
2020-01-18
Start date
2020-08-04
Completion date
2023-04-17
Last updated
2026-05-18

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Infrainguinal Peripheral Artery Disease, PAD, Peripheral Arterial Disease

Keywords

Peripheral Artery Disease, Peripheral Occlusive Disease, Peripheral Artery Stenonsis, Artery Restenosis, Arterial Occlusive Disease, Peripheral Vascular disease, Laser recanalization, Endovascular treatment or Procedure or Surgery, Calcified Lesions, Atherectomy, Intermittent Claudication, Claudication pain, Arterial Calcification, Critical Limb Ischemia, CLI, Acute Limb Ischemia, Acute Arterial Occlusion, Infra-inguinal Stenosis or Occlusion, Femoral Artery Stenosis, Femoral-Popliteal Arterial Disease, Tibial Stenosis, In-stent Restenosis, Stenotic lesion, Peripheral Artery Revascularization, Lower Limb Arterial Calcification, Laser-assisted angioplasty, Above the Knee calcification, ATK Calcification, Below the Knee Calcification, Chronic total occlusion, CTO, Superficial Femoral Artery Disease, Target Lesion revascularization, Atherectomy Catheter, Observational Study, Registry, Walking Impairment questionnaire, Intravascular ultrasound, Ankle-Brachial Pressure Index, Toe-Brachial Index, Rutherford Classification, ABI, TBI, Peak Systolic Velocity Ratio, Auryon System, Eximo Medical, AngioDynamics, B-Laser, Real World Evidence

Brief summary

The PATHFINDER Registry is a prospective, non-randomized, single arm, multicenter observational study. This pilot registry is aimed to evaluate the performance (peri-procedural) and clinical outcomes (intermediate and long-term) of the AURYON Atherectomy System, within the initial launch phase of the product in the market.

Detailed description

US multicenter, prospective, single-arm, observational post market Registry. A pilot registry aimed to evaluate the safety and efficacy of Auryon Atherectomy System in the treatment of de novo, re-stenotic and ISR lesions in infra-inguinal arteries of Peripheral Artery Diseases (PAD) subjects, in a real-world setting within the initial launch phase of the product in the market.

Interventions

The AURYON Atherectomy System consists of two sub-units: 1) a single use catheter ("AURYON™ catheter"); and 2) a laser system.

Sponsors

Angiodynamics, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Observational model
COHORT
Time perspective
PROSPECTIVE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Subject is ≥ 18 years old. 2. Subject is a candidate for atherectomy for infra-inguinal peripheral artery disease. 3. Documented symptomatic atherosclerotic peripheral artery disease with claudication or critical limb ischemia (CLI) (Rutherford Classification 2-5 ). 4. Subject is capable and willing to comply with the scheduled follow up 5. Subject is able and willing to sign a written Informed Consent Form (ICF).

Exclusion criteria

1. Target lesion is in an arterial bypass. 2. Planned use of another atherectomy device in the same procedure 3. Co-morbid condition(s) with less than 1yr anticipated survival that could limit the subject's ability to participate in the trial or to comply with follow-up requirements or impact the scientific integrity of the study. 4. Participating in another study on an interventional non-cleared device, that could impact the study results

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Primary Efficacy: Acute Procedural SuccessPeri-procedural (by the end of the index procedure)Percentage of lesions with successful revascularization of target vessel defined as ≤30% residual stenosis at the treated lesion post Auryon atherectomy and final adjunctive treatment (if required), as evaluated by angiographic corelab.
Primary Safety: Freedom From Peri-procedural Major Adverse Events (PPMAE)Through discharge, an average of 5 daysPercentage of subjects with freedom from peri-procedural major adverse events (PPMAE), defined as (a) flow-limiting dissection, (b) clinically significant distal embolization, (c) bailout stenting, (d) major/unplanned amputation, (e) target vessel perforation requiring endovascular or surgical repair or (f) death, till discharge.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Major Adverse Events (MAEs) Over TimePost-discharge (at 30-days, 6-, 12-, and 24-months)Number of participants with post-discharge MAEs over time; defined as: (a) Unplanned target limb amputation, (b) cardiovascular death, (c) clinically driven target lesion revascularization, (d) target vessel revascularization (TVR).
Number of Patent LesionsPost-discharge (at 6-, 12-, and 24-months)Number of patent lesions, defined as \<50% stenosis at the treated lesion, with peak systolic velocity ratio (PSVR) of \<2.5, as assessed quantitatively by Duplex ultrasonography (DUS), at 6, 12, and 24 months.
Freedom From OcclusionPost-discharge (at 6-, 12-, and 24-months)Number of below-the-knee (BTK) lesions with freedom from occlusion (100% stenosis by DUS) combined with freedom from clinically-driven target lesion revascularization (CD-TLR)
Change From Baseline in Ankle Brachial Index (ABI)/Tibial Brachial Index (TBI)Post-discharge (at 6-, 12-, and 24-months)Change in ankle brachial index (ABI) or tibial brachial index (TBI) if ABI unavailable at 6, 12, and 24, months, compared to baseline. Ankle-Brachial Index (ABI) is an ankle/arm blood pressure ratio. Normal value ranges between 0.9-1.3. Under 0.9 index means blood has a difficult time getting to legs and feet; 0.4-0.9 indicates mild-moderate peripheral artery disease (PAD); 0.4 and lower indicates severe PAD. Positive change between timepoints represents a clinical improvement over time.
Change From Baseline in Rutherford Clinical Category (RCC)Post-discharge (at 6-, 12-, and 24-months)Change in Rutherford Clinical Category at 6, 12, and 24, months, compared to baseline. Rutherford Category is a physician-assessed measurement, with 7 stages (0= Asymptomatic to 6= Severe ischemic ulcers/frank gangrene) representing PAD progress. Lower value means less impairment. Positive difference between timepoints represents a clinical deterioration over time.
Change From Baseline in Walking Impairment Questionnaire (WIQ)Post-discharge (at 6-, 12-, and 24-months)Change in walking impairment questionnaire (WIQ) score at 6, 12, and 24, months, compared to baseline. WIQ is a patient reported outcome (survey) to grade physical ability representing PAD progress. It has 3 sub-scales (walking speed, distance, climbing stairs), with the total score ranging between 0-100. A higher score means less impairment; positive change between timepoints represents a clinical improvement through time.
Number of Participants With Device Related Complications Requiring InterventionTill discharge, an average of 5 daysNumber of participants with device related complications requiring intervention, defined as peri procedural Major Adverse Events (MAEs), reported by the operating physician as caused directly due to the use of the AURYON device.

Countries

United States

Contacts

STUDY_CHAIRTBD TBD

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
ABI/TBI (Ankle/Toe Brachial Index) at baseline0.73 Ratio
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.28
Age, Continuous68.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.2
Baseline Calcification level at target lesion (core lab adjudicated)
0 - None
31 Lesions
Baseline Calcification level at target lesion (core lab adjudicated)
1 - Focal
4 Lesions
Baseline Calcification level at target lesion (core lab adjudicated)
2 - Mild
19 Lesions
Baseline Calcification level at target lesion (core lab adjudicated)
3 - Moderate
22 Lesions
Baseline Calcification level at target lesion (core lab adjudicated)
4 - Severe
17 Lesions
Baseline Calcification level at target lesion (core lab adjudicated)
Unknown
14 Lesions
Baseline % Stenosis of the target lesion (by Core laboratory)87.10 Percentage of Stenosis
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.58
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
21 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
65 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
16 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
14 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
13 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
73 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
102 participants
Rutherford Category at baseline3.64 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.92
Sex: Female, Male
Female
39 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
63 Participants
Target lesion length (by Core laboratory)13.6 Centimeter (cm)
WIQ (Walking Impairment Questionnaire) at baseline22.77 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 22.52

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
7 / 102
other
Total, other adverse events
26 / 102
serious
Total, serious adverse events
27 / 102

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 19, 2026