Skip to content

LIFE-BTK Randomized Controlled Trial

LIFE-BTK (pivotaL Investigation of saFety and Efficacy of BRS Treatment-Below The Knee) Randomized Controlled Trial

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04227899
Acronym
LIFE-BTK
Enrollment
261
Registered
2020-01-14
Start date
2020-08-18
Completion date
2027-07-31
Last updated
2025-12-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Critical Limb Ischemia (CLI)

Keywords

Infrapopliteal lesions, Esprit BTK Everolimus Eluting Bioresorbable Scaffold System, Percutaneous transluminal angioplasty (PTA), ABT-CIP-10293

Brief summary

The objective of this prospective, single-blinded, randomized controlled clinical investigation is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of the everolimus eluting Esprit BTK System for the planned treatment of narrowed infrapopliteal lesions. Approximately 225 subjects will be randomized in a 2:1 ratio. The clinical investigation will be conducted at approximately 65 clinical sites in the US, Asia, Australia, and New Zealand.

Interventions

Participants will receive Esprit BTK Device

Participants will receive PTA treatment

Sponsors

Abbott Medical Devices
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
SINGLE (Subject)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

General Inclusion Criteria: 1. Subject must provide written informed consent prior to any clinical investigation related procedure. 2. Subject has symptomatic Critical Limb Ischemia (CLI), Rutherford Becker Clinical Category 4 or 5. 3. Subject requires primary treatment of up to two de novo or restenotic (treated with prior PTA) infrapopliteal lesions. 4. Subject must be at least 18 years of age. 5. Female subject of childbearing potential should not be pregnant and must be on birth control. Note: Female subjects of child-bearing potential must have a negative pregnancy test done within 7 days prior to the index procedure per site standard test. Anatomic Inclusion Criteria: 1. Up to two native infrapopliteal lesions, each lesion located in separate infrapopliteal vessel in the same limb. Restenotic (from prior PTA) lesions are allowed. 1. Lesion must be located in the proximal 2/3 of native infrapopliteal vessels, with vessel diameter of ≥ 2.5 mm and ≤ 4.00 mm by investigator visual assessment. 2. Total scaffold length to completely cover/treat a target lesion must not exceed 170 mm (total everolimus drug dose of 1790 µg). 3. The total scaffold length among all target lesions must not exceed 170 mm. 4. The target vessel cannot have any other angiographic significant lesions (≥50%). 5. Tandem lesions are allowed if they are \< 3 cm apart and the total scaffold length used to cover the entire diseased segment is ≤ 170 mm. Each tandem lesion is considered one lesion. 2. Target lesion(s) must have ≥ 70% stenosis, per visual assessment at the time of the procedure. If needed, quantitative imaging (angiography, IVUS, and/or OCT) can be used to aid accurate sizing of the vessels. 3. The distal margin of the target lesion must be located ≥ 10 cm proximal to the proximal margin of the ankle mortise. The vessel segment distal to the target lesion must be patent all the way to the ankle, with no significant lesion (≥ 50% stenosis). 4. Significant lesion (≥ 50% stenosis) in the inflow artery(ies) must be treated successfully (as per physician's assessment of the angiography) through standard of care prior to the treatment of the target lesion. Treatment can be done within the same trial procedure. 5. Non-target lesion(s) (if applicable) must be located in separate infrapopliteal vessel(s) from the target lesion, and suitable to be treated per institution standard of care. 6. Guidewire must cross the target lesion successfully. Crossing in an antegrade fashion is preferred, but retrograde crossing may be used. However, the treatment must be delivered antegrade.

Exclusion criteria

General

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Primary Efficacy Endpoint: Number of Participants With Composite of Limb Salvage and Primary PatencyAt 1 yearThis endpoint was to evaluate the effectiveness of the Esprit BTK System in maintaining patency (CD-TLR and binary restenosis), and at preventing catastrophic limb events such as total vessel occlusion or major amputation. Composite of Limb Salvage and Primary Patency included freedom from: above ankle amputation in index limb, 100% total occlusion of target vessel, binary restenosis of target lesion and clinically-driven target lesion revascularization (CD-TLR).
Primary Safety Endpoint: Freedom From Major Adverse Limb Event + Peri-Operative Death Rate (MALE + POD)At 30 days (for POD) and 6 months (for MALE)The primary safety endpoint assessed the safety of the devices used for treatment of below the knee lesions. It included freedom from MALE+POD (Major Adverse Limb Event + Peri-Operative Death). MALE includes above-ankle amputation in the index limb, major re-intervention on the index limb at 6 months and POD includes perioperative (30-day) mortality.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
First Powered Secondary Endpoint: Binary Restenosis of the Target LesionAt 1 yearThis endpoint was added to better evaluate the device performance as binary restenosis was used as a marker for disease progression over time.
Second Powered Secondary Endpoint: Freedom From Above Ankle Amputation in Index Limb, 100% Total Occlusion of the Target Vessel, and CD-TLR.At 1 yearThis endpoint was chosen as it was important to assess whether Esprit BTK System was efficacious at maintaining patency and preventing catastrophic limb events through 1 year.

Countries

Australia, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 261 subjects from 50 sites were registered in the RCT population of the study including 88 in the PTA group and 173 in the Esprit BTK group up to 1-year follow-up, between August 18, 2020, and September 14, 2022.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Esprit BTK
Participants who receive Esprit BTK device will be included in this arm Esprit BTK Device: Participants will receive Esprit BTK Device
173
Percutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTA)
Participants who receive PTA treatment will be included in this arm Percutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTA) Device: Participants will receive PTA treatment
88
Total261

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath126
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up21
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject63

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicEsprit BTKPercutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTA)Total
Age, Continuous73.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.9
71.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.4
72.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
31 Participants12 Participants43 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
132 Participants70 Participants202 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
10 Participants6 Participants16 Participants
Hypertension163 Participants80 Participants243 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
36 Participants11 Participants47 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
21 Participants11 Participants32 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
18 Participants7 Participants25 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
97 Participants56 Participants153 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
56 Participants27 Participants83 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
117 Participants61 Participants178 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
12 / 1736 / 88
other
Total, other adverse events
105 / 17360 / 88
serious
Total, serious adverse events
89 / 17345 / 88

Outcome results

Primary

Primary Efficacy Endpoint: Number of Participants With Composite of Limb Salvage and Primary Patency

This endpoint was to evaluate the effectiveness of the Esprit BTK System in maintaining patency (CD-TLR and binary restenosis), and at preventing catastrophic limb events such as total vessel occlusion or major amputation. Composite of Limb Salvage and Primary Patency included freedom from: above ankle amputation in index limb, 100% total occlusion of target vessel, binary restenosis of target lesion and clinically-driven target lesion revascularization (CD-TLR).

Time frame: At 1 year

Population: Analysis excluded subjects who terminated from the study prior to the lower limit (337 days) of the 1-year primary efficacy endpoint follow-up window without any components of the primary endpoint, and subjects with no known endpoint event and who did not have analyzable duplex ultrasound or angiography for the 1-year imaging assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Esprit BTKPrimary Efficacy Endpoint: Number of Participants With Composite of Limb Salvage and Primary Patency111 Participants
Percutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTA)Primary Efficacy Endpoint: Number of Participants With Composite of Limb Salvage and Primary Patency31 Participants
p-value: <0.0001One-sided Chi-square test
Primary

Primary Safety Endpoint: Freedom From Major Adverse Limb Event + Peri-Operative Death Rate (MALE + POD)

The primary safety endpoint assessed the safety of the devices used for treatment of below the knee lesions. It included freedom from MALE+POD (Major Adverse Limb Event + Peri-Operative Death). MALE includes above-ankle amputation in the index limb, major re-intervention on the index limb at 6 months and POD includes perioperative (30-day) mortality.

Time frame: At 30 days (for POD) and 6 months (for MALE)

Population: Analysis excluded subjects who terminated from the study prior to the lower limit (152 days) of the 6-month primary safety endpoint follow-up window without any components of the primary endpoint.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Esprit BTKPrimary Safety Endpoint: Freedom From Major Adverse Limb Event + Peri-Operative Death Rate (MALE + POD)155 Participants
Percutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTA)Primary Safety Endpoint: Freedom From Major Adverse Limb Event + Peri-Operative Death Rate (MALE + POD)85 Participants
p-value: 0.0019Farrington-Manning non-inferiority (NI)
Secondary

First Powered Secondary Endpoint: Binary Restenosis of the Target Lesion

This endpoint was added to better evaluate the device performance as binary restenosis was used as a marker for disease progression over time.

Time frame: At 1 year

Population: Analysis excluded subjects who terminated from the study prior to the lower limit (337 days) of the 1-year primary efficacy endpoint follow-up window without any components of the primary endpoint, and subjects with no known endpoint event and who did not have analyzable duplex ultrasound or angiography for the 1-year imaging assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Esprit BTKFirst Powered Secondary Endpoint: Binary Restenosis of the Target Lesion35 Participants
Percutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTA)First Powered Secondary Endpoint: Binary Restenosis of the Target Lesion35 Participants
p-value: <0.0001Chi-squared
Secondary

Second Powered Secondary Endpoint: Freedom From Above Ankle Amputation in Index Limb, 100% Total Occlusion of the Target Vessel, and CD-TLR.

This endpoint was chosen as it was important to assess whether Esprit BTK System was efficacious at maintaining patency and preventing catastrophic limb events through 1 year.

Time frame: At 1 year

Population: Analysis excluded subjects who terminated from the study prior to the lower limit (337 days) of the 1-year primary efficacy endpoint follow-up window without any components of the primary endpoint, and subjects with no known endpoint event and who did not have analyzable duplex ultrasound or angiography for the 1-year imaging assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Esprit BTKSecond Powered Secondary Endpoint: Freedom From Above Ankle Amputation in Index Limb, 100% Total Occlusion of the Target Vessel, and CD-TLR.124 Participants
Percutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTA)Second Powered Secondary Endpoint: Freedom From Above Ankle Amputation in Index Limb, 100% Total Occlusion of the Target Vessel, and CD-TLR.49 Participants
p-value: 0.0081One-sided Chi-square test

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 15, 2026