Skip to content

A Study of Pembrolizumab (MK-3475) With or Without Lenvatinib (E7080/MK-7902) as First Line (1L) Intervention in a Programmed Cell Death-ligand 1 (PD-L1) Selected Population With Recurrent or Metastatic Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma (R/M HNSCC) (MK-7902-010) (KEYNOTE-010)

A Phase 3, Randomized, Placebo-controlled, Double-blind Clinical Study of Pembrolizumab (MK-3475) With or Without Lenvatinib (E7080/MK-7902) to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of Pembrolizumab and Lenvatinib as 1L Intervention in a PD-L1 Selected Population of Participants With Recurrent or Metastatic Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma (R/M HNSCC) (LEAP-010).

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04199104
Enrollment
511
Registered
2019-12-13
Start date
2020-02-05
Completion date
2025-03-31
Last updated
2026-05-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma

Keywords

head and neck squamous cell carcinoma, pembrolizumab, lenvatinib, PD-L1

Brief summary

This is a study of pembrolizumab (MK-3475) with or without lenvatinib (E7080/MK-7902) as a first line intervention in a PD-L1 selected population with participants with recurrent or metastatic head and neck squamous cell carcinoma. Hypotheses include: * Pembrolizumab + lenvatinib is superior to pembrolizumab + placebo with respect to Objective Response Rate (ORR) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) by blinded independent central review (BICR). * Pembrolizumab + lenvatinib is superior to pembrolizumab + placebo with respect to Progression Free Survival (PFS) per RECIST 1.1 as assessed by BICR. * Pembrolizumab + lenvatinib is superior to pembrolizumab + placebo with respect to overall survival (OS).

Interventions

DRUGLenvatinib

Lenvatinib, 20 mg (two 10-mg oral capsules) administered QD

BIOLOGICALPembrolizumab

Pembrolizumab (MK-3475), 200 mg, every 3 weeks (Q3W) by intravenous (IV) infusion for up to 35 3-week cycles

DRUGPlacebo

Lenvatinib-matching placebo, oral capsules, administered once daily (QD)

Sponsors

Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY
Eisai Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Has histologically confirmed diagnosis of R/M HNSCC that is considered incurable by local therapies. Note: Participants with newly-diagnosed HNSCC must be M1/Stage IV. * Has a primary tumor location of oropharynx, oral cavity, hypopharynx, or larynx. Note: Primary tumor site of nasopharynx (any histology) or unknown primary tumor (including p16+ unknown primary) are not eligible. Contraceptive use by men should be consistent with local regulations regarding the methods of contraception for those participating in clinical studies. If the contraception requirements in the local label for any of the study interventions is more stringent than the requirements above, the local label requirements are to be followed. * Male participants agree to use approved contraception during the treatment period for at least 7 days after the last dose of lenvatinib/placebo, or refrain from heterosexual intercourse during this period * Female participants are not pregnant or breastfeeding, and are not a woman of childbearing potential (WOCBP), OR are a WOCBP that agrees to use contraception during the treatment period (or 14 days prior to the initiation of study treatment for oral contraception) and for at least 120 days post pembrolizumab, or 30 days post lenvatinib/placebo, whichever occurs last * Has measurable disease per RECIST 1.1 as assessed by BICR. Note: Lesions situated in a previously irradiated area are considered measurable if progression has been shown in such lesions. * Participants with oropharyngeal cancer must have results from testing of human papillomavirus HPV status. * Has an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance score of 0 to 1. * Have adequately controlled blood pressure with or without antihypertensive medications. * Has adequate organ function.

Exclusion criteria

* Has a history of any contraindication or has a severe hypersensitivity to any components of pembrolizumab (≥Grade 3) or lenvatinib. * Has pre-existing ≥Grade 3 gastrointestinal or non-gastrointestinal fistula. * Has a history of a gastrointestinal condition or procedure that, in the opinion of the investigator, may affect oral study drug absorption. * Has clinically significant cardiovascular impairment within 12 months of the first dose of study intervention, such as history of congestive heart failure greater than New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class II, unstable angina, myocardial infarction or cerebrovascular accident/transient ischemic attack (TIA)/stroke, cardiac revascularization, or cardiac arrhythmia associated with hemodynamic instability. * Has disease that is suitable for local therapy administered with curative intent. * Had PD within 6 months of completion of curatively intended systemic treatment for locoregionally advanced HNSCC. * Has had major surgery within 3 weeks before to first dose of study interventions. * Has difficulty swallowing capsules or ingesting a suspension orally or by a feeding tube. * Has received prior therapy with lenvatinib or pembrolizumab. * Received last dose of systemic therapy for locoregionally advanced disease less than 6 months before signing consent. * Has received prior therapy with an anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1, or anti PD-L2 agent or with an agent directed to another stimulatory or co-inhibitory T-cell receptor (e.g., CTLA-4, OX-40, CD137). * Has received prior systemic anticancer therapy including investigational agents within 4 weeks before randomization. * Has received prior radiotherapy within 2 weeks of start of study intervention. * Has received a live vaccine within 30 days before the first dose of study intervention. Administration of killed vaccines is allowed. * Received an investigational agent or has used an investigational device within 4 weeks prior to study intervention-administration. * Has a diagnosis of immunodeficiency or is receiving chronic systemic steroid therapy (in dosing exceeding 10 mg daily of prednisone equivalent) or any other form of immunosuppressive therapy within 7 days prior the first dose of study intervention. * Has a known additional malignancy that is progressing or has required active treatment within the past 3 years. Note: Participants with basal cell carcinoma of the skin, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, or carcinoma in situ (e.g., breast carcinoma, cervical cancer in situ) that have undergone potentially curative therapy are not excluded. * Has known active central nervous system (CNS) metastases and/or carcinomatous meningitis. * Has an active autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment in past 2 years. Replacement therapy (e.g., thyroxine, insulin, or physiologic corticosteroid) is allowed. * Has a history of (non-infectious) pneumonitis that required steroids or has current pneumonitis. * Has an active infection requiring systemic therapy. (e.g., tuberculosis, known viral or bacterial infections, etc.). * Has a known history of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection. * Has a known history of hepatitis B (defined as HBsAg reactive) or known active hepatitis C virus (defined as HCV ribonucleic acid (RNA) \[qualitative\] is detected) infection. * Is pregnant or breastfeeding or expecting to conceive or father children within the projected duration of the study, starting with the screening visit through 120 days after the last dose of study intervention. * Has had an allogenic tissue/solid organ transplant. * Has a known psychiatric or substance abuse disorder that would interfere with the participant's ability to cooperate with the requirements of the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Objective Response Rate (ORR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR)Up to ~ 37 monthsORR is defined as the percentage of participants who had a Complete Response (CR: Disappearance of all target lesions) or a Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters) per RECIST 1.1 modified to follow a maximum of 10 target lesions and a maximum of 5 target lesions per organ. The percentage of participants who experienced a CR or PR based on modified RECIST 1.1 is presented.
Progression Free Survival (PFS) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR).Up to ~ 37 monthsPFS is defined as the time from randomization to the first documented progressive disease (PD) or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. Per RECIST 1.1, PD was defined as ≥20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥5 mm. Note: The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered PD.
Overall Survival (OS)Up to ~ 37 monthsOS is the time from randomization to death due to any cause.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Duration of Response (DOR)Up to ~ 37 monthsFor participants who demonstrate a confirmed complete response (CR: Disappearance of all target lesions) or confirmed Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions) per RECIST 1.1, DOR is defined as the time from first documented evidence of CR or PR until disease progression or death.
Percentage of Participants Who Experienced an Adverse Event (AE)Up to ~ 61 monthsAn adverse event (AE) is defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign including an abnormal laboratory finding, symptom or disease associated with the use of a medical treatment or procedure, regardless of whether it is considered related to the medical treatment or procedure, that occurs during the course of the study.
Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an AEUp to ~ 46 monthsAn adverse event (AE) is defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign including an abnormal laboratory finding, symptom or disease associated with the use of a medical treatment or procedure, regardless of whether it is considered related to the medical treatment or procedure, that occurs during the course of the study.

Countries

Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Peru, Poland, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey (Türkiye), United Kingdom, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORMedical Director

Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Pembrolizumab + Lenvatinib
Participants were administered Pembrolizumab 200mg by intravenous IV infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle (Q3W) plus Lenvatinib 20 mg orally once a day (QD)
256
Pembrolizumab + Placebo
Participants were administered lenvatinib-matching placebo orally once a day (QD) plus pembrolizumab 200 mg by intravenous (IV) infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle (Q3W).
255
Total511

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPembrolizumab + LenvatinibPembrolizumab + PlaceboTotal
Age, Continuous64.0 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.8
62.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.6
63.4 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.2
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG Status of 0 vs 1)
ECOG 0
122 Participants115 Participants237 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG Status of 0 vs 1)
ECOG 1
134 Participants140 Participants274 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
33 Participants42 Participants75 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
205 Participants199 Participants404 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
18 Participants14 Participants32 Participants
Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) Status
Negative
199 Participants197 Participants396 Participants
Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) Status
Positive
57 Participants58 Participants115 Participants
Programmed Cell Death Ligand 1 (PD-L1) Tumor Expression
<50%
192 Participants191 Participants383 Participants
Programmed Cell Death Ligand 1 (PD-L1) Tumor Expression
>=50%
64 Participants64 Participants128 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants7 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
67 Participants80 Participants147 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
17 Participants19 Participants36 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
168 Participants147 Participants315 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
37 Participants42 Participants79 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
219 Participants213 Participants432 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
185 / 256167 / 2551 / 30 / 3
other
Total, other adverse events
245 / 254222 / 2533 / 32 / 3
serious
Total, serious adverse events
155 / 25492 / 2531 / 32 / 3

Outcome results

Primary

Objective Response Rate (ORR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR)

ORR is defined as the percentage of participants who had a Complete Response (CR: Disappearance of all target lesions) or a Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters) per RECIST 1.1 modified to follow a maximum of 10 target lesions and a maximum of 5 target lesions per organ. The percentage of participants who experienced a CR or PR based on modified RECIST 1.1 is presented.

Time frame: Up to ~ 37 months

Population: All randomized participants were included from the intention to treat (ITT) participants. Participants were included in the treatment group to which they were randomized.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Pembrolizumab + LenvatinibObjective Response Rate (ORR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR)46.9 Percentage of participants
Pembrolizumab + PlaceboObjective Response Rate (ORR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR)27.5 Percentage of participants
p-value: 0.000001995% CI: [11.2, 27.3]Miettinen and Nurminen method
Primary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS is the time from randomization to death due to any cause.

Time frame: Up to ~ 37 months

Population: All randomized participants included in the ITT participants. Participants were included in the treatment group to which they were randomized.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Pembrolizumab + LenvatinibOverall Survival (OS)15.0 Months
Pembrolizumab + PlaceboOverall Survival (OS)17.9 Months
p-value: 0.881958495% CI: [0.91, 1.45]Regression, Cox
Primary

Progression Free Survival (PFS) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR).

PFS is defined as the time from randomization to the first documented progressive disease (PD) or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. Per RECIST 1.1, PD was defined as ≥20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥5 mm. Note: The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered PD.

Time frame: Up to ~ 37 months

Population: All randomized participants included in the ITT participants. Participants were included in the treatment group to which they were randomized.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Pembrolizumab + LenvatinibProgression Free Survival (PFS) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR).7.0 Months
Pembrolizumab + PlaceboProgression Free Survival (PFS) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR).2.8 Months
p-value: 0.000112995% CI: [0.55, 0.83]Regression, Cox
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR)

For participants who demonstrate a confirmed complete response (CR: Disappearance of all target lesions) or confirmed Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions) per RECIST 1.1, DOR is defined as the time from first documented evidence of CR or PR until disease progression or death.

Time frame: Up to ~ 37 months

Population: All randomized participants included in the ITT participants who demonstrated at least a partial response. Participants were included in the treatment group to which they were randomized.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Pembrolizumab + LenvatinibDuration of Response (DOR)10.1 Months
Pembrolizumab + PlaceboDuration of Response (DOR)NA Months
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an AE

An adverse event (AE) is defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign including an abnormal laboratory finding, symptom or disease associated with the use of a medical treatment or procedure, regardless of whether it is considered related to the medical treatment or procedure, that occurs during the course of the study.

Time frame: Up to ~ 34 months

Population: Safety analyses was conducted in the APaT population, which consisted of all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study treatment. Participants were included in the treatment group corresponding to the study treatment they actually received.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Pembrolizumab + LenvatinibPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an AE43.7 Percentage of Participants
Pembrolizumab + PlaceboPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an AE15.02 Percentage of Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Experienced an Adverse Event (AE)

An adverse event (AE) is defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign including an abnormal laboratory finding, symptom or disease associated with the use of a medical treatment or procedure, regardless of whether it is considered related to the medical treatment or procedure, that occurs during the course of the study.

Time frame: Up to ~ 37 months

Population: Safety analyses was conducted in the all-participants-as-treated (APaT) population, which consisted of all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study treatment. Participants were included in the treatment group corresponding to the study treatment they actually received.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Pembrolizumab + LenvatinibPercentage of Participants Who Experienced an Adverse Event (AE)99.21 Percentage of Participants
Pembrolizumab + PlaceboPercentage of Participants Who Experienced an Adverse Event (AE)96.84 Percentage of Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 6, 2026