Skip to content

SNIFF Multi-Device Study 2

SNIFF Multi-Device Study 2 - Study of Nasal Insulin to Fight Forgetfulness

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04199767
Enrollment
13
Registered
2019-12-16
Start date
2020-07-16
Completion date
2020-11-03
Last updated
2026-04-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cognitive Impairment, Mild Cognitive Impairment

Keywords

Intranasal Delivery of Insulin, Cognitive Testing, Nasal Insulin

Brief summary

The SNIFF Device study will involve using one of three devices to administer insulin through each participant's nose or intra-nasally, accompanied by a lumbar puncture. This goal of this study is to measure how much insulin the device delivers to the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). In addition, this study will look at the effects of insulin administered intra-nasally on memory, and on blood levels of insulin.

Detailed description

The aim of this study is to determine the ability of an intranasal delivery device to increase levels of insulin in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). A growing body of evidence suggests that insulin plays a role in normal memory processes and that insulin abnormalities may contribute to cognitive and brain changes associated with Alzheimer's disease (AD). Interestingly, insulin administered to the nasal cavity is transported within a few minutes into the brain, but does not affect blood sugar or insulin levels. The study will consist of a single site, randomized, double-blind trial comparing the acute effects of INI 20 International Units or 40 International Units delivered with one of three nebulizer-like devices on CSF insulin levels, AD biomarkers and memory. At study entry, participants will be randomized to receive either 20 or 40 IU insulin first, and the opposite dose on a second visit. Participants who are cognitively normal or who have aMCI (n=30) will be enrolled. The primary outcome measure will be to establish which device and which dose provides the greatest increase in CSF insulin which will provide important evidence to be used in the design of future trials.

Interventions

DRUG20 IU Humulin® R U-100 (NDC: 0002-8215, Eli Lilly & Company)

Participants will be assigned to receive regular insulin either 20 or 40 IU administered through an intranasal nebulizer-like device.

DRUG40 IU Humulin® R U-100 (NDC: 0002-8215, Eli Lilly & Company)

Participants will be assigned to receive regular insulin either 40 or 20 IU administered through an intranasal nebulizer-like device.

Sponsors

Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
CROSSOVER
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Masking description

Neither participants or site personnel will know which dose of insulin is being administered. Exceptions will be the study nurse who is directly involved in preparing the insulin.

Intervention model description

At study entry, participants will be randomized to receive either 20 or 40 International Units of insulin first and the opposite substance on a second visit.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
55 Years to 85 Years
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* Fluent in English * Cognitively normal or diagnosis of aMCI * Stable medical condition for 3 months prior to screening visit * Stable medications for 4 weeks prior to the screening and study visits * Clinical laboratory values must be within normal limits or, if abnormal, must be judged to be clinically insignificant by the study physician

Exclusion criteria

* A diagnosis of dementia * History of a clinically significant stroke * Current evidence or history in past two years of epilepsy, head injury with loss of consciousness, any major psychiatric disorder including psychosis, major depression, bipolar disorder * Diabetes (type I or type II) insulin dependent and non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus * Current or past regular use of insulin or any other anti-diabetic medication within 2 months of screening visit. * History of seizure within past five years * Pregnancy or possible pregnancy. * Use of anticoagulants warfarin (Coumadin) and dabigatran (Pradaxa) * Residence in a skilled nursing facility at screening * Use of an investigational agent within two months of screening visit * Regular use of alcohol, narcotics, anticonvulsants, anti-parkinsonian medications, or any other exclusionary medications

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Cerebrospinal Fluid Insulin LevelsBaseline to 30 minutes after intervention administrationChange in cerebrospinal fluid insulin levels after receiving a 20 or 40 International Unit dose of insulin delivered with one of three devices

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Auditory-Verbal Learning TestPost lumbar punctureMemory performance measured with Auditory Verbal Learning Test after administration of 20 or 40 IU insulin. Memory measure in which participant hears a list of 12 words and is asked to recall them immediately after hearing them. Total possible score is 12 for delayed recall with higher number of words being better.
Cerebrospinal Fluid Levels of AB4230 minutes after intervention administrationCerebrospinal fluid levels of the 42 amino acid isoform of the beta amyloid peptide

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORSuzanne Craft, PhD

Wake Forest University Health Sciences

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

This feasibility study was initiated with the CPS and VP7 devices. Plans to test UDS device were discontinued. No participants were assigned to the UDS device arms.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous70.4 years
Education17.9 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Mini-mental state exam26 units on a scale
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
4 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 80 / 80 / 50 / 50 / 00 / 0
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 81 / 81 / 50 / 50 / 00 / 0
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 80 / 80 / 50 / 50 / 00 / 0

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Apr 3, 2026